Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Brazil hotel reviews
  3. Brazil hotel reviews
  4. Brazil hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Casa del Ángel

Reviews of Casa del Ángel

Rua Saint Roman, 154, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22071-063, Brazil

Review Score

Based on 77 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.2
    It was excellent my stay, I will go back more often
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    access and a rather narrow lane to get there, as well as the parking

    cozy atmosphere, comfortable rooms, green area around, beyond the bed for one person to be queen, still has a sofa bed, breakfast every day, I recommend

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    2.5
    This was the worst place I have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked the shuttle service form the airport. The gentleman was meant to have a sign with my name. We could not locate him for over an hour. Once we finally located him, he spent over an hour running around the airport parking lot trying to locate his car. This was the strangest experience of my life. Once we arrived it was dark and the neighbourhood was atop a mountain. Loud music was playing and lots of locals were outside. It is located next to a sketchy market. We asked where we could eat and the lady that runs the place told us it was not safe to leave at night but that we could order in. She brought us menu's that were in Portuguese and disappeared. The entire place smells of mould, everything felt moist. Cockroaches were everywhere. We heard many rounds of gunshots our first night. The breakfast that morning was terrible. Ants were crawling out of the sugar, I nearly vomited. We left immediately. This property is located in a dangerous neighbourhood. No Uber will bring you to this location or pick you up from this location. Do not book if you value your life.

    I have nothing good to say about this property. It is located in a favela, a very dangerous neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    10
    The owners of the bed and breakfast were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners of the bed and breakfast were amazing! They treated us like family.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    I recommend this place for a true experience of Rio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was nice and super helpful. Every time I asked for something they were always there. The service was unbeatable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2016

    7.1
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    At the foothill of the favela, so the aera look a bit dodgy but I did not really feel unsafe and it is quite an experience. Maybe a bit tricky to find and no 24hr reception or breakfast. No window in the room.

    Good value. Half way between Ipanema and Copacabana and close to the metro by stairs. The staff is very arranging and friendly. Air conditioning, hot shower, mini fridge and pretty good wifi. Comfortable patio.

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2016

    6.3
    Manager was really helpful, interesting art on the walls,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is iffy, at the foot of the favelas, but, that said, we didn't feel unsafe walking in the area. Still, not a place for everybody.

    Manager was really helpful, interesting art on the walls, bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2016

    8.3
    1) Perfect location, 10 mins walk to Copacabana or Ipanema...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Facilities are a little run down. However, it's cheap and location is great, so didn't bother me much.

    1) Perfect location, 10 mins walk to Copacabana or Ipanema beach. 2) Staff was very friendly 3) Amazing value for money

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2015

    5.0
    There's a safe/fridge in the room and beds are quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet reception in room-had to sit in reception. Loud music played at the hotel pool bar on weekend evenings and often through the day... One night I was kept awake till 4:30am. The area at weekends is loud... A bar right next to hotel plays really loud music till early hours. The location is ok. One way out of hotel takes you down the steep hill to Ipanema. The other way takes you down the hill to Copacabana. The way down is easy.... Takes about 10 minutes... Not so easy coming back up and after a few times of doing it, it becomes a real pain in the neck... It's next to a favela but we never felt unsafe. Shower is terrible - weak and lukewarm.

    There's a safe/fridge in the room and beds are quite comfortable. Receptionist - Claudete is nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    5.4
    The room was a decent size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location (up a hill and in the favelas); we let the hotel know we would arrive late, but still had to wait 15 minutes for someone to open the gate while we stood in outside in the favelas with all our belongings while it rained...; the room wasn't overly clean

    The room was a decent size

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    6.7
    Localized in the bottom of the favela "Cantagallo".
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Localized in the bottom of the favela "Cantagallo". Make sure you know what a "favela" is and what is the story of "Cantagallo favela". I do believe thought that this area will develop in the future and get safer and safer.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked this accommodation in advance for 5 days. Because of the bad quality we left the place after one night. There was a terrible humidity smell, a lot of noise from the neighbouring favela's, a shower With hot water and ut was not clean. And this is for the studio! I recommend everyone not to book this accommodation.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2015

    8.3
    We have just spent a lovely week at Casa Del Angel during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences

    We have just spent a lovely week at Casa Del Angel during carnival. I have to admit I had been a little concerned after reading some other reviews, but have been plesently surprised in all areas. The staff are very helpful. The rooms, although basic, were clean and had air con and mini bar. We didn't use the pool but the option was there if we had wanted to. You can order breakfast and lunch in advance, but there are so many places to eat and try in the local area that we didn't do this either. I had read reviews about the "unsafe" area that the guesthouse is located in which caused some concern before arriving. However, we walked to and from the guesthouse at least 4 times daily (sometimes in the early hours of the morning) and did not feel unsafe once. In fact we enjoyed the local bar next door to the guesthouse house on many occasions. Thank you Casa Del Angel, we will certainly be recommending you to friends in the future.

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2015

    6.7
    The staff including cleaner were all friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The windows in our bedroom did not close properly which meant that several insects and also spiders lived in our room. Also there was no kettle, hairdryer and anywhere to sit and do your makeup

    The staff including cleaner were all friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2015

    7.9
    Staff is nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Though it was not a problem for me the hotel is in the favellas there are no windows in the room and there is a humidity smell.

    Staff is nice and friendly Located near the metro station and near copacabana beach posted 5

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    7.5
    Close to everything, pool and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hill to climb to get to the hotel

    Close to everything, pool and staff

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2015

    7.1
    friendly and helpful staff, clean and I just loved pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Neighbourhood of favelas, didn't have window in room, not always had Internet there

    friendly and helpful staff, clean and I just loved pictures.

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2015

    5.8
    Staff, they really did a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Location

    Staff, they really did a lot

Showing 1 - 17

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil