Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria Palace 4 stars

Avenida Atlântica, 1866, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22021-001, Brazil

#176 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2919 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed and we were informed about it during the check out only. The view to the back yard is awkward but quiet at least.

    Breakfast was really good. And the staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    The hotel, parallel to the Copacabana Beach, is very clean and conveniently located. The breakfast offers a variety for everyone to eat. Very accommodating from checking-in to check-out, getting us taxi in the morning of the Caixa Rio Maratona races and booking our futbol tickets to watch the Flamengo versus Corinthians at the Maracanã. They even allowed us to use their bathroom before we headed to the airport in the evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel. There is a very good Italian restaurant (La Trattoria) just around the corner from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was a bit unfriendly and I was told off while getting the elevator with a friend to get a jumper in my room before going out for dinner.

    The room was amazingly comfortable. Added to the size of the bed and the cleanliness of the bed sheets . The breakfast was great and there were many options to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay full amount when pool was not working and nobody told us about it before getting there.Reservation was made there with pool facilities. Staff when we did the check-in, did not give us a full information of whar we were entitled to.

    Only the view, nothing else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff members Wagner Coelho and Claudio Oscar made our stay extra pleasurable by giving us good tips and accurate information. They took their time any time we had any questions. Very pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the towels are a little thread bear and need to be replaced.

    The hotel is in a great location on the beach! The rooms are a bit small but very well appointed, clean and comfortable. Ocean views are amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutelly terrible rooms whoch has no sea wiev. As first we got this room and in few seconds we osud more for the other room. They are dark, wet and VERY small. Of you wanna enjoy your stay DONT take the inner rooms. Room are little bit expensive. Roof pool is small and not perfectly clean.

    Rooms with sea wiew are perfect! So many daylight, clear and nice, perfect breakfast, helpfully personal and fantastic location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a superior room with a view on the ocean, and the first two nights they gave me a room on the first floor with a view on the flags of the hotel and trees, we could barely call that ocean view! Then after asking many times they changed my room on the third day for two other nights the view was much better from the 6th floor. Some of the staff were nice but not all of them! Before changing the room i checked if there is any of my belongings under the bed and found a man’s underwear and many dust it was really disgusting. The hairdryer wasn’t working. And they offer many choices for breakfast but nothing is tasty and the waffles are just horrible!

    The room is big, the location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ability of staff to speak english. If they do not understand, they start to do something else. Service about swimming pool.

    Nice view from the room, swimming pool and location. Also breakfast offer was on the good level.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet should be less scary :D

    I would come back, i was let to stay and have drink on the rooftop after checkout as well. the room was big. staffs are very friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room key cards demagmetizing easly.

    Breakfast was really something (for the South America standards). Small but nice pool and bar at the 14th floor with decent drink prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms are old and require renovation

    Great location if you want to visit Copacabana beach and nearby attractions. The view from the rooftop pool is great. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    It was not sure if an extra bed was possible, but when we arrived an extra bed was put in the room. Thank you! And we loved the huge breakfast!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more gym equiptment.

    The breakfast buffet was amazing, it had a great variety of foods to choose from. The room was very spacious and very clean. The staff was exceptional, very attentive and friendly and the location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We had a friend who was going to help us carry the luggage to our room but the receptionist did not let her go upstairs at all! So she had to wait for us by the lobby (I honestly thought that was a bit too exaggerated, it was not like she was going to stay there, we were literally going to leave our luggage there and she was only helping...)

    - Spacious room. - Great facilities included within the hotel grounds (pool and gym). - Great location (in front of Copacabana beach).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn’t work and aí couldn’t even sleep considering Rio de Janeiro’s weather Waitress at the front desk was unpolite at the check in while talking at the phone with someone else

    Stunning beach view and rooftop pool worth staying at this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super rude staff, pool needs renovations, it does not look like the pictures at all, check in was two hours late beacuse there was still a guest in our room and we had to wait. Never would stay again nor would I recomend.

    Fair breakfast, good location in copacabana.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view from the sea-frontal rooms and the terrace on top of the hotel. The bed was super comfortable! Staff is very friendly and they spoke really good English which is still rare in Brazil.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel is small and so the service is more personalised. We loved all of it and it is just across the road from the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very bad

    Stuff is very kindly special (Ursula) she is very amazing lady she is very smart she is very clever she is very kindly she speak English very very well and very kindly and very polite Thank you (Ursula) for everything Thank you also about you information

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a triple room and they wanted my adult daughter to sleep on a camp bed for 5 nights.

    Location was excellent and hotel was very clean. Across from the cops Conan’s beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you can’t afford an ocean view, you at least get sunlight. Unless you get a non ocean-facing 1st floor room, then you’re in a bunker Also they should paint the walls of the rooms, they need a fresh coat You’re paying for location before anything Also the R$80 daily fee for non-guests, even just to be in the room for 20 minutes, is a little much. I get that they don’t want tourists bringing prostitutes back to the rooms but you’d think staff would be allowed to discern between local friends and sex workers.

    Cross the street and you’re on the beach, great for running/biking along Zona Sul beaches Friendly staff, very helpful and they work hard

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    photos on booking looks much nicer than it is in real breakfast room very noise pool very small

    great breakfast buffet great location direct at the Copacabana

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location right on the beach in Copacabana. Just outside the front door, walk across the street and you are in the sand with many restaurant Kiosks available, volleyball courts, bike path and beautiful views. Hotel Astoria Palace even has a rooftop pool and patio to relax and watch the sunset at Copacabana. The room was clean and well furnished. The breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT with many choices. The front desk was helpful and easy to communicated with in many languages.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room for my partner and I months in advance only to find we had to push two single beds together. And the wifi was absolutely useless. But overall an ok experience. Travelled from Australia. Expected a little more.

    The location and view from the room was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ursula was great. She worked the front desk. Fellow in dining room had an attitude and apparently doesn't understand why he is there and that is to help guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not friendly and completely indifferent. Rooms are not comfortable, rather small and could be more clean.

    Location is great. Copacabana beach in front of you and many places to eat nearby. Breakfast is really good and varied.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool-area could have been a little bit cleaner and it smelled of chlorine in the bathroom when they had cleaned it. But that’s small stuff compare to the positive notes of this hotel.

    The staff was Absolutely wonderful and helpful. I couldn’t check out later But I was able to use the lobby and the wi-fi. They also arranged a cheaper car to take me to the airport. The Copacabana besch outside is very nice, a bit crowded and try not to go there on Saturdays if it bothers you, But That’s also a bit of the charm right? They have different tour options that I took one day to be a bit touristy. I can Absolutely recommend it, But do it in the beginning of your trip as you get valuable tips on where to explore the city further. The breakfast was a little bit too sweet for me with many ”cake-options” but overall very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to changed the Room 3 times. And the 3 times. i told them. I won't change the room. I was frustrated.

    Breakfast was excellent...so many choices. All staff friendly. The clean ladies was the best. I stayed at Deluxe Ocean view the top. The views was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was of a very disappointing quality - lots of choice but none of it very appetising at all. Sun roof and pool area both very small and lacking any appeal whatsoever even had they been larger. It would prove a real asset if the hotel concentrated on improving this area as the view is spectacular.

    Bedroom and bathroom were great as were the staff and we enjoyed the close proximity to the beautiful beach and kiosks as well as the hotel itself. Perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was mugged on Copacabana beach at 11 am in the morning so perhaps a warning to guests might be good in the rooms.

    Breakfast was excellent...so many choices. All staff friendly and front staff particularly helpful at organizing trips and giving information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is not great and keeps cutting off the signal. We were lucky we had internet data on our phones so we could use internet anyway.

    The location is excellent, the breakfast also very good and most of the front desk staff is very friendly too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no flip flops, missing tooth brush, no free water in the room , i asked to decorate room with rose petals .. didnt happen, when i was contacting hotel by phone , first time nobody was speaking english, 2nd time lady told me that she ll call me back , didnt happen as well

    location , bfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For breakfast an excellente range of cakes, but one tries to keep away from them. Orange juice was a watery coloured liquid. No unsalted meats (all sausages, ham, etc.). Nevertheless, breakfast was satisfactory.

    Offer in Booking.com said "rooms with sea" view. This was miss-leading, should have been "some rooms ...". The room we got was completely enclosed by other buildings at close quarters, just a tunnel view of a hill beyond. We changed next day to a larger one (after haggling, at a slighty higher rate than in Booking), with a good view, see picture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was too crowded. Food and coffee at breakfast could have been better.

    Good value for the money. Great location. Excellen view from the rooftop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was very disappointing. Fruit juices out of the machine. Low quality. Our room was at the back of the hotel, which was pretty dark. We had the back of another building as the (ugly) view. Once the windows were opened there were kitchen smells coming up to our room. Water in the shower was mostly just lukewarm. Black mold in the bathroom. Feels like a 3 star hotel. Needs refurbishment.

    The location was great and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is kind of old fashioned, shower is taking ages to get to warm water.

    Excellent breakfast, good room with view of the beach. Good, large bed. Excellent pick up service from airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated. Breakfast isn't the greatest in terms of cramped conditions and not great for vegetarians.

    Location is perfect. Check-in staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom quality... it was clean as far as daily cleaning goes but mold on the ceiling and towels made of sandpaper. I have found this is the case with most cheap motels but not your higher end hotels - these towels should have been of better quality in my opinion. Next time I'll take my own towels.

    Everything with a few minor exceptions... location, service, breakfast, rooftop bar and pool and staff were all fantastic. Bonus - Maxim's Resteraunt is just out the front door and they have great drinks and good prices - we ate there a few times late at night for convenience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drinking water in the rooms should not be charged. At least make arrangements to get drinkable water in the Bathroom tap.

    The location was superb. The buffet breakfast was also nice. The lady at the Reception was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can hear people moving and dragging furniture around, above our room. We were in room 1202. People in room 1302 were noisy. We complaint to staff Ursula. She was very nice. Two nights our rest was disturbed. Very unfortunate.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The elevators are a nightmare, we ended up using the stairs all the time to avoid waiting too much time. The gym is extremely small, is basically like not having one

    Very nice terrace with a great view of Copacabana, unfortunately opening too late in the morning and getting totally wet for cleaning. The breakfast is very good. The rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the booking.com description it sounds that it has much more than it actually has (e.g. Gym is literally 3 equipment, pool is tiny and rooms look much bigger in the photos than they actually are)

    Local was indeed excellent and right at the heart of Copacabana. Views from the bar are excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough plates and cups for breakfast. We had to wait until the staff washed up the existing ones and then we continued breakfast.

    Great view of the beachfront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staffs were not so kind and in a goo mood. so conversation with them was boring and you couldnt get right answer. breakfast was the same in all of days.

    my room had a good view to see and i loved it.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit noisy from the Copacabana but that's obvious

    Very nice and helpful staff; wonderful location to spend days by the beach; great rooftop terrace for relaxing; everyone spoke at least a little English that was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise, I could hear what was happening in the neighboring rooms and heard the cleaning maids in the hallway. Do not exchange money there, you lose a lot of money

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parkplaces only on the street on the side, but this is normal in other hotels in Rio, too.

    Great breakfast, amazing view from the top, clean big rooms, perfect position.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blanket was smelling a dry pee. It should be washed after each guest. I'm not talking about bed sheets, it was just the blanket stored at the wardrobe. But the only complain I have.

    Very good location, breakfast had almost everything, I enjoyed so much the location on the side has a good restaurant and Taxis, also if your looking for a tour make a deal with them better price than a tour guide company. Overall 4/5

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was described by booking.com as a hotel with all windows facing the beach. Against Copacabana. Unfortunately the view from our window was a house wall

    I liked that the hotel was in the middle of Copacabana directly connected to the beach. Views from the hotel's roof with its attached bar and pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from my room (505) which faced the back of hotel. Not an issue for my 1 night stay though. Pool is tiny, just for dipping.

    Fantastic location overlooking Copacabana beach. Nice rooftop view. Good buffet breakfast with wide choice of hot & cold food, fresh fruits etc. Fitness room has 1 multigym and 2 cardio which is adequate when not busy. Overall seems good value for such a great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is horrible. They will not do any minimum effort to accommodate any needs from the guests. Room service is very limited in options and again not possible to make any minor modification to the dishes. Traveling with a 1 year-old boy, I would expect to be able to have a kids meal or at least to be able to order fruits and/or vegetables. The keys for the rooms would lose their codes if a cell phone is anywhere on a 3 ft radius.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woman receptionist on arrival, not welcoming spent ages finding my booking, not what you want after long flight.

    Great location, fantastic views from roof top pool area, breakfast really good. Porter was helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dirty, used band-aids on the floor, rollaway bed in the room even though we had specified we were a couple, VERY noisy next to elevator, only one elevator working, long queue for breakfast, loads of dirty dishes at vacant tables, staff unable to cope, bathroom filthy and moldy, staff attitude was "take it or leave it". Housekeeping staff barging through do-not-disturb on door. Lobby and room photos are VERY deceptive.

    The view, and ONLY the view. Everything else about this hotel was a rip-off

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't take their pool towels to the beach. They said that they were only for the pool.

    Seafront room room had super clean windows to enjoy the amazing views. Extra fluffy pillows were great for sleeping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was dirty. I complained and they did nothing. They didn't wash the floors, just wiped them it seemed. Staff was not helpful. They barely spoke English. I had to communicate in Spanish. Breakfast very average and I had to wait in line for long time to be seated.. they didn't even have enough plates for guests... They were late to check me in and I had to wait one hour to change my room (the first one they offered me was a matchbox with small window facing an air-conditioning unit). Bellboy didn't bother helping me with luggage as he was chatting on his phone, when i mentioned to the reception they were laughing like we were old mates. Very noisy room thanks to cleaning personal and lifts... Had to wear earplugs a few times. Very little tour services offered, in case you are interested. When i tried to get a coffee in the bar area, i had to wait for around 40 minutes.. met a couple who booked a seaview room, which was given a rear-view room.. In general disappointing overall....Sorry to say

    Location was decent. Not the best part of Avenida Atlantica in my view. Roof top pool with a view was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I missed was a brighter "makeup" light in the bathroom.

    The room was super clean, very comfortable and the view was incredible!! They provided toiletries in the bathrooms (toothpaste, razors, shampoo, conditioner, etc) and location couldn't have been better. The staff was very very polite and super eager to help. Perfect hotel!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooftop pool and sitting area pretty nice but too small when there are many people in the hotel

    Great location, right on the Copacabana. Room with ocean view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor in the room was not clean, nobody cleaned under the beds at least for a month. Made a complain. Do not change the money in the hotel. Just around the corner many exchange shops with a much better exchange rate.

    The location, the breakfast, the receptionists.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it is not enough light in the room and is not possibly to open windows wide and to receive "fully" emotions from ocean view

    Location and ocean view are remarkable. Breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived late at night and found we had been allocated the wrong room from our booking - luckily they were able to find another room. When we went to have a bath the plug did not fit (ridiculous for this standard of accommodation).Even though reported to the front desk it was only when I advised the room cleaner that a new plug was procured. It took a number of attempts to finally activate the WiFi - which is of very poor connectivity. On our first stay we were provided with a directory of tourist activities, brochures etc. and a compendium book of Rio - neither of these was supplied this time. Attempts to explain this to the front desk staff was a waste of time. The front desk staff, both day and night, were unwelcoming, unfriendly and bordering on rude. - totally unacceptable for this standard of accommodation. (Re-train or replace these people. Find staff who understand the importance of their position - 'first impression'.) On the morning of our check out,when our time to arrive at the airport was very constrained, the breakfast dining room opened 7 minutes late - once again not acceptable.(The front desk manager totally ignored this tardiness.) At the base of the stairs leading to the raised swimming pool (photo) the tiles, when wet,are extremely slippery, which caused me to fall when descending - some non-skid material needs to be placed here to prevent further accidents and injury (This is a serious safety issue!) Why not provide pool towels in the room? On check-out the porter made no attempt to assist us with our baggage to the taxi.

    We were return guests who had very much enjoyed our first stay - perhaps because we had stayed just before the Olympic Games everyone was out to give a good impression. The location is excellent. The front desk staff are not.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sheets were with stains and seem kind of dirty I asked for hot water to drink a tea and there wasn't room service after 10pm, had to come downstairs to the kitchen to pick up I think the value didn't match the service and room

    location, the view We got earlier and they allow early check in about 10:30

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my romm was atotal desaster, no window, the central air condition next to it the noise was so loud even my bed was shaking and no excuse for the most horrible night i ever has in a hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff at the reception. Perfect location of the room with view of Copacabana Beach. Very nice breakfast. Roof-terrace with extensive view and a small pool. Recommended...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor customer service and rude receptionist. I called the hotel in advance to ask for an early check-in, and was told that it should not be a problem. Was also told that as the reservation counter was closed, I could not do any booking till I landed and physically appeared at the hotel. However, I was told that the early check-in would not have been a problem. Upon our arrival my fellow-travelers and I who were feeling really weary after our journey, the receptionist was rude and unwilling to listen to our requests. The wifi was also crawling at a snail's pace. The pictures of the rooftop bar are a poor reflection of how small the pool and poolside area is. Having the bacon for breakfast was practically like chewing on a piece of rubber.

    Location only: facing Copacabana beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much noise...wall are very thin...noise would start around 7 am...breakfast very poor...not a 4 star hotel at all!

    Only liked the location and the peolpe who carried your luggage

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    At check out the hotel charged us for items we did not take from the mini bar. They fixed it, but I did not like having to call their bluff. I noticed from other reviews that this happens frequently. Looks like they are hoping you will not really review the final bill, and they will make a little extra. Be sure to keep track of what you take from the mini bar, and fully examine your final bill.

    The location was awesome. The roof top pool has great views of Copacabana obviously, but you can also catch views of Christ the Redeemer and Sugar Loaf Mountain from the roof. The morning included buffet was great, good options, the eggs in particular were yummy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't allowed to have my friend and his three year old stepson come into the hotel without paying an extra fee. The front desk apologized but said it was the manager's policy who of course was not there. Absolutely ridiculous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont speak english just portuguese in a turistic place, the staff is rude and unpolite and they dont give you receipt when you pay in cash when you arrive. The 5% tax fee was not clear, they double charge it, and they did not know how to explain it. Staff in reception lack costumer service when check in and check out.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the staff are friendly i got the sense that they always want to sell you overpriced tours. This is unnecessary, specially with a hotel well located near public transport such as this one.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Keep shoes on in the room, floor is never cleaned. Hotel was fully booked, so breakfast was a nightmare, only seats for maybe half of the guests.

    But Location is perfect

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kizzy at the front desk was amazing! We asked for a room upgrade with an ocean view and she was able to give us a very good deal. The free breakfast buffet was very nice with lots of variety. The entire staff was very friendly and most accomodating. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prior to arrival Cost for booking was subtracted from Credit card, this info was given to the Front desk whilst checked and prove of deposit. Check-in counter insisted transaction to be done as they have no prove of payment ,at the end I paid double for one night reservation

    TV remote in room was not working . Upon check-out we informed the front desk nothing was consumed from Bar fridge still head to pay for bottle of water

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude, pushy and speak very little English, small room, traffic nois even when window is closed.check-in till 11pm when it is 24hrs front desk.

    Location with beach front access and view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to beach easy access to public transport and excellent breakfast. Comfortable room with good view.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil