Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copa Sul Hotel 3 stars

Av. Nossa Sra Copacabana, 1284, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22070-012, Brazil

#122 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 718 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality breakfast. Juices = colored water. Pastries are not fresh. If you arrive late we found the dining area not clean.

    Nice comfortable rooms and good quality beds. Very friendly young lady in the reception, always greeted with a welcoming smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air condition is beside the bed which is not comfortable

    Good location. There is only five minutes walk to Copacabana beach. Good breakfast and good service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it was Booking's fault: they had not got the reservation!

    Staff was helpful and polite. The boy at the reception, who was very kind, spoke fluent spanish. Room was huge and spotless, with comfortable bed and great shower. Breakfast was very good. Location was central but room was still quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast rather limited and sometimes a little stale. Fresh fruit again limited and not always fully ripe. No lounge area to sit and relax, just a settee in reception.

    We asked to change rooms and they were very accommodating. Reception staff very helpful if we had any queries about shopping, restaurants, taxis etc. Beach towels and parasols available in the hotel at no extra cost: Copacabana beach 2 minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice hotel that ticked all the boxes we needed to explore Rio, nothing overly fancy but the reception was nice and rooms were clean. A block away from Copa beach and easy to navigate to other spots, we used uber a lot. I also have to credit the staff, they were all lovely during our stay - the breakfast staff being especially friendly. Even after we'd checked out, and were at the airport ready to leave Rio, I realised my work phone was still in the room safe. I emailed the hotel straight away and Karla has been brilliantly helpful getting me information about postage, and organising for it to be sent to me by tracked delivery. Thank Karla!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the showers needed to be renovated anytime soon and the rooms smeled quite weird.

    The hotel is for Rio Standards perfectly fine. The staff was friendly. The location was very good for the beach (just one block away) but quite far away from the subway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Juices were not tasty at all. The bathroom was old. The view from the room was terrible.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was good for its price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my belt there a year ago. Just after the stay I asked the manager to send it to me. They said that they sent it but I never received. As much as that was an annoyance to my relationship with the hotel, if they continue to stay humble in their pricing, they may continue to be my first choice of many.

    Love the location staff and maid service (love them)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything here is good. the receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Edward is perfect. he has helped us a lot to arrange tours and to make everything comfortable. all people here are very kind and helpful. also there is a guy wearing eyeglasses I don't remember his name but he has helped me too much. thank you so much guys for everything here.one more thing the breakfast is good as well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Bathrooms are a bit small but it is functional.

    The location, facilities, breakfast and staff. The room was spacious, well lit and had sufficient desk space too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The high price

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location in Copacabana.Tasty breakfast.Beach service Free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid to be close to the street, the noise it was unacceptable. They change me of room next night.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Really nice hotel, awesome location. Short walks to either Ipanema beach or Copacabana beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Close to beach and Carnival parade.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish had balcony

    Breakfasts. Great staff. Nice location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is the big plus of this hotel for those who want to be close to Copacabana and Ipanema beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Large comfortable room. Good quality breakfast. Hire of towels and umbrella for beach. Good price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great, except one day when we arrived back home our room door was open. This was a bit spooky. We told the receptionist but he didn't really know how to respond to it. Nothing was taken, we had our valuables in the safe. But this seems like something that should not happen in a city like Rio.

    It's a lovely hotel with friendly staff. Clean rooms, comfy beds. The location conveniently located between Ipanema and Copacabana. Short walking distance to both beaches.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast awesome, staff super friendly, everything clean (german standard clean!),well located... I have nothing negative to say and I am a very critical person usually!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Reception area and breakfast room are rather small and mediocre but the breakfast itself was perfectly adequate

    My standard room was light, bright and of good size, and as in the hotel photos. The location is very good, 3 or 4 minutes walk to Copacabana beach and Forte Copacabana, and 10 minutes to Ipanema Beach and General Osario (Ipanema) metro station.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything. Specially the rude disrespectfull staff. I was mugged and they refused to call the police, or help in any way. Arrogant horrible. Simply horrible. I have stayed in more than 20 hotels, I have never been trated so bad. I do not recomend

    Nothing. I hated my stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Staff were helpful and friendly and English speaking. The service and cleanliness was excellent. The breakfast was good. The location was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have no complaint, only a nice view would have topped it off, but maybe there are rooms available with a nice view?

    Honestly, I am very happy to have stayed in this hotel: the rooms are clean!, the location is very good (walking distance from both Ipanema and Copa, abd close to other sightseeing), the breakfast is delicious, they offer nice tour packages, ánd the staff is very nice and helpful! A definite recommendation

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1)The internet connection was very slow, hotel goes through a third party. 2) The breakfast was OK, it seemed that overtime I had scrambled eggs, I kept finding egg shells on my eggs. 3) Skin in the bathroom and toilet kept getting clogged and had to flush the toilet 2 or 3 times. 4) I stayed on the 10th floor, there was no view and it was hard for me to get a good nights rest, housekeeping was noisy at times when cleaning other guests rooms.

    I enjoyed the location, close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic hotel. No gym, no rooftop access or view. No coffee maker in room. Once hotel restaurant closes, you can't even get hot water for tea.

    Location, easy walk to Copacabana and not too far from Ipanema either. Nice breakfast buffet. Most of front staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i didn't like at all that i make the payment online for two night it toked the money from my credit card then after on the check out there was paid only for one night, the host was rude, i did told them why they toked the money from my credit card and i have to pay for another night if was paid already, anyway the host is a strong guy from Argentina i don't remember his name, that was the most poor service the fact is that all the hosts didn't nothing to try see what's going on with the case, i working in customer service in Las Vegas, my name is Aldo Mencatto and i know so many people that all the time going to Brazil i will never ever tall to no one to staying in this hotel for the poor service.

    i liked the location it's closer then everything

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic hotel. Nothing fancy but close to everything at Copa and staff was very helpful getting us last minute New Years reservations at a beachfront restaurant for the fireworks.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Super place for the price. Staff was super helpful. Ipanema beach is just 10-15 min walk if you are bored by Copacabana. And if you like to visit Sugarloaf or Corcovado, bus stop just around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    colors of curtain in room 701 window view no smoking option no outside terrace quality of breakfast (no soymilk, no variety of health food options)

    24 hour reception safe in room location cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet did not flush properly, even after it got fixed ! It let the hotel down. Otherwise very nice stay, would recommend.

    Good breakfast, esp,papaya, mango, pineapple. All fresh and sweet, nice cakes, hot milk.breads, local cheese, Very helpful bell boys, Virgilio receptionist, very informative and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints

    Loved the location, loved their breakfast (eggs, meat, bread, fruit and cakes), great price. Stayed on the 14 floor and it was very quiet. Staff was always extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On the first night of arrival, wifi was not working, and the following day it was out for most part of the day - advised by the hotel that this was due to an outage within the area. Room cleanliness could be improved somewhat - although clean, both towels and bedding had stains. Biggest issue would be language, staff although incredibly helpful, did not speak the best English, but this was all part of the overall experience!

    Hotel location is perfect, walkable distance to both Copacabana and Ipanema beach. Staff are friendly and help whenever possible. Breakfast was brilliant for sweet and savoury selections but there was a lack of hot food. Room size was brilliant and bathroom was equipped excellently.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very basic. Juices were very over watered down and it was the same every day.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Would ask them their opinions on places to go and places to eat and they were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would suggest to bleach or put new towels. But otherwise..good hotel!

    Breakfast was great. Lots of fruits, not just breads and cakes as in other brasilian hotels:)

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived late at the hotel (basically in the morning) and they let us stay with a late check out without any additional charges: very much appreciated!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was very good and various. We have been upgraded to a suite room once arrived at the hotel, without any additional cost. The staff at the reception was very nice

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no view from the window, towels that were supposed to be thrown a long time ago. It states that there is parking, but they have only 3 reserved for the whole hotel and they don't hold for you even if you send a notice in advance.

    Friendly staff, close to the beach, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. I wish my room had a balcony but that's about it. None of the rooms have balconies lol

    The staff is very friendly and efficient. I've stayed here several times now. The location is prime !!! The bed is comfortable and the breakfast is good enough.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No prices for mini bar in the room ( maybe they just forgot to do it)

    Breakfast was nice, staff was really helpful and fast( it is uncommon in Brazil)

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the lobby seems new, the room looked old and was very dirty. Bed sheets were stained (probably blood stains) and disgusting.

    Location is pretty good. Between Copacabana and Ipanema.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only thing I have to criticise might be the lighting in the rooms..makes you feel like in a hospital or something. But it doesn't affect your comfort that much.

    Locetion is good, one street away from the copacabana beach. Staff was very friendly and helpful, which is not always the case, even in 5-star hotels, unfortunately. Breakfast had a good variety, restaurant staff was fast and nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Today we are in the 21st century and internet is essential.The signal of the internet is not what it should be.They should certainly improve the quality and internet speed to a minimum of about 60 mega or even better 120 mega that Net gives you so that everyone in the hotel gets a good internet signal..

    EVERYTHING

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Nice staff, quite close to the beach. If you can, go left at the Copacabana Beach to see more things in the center of it near Copacbana Palace. The Ipanema beach on the right is a little trek but it's worth it for the rocky coast with splashing waves and the views of the mountains

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor air circulation in rooms and corridoors Reception staff are not warm or freindly. But this could be a cultural difference (I am used to high standards in Asia). Not all staff speak or understand English.

    location, friendly service

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels are old and worn.

    The staff are most helpful. The exchange rate offerred by the hotel is very reasonable. The hotel is located on the second street from the beach where all buses pass by. Breakfast is surprising good.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable beds, noisy ac (not usable because of that) unfriendly staff, no hairdryer and as a cherry on the top they ordered a taxi for us that scammed us on 30 real.

    Fresh and newly renovated rooms. Ok breakfast. Great location close to Copacabana, they offer beach towels.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed is completely hard, staff are rude, transfers booked from hotel dropped me at different hotel them left me to get a taxi back to correct place and didn't want a bar of it. Room wasn't made up at 11pm at night I get home to have to wait while they do it. I would never stay here again and I haven't done the hostel thing in years but this is about as good as a dorm room as it is so noisy, water tricked down between walls and aircon is so loud you have to either sleep in a sweat or stay awake all night. I don't write bad reviews if I think it's just not to my taste but this is not even a 7, it's about a 4.

    Not much wifi prob only thing

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi didn't work so well. Juice in the breakfast was not good, but there's a great juice place right next to the hotel, so no problem

    Great location! Clean, cosy room, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not much. Wish there was a pool.

    I loved the staff after being at another hotel in Copa for 17 days I wanted to change to somewhere with a little more pizzazz. This hotel had it and also the location is A+++

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Price

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower cabinet very tight

    Big rooms amd well located

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi speed & lack of tea machine in room

    Room & location

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Delicios Fruits for brekfast, very confortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No guest allowed

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bathroom could be improved

    Staff were highly accommodating and went all the way to try to help us find a van to the airport on a crazy carnaval day.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location centrale, pulito e staff efficiente

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The woman at the front desk was rude.

    Most of the staff were great.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy air conditioning.

    Breakfast was good. Good shower. Great location for beaches and the metro is near by.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Please change your towels for the new one, maybe they are clean, but they look dirty...

    Room was clean, modern and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Can't think of any

    Good food Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They need to improve on the bed and air conditioning units

    Great location everything nearby

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Couple

    It's close to everything

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location was not what i've expected

    Breakfast was incredible!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaning could be better sometime, but nothing too bad.

    Professional and kind staff, Great position, Good morning breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was cramped, the shower was average.

    Good hotel, standard three star. Not much more to stay, we stayed one night and it served the purpose

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were not friendly

    Great location, good facilities

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Location Staff Clean Helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The additional fee required for guest

    Our room was spotless

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and wi-fi and close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was great, staff was friendly, breakfast was very good and it was a 5 mins walk from beautiful beaches and nice restaurants.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copa Sul Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil