Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apa Hotel Copacabana 3 stars

Rua Republica do Peru 305, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22021040, Brazil

#188 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 863 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t make the holiday as bad weather in the uk meant flights were cancelled for 5 consecutive days. Hotel refused to refund money. Very very bad customer services

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for the new towels, but they didn’t give it to me. The walkway ‘s lights to the room is not enough.

    The room is large and comfortable. The receptionist is OK, and hotel provide the good food. Location is good which I walked just 2 blocks to Copacabana beach. The hotel is near bus station, and Metro station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed for two nights but the cleaning service did not come after the first night - never happened to me before.

    the location is good - close to the Copacabana beach; the facilities are simple but good. Breakfast was not elaborate but good enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was sold as having air conditioning but this was not the case, more of a fan that had no effect in 30 degree heat. Some staff were rude.

    Comfortable beds and great showers, fantastic location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the wardrobe in my my room smelt a bit stale but I just left its door open to air it out while I was there.

    This hotel is good value for money, in a great location and friendly helpful staff. I stayed there a couple of years ago and didn't hesitate to book again this year. Many of the same people still worked there which is often a sign of stable management.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy (from the traffic).

    Perfect location, close to the beach and public transportation (bus and metro). Extremely friendly and most helpful personnel. Very good and varied breakfast with home-baked cake. Very good value for the money!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you think the elevator cab is small...just wait till you get to the room. And, the mini-fridge is for "their" use for commercial items overpriced they hope you'll consume. I bought my own coffee maker and steam iron and beach chair because they provide none of that. And, unrelated to the hotel stay, but at the beach, my cell phone was stolen. It impacted my stay and added to the expense of this "budget" trip.

    All hotel staff dressed in appropriate uniforms. Very professional. Abundance of staff: food service, bell desk and housekeeping and always someone at front desk. The key-card operates the door entrance and the lights once inside the room. There is a safe in the room for valuables. The bed and mattress are very comfortable. Flat-screen TV and great cable channel choices. Internet in room adequate. Towels are wonderful. The breakfast is GREAT!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a twin bed and the mattress was quite thin. I'm only 5'2'' and 120 lbs but still felt as if the bed was too small. The bathroom was much worse because it seemed like they just tried to cram the shower, sink and toilet all together! I'm fairly small but would seem to constantly hit my knees and elbow on the shower door. There was barely any room to move around and so I can't imagine an average-sized guy staying here.

    The location was the best part of this place! Only two blocks from the beach and two blocks from the metro. The staff was helpful and the room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on 2nd floor facing street. It was very noisy on street. If you expect quiet, you are not going to get it with Windows facing the street. It did not bother me, but others could find it bothersome. Very small elevators like in Europe. A family of four with luggage will have to go up separately. I wish they had more channels on tv in English other than CNN. I wish there was a larger space for hanging clothes with more then 4 hangars. Iron was not provided, but I carry a travel iron. Be careful using stairs because there isn't any strips attached to steps so you can easily see each step....made of tiles, not carpet. Tiled floors in room instead of carpet.

    I stayed in a single room. The rooms are simple, nothing luxerious but I was happy with my room. My room was on 2nd floor with window facing streets. Breakfast: Coffee, tea, watermelon and other fruits, cold meats and cheese, bread for toasting, scrambled eggs, juices, chocolate mix, weiners in sauce was standard morning menu. Breakfast is buffett style in small dining room. WiFi worked well for me to watch my downloaded movies, internet, etc. Can walk to beach. Restaurants, cash exchange, bus and subway all within walking distance. Small chain restaurant across street provides their menu in English. Water, sodas, snacks in room available with price list. Air conditioner and refrigerator worked well. Front desk staff was great! Cleaning staff kept my room clean and supplied with necesities. Hair dryer provided in bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Several times we understood that the receptionists were trying to cheat us with regards to payment. The first time they wanted about 2000 R$ more than the price that was given by "Booking". The second time they lied about the amount of money already paid. Be careful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night the reception staff didnt allow me to go upstairs to my room although he had seen me go in and out the hotel several times that night. He refused to let me enter my room although i showed him my room key. After he verified that i am a hotel guest he did not apologise.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old, elevator is insanely small and showers are badly designed, you get all soaked up just by trying to turn it on because the door blocks the handles.

    I liked the location and the breakfast was very complete.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture is little bit old, but overall is ok.

    The breakfast is very nice and you can have it until 11:00 am. The location is very convenient, close to copacabana beach and to subway station Cardeal Arcoverde. The rooms are simple but clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didn't flush. Shower is very small. Room is very basic. There were hairs in the vanity basin and I asked for fresh towels because I was doubtful. Pokey breakfast room, you have to wait at peak times. Our room was quite noisy because it faced onto a busy street.

    The hotel is conveniently located. The breakfast is quite good with fresh fruit, toast, scrambled eggs etc. There's a safe in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps traffic, but that is everywhere..and this is Rio.

    Had a great stay for about a month. Very very clean hotel. The staff are very professional, but also friendly. Can understand English-speakers. Beds were very comfortable, with a fridge.Also each room has a hotel safe to keep valuables. Hotel's position is fine for the beach:) Also a central place for most venues in Rio.Breakfast was basic and fine, and has just what you need for starting your day.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This for sure is not a 8.0 hotel. It is old, cleanliness is not on the adequate level, extremely noisily and the rooms are pretty small. The breakfast is poor with no variety. I wouldn't recomend this hotel to anyone who respects his money.

    Only positive thing about this hotel is the location. It is close to the beach and to metro station. But than again there are lot of hotels in this area so it doesn't mean a lot.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always enjoy staying at he APA Hotel. Staff is very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Pool

    Space, attendentt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just miss bacon at breakfast

    I had absolutely beautiful stay at the hotel. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t drink coffee

    Breakfast was complete

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad

    Location, price and a very good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ThE staff

    Excelent hotel with an excelent staff. No luxury, but the necesary yo feel good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very great value for money, clean and the service is impeccable. Also the location is absolutely convenient :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    price- comfort -relation ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no iron for pressing clothes.

    Staff was helpful..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view. Pretty small room.

    Only 2 blocks from the beach in Copacabana.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room smelled terribly bad

    Good location, friendly stuff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled very bad, of urine. The room was small and it felt like going in to a train compartment

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, close to center and 3 minutes walk to nice beach. Excellent breakfast and sleeping.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small but for short stay it's ok. Hotel is quite old.

    Simple and clean. Great location. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too small old room. No comfort.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location closed to Copacabana beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was tiny and not very comfortable

    good wifi and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not as comfortable

    Price and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, uncomfortable beds, room not ready although evening arrival, bad breakfast

    Very friendly staff, close to Copacabana Beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice location, near the Copacabana beach. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    I could not charge my cellfone because of the plugs in the wall were made only for brasilians eletronics and the hotel didnot have conectors to surply us!! very bad to be uncomunicated because of that! too bad!!

    I loved the location and the breakfast too! and the mades were very nice..

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a bad smell in the room I stayed in the second floor. Not even leaving the window open, it helped. I think it was mold. I hope they could fix it because the hotel is a good value for money; and very nice staff.

    Very friendly and nice staff. Near some very good restaurants and the beach. I'd would definitively stay again

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    it can be noisy from the street but this is the same for pretty much any hotel in Rio Copa area. The aircon is a tiny bit noisy but it didn't disturb me and I'm a light sleeper.

    Excellent staff who helped with anything I needed and mostly spoke English. Great location and excellent value for money in an expensive city.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The corridors and stairs had light sensors which didn't always come on straight away and so it was a little precarious at times

    The location is great and the staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked almost everything: people from the reception desk, their hospitality, services, breakfasts, the weather in Rio during June, secure and very comfortable locality close to Copacabana beach ... I am able to imagine to come back and can warmly recommend this hotel to everybody who has not demands of any star like David Beckham. Dear APA, thanks for everything! Gostei mais ou menos tudo: a gente da recepçăo, a hospitabilidade dela, todos os serviços, cafés da manhă, o tempo no Rio em junho, a localidade segura e muito cómoda perto da Copacabana ... Consigo me imaginar de voltar e posso cordialmente recomendar este hotel aos todos que nao tęm exigęncias de um Cristiano Ronaldo :-) Obrigadíssimo por tudo!

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are not very modern and some noise from the street (stayed on 3rd floor) but not as loud to make a bad night sleep

    Staff were very nice and helpful, always with a smile and gave very helpful sightseeing tips. Location is very close to Copacabana beach and small/good restaurants nearby. Rooms were very clean and serviced everyday

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very small bed in the single room had a friend come over in the morning of my departure and he wasn't allowed up...

    the shower is great location too

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Elevator was like a box of matches, way too small. Wi Fi failed from time to time.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable, decent A/C, good service room and availability of resources.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Rio is "overpriced" for value seekers -some restaurants are abysmal, even though have long history in the city -although security concerns are "overplayed" in my opinion, you do need to have "street smarts" to avoid unpleasant encounters -really hot if you go during summer season...so be prepared

    Three blocks away from beach and near Copacabana Palace Hotel is good location quiet, air-conditioned,comfortable room, with safe and small refrigerator -clean but plain decor -front units have small balcony but some rooms are very small and quirky -near bus stop for "thrifty" travellers who want public transit -magnificent scenery and "old world" architecture

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Proper decent hotel at the proximity of the Copacabana beach. Greeaaat breakfast! :)

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    air conditioner is very noisy, old fashioned one.

    cheap price

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location close to shops and beach

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    near main and noisy street slow wi fi

    comfort room, good location- near to copocabana beach and Metro station

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lighting in the bathroom is too dark only one pillow on the bed and no iron

    The staff was helpful and accommodating and the location is centralize

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was ok

    The staff are very kind

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Exchange rate offered by the hotel was a bit mean.

    Excellent and friendly staff. Great location. Clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, very obliging, good beds, hot shower, good breakfast, convenient location.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good!

    Great location, good beds, good shower, good breakfast, pleasant staff, and value for money!

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a bit of road noise but may not be as bad on higher floors

    Convenient location & helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in room was very slow or sometimes didn't work at all

    Good breakfast, helpful, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location brilliant for beach and metro. Good hotel with decent breakfast and good basic facilities. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was very poor, like in a motel. i stubbled with the aircon, too hard to tune.

    The location is very convenient. Pretty good wifi.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Apa Hotel Copacabana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil