Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sea Loft Boutique Chalets

Amwaj Islands, Amwaj Island, 199 Manama, Bahrain

#128 of 154 hotels in Manama

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 316 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    5

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    I stayed at 4 bedroom chalet .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at 4 bedroom chalet . The price is too high comparing to the services. You have to call at least twice to get room service or maintenance. The refrigerator cooling wasn’t good and it has weird smell. They did nothing about it. For the bathroom they have no slippers nor tissues. For me, not coming here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.4
    great chalet ; never maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool was under maintenance we weren't able to use it . no beach excess we had to drive to the hotel and use the pool there which was boiling hot; no coolers In the pool . tv broken; oven didn't work until we called in reception . furniture old and needs maintenance

    excluded location ; privacy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    2.9
    I was here 8 years ago it was great however this time was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was here 8 years ago it was great however this time was very bad. The rooms and toilets were not very clean. Hot water, TV and curtains were not in working order. The staff were not oriented about customer care and customer satisfaction whatever you ask for they don't have it. The swimming pool had maintenance going on however the price was very high. You pay high price and get no services. Food was bad, in the menu it states grilled while we recieved fried instead. It is clearly there is no proper maintanace of the properties and the facilities. Will never stay here again and will never recommend to anyone to stay there specially with the high prices they charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.2
    For the first time I booked the hotel which is far from the standard given on the booking.com websit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not meet the description from the booking.com website. There is no reception at night, no swimming pool, for a breakfast you have to go to the other hotel by the main road, bathrooms are damaged, matrices very hard, bedrooms without the locks, one toilet was out of order, internet extremely slow.

    Apartment size was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    good for family with kids and maid ( there is a maid room with bathroom)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a wind sound in our room. Wifi was not working for some time and not strong and can be used in living area only and not in the bedrooms.

    4 bedrooms with bathroom located in each bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.8
    Not a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable, there was constant noise outside at around 3 am that went on for atlas an hour by other residents who were yelling by the window. We called the reception complained about it and nothing was done. There were lots of ants on the sink in the bathroom

    The villa was spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    They were welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were really dirty and the room wasnt cleaned, they didn't even bother washing the toilet. The place was smelly and a mess. The reception closed at night.

    They were welcoming

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Dangerous and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at chalet 3812.. This place is not safe!! The stair and inside balcony rails were broken and loose! Kids or adults could easily fall off!! Electricity outlets in the rooms did not work.. not a single one of them! Reception was not available late at night. We were told Check in was very late (3 pm)

    The design of the big windows and the fully equipped kitchen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    spacious, elegant with private parking spot, breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no privacy, location is far from city, no reception, you have to check-in and out from dragon villa resort, and the breakfast is there also, so you need a car every time you go.

    spacious, elegant with private parking spot, breakfast is good with a wide selection, the chicken sausages are a must try

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    For the price we paid the chalet needs a lot of change dirty some beds were broken change a must!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not clean and the furniture needs to be changed everywhere you will find cigerate burns and other marks of burns and aome beds were broken the water went off for a while

    The view and the place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    2.5
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not like the photos and since we do the check in we had wait outside to fix their AC and after 10 pm u can't reach the reception it's really poor experience

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.2
    Not for family nor romantic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been to Sea Loft in summer 2017, it was a trip with freinds. First it was the check in, we were told to check in at 3 pm but we recieved the chalet at 6pm due to cleaning the miss caused by party. The place is not suitable for families at all, we have faced alot of problems with uncontrollable drunk people, someone came inside our chalet while he was drunk, probably he was searching for his friends. There is nothing to do except your private jacuzzi and the public swimming pool is filled with drunk people. To be fair, this place is suitable for parties and drinking, no family should be allowed to check in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    5.8
    it's the worest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception guy tried to get more 50 DB cash when i asked him to take it from my credit-card and bill he said ok i'll make special discount!! there was many drunk guys next to family chalet!! bad wifi segnal!! hard car parking!!

    just the view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    2.5
    It's need to change every thing in the chalet.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At all

    It's bad and it's not modern also it's not clean and the price for it too much for this and it's need to maintaince at all and need to change every thing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    5.4
    Cons Outweigh the Pros, Unfortunately!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chalets NEED A LOT of attention: old and broken furniture, plumbing issues in bathrooms, odors from smoking.

    Only pro I can share is the location was extremely good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    I love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We take the largest villa with the maximum number of rooms but yet the give us the smallest living room! Which is not fair as I see.. and they do it every single time to me!

    We always go for it as a gateway.. we love it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    5.0
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No washing and dryer machine. Appliances are all in bad shape, refrigerator and frazer are in very bad shape, water suppliers i.e. kitchen are in very bad state, not working properly

    Location, staff, space

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.8
    Were upgraded to dragon villa after we didn't like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for family.. Its a party place.. Seriously.. If you are coming with family I advise you to choose a different hotel.. The villas are full of parties and call girls.. Not for a family stay..

    Were upgraded to dragon villa after we didn't like the sea loft cabins..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    The value was way too high for the property particularly during this time of the year in Bahrain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us the property with a swimming pool under maintenance The food for breakfast(ramadan sohoor) was very limited in choices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    The state of repair of the property was bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of repair of the property was bad. The description of the property and the advertised pictures did not match reality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.5
    Dirty living room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing because the living room was dirty and old and its not like what we saw in the pictures

    Non

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made mistakes to took more money from my account and the furniture was old and swimming pool was close on the same time

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Design , location ,friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No maintenance of facility

    Design , location ,friendliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    2.5
    Everyday i argue with the staff or reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No good wifi Bad service Everything in the chalet is old

    We liked that it was a chalet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice villa
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is too weak

    Almost every thing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property its to old and the have to renew it

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    - The Room Size
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No facilities - no reception

    - The Room Size - Privacy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.8
    Don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is poor.. floors don't look clean

    Swimming pool , breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    2.5
    very bad
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    every thing was not good

    so bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    It was awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    2.9
    simply does not worth it . i do not advise any one to go there poor service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice place Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was bad. This is my second visit and both times we went the refrigerator was not in a good condition. The tv had a problem

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    3.3
    Needs immediate maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very old broken chalet

    Some staff members... specially Mr. Jasim.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old, no sea activities other than watching it! You even can't swim in the sea. Needs heavy maintenance.

    Near the dragon park in Amwaj island

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    Very nice for a group of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite and privacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.1
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Old furniture - Poor maintenance - Not suitable for couples

    - Clean - Good location - Overall satisfied for family stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    5.0
    2.0
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbors were very noise and we couldn't sleep well ..!! And we talked to the management and they did nothing about it !!

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.0
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, cleanliness, bad smells, room services, terrible restaurant and stink food,

    The view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Security and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms designed of leveling which need us to use the stairs frequently

    Security and services

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.4
    great staff poor apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is very old and broken in the apartment need renovation very soon.

    the staff was very helpfull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    2.9
    Poor chalets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Seafront Four-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures look different from reality, none of the chalets are actually 'Sea Front'

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    2.5
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Very bad quality...dirty place bad food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel management stole my money which is more than 4000.Also the place is not good for families, because it is full of prostitutes! I'm not kidding.

    Nothing and I mean it.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    3.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel charged me more than what i had to pay and what my confirmation states. The place needs serious renovation. Also the place was very noisy due to the people staying next door and we have called the people in charge more than once but nothing was done, we couldnt even sleep well because of their extremely loud music.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    4.2
    The rooms were big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very expensive compared to the facility and we must be careful as they added 20% extra for taxes and services This should be made clear before the booking anyway the value is not justified We must walk outside to another hotel to have breakfast There is no facilities in house we have to go to dragon hotel with no support from anyone to explain what we can have there The sea view is very poor If they don't call me back to apologize I will be really frustrated They only give you place to sleep

    The rooms were big

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    3.3
    Amwaj land
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stairs in chalets Bad Furniture Bad smells in bath room Breakfast not good and far away of chalets They do party at swimming pool area front of chalets and caused nosy

    Amwaj land

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    4.6
    Privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Old furniture. Long stairs. No hot water at top room. Not clear when booking that there are 2 types.. sea front and sea view sea view is best but extra charges.

    Privacy

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    5.4
    Location was good and would be nice in the summer when you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Chalet was beautifully sized for a family of 7 but the furnishings were dated. The price of the accommodation in comparison to the furnishings and amenities was too costly

    Location was good and would be nice in the summer when you could enjoy water sports

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    6.7
    it is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    however the furneture is old. the AC in the second floor was bad.

    it is comfortable. nice view, next to the swimming pool. very much private and close tpo lagonn

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    4.2
    The receptionist was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The housekeeping needs to be improved. Also breakfast served in another neighboring hotel and takes 5-10 minutes walk under the heat.

    The receptionist was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Couple

    Didn't like any thing from the start the air conditioner was not working .. The stuff was not helpful i was w8ing more then 4 hours to fix this problem and u can't imagine the wither .. west of money and time as it's very high price .

    Nothing...

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    4.6
    Location is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The property needs maintenance, Walls need painting furniture is overused, jacuzzi needs real cleaning, Wifi is so bad it is not worth the paid money. Etc

    Location is not bad.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    The staff is poliet
    • Group

    need to pay more attention in the breakfast and in the service facilytis like game in the sea jetski etc

    The staff is poliet the place is beautifull

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.1
    - the place and view are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - the breakfast is good but it is not as you imagine( No variety of food). the sea loft and dragon hotel are combined so the sea lfot dose not have it's own breakfast place so you need to go to dragon hotel to have breakfast - the bachelors( group of ladies or group of men) making the place noisy(not all time). it should be for families only

    - the place and view are good. - the Amwaj area is great place. - staff are great.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    3.8
    I liked the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the AC to hot and i talking to them 3 days to make it good and the didn't make it ,,, the group of bad guys swimming in the pool with slippers! And music was to loud and i can't sleep all the night and if i talking to the staff they told me they can't do anything !

    I liked the view

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    3.3
    The facilities and chalet seemed like they were in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cigarette stains almost in every room, Worn out furniture, dirty pool with no life guard, expensive room service with poor quality (3 of my friends got sick from the food) & very hard to sleep because of adjacent club and the thin walls of the chalets. To keep things short I will not be coming back to this place even If i'm paid to.

    The facilities and chalet seemed like they were in a great condition, but only when you squint your eyes.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    5.8
    View inside & outside the chalet, Clean beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Jacuzzi did not work, Stair & railing were not stable, amount of money was high for sea sports & chalet comparing to its quality

    View inside & outside the chalet, Clean beach

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's too awful place to stay in when you are travelling with your family. Too noisy and disrespect for your privacy and hotel management can't do anything about it.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    3.5
    Price was over rated for such facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price was over rated for such facility. The one bedroom chalets was dirty , we asked to be cleaned , which they did but still was not as clean as it should be. toilets tiles are damaged, the wash basin leaks . The chalets surrounding are noisy, people partying late night with no action to be taken by security. Experience is so bad wouldn't go there again.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    6.7
    The Property is very good and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad Service. We asked for baby crib 4 times but they didn't bring any

    The Property is very good and nice. We liked the place

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.3
    Grate location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No maintenance conducted regurly to the place

    Grate location

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    6.7
    View & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnished very old

    View & location

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.1
    Really nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really nice

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    5.4
    location and the sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    room service, telephone not working, internet no connected till next day prior to check-out

    location and the sea view

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    4.2
    The breakfast restaurant and staff are awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast restaurant and staff are awful

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -old hotel -there's no beach -the reception is far away from the chalet

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    4.2
    quite area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one tv down , beds not comfortable 3 star services

    quite area

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    furnuter is not that good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    furnuter is not that good breakfas in other hotel you have to go walk

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    2.5
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    everything

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    5.0
    Issue of furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Issue of furniture Very bad All get burned with charcoal

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    6.3
    The parking area is to small and smal tree in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking area is to small and smal tree in the middle which make it even smaller

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Every thing is old and nothing is work

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.1
    Old furniture
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old furniture

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.8
    Space was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old furniture

    Space was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    4.2
    Nothing I like .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Every think I hate i will naval come back again

    Nothing I like .last time I came. It was beautiful everything now The furniture is old

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: