Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Cherven 3 stars

Konski Dol, 5700 Teteven, Bulgaria

#1 of 11 hotels in Teteven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2,5 Km of hard gravel road to reach. You have to pay for extra blankets. More expensive than it should have to be.

    Great place, you just feel part of nature. Staff was very helpfull and kind. Vey clean. Excellent place to relax for 1-2 days. Excellent for couples.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the "breakfast" was only a kind of fried pastry (Makitsa) - tasty but not enough.

    1. The "road" is unpaved forest road with stones on the road - about 30 minutes ride in low gear not knowing the way. 2. Isolated in the woods the cellular connection is very limited (down to nothing for many hours) - combine withe the rough road I see aproblem. But, when you get there it's all forgotten (until the time to drive away).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is nothing short of remarkable. The 2.5km private road is rough but not a problem and we only had a small Clio. This is a wonderfully simple hotel that relies on great location, wonderful views, lovely food, (don't miss the superbly cooked trout) and total silence except bird song and trickling streams. The owner is great fun and speaks good English having studied in London for 7 years. We loved relaxing on the sun terrace and our short walk into the hills. There are many and varied walks from the hotel and we will return to do them, hopefully next year. A wonderful last night before driving to the airport, (90 minutes). Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect place to start our trip in Bulgaria. Villa Cherven is absolute heaven- from the gorgeous nature, to falling asleep to the sound of the creek at night, to the hiking trails that start from the property, and above all the lovely hosts, Milena and Petra and their family. Very highly recommended for anyone looking to connect with nature and a wonderful Bulgarian family!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful time in Villa Cherven! The hotel is in the middle of the mountains with the best view ever. Milena will show you the best walking trails, and within seconds you're surrounded by trees/sheep/rivers etc. We were the only guests in the hotel and everybody was really nice and friendly to us. We were even invited to a special celebration. The food is homemade and delicious (lot of vegetarian options as well), and especially when you can sit on the terrace it's brilliant! The trout is super fresh from the lake. The road from Teteven to Villa Cherven is a bit steep and 'rocky', but we made it with a very small engine ;) It's also possible to call the owners and they will pick you up. Thanks a lot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It may seem to You that You need a SUV-like car because the road is very difficult, you should not be afraid to continue driving the road but it needs some experience.

    Very friendly and helpful hosting family, you feel really at home, great service, people help You giving advice for hiking, excursions etc. The food is very good, espec. fresh fish. beautiful place to sit in the evening, breathtaking view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've never exprienced the pleasure to visit the place because no one told us and it wasn't mentioned anywhere that to reach the place you would rather need an off road jeep or to risk and break your car. There is no road and going there whit my 2 year old child was devastating. When we called we were offered a jeep to come and takes us whit all our stuff and leave my car behind. Horrible expirience, info not truthful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This trip was our fifth visit to Villa Cherven. The villa is situated just below this gorgeous mesa giving every single room a phenomenal view. It has a stream running directly in front of the property so you can always hear its relaxing sound. The food is outstanding. One of our favorite parts of our visit is sitting in the Mehana, drinking our coffee, looking up at the mesa in the early morning. The absolute best thing about our stay is always the interaction with the staff. Milena, Mitko, and the rest of the staff are always so friendly, hospitable, and eager to make your stay perfect. They put you at ease right away and you can just relax. This time was our first stay with our 8 month year old. They provided all the baby supplies so that we didn't have to lug all the extra bags from home. Hiking is plentiful straight from the doors of the lodge. I can't say enough good things.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the property. Even if I was warned, it was more difficult than expected. Hard to imagine cars can get up there though I saw them do. Cross fingers it is built soon

    Excellent nature and location up in the mountain. Cosy and very friendly host

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the villa was very bad. You really need an off road car to get there without emotions. Do not go there by night, because of the low speed, it seems like a never ending road.

    The environment is beautiful, the villa is located on a dream land!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly, welcoming and caring staff who made us feel at home! It was very kind of the owners to offer us a lift from the town - Teteven; there was a convenient and cheap car park in the town where we left our car for the duration of our stay. Delicious, home made food! There is also a swimming pool in the hotel at the bottom of the road leading up to the villa and we and the kids enjoyed an afternoon of swimming. The nature surrounding the villa is stunning. The villa itself is kept very clean, decorated with care and attention to the detail (we loved the art work on the walls) the rooms are very spacious with balconies overlooking the mountain. We loved waking up in the mornings to the beautiful views and tranquility of the nature. Thank you for the lovely stay. We hope we can visit again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We planned Villa Cherven only for overnight stop on our motorbike tour. But because of the wonderful location, the fantastic food and the perfect hosts we decided to stay a second night. I'm sure we will comeback back again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the first time to try villa Cherven with my family, and it was great, my family likes it very much. Kind stuff , ms. Melina was friendly, thank you for everything. Location is nice , green mountains, , good weather, clean rooms. Sure I will try it again , specialy when you arrange with ms. Melina safary trip to whaterfall. Good luck villa Cherven

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional building with exceptional staff. The presentation of the food was professional. We recommend their farmed trout. The breakfast was delicious too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road from Teteven to the property is quite a challenge for regular type vehicles.

    Very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna was really new and good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the accommodation very good the view from the room amazing the host very kind and helpful good food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent service, place is beautiful and road was exciting too...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Track was a bit hair raising in places

    Comfy bed, fantastic views, peaceful and lovely home cooked food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The road to the villa was very fun! But definitely not suitable for sportscars

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    Very good accommodation, fresh food, beautiful nature, opportunities for hiking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road was awful.

    Very warm hospitality.very nice view and quite.fishering is possible and easy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If there was a smoking place or a lobby, outside with electric heating means, it would be perfect!

    If anyone wants a quiet place for vacation in the nature, this is the best accommodation! The rooms are new, clean and spacious. Milena and her family are lovely people! They were very kind and helpful to our needs!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The people are welcoming and kind, will help you any request. It's our second stay at Vila cherven and hopefully not the last. It's a great place to disconnect from the everyday life.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The villa is set in a picturesque location. Our room was simple yet eloquent with a fabulous view of the mountains. It is easy to hike from the parking lot. No need to leave once you arrive. The villa has a nice, little restaurant/bar area where you're free to relax and take in the view of the majestic mesa above and the sounds of the calming stream running beside the grounds. The food was delicious. The best part of our trip was the care of the staff. They were so warm and welcoming that it felt as if we were part of the family. Perfect getaway destination.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom smell badly

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good food, kind personnel, fine view

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful views, nice room, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cash only.

    The staff gave our group personal attention and attended to our every need. The Eco Hike from the hotel was superb.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    cant think of any think we didnt like in this amazing place!!!

    amazing view wonderful people beautiful hotele

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel must organise a transfer from sity center to the hotel. The rod is very bad.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Villa Cherven traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: