Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of La Selenita

Calle José Mostajo, 145, 0000 Sucre, Bolivia

#3 of 27 B&Bs and inns in Sucre

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 116 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast, reception by Emilie, information provided,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Barking dogs at the neighbours during the night

    Breakfast, reception by Emilie, information provided, airport shuttle (taxi), very clean room, good bed, nice view

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    One of the best places we had in Bolivia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi isn’t working everywhere, but if you need there is a solution:)

    One of the best places we had in Bolivia! Quiet, Nice garden, privacy, GOOD Bed and bathroom. Nice kitchen, terras and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Nice cabin in gorgeaus garden, right next to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were lodged in a pretty cabin in a beautiful garden on a hill with nice morning views over Sucre and surroundings. Excellent fruit and home made marmalade for breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice staff, nice view but comfort could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there was no heating in our room and it was very cold at night - shower wasn't hot enough - there was no internet in the rooms. only in common areas.

    - staff was very helpful giving tips and preparing a homemade breakfast - laundry shops were closed and they've done the laundry for us - nice view to Sucre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    A great place and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything. We would have liked to stay much longer.

    Very nice rooms and a beautifull garden, with an amazing scent. Not much wrong with the WiFi either. Very friendly and knowlegdeable staff who knows where to go and who to charter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful place with amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Not a personal experience but anyone who has breathing or mobility issues will not enjoy the hilltop location, it's a very steep hill to walk up to the place (the price for the views!)

    - The staff were amazing. The guys went out of their way to help out as much as possible and to make sure we had a great time. - Shower was hot and nice. - Wi-fi was excellent, unfortunately they were having issues with the one for our room but the reception wifi was still working and was very good for Bolivia. - Bed was comfortable and warm. - The breakfast was personal and great, again the staff were truly great. - Location is really nice, short stroll downhill to the town center, short taxi ride to the bus terminal. - The gardens and view from the property are beautiful. Like a little piece of paradise hiding away in the big city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience, glad I found this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Add in the booking.com doesn't do justice to this place.

    Weel, what can I say, this place made me love Bolivia. After traveling in Bolivia, Sucre and this hotel made it a lovely experience, after many negative experiences. Very warm welcome, garden is just paradise tucked away, clean, fab wifi, art work, breakfast, location, could go on. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Wish could stay longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    Private cabines in a beautiful garden overlooking Sucre. Comfortable bed, good shower, nice staff who speak English very well. They give you lots of good tips. Property is close to the center, but in a quiet street. Homemade bread and jam for breakfast. Good coffee!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    9.6
    Sucre garden retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of an uphill walk to get there! But least you can walk off the delicious food from the restaurants in Sucre. As advertised, the wifi is sketchy in the rooms, but fine in communual places.

    Beautiful and comfortable space to stay in a lush garden. We were greated by Arthur who gave us tips and not to miss places in Sucre, as well as an ice cold beer after our walk to get there! The views from the balcony, and delicious home made breakfasts made this one of my favourite stays on our travels so far. Good bed, great shower, tastefully decorated with travel photos and paintings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful, Tranquil and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole space is so peaceful and tranquil. The hosts are amazing. Breakfast is simple but we are served beautiful homemade bread and jam. It is about 10min walk to the city but so worth it to get some good R&R.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Quiet and pleasant stay slightly outside the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything about the stay was good - the staff were very friendly and warm, room was super clean, the hot shower was probably the best we had in Bolivia, location was about 10-15mins walk from the city center and so the nights were very quiet without traffic noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    It was the best place we stayed in during our whole journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was the best place we stayed in during our whole journey. We felt at home. Arthur and Coline are the perfect hosts and their home made breakfasts are simply delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    Cozy, Homey, and Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints whatsoever.

    An absolutely wonderful place to stay with the best views of the city! Facilities, breakfast and hospitality were all excellent. I would highly recommend staying here and only wish that we could have stayed longer. Arthur and Coleen will take great care of you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    10
    What a wonderful place to spend several days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arthur and Colleen, a charming young French couple managed this totally lovely place. Four individual cabins were situated in a garden overlooking the whole city yet only four blocks from the center of town. The breakfast consisted of home baked bread and jam, fresh squeezed juice and coffee or tea. The cabin was simple yet spacious with a comfortable bed and a loft, table, chairs and a shelf for clothes. The bathroom had a great hot shower and was also lovely with a small window overlooking the garden. Arthur and Colleen were gracious hosts and were always available with great suggestions and went out of their way to accommodate us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    La selenita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Small beautifull houses in a beautifull garden. Arthur and Coline where perfect and helpfull with us. Very simple breakfeast with homemade jam and juice and french bred.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    10
    Great peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi was temporarily unavailable (technical problems) outside of the reception area during our stay.

    Beautiful garden and views. Peaceful, calm and quiet atmosphere. Great breakfast and hot showers. Helpful and very courteous staff. Very nice common areas like kitchen, dinning , TV books/games, etc. Within walking distance of most visitor sites in downtown Sucre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    My favorite place in Sucre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi in the rooms were spotty. No cleaning service during the 4 nights I was there.

    Arturo and Colleen were so warm and friendly and the facilities and room were fabulous - simple but welcoming and comfortable. The garden is beautiful. Nice view over Sucre from the upper part of my cottage. 10 minute walk uphill from the plaza.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! There was a little trouble with the wifi...but we've experienced that everywhere.

    Everything! A very comfortable place to stay. Super views over La Paz and wonderful gardens. The young French couple running the place were lovely and would go above and beyond to help and make us feel at home. The breakfast was simple but everything was homemade. Homemade marmalade, homemade juice, excellent coffee and the best thing was the homemade bread. Such a wonderful change from the normal South American dry bread. The bedroom was very comfortable and shower was great. Thank you Arthur and Colline!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    10
    Really cozy hotel, good choice for Sucre!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be bigger but it was enough.

    Really nice hotel not far away from the city center. The French couple working there was really nice and helpful. Because our room was empty at 5am, we could enter and rest a little bit after our night bus. The small cottage was really nice and also the place where we had the breakfast. It could be a little bit expensive but it's worth to spend the money if you want to stay in a really nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    10
    A True Bolivian Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic ~ and quiet ~ little garden oasis in Sucre, with sweet views down into town. Arthur and Colline are so warm, welcoming and eager to help and make for the best experience possible. Very tasty and filling breakfast, too. La Selenita is a short (and very safe) walk into town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    9.6
    Nice relaxing place in Sucre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet was almost non-existent, but that seems the general issue here in Sucre (digital nomad city???).

    Bed was comfortable and the hosts very friendly and helpful telling you what the best places are to see. It is 10 min walk from centre, a bit uphill back to the hotel, but the view from the hotel is perfect. Nice fresh juice and coffee for breakfast, if you stay longer than 3 days breakfast might be monotonous (you can use the kitchen to add something if you want though).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    8.8
    Cute place with welcoming staff located at only few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cute place with welcoming staff located at only few minutes from the very center of Sucre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The garden and staff were lovely. Also they left bread and jam for us when we had a 5am start.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    7.9
    nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quite expensive

    nice view friendly staff comfortable beds you get a free welcome drink

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2016

    9.6
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing view of the city, beautiful garden, delicious breakfast and friendly cat :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2016

    9.2
    the property is tastefully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the property is tastefully decorated. the hostess is very helpful and warm. the garden and the view is so nice, I woke up every morning to take a new round of photos of the garden and the city view. everything in breakfast is fresh and homemade. taste like heaven. the apricot jam and pear jam are made from the trees in the garden. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends.

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2016

    9.6
    Great B&B,located with view of the city, with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You have to climb a street up to get there, if that is a problem to you ...

    Great B&B,located with view of the city, with a beautiful garden and all the necessary facilities. You can cook yourself, there is also a nice living room. We were the only ones there, so had it all for ourselves. Maité is a great host, who serves a good breakfast with real bread!

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    10
    La Selenita is one of the best places I've stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    La Selenita is one of the best places I've stayed at. Everything is done with care and love in this guest house and one can feel that. The rooms are comfortable, the garden is perfect to sit, relax and have a great view of the city. breakfast is all that one could ask for. Home made bread and mermelades, fresh fruit juice, grain coffee amd more. And last, but not least, there's this super friendly cat who's company we enjoyed. The family is warm and will make you feel at home.

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2016

    9.2
    Juan was the NICEST host ever, I really can't say enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Juan was the NICEST host ever, I really can't say enough about him & how much he helped us with everything we needed. Excellent breakfast with fresh bread & jams Beautiful cabins, with nice decoration Perfect hot showers Great environment & stunning view to Sucre I'd definitely come back! Worth it every single $.

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2016

    10
    Juan was a great host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Juan was a great host! He pointed out some nice places in the city, prepared a great breakfast and was very helpful and friendly with any request. Besides a great view over the city and nice garden, the rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Would definitely go back!

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2016

    10
    Everything was as the reviews say.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Everything was as the reviews say. 5minute walk from Plaza de Mayo. Breakfast was exceptional. Clean, tidy and great shared facilities. Staff (Juan) was polite, friendly and more than accomodating during our stay.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    10
    We had an amazing 8 night stay with Juan at Selenita.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet isn't the best but that's not necessarily a bad thing!

    We had an amazing 8 night stay with Juan at Selenita. It was such an oasis and we enjoyed every moment. Juan was such a good care-taker and gracious. The kitchen was well equipped for us to cook lots of meals and the breakfasts with fresh juice and jam was just incredible. It was so peaceful and serene and we cannot recommend it enough. Thanks so much Juan for having us!

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2015

    10
    In 2014 this property got an average score of 9.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even the thing I didn't like turned out good. I mentioned some poor lighting on a path and it was fixed within hours. How good is that. This is such a friendly great place.

    In 2014 this property got an average score of 9.3 on Trip Advisor... why it wasn't 10 I can not understand. The staff, particularly Juan are perfect... not there when you want privacy... and completely ready to help the moment you need them. Above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2015

    10
    The owner went out of her way to help us find great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I hated to have to leave this amazing little paradise in the middle of Sucre

    The owner went out of her way to help us find great restaurants, museums, good stores in Sucre and was friendly and warm. The accommodation was amazing, beautifully built, colourful and artistic. The breakfast was truly to be experienced: home made bread, home made jams, cheese, teas etc etc etc. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2015

    9.2
    Nice and clean, good breakfast, very friendly and helpfull...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If the WiFi worked in the rooms it would have been perfect (but they were working on it!)

    Nice and clean, good breakfast, very friendly and helpfull host, nice common areas

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2015

    9.2
    Clean cottage in flower filled garden, lovely views over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was intermittent.

    Clean cottage in flower filled garden, lovely views over the town - a relaxing oasis. Nice hot shower. Bonus was the guest kitchen, so we could make tea and simple meals. We were made very welcome!

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful owner, great house and garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative point for us was the wifi not available in the rooms. Otherwise we had a perfect stay at La Selenita.

    Very friendly and helpful owner, great house and garden conveniently located in a quiet city area, superb city view from the garden, clean rooms, good breakfast with home-made bread, jams and juices.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    10
    Perefect location and the owner is realy helpfull and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hill towards the hostal is quite steep but hey its good for the condition.

    Perefect location and the owner is realy helpfull and friendly. The house was realy nice and so was the garden. We had a realy nice stay.

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2015

    10
    Our hostess (the owner) provided us with exceptional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La Selenita is a short distance from the central plaza which is great. However, the walk back requires climbing a log and steep series of steps which we found exhausting because of the altitude (and our ages: 63 and 75.

    Our hostess (the owner) provided us with exceptional service. She made sure we were happy with our room, offered us real (not instant) espresso if we wanted it. She gave us maps and recommendations for sights to see and for restaurants. Best of all she arranged for taxis for us, including a taxi to Potosi. Both the buildings and grounds were attractive, with lovely gardens and a shaded outside sitting area with a wonderful view over the city.

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    10
    Best accommodation ever during my travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not at all

    Best accommodation ever during my travelling. The host was very helpful and prepared handmade healthy bread and freshly squeezed juice for breakfast. Love the garden with fragrant blossoming flowers. Hope I could stay longer

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    9.6
    Maïté and her son were both very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing serious not to like, but it's worth noting the wifi is only available in certain areas.

    Maïté and her son were both very friendly and helpful, providing plenty information about the local area and storing our bags while we went on an overnight trek. Our cabin was great - clean, comfortable, hot shower and plenty of space. Nice fresh food at breakfast and even decent coffee!

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2015

    9.6
    Maine looked after us from the moment we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Maine looked after us from the moment we arrived. The rooms are spacious and clean. So lovely having a garden to walk out into. The breakfasts are wonderful: freshly made bread and jam with real coffee. Short walk down the hill to the main square. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2015

    9.6
    The beautiful and peaceful garden and cabins, the views, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking up a steep hill to reach the property, though we got fit as a result.

    The beautiful and peaceful garden and cabins, the views, the charm of the owner and the delicious breakfasts he provided.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    10
    The view was fantastic, the staff too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view was fantastic, the staff too!

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2015

    9.6
    The garden with view over the city was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The garden with view over the city was amazing! The owner (Maïté) was very helpful and explained all the best places to visit.

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2015

    10
    Very nice owner, helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice owner, helpful. Excellent location, close to town with nice view, however very quiet and relaxing. Strongly recommended!

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2015

    9.6
    Oasis in a busy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in cabana. A bit of a walk to downtown but cheap taxi ride.

    Oasis in a busy city. Great breakfast friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2015

    10
    Comfortable, quite,clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Comfortable, quite,clean Nice garden nice view Lovely owner Home made breakfast

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: