Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castelmar Hotel 3 stars

Rua Felipe Schmidt, 1260, Florianopolis City Centre, Florianópolis, CEP 88010-002, Brazil

#124 of 187 hotels in Florianópolis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2747 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY issue was the pillow. They were really low in height and there were only 2 for a double room, no extras.

    Excellent location, service and the room view was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a quadruple standard room, however the “standard” room didn’t meet my expectations, it was very dated. I complained and they updated my room to a family room which had recently been renovated. Stay away from anything that says “standard” in Brazil. Their rating system appears to be different than USA.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was not as expected. We booked a room for 3 people and it included a sofa. The triple room did not allow pets as promissed. They charged the parking service apart

    Well located

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled of something (but we only stayed one night so they did not have the chance to fix it). The pool area is just by the restaurant area so plenty of looks on you but some might like that.

    The view from our window was amazing overlooking the bridge. The breakfast is nice and so was the staff. Internet worked well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked to put my bath towels back several times during the morning but I had to go to the front desk to have new towels.

    New wing room Excellent. Large apartment with two bedrooms, living room and bathroom. Everything very new and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff was a little slow and not so friendly . Though others were very efficient and tried their best to help. Also, I could see that there was a list of complaints that had to be dealt with and that some of them included airconditioning problem.

    It was a nice experience. Initially for the first two nights there was an issue with the airconditioner which couldnt be resolved so eventually they shifted us to a new room but that caused us disturbed sleep for 2 nights. The good part was that they gave us a room with 2 bedrooms and a suite included which had ample space for us since we were a family with kids. They offer breakfast in the morning which is pretty decent. I would recommend this hotel for all on a budget but want a decent place to stay. I could see that the local airline staff also stays there regularly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time I was booking, nothing said I would have to pay extra for parking my car. It was only 18 reais a day, but still.

    The view from the room window is breathtaking. We can see pretty much the whole shore and the iron bridge, which is wonderful despite is all the millions of reais that have been embezzled in the past 20 years in attempts to make it usable again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and facilities like ar conditionar and shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I received a kind upgrade

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cafe

    The room had ample space and the location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nating

    Evey thing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Burocracia do estacionamento

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food is very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are bright and spacious & well equipped

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's necessary to up date the accomodation, specially the bathdroom.

    Very comfortable when you share the room with other people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Correspondeu as espectativas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Great location. Really helpful, friendly staff team. Spacious, comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast. Good WIFI, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under renovation , dirty, noise, old, bad breakfast

    Nothing, was cert bad!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very good, the view of the room is also beautiful! The breakfast is very good! Value for money is good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    20-25 min walk to get the old town, staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi connection

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    It's excellent ! Well located, affordable prices, staff is awesome and they have a very nice breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception area is very nice, but the room felt like an old apartment, but without the kitchen. Everything is clean, but the furniture is a bit tired and needs modernising.

    Within walking distance of the bus station, and handy for the city and for onward buses around the island. Good breakfast and friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the staff members is a stalker, be aware if you use dating apps that you can cross paths with this guy.

    For me the best was the location of the hotel, close to the bus stations and to the most popular gay night clubs.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A renovation would make the place better.

    The staff is friedly. Good cost-benefit ratio. Great view of the bridges and the bay from the 11th floor. Breakfast is good. Overall good value for money. I'll probably stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very dirty place. We found some nails inside the bed and had to go to another room at 11pm. The elavators look like goods elevators. They are very slow. There is no double glazed windows in the room which make them very noisy due to the road nearby. The breakfast is less than average, with a very poor coffee. When we arrived at 2:10 the room was not ready. The explanation was that check-in was from 2:00 !!!! Logical !!! To sum up, avoid this slum !

    The time we left these premises !

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel itself is one of the many boxy and cheaply built blocks that mar the Florianopolis cityscape, and the rooms were standard white boxes, but well-sized and really no complaints for the price.

    When I found we were getting a suite with two bedrooms and a sitting room, all for just R$240 a night, I thought there had been a mistake! The excellent breakfast alone, for two adults and a 12- and 14-year-old, was worth a good chunk of that by itself. A balcony with a good view and a swimming pool also helped.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Couple

    Almost everything

    Localization only

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil