Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bahiacafé Hotel 3 stars

Praça da Se, 22, terreo 1 e 2 andar, Salvador, CEP 40020-210, Brazil

#19 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1499 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Perfect location, best staff I've ever met, charming interior and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    The staff was the nicest staff I've ever met - very helpful, competent and friendly. The interior was very charming and location was perfect. The breakfast was great - everything you could want and more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hated pelhourinho and especially the annoying sellers in the street. Horrible music 24/7 everywhere on the streets and locals are really loud!! such a headache all three days we spend there... couldnt sleep from the noise.possibly the dirtiest city we have ever been to. Waste of time to visit such a place... it actually ruins the whole image of brazil which is an amazing country!

    The staff were great. Really helpful and really improved our stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly, welcoming staff that are in for a chat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, welcoming staff that are in for a chat (always nice when traveling alone) :) They also speak English and Spanish. Very comfortable, big bed. Clean room. Excellent location, right at the main square of Pelourinho, the historic centrum of Salvador. Don’t forget to walk a bit further to the bohemian neighborhood of Santo Antonio, even more pittoresque than Pelourinho. Delicious breakfast. Exotic look and feel to the hotel. 24/7 reception. Complimentary airport shuttle & minibar. Recommended Cucos Bistro which offers a delicious shrimp & blue cheese tagliatelle. I’ll defo come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Incredible place, very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible place, very well located. Good people working there. Very clean. You can leave you luggage there if you want to do a short trip to any place un Bahia. Thanks for everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful, explaining anything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful, explaining anything we need to know around the area of the hotel, lending us umbrella and even assisting our friends who did not stay at the hotel. The location of the hotel was awesome with just a short walk to Sao Francisco church and Elevador Lacerda and a few good restaurants. The breakfast had a nice touch with choices of home-made desserts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    perfect location, very good breakfast, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy cleaning ladies in the morning

    perfect location, very good breakfast, beautiful hotel. totally reccomanded especially for a brief stay in salvador!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A very charming hotel with great, attentive & knowledgeable staff members in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room for two was a bit small and the bathroom was very tiny.

    The location is excellent, the staff members are great and helpful, and the building is very charming with a lot of character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful time spent at the Bahiacafe. Would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't charge computer and phones when we left the room. But this was a minor inconvenience since we simply disconnected the key tag and left it in the room.

    Hot eggs cooked to order for breakfast as well as plenty of fresh fruit. Décor most attractive with Brazilian and African theme in a very generous sized room. Especially helpful, and seemingly always around, was Marcus to help with our endless questions and advice on Salvador. A thoroughly Brazilian experience we shall treasure and remember. Thank you Bahiacafe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    A really cool place to stay with lots of history and character and a great team of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    later in the evenings the Praca do Se square outside Bahia which is beautiful and a lively and enjoyable hub of market stalls and entertainment during the day, including amazing Capoeira, felt a little bit 'dodgy' at night as was a bit of gathering place for a few homeless beggars. Was so small thoughthat I always felt in reach of the main entrance to hotel and all night staff.

    The location is very central and all the staff were wonderful, helpful, professional and welcoming. I loved my room and the decor and ambience of the space was absolutely lovely and put together with such care and attention to detail. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Great value for money and with a really excellent level of service and care. I travelled alone and felt extremely comfortable and well looked after

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved it! Location is excellent, rooms are clean and chic. Breakfast was amazing too! Enjoyed reading a book and sipping on my caipirinha at the bar. Totally recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place - small, interesting and cool design,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful place - small, interesting and cool design, comfortable and authentic feeling. Great breakfast. This is not a fancy place but we were very comfortable. Excellent location for the historical sites. Loved the whole feel of the place. We will never forget the experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff Nadine & Marcus were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about. I thought the price could be better value for Brazil. But staff were so great it was worth it

    The staff Nadine & Marcus were wonderful. They both spoke English & couldn’t be more helpful. I ran into Marcus on my way back one night & he had just walked a guest to a restaurant to make sure she got there safely. Then he walked me home. Nadine organised a driver for me when I was passing through again from Morro to the bus station. The location on a square was perfect. The streets were well lit and it was secure to walk in the immediate area day or night and I was alone. I did see someone get robbed in the day time nearby (necklace ripped off) so do be careful & don’t take any valuables out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel to stay while in Salvador!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This beautifully restored building in the centre of historic area of Salvador and a short walk to the Pelourinho was just the perfect pick! Super helpful and friendly staff, comfortable beds, amazing breakfast, it's everything one needs in a hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Property character, location and staff attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a room with window but ended up with one with a "window" facing an internal shaft.

    Property character, location and staff attention.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in the historical center of Salvador, so it was a bit noisy late evenings and early mornings.

    Nice location, friendly staff, tasty breakfast, exotic decoration

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Awesome choice for staying in the center of Pelourinho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints here.

    Awesome front desk staff, esp. Marcos and Nadine. They were super helpful and informative. The hotel is like an oasis in the middle of sometimes chaotic Pelourinho. Room was very comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Awesome place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air freshner should be avoid it in the rooms and anything with scent please!

    Marcus is on of the best staff in the hotel. He is really helpful and always know the best spots to go and things to see...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    An enjoyable and comfortable way to start the holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in the historic center wasn’t for me, I preferred Barra in the end but this isn’t the hotels fault! It could have been a little cheap in comparison to other hotels.

    Breakfast was amazing, as were the staff. The hotel itself was beautiful and the facilities were great. The bathroom was also great! Objectively the location is very good if you want to stay in the historic center, close to all the main sites and good restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    A charming hotel with character a few steps away from Historic Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rancid butter and bar very stuffy. Also the sheets could have been better quality but that is splitting hairs really.

    Bahiacafe was very close to the main square in the Historic Centre and also to the lifts to take you down to the port. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was in a party of four friends (all in our 60s) 2 had there own room and 2 of us shared. The double room was a little cramped. The breakfast was very good although the coffee could be improved but this is a problem the world over - very good fresh fruit - the butter was rancid because it was not cold however we asked for cold butter and was immediately given it. Restaurant staff charming and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy with authentic style, great location, since we arrived in the middle of the carnaval, we could only reach Pelourinho with the elevator that is less than 5 min. walk from the hotel. Wonderful staff, very helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Bahia Café has a lot of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be a bit bigger. We didn't have a view, but it was okay because it was probably more quiet than the ones facing the square - Largo da Sé.

    Breakfast and breakfast room were very nice! Bed was big and comfortable. Room was small but cozy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic start of our holiday in Bahia, 100% recommendation for everyone visiting Salvador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was really very big, which is nice, but left little space for luggage in the room.

    Beautiful decorated hotel, very clean rooms, nice and helpful staff (all speak English very well), excellent breakfast, with great views from breakfast room. Top location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    Very uncomplicated environment and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Juices could be prepare without sugar. They were unfortunately too sweet. Sometimes a little loud on the WE. Week days was perfect.

    Very uncomplicated environment and comfortable room. Caipirinha from Wilson was very good! Nadine was very kind and gave us valuable tips. Pick up service was on time and very reliable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice experience in the heart of Pelourinho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent, fresh juices, tapioca cake, fried bananas. TOP. also the small lounge very nice. Rooms are clean and well equipped with ac, television and full minibar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel located in excellent and safe area.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door of the bathroom don t offer you privacy.

    The hotel located in excellent and safe area.The staff is helpful 24 hours.The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good.I suggest it for tourist.Excellent choice!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast was amazing and the staff was extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was well situated, but the proximity to an outdoor gathering place made it quite noisy at night, sometime until very early in the morning

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff was extremely helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Very central location in the Pelourinho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wardrobe, no writing desk and no proper chair in the room (only an armchair). It took a very long time for the warm water to come in the shower and then the water was seeping from the shower enclosure's floor into the rest of the bathroom.

    Very central location in the Pelourinho. A tastefully designed and decorated place. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location to visit the historical center of Salvador (Pelourinho)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel is excellent! It is located in a 200-year old house that is directly in the heart of the Pelourinho (historic Salvador) and thus eliminates the need for any kind of transportation when visiting the old district. It is also located within a 2-5 minute walk to the main restaurant street as well as the elevator and the more impressive churches. It is also very "safe" with a 24-hour main desk and locked gates which are both important features in a hotel in Brazil.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.3
    The friendliest and best located hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremely friendly and helpfull. They did their utmost to make our stay the best they could. The breakfast is also amazing, everything is freshly baked, squeezed and prepared. The location is in the heart of the historic centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    We absolutely loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The first thing to say about this hotel is that the reception staff are amazing. We’re not sure of all their names but Nadine and Marcos were incredibly friendly and helpful, plus they speak perfect English (and other languages!) It made a huge difference to our stay - muito obrigado! The hotel itself is in a great location in the Pelourinho area and close to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Inside, the decor is beautiful and really thoughtfully done. The building is 300 years old and they have kept lots of original features. The rooms are spacious, clean and have everything you need and the minibar prices are very reasonable. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic - so much choice! And the breakfast room overlooks Praça de Se, so you have a nice view too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    This was a perfect location for a quick stop in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a perfect location for a quick stop in Pelourinho-being a solo female traveller, the hotel is perfectly placed with all of the main attractions on your doorstep. I spent the evening on the square listening to Samba and chatting to locals before returning to the hotel only a minute away. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, good organisation of tours etc. Beautiful design of the interior and rooms. Tasteful and rich breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel in Pelourinho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room a bit too bright during the night - The music shop near the hotel is a bit noisy (open time at 9:00 am)

    - The deco is great - Very friendly staff - Perfect breakfast - Very good position in Pelourinho

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel in Pelourinho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Room a bit too bright during the night - The music shop near the hotel is a bit noisy (open time at 9:00 am)

    - The deco is great - Very friendly staff - Perfect breakfast - Very good position in Pelourinho

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    The Bahia cafe hotel is in a perfect location in the centre of pellhourino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing about the hotel could have been improved for us.

    Marcus and Marcos who were both on reception during our stay couldn’t have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we really appreciated the excellent service they gave us through our whole stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    location, guys at reception tryed to be helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they made preautharization for the whole amount few days before arrival. So if we had cancel the reservation, we would wait to get our money back for several weeks. No elevator, and staff dont always help guest with the luggage. Some rubbish from the ceiling fell on the bed. We moved the bed so that it fell on the floor. Room had very unpleasant smell. Unregulated water in the shower. (There is a button in the shower, but only tall person will reach it). At breakfast, fruites were covered with insects. At check-out we were asked to pay 50 Brazilian cents, because when we arrived due to staff fault they charged us 50 cents less than it was indicated in the booking. If we had no cash, it would have resulted in a decent commission for a card transaction for us. But nobody worried about it. I do not mind to pay what I should pay, but the staff definitely should learn how to be more courteous. As a hotel manager and as a guest, I consider their behavior unacceptable.

    location, guys at reception tryed to be helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, great breakfast and a nice room in the heart of the Pelourinho.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the heart of the tourist action in Salvador has pros and cons but that is just a personal choice for each traveller.

    Friendly front desk staff with great English who helped me with several things including needing to change some travel plans. The breakfast was outstanding. A beautiful selection of great food in a lovely setting. The room was clean and comfortable and I slept well in the bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.3
    Horrible to many drogs, prostitution, nothing interesting to see !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the hotel is beautiful and the cleaning ladies hat extremely amazing , great ... Everyone says is beautiful Salvador , and it is , the area pelourinho is horrible, there have many frogs duller, many homeless at the streets, you are not able to walk at the street around 19:00 pm, you will be charged every single time for homeless, also they offer you drogs all the time , Salvador is not a good idea to visit it's all illusions for people how comes from anywhere and thing is beautiful, before has different but now it's a big caos !

    What we like in our trip to Salvador has, the beautiful the historical church and center , that's all!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Great 2 night staff with friendly staff who were very helpful and protective over me traveling alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being constantly reminded and weary of your bag and phone.

    The praca de se is on your doorstep! Diego makes great caprohinias. The building is 300 years old!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Typical hotel in salvadore !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More diversity in the breakfast

    Staff super friendly and helpful Room was super nice and typical of Salvadore Situated in the historic centre so near bar and restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    A good place to stay if you want to experience old city Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, window to enclosed area.

    The only hotel in old city center that we found, very nicely reconstruted building. Quite charming. In a sense a bit like an Oasis in this part of the city in terms of safety and friendliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    charming and in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately right below our room window was a shop of some kind of loud machinary and it made noise all day and night and took away from peace and tranquility of our stay.

    Lovely old building very well situated and well refurbished with great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable rooms with great access to the historic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly the staff were only average. On occasion giving us a little bit of attitude.

    Perfect location in order to access the wonders of Pelourinho. A colourful and vibrant location, the hotel shares that same atmosphere. It has a very nice breakfast, comfortable (but somewhat small) rooms, ok wifi and an attached cafe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing cozy hotel in the middle of Pelourinho
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely loved this place. If I have to choose something "I didn't like" would be the safe in the room which wasn't fixed to the wall or the furniture unit so anyone could just pick it up and walk away with it. But again, not a major issue as the hotel felt very safe overall

    Staff was very helpful organising transport and always pleased to answer any questions I had. Lovely customer service. Thank you all The breakfast was very abundant with a good mixture of excellent fruit and fuices, pastries, cold cuts and cheese as well as the egg menu which the cook fresh to order

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location in the middle of the historic center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not that strong. The bathroom wasnot very well cleaned. There were little bugs in the bathroom, but that could have been because of the moisty weather.

    Service was so so good, both in french and english. They gave us a lot of tips for restaurants (like Cuco Bistrot) and places to visit (like Barra). City tour by Pedro was very interesting. Caipirinha's with fresh passion fruit were great! Perfect location in Pelourinho, historic centre of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    We had a wonderful family time together at the vibrant Pelourinho area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are some steep steps that weren't a problem for us, but could be for some folks.

    The breakfast was delicious, interesting, and plentiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location, interesting decor, fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door to get into the room is just silly. Two small panes, one of which a large person can't fit through , necessitating opening the second pane, which is a pain if you are struggling with a backpack. Internet sign in system is a little too much. You need to re-enter your room number and last name each time you re-appear at the hotel, as opposed to the device just connecting automatically. Pain in the butt, but first world problems right?

    The breakfast is both beautifully presented and varied. Plenty to choose from. The bar is cozy and the caipirinhas are shaken. Front desk staff is mostly friendly. Crispy white sheets and comforters - a treat. TV has channels that can be watched (many hotels seem to have TV's with expired cable services so all you get are local channels with snowy reception and/or channels that are blocked with a 'pay me' message. Movies can be watched in portuguese or english. CNN, BBC also available. Location is optimal, with Terreiro de Jesus around the corner and all those churches. O Gravinho bar also just around the corner for mingling with locals and/or getting trampled on weekends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Great Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's an old house, so the bathroom did not flush properly and the shower temperature took a while to be comfortable, not a big deal.

    the location is very good, staff helpful too. The breakfast was amazing and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel is situated amidst the historical centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is badly-soundproofed and there were construction works performed during my stay which caused lots of noise throughout the day.

    The Hotel is situated amidst the historical centre of Salvador. Owing to the strong Police presence, I felt very safe walking around that area, even after dusk. The staff is friendly and helpful. And I liked the choices they offered for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    OK hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator. We got the room on the third floor. Although the reception helped us to get our luggage upstairs, on our check out we had to bring it down ourselves. The rooms have a smell of mold.

    The location is perfect. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    A great location, a little bit of extra work to get to your room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the third floor and there was no elevator (being an old historic property). Those with limited mobility would find this a difficult choice.

    The location was very convenient to the historic area. The front desk staff spoke English and were quite helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing stay in the center of Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist Gabriel was really helpful and gave us amazing tips on where to go, where to eat, what to do etc - overall great service! We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    A special pousada
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We all loved the character of the property which gives a true flavour of the area. Lovely old wooden floors, great bar area for drinks and attentive personal service. The superior rooms are spacious and the king size beds really comfortable . Breakfast is delicious and with a very large choice. I visit Salvador often and will definitely make this hotel my choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.3
    Good location bad service and amenities.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cable tv was not working the whole stay they said someone fixed it after 24 hours of complaints but the problem was never resolved. Also the wifi signal was almost non existent so none of our electronics devices worked. Be aware of the steep stairs if you have children.

    I loved the location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Historic Center Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was nice

    In the center of the historic town, friendly guide. Great breakfast. Good beds, calm, secure, just great. Interesting decoration.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately my room didn't have an outside window, making it feel a little gloomy/claustrophobic. The only other problem was that the door rattled very loudly every time the door of another room was slammed shut (which happened quite a lot).

    This is a fantastic hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, the rooms are beautifully designed, and the cafe downstairs is great. I wish I could have stayed for longer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    The location was excellent, in the middle of the historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, in the middle of the historic center but the rooms were still quiet. The breakfast was very rich. The decoration was very tasteful, definitely a place to stay in Salvador.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Wish I could have stayed longer!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really....

    Loved the atmosphere of the hotel - also the staff were really helpful. Had a great caipirinha in the Bar, and an excellent massage. Altogether a great experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location, we stayed 3 nights, but that is too much, the safe ara is relatively small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge bed in the room, but noplace at all for your clothes etc. No explanation how to use shower, as a consequence the toilet was not flushing anymore after using the shower.

    Perfect location, good breakfast and wifi was working well, only a hassle that you had to login everytime to the wifi network.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    5.8
    Ok stay but do not follow the staff's recommendations to plan your way to your next stop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Our room. It was situated on top of the spa. It was not well lit, was damp with a weird smell. Although, our friends got rooms on the second floor which were way nicer : not damp, beautifully decorated, etc i would recommend choosing one of those as they cost the same price. - Location is very central but not the most pleasant one. We discovered after that the el carmo neighborhood is way nicer for tourists (quieter and more tranquil) - bad advice given by the staff for our trip to Boipeba. The staff told us to organize our transfer via cassi turismo (travel agent salvador). They said it would be simpler and approximately the same price as doing it ourselves. In fact, we ended up paying 50% more than what we would have paid for the same trip if we had done it ourselves (ferry bus and speedboat) or we paid the same price as a privatized transfer (which was not the case as the cassi turismo transfer included 30pax). Therefore, we were not happy about this very overpriced piece of advice and we kind of felt cheated by people we assumed we could trust.

    Bahia cafe is built in a very nice ancient colonial house and the hotel is well decorated/furnished. We liked the bar/cafe space as well as the breakfast place. Breakfast was also very good with lots of options.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is properly the best hotel we experienced on our whole trip in South America. Friendly and helpful staff, elegant hotel with a touch of local arts & crafts. Will stay here again and again. The spa was a beautiful oases in the middle of this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location and very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi booked to the airport (organized by hotel) was 15 minutes late- lucky we planned to be early! No blanket so a bit difficult to regulate temperature at night with the a/c.

    Excellent location and very good breakfast. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Safe area near restaurants and bars but not noisy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Very authentic, colonial style building in excellent location. Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't be afraid to take some stairs (an elevator wouldn't really fit the building and take a part of its charme). The doors were not designed to keep noise out.

    Very centrally located, authentic, colonial building with nice details. Very friendly and helpful people and a greaty, breakfast typical for that region.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner blew directly onto the bed.

    Staff were very friendly.and they made up a special breakfast for our very early departure. Great look cation and nice building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Don't look further, this is a fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in Pelourinho, helpfull staff that speak fluent english, wonderful architecture, clean and spacious rooms, yummy breakfast. Don't look further, this is a fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.0
    Designed, but problematic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had very unpleasant smell. They wanted to charge for city map, which every hotel gives for free. The location is recommended in the books, but it's actually very unsafe at night. The doors are stylish, but dont block noises from the corridor.

    Nothing much to like. Couchions were nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Nothing but sophisticated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful hotel. Rustic looking. Wonderful design. Enjoyed our stay there very much. Friendly Stuff at the reception. Located in the heart of the historical center. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Special place in the historical salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress wasn't very comfort... The bathroom door is decorated wooden which doesn't completely close (it least in our room). Still I highly recommend.

    Special place right in the historical part of salvador. The stuff was friendly and helpful. The building is unique and feet it's surrounded. Breakfast was OK. Very high value for the price. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel in the centre of Salvador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could chance the room, because outside the hotel it´s very loud during the night an in the morning.

    Nice hotel in the centre of Salvador. The breakfast was great. The staff was friedly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    a pousada with lot's of charm in the heart of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, except the lack of flexibility for the breakfast timing. If you get up too early you get a super bad sandwich and that's it !

    the situation, the kindness of the staff, the comfort of the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Lacation is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room with no view and permanent light in the corridor which is a real handicape . We couldn't sleep nor find the way to switch off! Quite Noisy, people entering at 3am and talking...Early breakfast was minimal...

    Lacation is good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice stay in Pelourinho
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast could be a lot better, the room could use a bit more space for hanging clothes (there's no actual closet).

    Great breakfast, excellent location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Room, location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Room, location, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Love bahia
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    What a lovely place and Wilson is the BEST barkeeper in town!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Best breakfast in Salvador, cool hotel, friendly staff, comfy beds, great value.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bahiacafé Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil