Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copacabana Sol Hotel 3 stars

Rua Santa Clara, 141, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22041011, Brazil

#156 of 406 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1765 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.5
    Good and Not So Much, Overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The help desk man that worked at my first day there was fake enough and I don’t like that. It’s better if you’re not the friendly type, just be yourself, don’t fake it.

    Oh My Gosh, THE BREAKFAST!!! It was SO RICH and delicious!!! Lots of fruits, different kinds of bread (which I didn’t have space in my stomach to try any in the five days I spent there), because I always ate a lot of the divine Brazilian Cheese Bread 😋 , muesli, Yoghurt, juices, hot pizza, cakes, eggs... The place was fair enough, liked a lot more my second staying, that happened 5 days after he first one, cuz the bedroom was even better than the first one. Quite spacious bedrooms they have, clean, huge bed, aircon, and long stairs so that I could do my daily exercise going up and down never using the lifts, even when my bedroom was at 10th floor. And, last but not least, the restaurant staff for me was the best, really friendly. I even got a hug when I left. (Which was awkward but nice at same time).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Very polite and helpful receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The operation of the Air Conditioner in the room can be improoved.

    I have left this place only with good memories. I booked only for one day and I was amazed by staff. The gentelmen on the reception was very kind and he did early Check In without anny issues. His english was perfect(some review i read it was mentioned that they dont speek english), it is not my case. Recomended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Staff was really helpful with all things I requested and did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was terrible, so the window gets closed all the time. I can't find anything else negative to say really.

    Staff was really helpful with all things I requested and did everything they could to help. The bed was really comfortable and the room was so big

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Location near beach, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and facilities, faucets leaking wasting water, to much noice at night, air conditioner old and noisy, requires maintenance and remodelling, elevators bad condition two (one in maintenance four days), atención at front desk could be better, not enough cleaning staff, for the cost these items should be better

    Location near beach, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big disappointment after paying a lot. The shower was terrible, couldn’t regulate it. Cold shower. Everything was worn out. The room had a window AC and it was very noisy, couldn’t sleep. The bed was very stiff just like rubber. Even though they advertise free parking they wanted to charge me 30.00 for it. To top it up, l got stuck in the elevator on the top floor, l feared for the worse. I was told elevator problem happens very often. They need to close this hotel and renovate it!

    The breakfast was great, enough variety. It was timeous and everything was fresh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Good place, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very nice. We are vegetarians and we had a lot to eat, but pizza was sometimes with ham. But anyway the waiters were very helpful and they always managed to organize some pizza without ham for us. Thank you, I really apreciate it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Never choose again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is terrible. you cannot connect it even in the reception. Air conditioner is super noisy, my friend and I cannot sleep at night. The noise makes you feel like you are taking an airplane.

    Staff is ok. Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't like the sound of the air conditioning at night

    I very much liked the location of the property near Copacabana Beach and the tube station -quite convenient. Also the breakfast provided had excellent fruit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    The stay was great. The restaurants and metro and copacabana beach were nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was bad. Very weak signal. We couldn't use it for all the days we stayed there. Also there was no kettle of hot water in the room. It could have helped to have it to make coffee or tea in our room.

    The breakfast was marvelous and healthy. It was great. From the eggs, pizza to the variety of fruits. Loved every bit of it. Keep it up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very rich served with delicious ham, eggs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately , internet was very poor. Even in reception it was difficult to communicate through apps such as Viber, Whatsapp and FB, IG.

    Breakfast was very rich served with delicious ham, eggs and many other. Watermelon was very tasty and served cold with other fruit options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Room was spacious, bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi connection was very very slow. Fan in the elevator was super noisy, if elevator´s doors are open you can hear the noise in your room.

    Room was spacious, bed was comfortable. Very good breakfast including hot and cold buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Attention: confirm that the bedroom has a window and if it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attention: confirm that the bedroom has a window and if it is towards the street (noisy) Should improve wifi service in reception. For many passengers it is very necessary, both for check in, check out and to get private transportation. Every day there was a claim for this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower needs a proper cleaning and there was no iron in the room or the hotel

    Great location, very nice breakfast, staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location. Staff are idiots
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not nice at all. I'm Irish but can speak fluent Portuguese. The staff were not helpful at all. I asked to connect to the wifi 10 minutes after I checked out, the guy said no u now have no room and cannot use this service. Ridiculous!!

    Perfect location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Stuff is so polite and friendly, location is fantastic and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled very bad, WIFI was very weak and 1 elevator to serve the whole hotel which means u have to wait at least 30 mins or more waiting each time u wanna go out.

    Stuff is so polite and friendly, location is fantastic and value is very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was not bad but staff was, hence bad experience and I will not return there or recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    they charged my card around 5 times, a lot of issues with payments. Staff not helpful and flexible with regards to rooms change - room with 2 double beds for 4 people which is strange, especially with 4 guys. Even two couples should rather stay in separate rooms for comfort. I wanted to pay more and change for 2 twin rooms, but was told 'sorry' although rooms were available. Breakfast was below average...

    Location is pretty good, but still few minutes walk from the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.2
    I will never get back there anymore. NEVER.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel added 10% taxes on arrival but it was so badly mentionned on the booking page that i did not see it. So finally prices was false. Bathroom so poor and so small. Very noisy Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Good value for the $. Great location. EXCELLENT customer service & friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi connection was weaker than expected

    EXCELLENT customer service. 3 HOURS later checkout was absolutely a pleasure without any headaches at all. Good breakfast. Really the ONLY issue was that the WIFI was a little weaker than I'd expect from such a facility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    The service of the staff was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were very small . facilities in the room were just ordinary.

    The service of the staff was very good. Especially the Steward at the breakfast area and check in . very friendly and helpful . location was ok with good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was off & on, ac was a bit noisy here & there

    Friendly staff, very helpful and willing to assist in any way possible

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely helpful staff, nice rooms and good facilities (gym).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely helpful staff, nice rooms and good facilities (gym). About a 5 min walk from the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Really good breakfast and location
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good breakfast and location its so comfortable to have a gym

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Weekend in July
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but on 1st Day all hot food was cold....including coffee.

    Good location, great price, big room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    I liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast and pillows

    cleanliness and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dim room, not much of space to move around in room.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excelent Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excelent Hotel. Friendly staff. Nice, clean in great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Expensive but nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should be cheaper considering quality of the hotel.

    Nice calm restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Location stuff willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location stuff willing to help

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    Regal room but not in its entirety!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s missed facilities as simple as shampoo to take a shower

    It’s position and it’s availability.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and wonderful breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant & affordable stay within walking distance of Copacabana with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning system in the room was old and noisy, with limited controllability.

    Staff are very approachable and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Uma noite maravilhosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Quarto maravilhoso!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was dirty, they had to change me. no parking even though they tell you they have, breakfast was poor.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    In short, I was in Rio de Janeiro for networking and taking care of few legal papers.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    front desk people care.

    I like everything. perhaps front desk person could be more polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    All okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near The copacabana and Ipanema

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    A great value hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in the centre of Copacabana. Breakfast is great and staff very friendly. In short, VFM!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay. With plenty to do in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could use air freshener. Stale smell I'm the room.

    Beds were comfortable. Lots of space in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist man wasn't polite

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Everything and staff friendly
    • Group
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi weak

    Everything and staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    distancia a la playa.

    GYM

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    4.6
    Location was very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we first arrived, they asked us to pay the full amount in advance, which is unusual because why would I pay the full amount for a service I didn't even receive. The maids made the bed but didn't sweep the floor or change the garbage's.

    Location was very close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Its close to Copacabana beach (7 min walk on the street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You get what you pay. If you are used to of 5 star hotels, and expecting nice lobby with premium breakfast, then its not the right choice. - Air conditioning was too loud, I asked for room change, they did, second room was better but not the best - Its basically a 3 star hotel, so just sleep and enjoy Rio :)

    Its close to Copacabana beach (7 min walk on the street which has lots of restaurants and juice bars). Breakfast was fine, I requested for fried eggs, and they made it for me, which I appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.5
    The breakfast was the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were bugs eating the wood furniture, had to change the room late at night. Also, there was no Wfi in the rooms, is important to have Wfi inside of the each room.

    The breakfast was the best.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    5.8
    Beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Its just old and kind of dingy. The safe broke with our stuff in it. We got it open, but the mechanical parts clearly need to be replaced. The balcony door didn't close all the way. Breakfast was ok, but not great. They wouldn't let me check in early and I couldn't have the wifi password until I checked in (which was much more annoying than not being able to check in early). I probably wouldn't stay here again as there are so many options in this price class, some place has to be as well located but nicer.

    Beds were comfy. Location near the beach is good.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    8.3
    location is great and staff is quite helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    garage is small and is a struggle to get a spot. no towels for the beach, but they lend umbrellas and chairs!

    location is great and staff is quite helpfull. Good breakfast and comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.9
    Relatively good price.
    • Group

    Nothing critical, just small details. Water flow was not always constant. During rain some water leaked between the AC and the wall. An electric kettle would have been nice to have. Or a hot water dispencer on the floor.

    Relatively good price. Location close to the beach, close to a metro station, close to convenience stores. Very polite and helpful staff. Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.5
    The location, the breakfast, the staff.
    • Solo traveller

    The price. The storage of luggage is good when you have to wait many hours for your flight but for this price I would expected better service like the use of shower and other facilities, even after checking out.

    The location, the breakfast, the staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    5.8
    , the location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the price was really high,we didn't get what we expected. in booking the hotel looked very good, but in the reality it was old and poor

    , the location is great the service was good

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    6.3
    Location and staff were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working 1 full day/night, lifts tiny and one of them not working all the time, balcony was tiny, view was not good and when we used the restaurant it took 1 h for us to get simple food.

    Location and staff were good.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.2
    Very good value for money and very good staff - good English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room (105) overlooking some machine plant which kicked in occasionally and was slightly disturbing. But for 2 nights it was OK. The room was hot so aircon was needed a lot - albeit it was not extremely hot outside. Wifi was a little weak - but sort of worked.

    Very good value for money and very good staff - good English spoken too! Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Hotel is situated near Copacabana beach and near metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is situated near Copacabana beach and near metro station. Reception man help us for any kind of information that we ask him and that was important because on street nobody speaks english. Only one thing that was not good is that wi fi did not work very well,every minute line was broken.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very helpful any room issues ( that they could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Because of it's location, the streets are pretty noisy at night when the cleaning crews come through. ( My room was facing the street on the front of the hotel. The bathroom, has to be one of the smallest ever, almost like an afterthought. If you open the BR door too quickly, it hits the toilet and comes back to you...Very small

    The staff was very helpful any room issues ( that they could repair) Housekeeping was awesome, and the restaurants selection is good, and there are even laundries very close, if you want to have your laundry cleaned, instead of using hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    8.3
    Price, quality of the rooms and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit far (cca. 500 m) from the beach and heavy traffic during crossing the streets while going to the Copacabana beach

    Price, quality of the rooms and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    6.3
    Near to the Copacabana beacc and good breakfast compare to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was totally different from the pictures that was uploaded in the booking.com website. No hair dryer in the room. And Except the hotel manager, they're not that kind, but not that bad also.

    Near to the Copacabana beacc and good breakfast compare to the hotel charge. And hotel manager, he was super kind and very good at English.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    6.3
    Location is fine, not far from subway, bus and beach, stores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise!! The street is very noisy, feel you are sleeping on the street, have to use earplugs all the time

    Location is fine, not far from subway, bus and beach, stores.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    10
    Great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great friendly staff. Helped whenever needed thanks guys! Location great for walking around. The restaurant is quite good and very reasonably priced and they make great caipirinhas 🍹

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.2
    Location was great for shopping and activities in town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I was alone this trip so the small twin beds weren't an issue. Small elevators could take a while to arrive, plan ahead.

    Location was great for shopping and activities in town because of ready access to transportation. If you want be on the beach look a few blocks closer to the ocean. Included breakfast got us off to a great start. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast ok for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms toward street (most) are very noisy and the AC as well. In general, Copacabna is noisy (traffic). Better head for Ipanema or Leblon area.

    Breakfast ok for the price. Rooms and bathroom basic but clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    5.4
    Staff was very friendly, spoke English, helped with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are small, old and not very clean. Hotel charged 10% service fee even though it was included and has no way to refund immediately. Breakfast is nothing to cheer about. Wifi doesn't work in room.

    Staff was very friendly, spoke English, helped with questions on places to visit. Location is fine (3 blocks from beach).

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location, very good neighbourhood, 5 minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room, tiny window overlooking the external ventilation system (could not even check the weather from our room). Maybe other rooms were better.

    Excellent location, very good neighbourhood, 5 minutes walk from Copacabana Beach and also 5 minutes walk from subway station Sigueira Campos. The staff was very nice, with good English skills and always eager to help.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    6.3
    Localization and convenient neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a double bed room and they give us a 2 single mattress double bed with a blanket between them. In the first night a couple was shouting and fighting in one of the rooms next to us, we got scared. Too noise doors could be listen in the corridor.

    Localization and convenient neighborhood

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    Reception Desk Staff Personnel were really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Reception Desk Staff Personnel were really helpful. I was able to tour around Rio De Janeiro with their help from Tour bookings and other locations. Free Breakfast indeed was also enticing! i love the food..

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    6.7
    location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi-fi did not work and reception did not give us right password. reception very slow. reception tried to charge from us extra for "dinner" what we never had in the hotel.

    location great. room clean. breakfast good. bag storage service great!

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    The location is great, so close to the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. Everything was great

    The location is great, so close to the beach and restaurantes.. The staffs are friendly and the overall experience was great

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    5.0
    It's a beachfront property on Copacabana beach with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a basically very basic/poor hotel in an amazing location. The wifi only worked intermittently – which was a problem for me because I was working during my stay. The hot water only worked sometimes (though better results could be obtained by a complex process of turning the sink taps on and off prior to a shower as taught to me by one of the hotel staff) but that wasn’t as bad as when all the water just stopped on the second night during my wife’s shower. The door to our room couldn’t be shut properly without slamming it closed. I was concerned about the disturbance that was being caused to the other guests by this practice but since the whole floor was being painted it’s also possible that no one else was staying nearby. Before you ask, no, the smell of paint fumes was not nearly as disturbing as the chime that played repetitively every time the elevator landed on the floor and could be heard all through our room, no matter what the time of day or night. The fact that the staff barely acknowledge guests as they enter or exit is not as concerning given that they weren’t particularly pleasant when they were asked for assistance.

    It's a beachfront property on Copacabana beach with a balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is very clean, there is a nice breakfast, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wi-fi in the room was very weak and we faced disconnections from time to time, but it wasn't a big factor in our total experience.

    The hotel is very clean, there is a nice breakfast, the price we got was good, so we are happy with our choice. Location is one of the best.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Just a block away from the beach, this is a very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You might struggle with english

    Just a block away from the beach, this is a very comfortable and affordable hotel. You can walk around most places, the staff also assisted with booking tours

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.8
    the staff is really nice and welcoming, great breakfest an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The a.c in the room is a bit loud and as we stayd in the 10th floor we could hear the elivator engine running.

    the staff is really nice and welcoming, great breakfest an great shower. The air line company lost my suitcase and the staff was very helpfull untill i got it back

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    A great hotel, ideally located near Copacapana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A great hotel, ideally located near Copacapana. I cannot think of anything that could have been better. The staff at been very helpful, and arranged a room for me on the fly, even though my booking had not yet reached their computer through the booking.com system. The hotel is 5 minutes walking from the beach, and a few minutes from the closest metro station, which can bring you to either downtown or Ipanema.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff support, just few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent location and staff support, just few minutes walking to Copacabana. Room was exactly what we need for a group of 4 and 1 baby. It has lockers for you in case of arriving before check-in time.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    Comfort of the room and staff were a very good value for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on the first floor: too noisy.

    Comfort of the room and staff were a very good value for the price paid. The lobby is very elegant, and it gives a "good feeling".

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    I speak English and Spanish mainly, but my girlfriend speaks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I speak English and Spanish mainly, but my girlfriend speaks Portuguese fluently. The staff were friendly from the start, by helping carry in the bags to answering all of our questions. I booked the room online a month prior, so we were bumped up to a better room for no extra charge. The bed is huge and the bathroom is a real jaw-dropper. Breakfast is delicious and the academia (gym) has everything you need for a full-body exercise. Also, the hotel is only a few blocks away from the beach. We stayed for 4 days and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Great place to start our travels in Rio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to start our travels in Rio. Speaking very little Portuguese, and being unfamiliar with the city, the staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, equipped with TV and great wifi signal in room. Breakfast was included and great. The location in copacobana couldn't be better, just a couple blocks from the beach and centrally located in copacobana.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copacabana Sol Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil