Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Brazil hotel reviews
  3. Rio de Janeiro State hotel reviews
  4. Rio de Janeiro hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Bamboo Rio Hostel

Reviews of Bamboo Rio Hostel

Rua Lacerda Coutinho, 45, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22041-030, Brazil

#220 of 383 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 558 hostel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    5.0
    The location is nice, a really short walk to the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not clean at all. The sewers in the bathroom haven't been cleaned, which resulted in our entire room smelling like sewage all the time. It was really disgusting and difficult to spend any time in the room. The room did not match the pictures and the hostel is loud. The fan in the room did not work and the shower is tiny.

    The location is nice, a really short walk to the beach and restaurants, the street feels safe even at night. They let us store our luggage before check in and after check out, which was kind. They also helped us arrange airport transfer. Strong wifi.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2019

    9.6
    Loved the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have liked a few more places to hang our clothes in the room but other than that it was very nice.

    Loved the staff. They were super helpful and kind. Also the close proximity to Copacabana was great. Best caipirinhas in Rio!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    3.8
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was the worst place I have ever stayed. Ever. The mattress was filthy and ripped. There was mould on the wall. My friend was struggling to breath due to the mould. There was a very loud party until the early hours of the morning which consisted of people who weren't even guests of the hostel. We couldn't lock our door so anyone could walk in. The receptionist said there was no keys. The lockers were caged so you could see our personal items. There was no air-conditioning until 10pm at night. The toilets were in the showers. The list is endless. My friend and I suffered through one miserable night there before leaving at 7 am. Even though it was cheap, I don't understand how anyone could stay there. The rating does not reflect how low standard this hostel is. I've never written a bad review before but I feel people should be warned.

    The staff genuinely are trying their best to make it a nice atmosphere but this doesn't compensate for the lack of cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    6.3
    The volunteers team at the hostel is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning is working only from 10pm to 10am and you have to pay 15 more to make it work through the day. Bathrooms are dirty and always smell bad. Rooms are very small and without place for your stuff. When we checked out and gave back the key to the reception, we forgot that we put 30 Real as a deposit for it, and the reception didn’t say anything about it and we left without getting it back.

    The volunteers team at the hostel is awesome.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.9
    Overall a very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms fairly small. Bathrooms could’ve had a bit of a freshen up.

    Overall a very good stay. Decent location as close to bars and restaurants and 10 minute walk to Copacabana. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Decent atmosphere at the hostel but not the best. There seemed to be more staff than customers but the staff were very pleasant, friendly and spoke good English. There was a bar with 241 on caipirinhas but as well have discovered since going around Brazil they were expensive caipirinhas anyway. Good air con in rooms. Pool was small but nice to cool down.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    10
    This is a great hostel very close to Copacabana beach with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a great hostel very close to Copacabana beach with a fantastic staff, swimming pool and bar with great caipirinhas at night. My friend and I had a wonderful time there and the people working there are super friendly. The bed was nice and the air conditioning cold during the night. I will be going back to Rio and will stay there when I do return.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    7.9
    Great location, nice and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and especially bathroom did not seem to be cleaned enough regularly. Kitchen and especially plates a little bit dirty.

    Great location, nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    5.8
    It’s close to the metro and Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a double room on the last floor. There is a very dangerous ladder that leads to it- almost impossible to carry a suitcase. The room wasn’t really clean- lots of dust.

    It’s close to the metro and Copacabana.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    6.7
    For this low budget it is probably what you could expect and if you do not wanna stay f
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hostel is not the cleanest, even though the personnel really does it‘s best! The thing in general is, that the Hostel is way too crowded for the space that there is... Allmost no place for gathering (and the few spots they have are always overpacked with people) and the same for the bedrooms... Every tiny corner is fully crowded- untill the third floor of the bunkbeds (without any securation from falling down!) so sleeping was little more adventerous than i personally would prefered it!

    The staff is amazing and the brakfast is good!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Really Funny
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -> room could be a little bit bigger

    -> Breakfast is very good -> The hostel staff is definitely very helpful and very funny -> the pool is the best part on hot summer days -> They have a happy our in the hostel with 2 for 1 caipirinha -> Party everynight to recomend

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    5.4
    Cute hostel but needs serious improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small, not enough room space for 5 people. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets were stained although clearly washed. Not enough bathrooms for all the guests, they were occupied almost all the time. They were cleaning the bathrooms on inconvenient times. The walls in the room were also dirty and staines, definitely needs renovation. The air conditioning was really loud. Also there was a moldy smell in some places. We also had a very bad luck with some roommates (which of course wasn't the hostel's fault); they turned on the lighta at 4AM and talked really loud on the phone at that time. With little extra effort on the premises the hostel would be nice.

    The staff was friendly and the ambient was relaxed. The breakfast was good. The style in the interior was nice!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    10
    I great place to stay in Copacabana
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is great very clean and the staff was always ready to help with any information. the location is perfect walking distance to the best spots in Copacabana, one of the best hostel I visit in my trip in Brazil. high recommended !!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.9
    Very economical, the room is air conditioned around 10 pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small and it was crowded. It is very hot in the day without the air conditioning.

    Very economical, the room is air conditioned around 10 pm.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.1
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - WiFi is pretty much never working - Shower water I almost always cold - Staff is very friendly, but useless at the reception. They struggle to check you in and don't seem to know anything about the city or even the hostel

    - Cheap hostel - Very well located - Possibility to have breakfast and lunch - Very nice staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    3.8
    Staff aside, I can't really think of anything good to say about this hostel. Would not reccomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel sorry for the staff because they were all really friendly but unfortunately I just did not like this hostel one bit. Got off to a bad start when 4 girls were moved into the room I was in because they had bed bugs in their room next door. The whole place just wasn't that clean. The room had a smell that filled me with nostalgia, but not the good kind, it was just the wrong mix of my Granny's Old People's home and the changing rooms from PE back in Yr7 (that awkward stage when only half the class had discovered Lynx Africa deodorant!) Not enough power points and none near the bed so charging was an issue. There seemed to be a lot of long termers who were settled and had no intetest in welcoming anyone new. I came in on the second day to find one guy, sprawled out on my bed in nothing but his tighty whities because "that's the bed he normally has" even though it had my name on the lable and clothes and chargers etc on the bed (which he moved). I normally only ever book one or two nights in a hostel and then extend if I like it. Needless to say I had my bags packed and was out the door and onto a new hostel first thing the next day! One other thing, what's with everyone's bedding coming in that plastic? If Maccies can get rid of their straws surely you can get rid of this unnecisarry plastic waste! Save the turtles and all that!!

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.9
    Amazing Staff, Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared bathrooms are sometimes a little overwhelmed by amount of use and could be a little bit cleaner. The locker under my bed was broken so I had to share a locker with my friend during our stay. There were only a few powerpoints in the room I was in (5 bed) but can’t speak for other rooms - there were heaps of power points in the common areas.

    We stayed in a 5 bed dorm for a few nights. I thought the room was an okay size but I can see why some people have complained it is small. The pool is a miracle to swim in at the end of a hot day in Rio and it is cleaned daily so I always felt fine to jump in. The bar sells a good range of beer for a good price and there are suggested parties to attend each night at different locations around Rio. The staff blend in as backpackers until they get behind the desk and I truly feel like they go out of their way to make you feel like family. The beach is only a few blocks walk and I felt safe walking to and from the hostel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent price, great location, kindly staff, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To noise room (because of the music playing 11pm outside, in the lobby until I asked them to level down), excellent at condition but just received a thin sheet so I woke up badly. And, there was a guy who doesn’t wanted to close the window for me to turn the AC on. That was definitely uncomfortable situation. I think that the management should let the rules clear about respect from each other. I’ll think twice before scheduling again, not for the hostel, but because of some kind of guests who goes there.

    Excellent price, great location, kindly staff, good facilities, beautiful place, very kind and assistive receptionist (the girl), just as the others reviews talked about.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.5
    stuff was great, very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    very small room for 6/8 persons. not. much space to move around.

    stuff was great, very helpfull. Location was also very good, close to market, metro ans only 5blocks to the beach!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.6
    Hostel family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (12 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was bad

    Everything is amazing especially the staff! the food is also good and very cheap! The staff were exceptional after a few days i became freinds with most of the staff and than soon after they all became like family! Will always cherish these moments! Its perfect if you are looking to socialize and to be a little rowdy. Its close to everything that matters and very safe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Great hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is super nice, the hostel is near all the good places. Felt super safe and had he best time ever! I will definitely come back and recommend this place! Thank you Bamboo for a amazing few days!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely staff, they’re are the best in welcoming and helping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom wasn’t clean and the drain was constantly clogged...

    Lovely staff, they’re are the best in welcoming and helping you. It’s the small things in life, like remembering your name and saying “enjoy the rest of your trip and take good care of yourself,” when you leave... great job, guys. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic! When I visit Rio again Bamboo will be my first option for aaccommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool could be better and bed could be ready before receiving the customers who's been booked

    Accommodation simple but comfortable and clean, staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    My stay at Bamboo was so excellent. People are so welcoming and nice. Location is nice as well since
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no bidet 😢

    What I like is the staff there. They are all so welcoming and nice to me. Everyone has a smile on their faces who never forgot to say Olá, and they are very helpful whenever I ask regarding some place that I wish to go with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.3
    A visit during carnaval 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lockers in the rooms could have been bigger. The working hours of the ac in the rooms (10 pm-10-am) could be more generous.

    Friendly staff with a nice location close to the beach and the metrosystem. A lot of organized activities for the carnival. Nice with the pool and hammocks to relax in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly and happy hour was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon could’ve been switched on more regularly as was very humid during summer months.

    Staff were friendly and happy hour was good value for money. Hostel very close to Copacabana beach and a metro station. Felt safe at all times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    8.8
    I had a really great experience in bamboo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a really great experience in bamboo! everything from my stay to the staff was extremely good! for sure I'll back to them! special thanks to the reception staff that made my stay even better

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    10
    Loved my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff super helpful & friendly. Loved all the areas to chill & socialise with others! I will stay here again for sure! Safe area too close to everything & can get into centre of town & beach easily!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly staff, very affordable caipirinhas during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have more kitchen tools to facilitate cooking in the hostel.

    Super friendly staff, very affordable caipirinhas during happy hour and generally a good vibe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.8
    Staff was friendly and very helpful 1+
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very noisy, bad smell, do not take the private double room on the pool. So noisy!! Storage 5 realis, laundery 20/Kg. Party Hostel which is actually cool if you are looking for.

    Staff was friendly and very helpful 1+ That's it..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Higly recommend and for sure coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was killer!

    In fact this is not a warning. Because in my opinion the best thing that can happen while travelling is finding the places where you don't want to leave. This happened to me at Bamboo Rio: I extended my stay 2 times. Only my flight back to USA finally managed making me go. The atmosphere was unique ! Staff was super nice and welcoming ! Higly recommend and for sure coming back!

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location a few blocks to the beach. I always felt safe walking to and from the hostel even at night. Great atmosphere in the common areas. Huge sized locker.The staff was really nice and helpful with everything, they are friendly and knowledgable, willing to help with anything you need! The hostel had a great offer of parties...the boat party was one of my highlights in Rio de Janeiro. They also have a great bar with double caipirinhas, to have a drink and get to know the other hostel guests.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great location and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only linen provided (deposit 30 reals) was a pair of sheets- no blankets. It was too cold for me with the relatively low night temperatures.

    Good location a few blocks to the beach. I always felt safe walking to and from the hostel even at night.Great atmosphere in the common areas. Huge sized locker.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    4.6
    The stuff were nice and speak English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The raised the price for the second night by 20, and by 60 more for the third night The first room was at the roof and the floor was very low, the second one was noisy

    The stuff were nice and speak English

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, nice clean place, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    6.7
    Nice community, area to sit for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy at night due to other guests Breakfast not so good, dry bread, limited choice

    Nice community, area to sit for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    6.3
    The staff very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast very poor and expensive!!

    The staff very friendly!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    7.9
    Beware of the room in the attick!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was like a storage room on the attick. Was not comfortable

    Everything else was good

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    6.7
    The bar to meet other guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 12 bedroom dorm is ridiculously small en smells very mouldy

    The bar to meet other guests

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People not friendly

    Safe

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    7.9
    Good hostel near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very small and crowded. Could use mosquito nets over window.

    Good overall hostel. Has pool, bar/restaurant and tour information.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    10
    I arrived sick and they were amazing by making themselves...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived sick and they were amazing by making themselves available and Jua took such a good care of me ! ❤️

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff and amazing localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (9 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one shower for girls dorms (9 people).

    The kindness of the staff and the perfect localization in Copacabana !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    2.9
    Disgusting hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hostel is disgusting, the rooms smell like mold. Don't go there.

    Location !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    6.3
    Okay for a day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom smelled, toilets not clean, cold shower. One horrible male guest(this isn't the hostels fault)

    Staff and cosyish sitting room and kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2016

    7.5
    nice place close to metro station and copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the 12-bed dorm is really really small, without air condition it wouldn't be possible to sleep at all

    nice place close to metro station and copacabana beach. friendly and helpfull staff. in the evening they have a free caipirinha hour - the drinks are delicious and it's a great opportunity to meet other travellers

  • Reviewed: February 29, 2016

    8.8
    There is a great atmosphere at this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is a great atmosphere at this hostel. The place is brightly decorated and the staff were warm and friendly and always willing to help with any queries we had. The free caipirihna hour between 7-8pm was a great way to start off the evening's partying and get to know other people. Even though it was carnival during our stay I found that the hostel was quite peaceful during the night, so getting a good night's sleep was never a problem (whenever I actually tried!) The location was also quite good - just a short walk from Copacabana Beach in one direction and Siquiera Campos metro station in another direction.

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    4.2
    The location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I was not pleased the hostel staff broke into my locker to carry out maintenance. All my stuff was taken out and put into a bin bag including my passport, all my cards and my money. The bag was left on my bed in a room I was sharing with 11 strangers. When I asked the staff why it was done it was 'we don't care' response and shrug of the shoulders. I was told the work couldn't wait as it had to be done before carnvial. One of the staff told me to 'chill out'. I would like to see how they would feel about their passport and money being left out to strangers in a foreign continent. There was no apology. I lost faith in the hostel after this incident. I wouldn't recommend.

    The location is really good. 10 minutes walk to Copacabana beach. During my stay the hostel was full which created a really good vibe and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2016

    7.9
    Stayed in a private room above the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although it was decent the cooked breakfast was always cold so not a major complaint.

    Stayed in a private room above the bar. Good location near the metro and easy walk to the beach. Facilities were good and enjoyed the free caipirinha's at happy hour. Decent breakfast included.

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2015

    6.7
    Excellent location close to copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room was cramped and smelled bad, the water in the swimming pool looked dirty, Internet didn't function well and almost everything was finished when I came to breakfast half an hour before the end time.

    Excellent location close to copacabana. The bar on the terrace was nice.

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2015

    9.2
    Not far from the Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not far from the Copacabana excellent staff, speaking many languages fluently and super friendly and helpful for any requests Fan in room, tidied everyday. WIFI works best in reception/ bar not so much in the bedroom I was in.

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    6.3
    Liked everything at first,nice place,good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    but after spent the only night there was all bitten by some insects,so there are bad beds or sheets

    Liked everything at first,nice place,good rooms..

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    7.9
    Cheap,very friendly, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Beds are a bit short.

    Cheap,very friendly, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    6.7
    Near to Copacbana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Loud at night because the bar. You can´t close the windows.

    Near to Copacbana

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2015

    7.5
    Nice environment and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nice environment and staff.

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    9.6
    The staff at front desk were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff at front desk were amazing.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Bamboo Rio Hostel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil