Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aeroporto Othon 3 stars

Avenida Beira Mar, 280, Centro, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20021-060 , Brazil

#376 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1672 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.3
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 bedded person room as booked not available on arrival. We were only offered a 2 twin bedded room forcing one person to stay with friends in Rio. The concierge was reluctant to help book a taxi for this person to get to his friends. We then were asked to pay the same price for 2 people to stay as we were 3. This hotel is crap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Staff was very seemed uninterested in making me feel...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very seemed uninterested in making me feel welcomed , specially in the restaurant ..... poor service , good food , like always in Rio . Someone needs to remember these ppl that they are not making us any favor ! Ordered Room service overnight (pizza) and it was awful , microwave for sure . Not going back to this hotel .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent for those visiting European consulates
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room infrastructure was clearly old. No ceiling lamp. Old air conditioning system that does not work very well.

    Very close to Santos Dumont airport (3 min walking). VLT and bus stops just a few meters away. Just 50m away from the Italy, German and French consulates. Executive bus to Galeão Airport is available at the bus stop in front of the hotel for R$ 15,00.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Building is very old, beds aren’t comfortable, bathroom was dirty, stain on the walls... probably the worst place I’ve stayed

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Close to the airport but old.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old, and the rooms seem to do not be sound proof.

    The hotel is close to the aiport (less than 5 min driving) and about 50m from the overground subway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Much improvements!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Breakfast didn’t improve at all! Same as ever, very low quality (sorry to say) Bread never fresh! No toaster on site!!?? Orange juice is a total shame! No bacon... ever!!! (I asked!) • Front rooms (with balcony) very very noisy!!! Nothing to do about it, the area has always heavy traffic and the VLT is passing by just im front! • Entire neighborhood dangerous as soon as it gets dark!!! Do NOT walk around if you are not familiar with Rio or if you don’t speak portuguese. Taxi or VLT always! • Hotel closes entrance door from 22:00hrs. Need to ring bell to enter!!! No more security staff!Not really cool nor safe!

    Much improvements since my last stay there some 3 years ago!!! First, they finally replaced the “very very old “ elevator a couple of months ago. No more operator nor blockage!!! Second, they installed modern flat screen tv in almost all the rooms with cable channels included. Staff very nice as always!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    Good for a short stay, if you need to stay in that area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building, doesn’t have a restaurant inside and it’s not safe to walk out at night, so either you get a cab to eat something at night or you buy your dinner and take to the hotel. Room not very clean. Very old. Shower place very dirty or so old it’s disgusting. Air conditioned very noisy.

    Very close to american embassy and the local airport. Great view. Very good breakfast .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    Low quality well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Internet connection, unclean bathroom and toilets, staff nice but not very efficient all the time...

    Really close to Santos Dumont Airport and city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Hotel near to the airport
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrive the receptionist didn’t welcome me or make me feel comfortable

    The hotel is near to the airport just 15 mins walk ( I believe you is a waste of money to take a taxi to such near airport )

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.2
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There needs to be more security. The hotel needs a makeover. Hotel is old and dirty. The Wi-Fi is not good at all. The food was sub-par and limited. The eggs were always too soft. . the neighborhood is not very safe. The bathroom was not clean and the toilet seat would not stay open, it would close on you back when you sat down. People who walked by threw wet paper towels on my balcony.

    The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. It was close to downtown Rio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    The staff was very nice and the bed was comfy enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked here because I had an 8 am flight out of Santos Dupont Airport. I figured that I could just walk the 600 meters or so to the airport when I woke up. I had never been to Rio before and did not realize that just how unsafe it can be before the sun rises. The reception told me that even though it was close, it was much safer to just take a taxi. The only reason I booked this was to save money on a cab far, but cabs in Rio are very cheap. It would have been fine if I had a later flight. Also, the wifi did not work in the room and was slow in the lobby. Not a huge issue, but frustrating when you want to check flight information, etc.

    The staff was very nice and the bed was comfy enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful old stile hotel that does not work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately it's not a pleasant stay - very bad beds, lifts don't work without a staff and staff are not well trained.

    The hotel has an incredible authentic design

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    2.5
    Stay away
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was horrible. Nothing like the photos. The room had furniture from the 40's. The bed so uncomfortable and pillows at least 20 years old. I travel all the time and his is not a 3 star hotel. 1star and I m being generous. The room was not soundproof at all , I could hear music and concerts from far away and the windows were shaking. On top of that there was a horrible smell From the bathroom all over the place. The towels were not clean with stains all over. The walls were also very dirty. The hotel didn't even have normal elevator. Was manual with a person functioning it and u had to press a bell so they come And pick u up. It took me 15 mins to use it from the 7th floor. Really disappointing. Stay away

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient walking distance to Santos Dumont airport
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks old, I didn't see air con (but not required that night), and lift requires operator, but I never had to wait too much, lift operator always ready.

    Location is convenient if you are going to take a flight in Santos Dumont, you can go walking. Room is big and has fridge and bathtub. Price is ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Make sure to bring a good insecticide with you!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a cloud of mosquitoes that was really annoying in our room. Unfortunately the hotel didn't have any insecticide to give, nor was there any place open nearby to sell. So we spent an awful night fighting the little beasts (even with the air conditioning on). The air conditioning was very noisy.

    The location is great as long as you get a room facing the front street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Was in a nice Zone you can go very fast to all the points of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is extremely old, the elevator just work if one person is operated and this person not lways was there.

    Was in a nice Zone you can go very fast to all the points of the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.4
    Good if you have business close to the airport. Considering the cost, check for other options first
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manual elevators with slow service. No food menu available, which is bad as is not comfortable to leave the hotel at night due to the location. No interest on the employees to make the guests happy and confortable. Very unstable wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    If location is your priority, the place is OK. Nothing else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else, that is, the place requires an urgent renovation.

    Location, exclusively

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great for à stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, views of Sugarloaf and Corpus Christ. Well stocked mini bar and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    moderate value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds very average

    it obviously had been stylish in the past

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is too noisy.

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs update

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    It was worthwhile for the money I paid.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is old and noisy. There is no possibility of having some lunch at the hotel.

    Nice location. Good price. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    It was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very poor in my room. Very expensive for the facilities that it offers.

    The location is very good to enjoy downtown museums and events.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Location is great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated , shower curtain was dirty, bathroom didn’t seem to be very clean.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    Simpatia do staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quartos antigos, com pavimento de alcatifa

    Simpatia do staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Better places
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty walls...everything is old

    Breakfast...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.9
    The room smelled very bad like sewage, the food made me sick and Wi Fi was too slow to stream video.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    cleaner room, better food, better coffee better bathroom and better Wi Fi.

    The refrigerator worked

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.2
    Lucky we were only staying for a few hours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy, old

    It's close to airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    location - walking distance to SDU airport and metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extremely old facility

    location - walking distance to SDU airport and metro stations. very clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    2.5
    The location nas The breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the other things

    The location nas The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.3
    Don't go unless you really don't care
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator needs someone to work it, I spent 25 minutes trying to get to the lobby.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Elevator too old
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator too old

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    6.3
    Good value for money but needs to be renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old.

    Very close to the airport and to the office where I had a meeting.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts was out of date, should be replaced.

    The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    3.8
    Avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs Noise from the streets Home less in front of the street Dirty blankets 1 Channel tv

    Personne à L Acceuil tres gentil

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    Staff is no friendly , they are not speak English , I like the view , 2 out of 5 is my rating !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Bay View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff did not speak in English Language so there is no way of communication .

    The location and view are very fabulous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.0
    Close to the airport and the event I was attending
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old building, rude staff, the elevador needs a person to go up and down and on my check out I waited 10 min and had to take the stairs cus no one showed.

    Close to the airport and the event I was attending

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    5.4
    Personnel was vey nice and helpful and someone even spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is just very old. Furniture, Aircon, Windows, Bathroom. Everything. The worst though is the elevator that needs to be handled manually by a page. Sounds cool and oldschool? Nope. We had to wait up to 5 minutes for the lift after calling it. Super annoying. Also, you have to pay extra for the wifi. For EVERY device. Not acceptable in 2016.

    Personnel was vey nice and helpful and someone even spoke english what is (still nowadays) quite rare in Brazil. Room was fairly big.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    6.7
    It is 5 min from Santos Dumont Airport and it has a most...
    • Solo traveller

    They shut down the refrigerator while I was out. The next day the water to drink my pills was hot. The air conditioned top was fixed with a tape.

    It is 5 min from Santos Dumont Airport and it has a most beautiful view of Rio de Janeiro

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    3.0
    the room was clean;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the net price appeared higher due to hidden charges. no internet, they tried to sell it to me separately for a high price. the breakfast is poor for the price paid.

    the room was clean; the tv worked.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.5
    500m from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I dont like rooms with doors between, so you can hear all from your neighbours. The AC was so loud that was impossible to sleep with it. Old rooms...

    500m from airport. Nice personal.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    6.3
    I used to like this hotel and the location and the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately it is impossible to have a good night sleep at this hotel. Not that the hotel is uncomfortable or that they are responsible in anyways BUT the surroundings, which were ok before, is close to staying in hell. The 24/7 construction work of the LVT (Tramway) line right in front of the hotel + the constant traffic noise + the night club or whatever across the street with their electronic deep bass music makes you feel like staying on the San Andreas Fault!!!

    I used to like this hotel and the location and the rooms with balcony and the kindness of the staff...

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    4.6
    The staff REALY try to help you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mosquitos... noise... OLD... VERY OLD PLACE. There were so many mosquitos...

    The staff REALY try to help you... but the place is in such bad conditions that there nothing they can do.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    2.5
    Very old building, smell not very good, very old elevator...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very old building, smell not very good, very old elevator with an operator inside the elevator (yes! a guy driving the elevator. Old furnitures, bad TV. Very very bad

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location and very nice staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Paid wifi! Very expensive (R$23/day)! A real joke for the poor coverage!!! Better off using your 3G! Breakfast kindda boring (always same stuff)

    Good location and very nice staff! Close walking distance to downtown and Santos Dumont Airport. Fantastic view of Guanabara Bay from balcony. Good value for money if you need to be downtown.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.1
    Staff is friendly and hotel very close to Santos Dumont...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is very old, didn't gave me such a good cleanniless feel, but... might be wrong too. Paid Wi-Fi... come on... only free in the reception area!!

    Staff is friendly and hotel very close to Santos Dumont Airport, walking distance (less than 15min). Elevator is very slow, but very old too... kind of cool, puts you back in the past.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.9
    The staffs are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It took 10 min to walk to subway station. We took taxi which was easy to catch. So it's not a problem.

    The staffs are friendly and helpful. They made the vacation more enjoyable. The free breakfast was good too. The hotel is very old but tidy. I'll recomend to my friends.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.7
    Location and view
    • Couple

    Bed was hard as a rock. Mini bar was expensive.

    Location and view

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.1
    We pay that much and we don't have free wifii.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We pay that much and we don't have free wifii..

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.3
    4 minute walk from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    4 minute walk from airport. Good breakfast. Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    6.3
    Good breakfast, great location close to airport (10 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air conditioning was not great in the room

    Good breakfast, great location close to airport (10 minute walk)

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    Da vista
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Do bar

    Da vista

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    6.7
    It has an amazing view but the place is very noisy.
    • Solo traveller

    The noise.

    It has an amazing view but the place is very noisy. The hotel is old but it has a lower price compared to the other hotels in the area.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the way we had to proove we are in the hotel to get our key back

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Old place, only one lift working.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.2
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything is horrible but the staff.

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    Close to S.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Building old with old forniture

    Close to S.Dumont airport

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.7
    LOcation because of meeting was next door to the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really

    LOcation because of meeting was next door to the location

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    The room was nice and clean
    • Couple

    The room was nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    4.6
    Closeness to airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall drab appearance with lack of lighting in reception area.

    Closeness to airport

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    7.9
    close to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi for money

    close to the airport

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    5.0
    i liked the classic look of the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    service, elevator, tiny beds

    i liked the classic look of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    2.5
    chuveiro
    • Family with older children

    chuveiro

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Aeroporto Othon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil