Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Brasil Tropical 4 stars

Avenida Abolição, 2323, Meireles, Fortaleza, CEP 60165-090, Brazil

#18 of 120 hotels in Fortaleza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1455 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Total chaos hotel: stay away from it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The bed clothes were dirty. 2) The towels were dirty as well. 3) The door of the balcony was broken. 4) The window of the bathroom was broken as well. 5) The shower was broken and working only on the cold mode. Therefore, they replaced the shower by a new one. 6) The shampoo was one year older than the validity. We just realized after using it.

    The staff worked hard to solve the several problems that I pointed out. The staff is very kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    The special staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking website is not clear about a 10% charge on the room everyday. So, at the end of my 7 days stay the reception staff gave me the bill with 10% up the room price. So, next time you need to be more transparent in your policies( booking.com & hotel Brasil tropical) . This incident should not have happened. I agree to pay 10% in a good service, but we as customers need to be advised in advance. Rather than that, it was a good stay.

    The staff were very helpful and a special thank you to Neide our housekeeper in charge. She was very helpful and kind with us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast very cheap (cuscuz dry, eggs almost cold, few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast very cheap (cuscuz dry, eggs almost cold, few options) air conditionning on ceiling over tables very dirty and dripping water on clients tables Wifi almost unsusable in rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the restaurant opens at 6:00 AM, they didn't turn on the lights until 6:30. One time I asked the staff to turn on the lights at 6:15 but they didn't do it. I can understand wanting to conserve energy but it made it difficult to see the selection of food. I wasn't expecting a "suicide" shower either (see picture). A suicide shower is a shower head that heats the water with 220 volts and the biggest problem for me was that it never got really hot. Just warm. In order to change this setup, they would have to do some major remodeling and I don't expect that to happen.

    The breakfast was excellent! A huge selection of just about everything. My room also had a balcony but I'm not sure if all rooms do. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. Housekeeping really did a good job too. The front desk staff was wonderful and went out of their way to help me with a currency problem. I wish I could remember their names to personally thank them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    I was very unhappy that the hotel added an additional cost,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very unhappy that the hotel added an additional cost, charging a service fee OVER what I had reserved through booking. I don't think charging extra than what I had committed through booking should be legal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Master Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though my room was on the top floor (23rd) the traffic noise was dreadful. It took about half an hour to check in. I guess they sell apartments to. suckers, but a facelift wouldn’t go amiss!

    The caipirinha was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.2
    Air condition did not work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Master Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unprepared. One of the two air conditions did not work. And 11pm when we ourselves found that out, it took an hot to send a technician to confirm nothing could be done. By then we did not want to hazzle and change room. Had an early flight day after.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    One night in Fortaleza before Jericoacoara
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally Fortaleza has been built chasing the economical opportunities provided by the booming mass market touristic segment, without having in mind beauty and harmony. The buildings are ugly for the most part and this hotel and its surroundings are no exception

    Convenient location, breakfast and welcome drinks

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    The rooftop is amazing, the room are spacious, the airco is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didnt work some time. The hamburger from roomservice wasnt very good and they brought it with the wrong bread. But thats just some details.

    The rooftop is amazing, the room are spacious, the airco is working well, the staff is friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    The better hotel in Fortaleza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one thing bothered me just a little. When we left the appartment to go out, the complete appartment shuts down power. Dont get me wrong, i love energy saving. My problem is that also the energy sockets turn off (except the refrigirator offcourse) So if you want to charge your phone or something during the day, it is not possible when you are abscent.You also have to log-in wifi again on all your media, everytime when you come back. I suggest the Hotel keeps the energysaving-mode, but leaves the sockets and wifi running, energy-wise it is not such a bg difference, but the more comfort!

    The breakfast buffet was included and amazing, good tapioca&omelette maker-shef. The evening kilo-buffet is also very nice and payable! There is a nice ambiance in the restaurant, because of a daily bossa nova singer during dinner. Although the lights could be dimmed in the evening for more atmosphere. We got a welcome-caipirinha, that was grandioso! The price was perfect and we got a complete appartment for it! The hotel arranged the cheapest transfer to the waterpark and back, after comparing prices. The hotel has there own travel agency. Waterpark rules! The apparment gives good wifi and cable television! Great staff, one of the restaurant servers was even singing in himself of joy while cleaning the tables in the morning. Thanks Hotel Brasil Tropical, it was wonderful and you definitly deserve all the good reviews (tripadvisor etc.) I have been to both your hotel and novotel in Fortaleza. Novotel is definitly a loser (see my review on there link on booking.com) If i come back to Fortaleza, you will undoubtly be my choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    The rooms are big and clean, the bed really confortable, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no double glazing so you can here a lot of noise from the streets, and the shower is an electric one, which is sad for such a great place !

    The rooms are big and clean, the bed really confortable, and the area is secure. Amazing breakfast ! The personnel is also very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Stayed at the quality hotel, beira mar and had a bad experience there and was very happy here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff members were very friendly. I had a big room with a balcony and a view! Super!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The side to the road is very noisy

    Location very close to the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Master Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi, to learn little Eng would be helpful (Hotel restaurant staff) tiny pool for the big hotel.

    Great view, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Poor and low quality breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Master Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor and low quality breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable.

    Restaurant and food was good. Good hot shower and large apartment. Good balcony and view of the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.9
    Boa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A limpeza do local era excelente e a vista do apartamento era excelente.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.2
    Staff were very polite .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very polite .

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with beach location having a stunning view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel with beach location having a stunning view and new furniture. The breakfast is very good and the staff is friendly and helpfull in planning of flights etc.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.3
    Excellent dinner buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard beds! No open poolbar! Slow internet! Breakfast could be much better! Very few speaks english!

    Excellent dinner buffet! Very clean room! Balcony!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.1
    the hotel has nice rooms, very spacious with balcony and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we needed some help for printing a couple of pages mandatory for Noronha Taxes and they didn't allow us to do that. They said they had no printer, hard to believe. Reception service and help disappointing.

    the hotel has nice rooms, very spacious with balcony and well working A/C, value for money breakfast and good services.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Helpfull staff, good location, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    On the last 2 days the WIFI did not work on my apartment. Only in the reception. They told that Maintenance was changing the Router on my floor. 2 days to change a Router? Please be more professional. Keep the old router working until the new one is ready to go.

    Helpfull staff, good location, clean room

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.8
    The hotel is in a nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet was horrible. I could not get internet signal in my room. Sometimes you could get internet if you stand by the elevator. The internet was working only in the lobby, and the signal was poor.

    The hotel is in a nice location. The breakfast is decent.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    7.1
    Atendimento sempre prestativo e limpeza de quarto impecável.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Instalações pareciam antigas. Ar condicionado antigo. O primeiro não gelava e foi trocado por un que gelava pouco. Sem contar o barulho tipico desses antigos. Porta com cartão q no inicio não funcionava, foi consertado depois. Na conta vem covrando um valor de 2 reais por dia de uma ajuda pra turismo na cidade, sem me perguntarem se queria e nem me avisarem disso. Eu que indaguei o que era e pedi pra tirar. Só un elevador funcionava. Tinha hora q se perfia bom tempo esperando por ali.

    Atendimento sempre prestativo e limpeza de quarto impecável. Café da manhã bem variado. Apesar dos problemas apresentados, buscaram a solução.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    7.1
    Great location, clean and roomy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very happy with the male staff's attitude at front desk. Quite rude against non-Portuguese speakers.

    Great location, clean and roomy. To my surprise the wifi works perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    The hotel was very helpful, they kept my extra luggage for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't have time to check the swimming pool out, it close to early...

    The hotel was very helpful, they kept my extra luggage for a whole week while I went to Jericoacoara.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    8.8
    All guests have spacious flats = more comfortable than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Safety boxes are not digital = you have to take care of a key. Hotel also charges a little sum for using the safety box. The room had an old and very noisy air condition in the bed-room.

    All guests have spacious flats = more comfortable than staying in an ordinary hotel room. Good central location.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.3
    What I like most was the hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The underground parking garage was too narrow, but at least there was one and in the case you need, there is valet parking service.

    What I like most was the hotel location. It is near to "Feirinha" and Meireles beach. There you can also find many places to eat, supermarket and gas station.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is terrible. Hardly any coverage in room and with every new connect. A new log in is required. This is far below standard in 2015. The rooftop pool area is 'just ok'. The hotel could make this a far more pleasant place to spend time. In general, the value for money is not good enough

    Location Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    8.3
    Nice location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location! Good price!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    5.0
    Location very close to beira mar beachfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel interior was very old. Wifi was instable. Breakfast was not very good

    Location very close to beira mar beachfront

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    8.3
    The room is very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi does not reach the bedroom Unexpected 10% extra charge

    The room is very spacious

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good value. Large room with separate living area. Clean, quiet and convenient. Friendly staff and very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    7.5
    Good breakfast, good dinner buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only two receptionist are able to speak English. Safe box cost extra.

    Good breakfast, good dinner buffet.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    6.3
    Location is very good, just behind the main beach strip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room layout. Noisy aircon.

    Location is very good, just behind the main beach strip (Beira Mar).

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.2
    The location close to the Market and the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise due to the streets

    The location close to the Market and the beach

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.3
    The internet did not work in my room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet did not work in my room

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Elevator out of order. 40 min waiting a soup at dinner

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    A FUNCIONARIA QUE FAZ OMELETES E TAPIOCAS É EXTREMAMENTE MAL...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A FUNCIONARIA QUE FAZ OMELETES E TAPIOCAS É EXTREMAMENTE MAL HUMORADA.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.2
    Poor or no english of staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor or no english of staff!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    2.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They keep trying to sell ypu vacation packeges and it os really annoying. Terrible beds/mattress.

    Location

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Brasil Tropical traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil