Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Acapulco Copacabana Hotel 4 stars

Rua Gustavo Sampaio, 854, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22010-010, Brazil

#43 of 407 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    A GOOD PLACE TO STAY IN RIO
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think they could make more maitenance of the rooms. The air coindicioner made noise so I had to turn off it in order to sleep.

    I want to remark the excellent atention of the employees of this Hotel, and especially Mr. Geraldo, the concierge that mades my things easier every time he could. The hotel has good services and excellente breakfast. I would go there again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Acapulco Copacabana is a nice and clean hotel a block away from the beach, the staff is friendly and helpful, but as majority of hotels in Rio, needs an update. The breakfast buffet is very good, fresh juices and fruits, pao de queijo is a must!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Everything was a great!
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We actually booked 3 rooms for 2 nights. But one of my friends flight delayed and came to stayed for one night in 18th to 19th Nov and we cancelled first night 1 double room.

    Location was a great easy to reach to the beach. Staffs very friendly and advise almost everything to do in Copacabana.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Very Nice Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old facilities but very clean and comfortable.

    The location of the property. The kidness and willignes ofthe staff. Room was spacious. Price was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    Huge comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working, which was really inconvenient. We were unable to use our phone for an Uber, so we had to paid twice as much for a cab. After having to swap keys twice we were still unable to get into our room, in the third they switched our room.

    Huge comfy bed. Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location, arrived 0730, they had us into a room by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, arrived 0730, they had us into a room by 0900!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location and service. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The description in the photos and reality is completely different

    the staff were friendly and very co-operative

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel in goid location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi in our room,hardly worked.

    Excellent breakfast choices,quiet ,helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Excellent. Sorry to leave
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. Staff. Food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff were great from beginning to end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were great from beginning to end. Liked the breakfast area. Liked proximity to the beach. Liked the enormous bed, soft but not too soft.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really convenient location and the parking is great. We were lucky I guess that the garage was not full. The staff are faultless. I will return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger rooms

    The man on the desk were the most helpful in Brazil. A true asset to your company

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel in Copacabana.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mediocre breakfast.

    Good Internet connection. Excellent location at Copacabana beach. Good choice of nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    5.8
    Great location near Copacabana, all necessary bus stations,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Subject topic - Laundry - absolute disgrace! I emailed Ramiro at Acapulco Hotel (R. Gustavo Sampaio, 854 - Leme, Rio de Janeiro - RJ, 22010-010, Brazil) below: My recent stay at your hotel, before i feedback to booking.com and tripadvisor, i would like to express that we are not impressed about laundry fee you charged us. I was told a price will be confirm after collect our laundry as he unable to give us prices. We have one loaded in one plastic bag, that is less under than 1kg. We were charged 194 BRL! (£38.36). We visited seven cities across south america, i have not seen hotels where we stay charge like that. We love your hotel but on our last day, we feel like we was massively ripped off. 197 BRL for one bag of laundry, absolute disgrace. I hope to hear from you on this situation, Thank you So far they have not reply so I posted this to warn you all. They only reply when I query re: book a room beforehand. From England travellers

    Great location near Copacabana, all necessary bus stations, currency exchange and bank.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    10
    I can't say anything bad about this hotel to be honest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't say anything bad about this hotel to be honest. Very good experience and I definitely will stay here again. I was there for 3 days and everything was actually better than I expected.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    5.0
    Great location, friendly staff at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lot of noise coming from the corridor, cleaning staff extremely loud during the morning and afternoon, with no consideration for the guests that might be sleeping. Facillities ok but not great.

    Great location, friendly staff at the reception

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    The location is outstanding the staff from the persons in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative was the two tvs in the room. Both tvs would turn on at the same time and if you turn one off manually when turning the other off the other would turn on.

    The location is outstanding the staff from the persons in the receptiom to other help great There is nothing negative note i stayed at this hotel 7 previous times from 7 days to 14 days slways loved it.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.2
    Location is Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is not very good

    Location is Perfect Staff is good and friendly and help you for different isseus there are many restaurants and bank near the hotel and also bus station is near and you can go every place

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    Comfortable big rooms, nice people on the check in desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable big rooms, nice people on the check in desk which also speaks english. Great breakfast with plenty and delicious fruits. Just 100 meters walk to the seafront

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff very professional but not super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very professional but not super friendly. Elevators were a mess so we always took the stairs (9 flights!). Awesome breakfast and clean room with really nice cleaning staff. Amazingggg location.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    6.7
    Nice staff, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is old, outdated, with very few amenities in rooms, It is a very simple, basic, old but clean hotel. Room are a bit dank, views are not worth mentioning. The price charged must be for the location. If the hotel were a few blocks inland, the price couldn't be higher than $40.night

    Nice staff, good location

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    I have been a guest on and off at this hotel for 40 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need a better business center with a printer.

    I have been a guest on and off at this hotel for 40 years. It is outstanding and has a place near and dear to my heart.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    - Ok situation, thought not on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Unpleasant staff - Very hard bed - Poor equipment: old bathroom, old clock/alarm not set at the correct hour and unpossible to turn off or change, old very noisy clim in the bathroom unpossible to turn off, main light in the bedroom can only be turned off by taking off the keycard from the door => in the morning, no light and you have to get up until the door to turn all on. - Basic breakfast - Printer at the reception only available until 5PM - Horrible view from the room's window, on other rooms clims and outside garbages

    - Ok situation, thought not on the beach - Large room, huge bed

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet connection was really slow, but I was able to watch some youtube.

    The staff were very friendly and kind. The hotel is located in an excellent place, to close to the beautiful beach.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Helpful staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Key did not work a few times, needed to be reprogrammed; the property needs to be renovated soon. Wi-Fi is slow but that's half-expected.

    Helpful staff; great breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location, a minute from the beach although towards the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel is outdated, The suit was huge but with no character, not even one picture in the room. Major renovations are in order. Breakfast room looks shabby, food average. No facilities (pool, gym) Expensive for what you get

    Good location, a minute from the beach although towards the end between posts 1 and 2.We were upgraded to a suit on the 14th floor

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    Equipes da recepção e da portaria muito prestativas;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sumiço de um par de calçados do apartamento.

    Equipes da recepção e da portaria muito prestativas; excelente café da manhã; localização perfeita; bairro tranquilo.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Friendly, English speaking staff, Lovely comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing really to comment on - wifi is a bit dodgy occasionally, but it is in most hotels.

    Friendly, English speaking staff, Lovely comfortable room with HUGE bed, great shower, hotel is a block away from the beach. Not the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in - but clean, comfortable and made me feel welcome and safe. LOVE IT and will be back.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    We arrived late at night and didn't like our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived late at night and didn't like our room. This was immediately taken care of the next morning by Alan on front desk who transferred us to a really nice room. All the staff were very helpful and informative and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Family with young children

    Furnitures in the room could be renovated.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location, close to all places you would like to see during first stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.1
    Great Location, walking distance to the Copacabana Beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old and somewhat rundown but does the trick if you are looking for a clean place to stay and will be spending all your day out enjoying Rio. Front desk attendant's attitude upon our arrival was very poor. Not sure what happened but fortunately he did a 180 degree change in his demeanor moments later!

    Great Location, walking distance to the Copacabana Beach, very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the rooms are quite small, but if you get one of the big ones or the suits those are really nice

    Friendly staff Lots of fruits for breakfast Copacabana beach just across the road

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    8.3
    Very close to Copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was so small. Cleaning of the room are not so good. During our stay, ceilings did not clean. Besides this, even we inform the staff, we can not connect internet at the room. Wifi was only available at lobby floor.

    Very close to Copacabana beach. Staff of the reception desk were extremely professional. I am greatly satisfied about them.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    7.1
    Great location, five minutes far from the Copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was not working in our room, we asked to repair it but when we left it was not working yet.

    Great location, five minutes far from the Copacabana beach. Good and rich breakfast, with a lot of tropical fruit. Pretty friendly staff, ready to provide some useful advices about where to go for dinner and/or visiting the city.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    Good location, close ot the beach (1 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, close ot the beach (1 min. walk) and shops and restauraunts. Perfect staff, knowlegeble about all the things, always ready to help. Speak english and spanish. Really good brakefast with a variety to choose every day. Have sun umbrellas and towels for the beach. For silence ask rooms that dont face the street. Possible to reach the Pão de Açúcar in 30 min walk. Close (10 min walk) to the square where they offer official transfers of the national park on minibuses to the Christ.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    9.6
    Certainly not a flashy futuristic design hotel, but a plain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Certainly not a flashy futuristic design hotel, but a plain solid quality. Everything looks, feels and works as it should. Helpful staff in the reception, excellent breakfast and most practical location with beach around the corner and both Metro and RioSul shopping just 10min walk away. The only thing you don't get here is an Ocean view from the window - on the other hand you have a balcony, which is almost non-existent feature at those pricy Copacabana waterfront hotels.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    9.2
    Stayed with two children (1y and 3y) in a triple bedroom:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stayed with two children (1y and 3y) in a triple bedroom: double bed + simple bed + foldable bed The room was still fairly large with a small and safe balcony. Really nice staff, always ready to help with children (warmed up food 4 times a day etc...) and always smiling, trying to get things fixed quickly at any time when needed. Housekeeping was perfect. Breakfast is really good, lots of fruits, cakes, eggs, cheese, ham etc... One block from the beach. Would definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    7.9
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The furnitures and interior design seem a little bit from the 70s. A modernisation might work the hotel. A little pricey but I went there in high season, and Rio generally can not be considered as a cheap city.

    Staff very helpful. Breakfast was OK. Just 1 minute to Copacabana beach by walking. Many places to eat/drink/hang out nearby.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.9
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location. good service.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    very nice breakfast and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very nice breakfast and helpful staff. very close to beach.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    10
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Night desk clerk

    Great breakfast. Lots of fruit.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.9
    located close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a bot tired

    located close to beach

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.3
    very well english speaking staff at the reception and wide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    too much noise from street in front of hotel

    very well english speaking staff at the reception and wide selection at the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    View

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    Very nice hotel with amazing stuff and superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Very nice hotel with amazing stuff and superb location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    10
    Pietruuka baseins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pietruuka baseins. We missed pool.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    Hotel has excellent location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel has excellent location and friendly staff. Rooms are very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.8
    The location was great and staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No view except over other buildings. Fruit juice am could have been better

    The location was great and staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.5
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Amazing place, great staff, and brilliant location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing place, great staff, and brilliant location!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Solo traveller

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    Big room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Long wait for elevators

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast, Position
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast, Position

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.5
    Very clean, fairly modern, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very clean, fairly modern, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.3
    What I didnt like is the fact that there is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What I didnt like is the fact that there is not a lot of bench space. I like a shelf to put things on and there usually isnt any in most hotels.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    7.9
    Good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good service

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    7.5
    Proximity to Copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom shower threshold leaked water onto bathroom floor when taking a shower.

    Proximity to Copacabana beach. Close to all the restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    Good value, free parking - first come first serve, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much

    Good value, free parking - first come first serve, very helpful bellman

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    8.3
    the staff was very helpfull, the location, breakfast, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff was very helpfull, the location, breakfast, and comfort in general

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    7.9
    Value, location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy, air conditioner too weak,

    Value, location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    4.0
    Breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    7.5
    handy to beach and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no restaurant on premises

    handy to beach and facilities

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    9.2
    one of the best hotels in Rio !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    one of the best hotels in Rio ! real goed service and very friendly desk

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.8
    Hotel localization and attendance very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air condicionaire must be to repair with water escaped to the roll. Apartment 1302.

    Hotel localization and attendance very good.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We begged them to call our tour company and they would not. Rude and beyond not helpful. Bathrooms awful.

    Location

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil