Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Atlante Plaza 5 stars

Avenida Boa Viagem, 5426, Boa Viagem, Recife, CEP 51030-000, Brazil

#19 of 86 hotels in Recife

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1957 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Coffee with milk from machine was terrible. If you like coffee and milk I suggest that you take an espresso from the machine and fill up your cup with hot milk from the bottle. Staff during breakfast was very confusing not knowing what to do.

    It's a very nice building across from the beach, the room was very clean. Good selection of drinks and cocktails. Swimming pool and fitness facility with a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertise they speak English, but not a single employee spoke English making my stay more difficult. Atleast when checking in being given some information would have been helpful.

    The pool was nice and the staff tried their best to help me despite language barrier

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not view city/beaches from pool. The lobby smelled of grease from restaurant. The hotel is not really close to downtown area. The beach was nice in front of the hotel.

    Great breakfast with champagne and made to order omelettes in the executive lounge! We even book massages in the spa. Great pool!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Suite
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some safety concerns. The bathtub was slippery. No handlebars in the tub. The windows are drafty and open way too much that someone could jump out. The elevators were slow or out of order at times.

    The staff was warm and friendly. The food was excellent. The breakfast brought warm memories of home to my wife whom is from Recife. The pool area was clean and well maintained. Overall an excellent time spent at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should be more flexible with an early check in even if the charge a fee Because many flight from North America arrived in Recife early in the morning.

    Was a very pleasant and convenient Property The service was excellent Is in front of the beach a nearby to many amenities . And close to the airport Great place for a short visit to Recife

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air-conditioning in my room was broken, the hotel were great, I didn't actually mind because I don't like using the air con, nonetheless they upgraded me to a much better room, so I was delighted.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC in the room was non-functional much of the time. I called to have it serviced several times each day. After each servicing it functioned for a few hours, but only with minimal cooling capacity. The room and the bathroom had very poor lighting. The toilet had very little flush capacity.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful at all, they always say no to requests at first until you insiste and they finally say. Old amenities, long waiting time in line to get fresh eggs for breakfast- 15-20min on weekend because there’s only one lady cooking behind the station for about 85 people.

    Love the beach view from our room. It’s definitely the best thing about the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe because the hotel was crowded , they did not allow us to stay after the check out, not even paying for it. And the hotel does not offer a shower to use after the beach...

    Nice service, bedroom had a good size, good shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing disagreeable. Happened...

    My brief day and a half trip with my adult daughter to Recife went as planned. We got to see Olinda and a little of Recife.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow staff at the bar lobby - 40mins to order a drink and snack (not once but a few time), had to chase staff for service. Breakfast area staff kept putting us to a already in use table. Front desk were useless regarding restaurants. Asked bedroom floor to be cleaned and was not done, overall bathroom cleaness was not adequate.

    Nothing reallly, soulless hotel with no caracter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel charged me twice and after one month I am still waiting a feedback! Terrible or missing signs showing where is the pool. The pool was closed! The hotel is too tight.

    My room was clean and the car service was a point.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Apartment with Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop pool was a strange shade of blue/green.

    Great hotel in a fantastic location on the beach. The staff were very friendly and professional. Food in the restaurants was beautiful. The room was clean and modern.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a First Class room, but it was much smaller than I expected, had two double beds even though I only wanted one. A sea view was not available even though I specifically requested it when checking in. The sauna was only lukewarm which was disappointing as I was on a leisure trip and looking forward to spending some time in it. The pool and sunlounge area were adequate if a little small and crowded.

    Breakfast was good. Restaurant was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    At arrival after a long drive, you're obliged to answer whether you'll be needing the car still that day and you're charged extra for parking. The room was basic and had a mold smell, there was no hair dryer in the room and the shower box leaked into the bathroom floor. Breakfast was chaotic with not much choice (no pancakes, for example). At all times you must keep an eye on your table because it will be cleared even if you leave your untouched coffee and juice on it. So people are going around like sharks hunting for a free table.

    Not much for a five star hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is quite expensive. During high tide you cannot use the beach in front of the hotel.

    Very good location in the first row. Rooms are not completely new but quite nice in my opinion. Even though our room was not to the front of the hotel we could see the ocean through a small "extra window". Service was good. Rooftop terrace has a really nice view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Amazing service! Staff are extra friendly and helpful and the hostel facilities are great, very spavious room. The hotel description here says exactly what you will find there. The breakfast was also amazing with many option of everything locally.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom rather dirty. Very tiny roof top pool. Everything seems like in decay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks a bit tired and in need of refurbishment

    Good location close to the beach and airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner didn’t work. There was mold. Floors were dirty Inadequate bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Breakfsat and clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were not friendly. They were at times incompetent. I would not stay there again because the staff were so unhelpful.

    The hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant

    Fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced.

    Location, near airport, right on the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and the rooms have a weird smell and does not seem to be very clean in general considering that it is a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I limes everything

    The location and the friendship of the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated

    Good in general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Ocean front, nice location, nicely kept rooms, rooftop pool, great breakfast, free wi-fi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but it was crowded

    Location was amazing Very nice beach in front of it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waterfront hotel with all the comfort you would expect in that category.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Personel was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nihil

    Passagem rapida mais agradavel. Hotel nota 10 = recomendo.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    why does the gym have silly hours. 9 to 12 on a Sunday?! Leave it open!

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was unappealing, pool area confusing and no bar.

    View and windows are amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic services

    Staff was very good. Beach assess is good but beach lacks basic services like bathrooms and resturants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bem localizado,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As praias nos arredores do hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    o estacionamento poderia estar incluso na estadia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevator take a life, the furnitures are getting too old

    the place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big choice for the breakfast. A lot of fruits!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach front location. Spacious rooms. Helpful and friendly staff. Glass lift with great views of the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning worked great and the staff was very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna not working

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated rooms. Renovating needed.

    Especially smiling staff. Very friendly and heartwarm. Prove that the manager does a great job!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • First Class Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the staff at the receptiob

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Couple

    It's all upline

    Unfortunately I was very upset with my staying in Mercure. I had a few problems with the room that it wasn't in good presentation, the bed sheets wasn't smelling good. The mat was too soft for me that has back problems I had to change the room the ar condition wasn't working on the other room where I first stayed. The valet scratched the rental car bumper that I had to pay back R$ 500 for the damage. So I don't have a good report for expedia.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Faculty is old, rooms are in desperate need of a make over. Elevator often out of order, pool area often accompanied by a nasty smell of sewage from the bathroom

    Staff is very friendly , bedding is comfortable

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service at the reception. Everything is going too long: check in (40 min), luggage delivery (2 h 40 min), extra bed preparation (4 h 20 min), and so on.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is definitely not a 5-star accommodation. This is actually the first negative review of a hotel I've ever written. Hallways were dirty (really, I'm not even a neat freak), room smelled moldy, probably because of the old wood finishings. Room is not decorated, just bland beige everything. Pool is awkward to get to (through emergency exit? and two flights of stairs up) and bar is not enticing. There could be an amazing view up there, but we can't see any of it because of the HUGE wall. 5-star hotels by definition are supposed to feel luxurious. Nothing about this felt luxurious, just a huge fountain in the entrance. A 3.5 star hotel at best.

    The breakfast is ok. The mattress is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is really out-dated, this might have been called luxury in the '80's but certainly not now anymore. The hotel staff were also very unhelpful on most occasions and completely unaccommodating. Various things around the hotel were out of order. The roof-top pool was very sad, the thick concrete walls completely hide the ocean view. We ended up going to another hotel's pool instead. Was not worth the money we paid for.

    The hotel was right at the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    they need to put some working clocks in the rooms, because the clock that I had in my room wasn't working. Put some free coffee for guests in the room and Jacuzzi for guests in the pool area. I'd like to have microwave or iron available in the rooms too like we have here in the USA and the hotels cost much less. The parking should be free for guests that stay more than 3 days.

    The service of the employees. They are very nice and polite. The view is very nice too and the food.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The first bedroom offered was dirty, specially the toilet, the second room was fine tough. It looks more like a 4 stars hotel.

    The breakfast was good with many options.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can only say one thing about this hotel: Excellent! The staff is great, the facility is amazing and the overall quality of it is superb. We spent few days there and we will definitely repeat again.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The state of the swimming pool which looks just amazing in hotels pictures!!!!dirty water and dusty area. We called housekeeping to ask for blankets, they said ok, but never turned up. The next day we asked for an iron, but never got it either!!!

    Sidney at reception, the most helpful and available person, thanks God he was there, to communicate with us. thank you

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Barbara the tourist liaison person was extremely helpful with advice about the city. A good standard of hotel at a very reasonable price. Good facilities such as a rooftop pool and gym.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    South American plug adaptors didn't fit inot the sockets, though we had this problem i several other places we stayed. You will need a special Brazilia adaptor.

    Location right on the beach and waling distance to the main market square, supermarket and several restaurants. Taxi rank outside of hotel, and 5 minutes to airport (10-15 real in taxi).

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit noisy because of the wind that was blowing in from the sea - even when the windows were closed

    Very close to the airport. Nice ocean view Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything in the room is too old and the window when is windy (always in Recife!) are extremely noisy all night long. In general it's not a 5 stars hotel, maybe a 4 star, maybe...

    Staff and position.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For travellers who often want to have a stroll in the centre, it is a bit far away from it - but still reachable by bus. I didn't care as I preferred the beach. And there was a strange smell in the room.

    The breakfast was more than average, it was really over Brazilian standard. The sea-view is great, the hotel is located directly at the sea and you can hear the waves breaking at night. Staff was friendly and helpsom.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Almost everything, staff was helpfull but didn't do nothing more, if you asked the go the a certain place the would call you a taxi, but the didn't mention that all the stores woumd be closed. We asked once for a restaurant, he called a taxi, restaurant was already closed for 4 years!!!! The restaurant for a dinner was awfull, the mails were microwave. The price was oke, but even for that you can do a lot better.

    The elevator!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant at night is not good and expensive. I was also disappointed the Kids pool was closed but no repairs were being made.

    The location is great and the infrastructure is really good. The Wifi is reasonable and breakfast really good with several types of fruits, breads and a hot station. The staff is really great and extremely pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms really need a renovation. The lighting in the rooms is poor, the AC on upper floors is not sufficient, there are not enough outlets to plug things into, they do not provide or even have irons or ironing boards for use, no coffee maker in the room, water pressure not sufficient on upper floors, hot water is tepid, cold water is tepid. Merkur just acquired the property a few days before I arrived so hopefuly they will invest in the needed upgrades.

    Location, staff and cost were good.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot drink facility in the room Sauna and Spa was in renovation but I was not informed. Breakfast staff can be more helpful.

    Comfortable room good breakfast Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning...there was lots to choose from and good coffee! I loved the bar & pool on the roof! The staff were very helpful, at the desk as well as the entrance.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old builder with strange smell Far from the center

    Nice view

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast wasn't great

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a lot

    The room was big , staff was very pleasant and they spoke English too.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Old hotel and not well maintained.

    Its on the beach. Low prices. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rooms could be bigger but it is great.

    We liked everything. Room small but cosy, good price quality. food great.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room service was terrible, I always need to ask then to get clean towel.

    The breakfat was pretty fine.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning Furniture Smells Old

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    lovely and comfortable hotel. Delicious breakfast! value for money ;-)

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rodrigo is the best at the front desk.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Atlante Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil