Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cristal Palace 3 stars

Rua Francisco Otaviano, 56, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22080-040, Brazil

#386 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.6
    horrible accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very bad hotel - rooms are very noisy, extremely, aer conditioning is also old and very noisy, rooms with very little natural light and natural ventilation. The manager is aggressive, asks for 10% tax to be paid form the check in for the entire stay - I stayed 12 nights, otherwise is not allowed to enter the room even though the room was already paid in full by card. Stay away form this hotel - you cand find cheaper 4stars hotel at nearby. The food for breakfast looks bad and there is no diversity - I have cleiac disease and I said this in my reservation, there was no response on that. I was offended by the manager - there is not what you want in a holiday trip. Also a lot if insects in bathroom and room, cleaningless is desirable. what you see on booking in description is false or the negative comments are deleted - try to read comments on this hotel in tripadvisor or other travelling sites

    horrible

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    I think this hotel is exactly the kind of “what you see is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not that i didn’t like i would just recommend to check the shower of room 403 because after having the opportunity to use the shower of room 404 i notice that they are completely different. Lack of pressure in 403. No big deal, just a recommendation.

    I think this hotel is exactly the kind of “what you see is what you get!” I didn’t book a 5 stars hotel so I was quite happy with what I had. It’s a modest hotel in an awesome location with an awesome staff (specially the head of the cleaning ladies and her staff and also the reception guys) they were absolutely amazing. Friendly, willing to help, and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    No place for bikes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't have a place to store 2 bicycles. They didn't care to find some place to keep it for the night ( even though they had a huge empty storage room ). They didn't allow for us to take the bikes to the bedroom, even though the bikes were clean and the floor was not carpet. The staff was not polite and not helpful at all. Management was absent. Really poor experience. We ended up chaining our bikes to a post outside the hotel which is in a reasonably dangerous neighborhood (according to the hotel staff).

    Location is good. Facilities are fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.4
    Bad breakfast,bad mantainance,good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not well mantained,everything is falling apart. The boss is not polite and after check (3 minutes after)out we needed internet for a second to checked a reservation and they did not want to provide it. The breakfast looked nice,but nothing was fresh! You have to watch out,so you do not get a food poisoning. Not worth the money. I would not book with them ever again.

    I liked the location and comfortable bad. The guy who works during the night is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    6.3
    Relatively OK stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The worst part was the heavy smell at the entry that we couldn't identify what it was. Gym consisted of 2 running bands. Breakfast was OK and served at the terrace where they dont have any air conditioning to keep the food fresh and cold (kitchen staff are super nice though). The worst part of the room was the loudest air condition one can imagine. If you re disturbed by the noise, thats not the best place to stay. These things could be improved.

    The hotel personal was nice and friendly. Location was the best part of the place. The room was pretty spacious and was given enough of space for hanging our clothes.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We stayed in a room with view to the street, so it wasn't super quiet at night (mostly on weekend nights), in spite of the double glass and all. It was not a problem for us (heavy sleepers), but some might find it unconfortable.

    Lovely place. Great assistance from the staff. Excellent location, walking distance from Copacabana, Arpoador, and Ipanema. Pretty much no complains! It's in front of a bunch of cool little shops and places to eat (fast food, basically) or grab a beer till late hours that gets crowded on weekends. Worth the try.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    A so-so hotel but the location saves it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is pretty shabby. Many things about the facilities are just prehistoric, like that aircon in my room that had manual switches and sounded like it was going to explode any minute. Plumbing needs fixing. They use some revolting strawberry room perfume that you can't get rid of because the windows don't open. Last one - the facade faces a street with an excellent (but also extremely noisy) surf bar so won't recommend to people with fragile sleep.

    Location. Location! Oh have I mentioned location? It's right behind Arpoador. 5 mins to Copacabana, 5 minutes to Ipanema. Easy access to the rest of the city. Moved here for a week after 2 months in Barra and was enjoying finally being in a place with purely carioca feel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.6
    Hmmmm if you just want to party book if for a couple of night. If longer look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. The bedding was damp and had a musty smell. Requested it to be changed the bedding was the same. The hot water did not always work.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.6
    The total overpriced costs of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The total overpriced costs of the room... the half would have been to expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice guy on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast, no view, poor a/c. Generally a bit run-down

    Nice guy on reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    They forgot to clean the room one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to clean the room one day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    Hotel Cristal in Rio is great but the staff not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance of the hotel and also the staff.

    The location is great and the owner of the hotel was a great guy too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Normal place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old property, renewed but still needs improvements

    Near Copacabana

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.8
    good localizad and good price
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - good localizad -good staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.8
    Centrally located between Copacabana and Ipanema where one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Kind of mixed feeling. The room was spacious yet dark and unwelcoming. Door lock was half broken, even locked us out for few hours one night. The kitchen staff were kind of weird, would follow you when you would go to pick up food, observing every other steps.

    Centrally located between Copacabana and Ipanema where one can easily access both beaches and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    4.2
    It is just a room to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Every thing 1- they take the price before I arrived not as they said in agreement book now pay later. 2- extra fees when you arrived under name of tax??????? 3- They ask about your visitors are they staying or leaving 4- for the first time I pay for key lost in all my travels. 5- I asked for 1 hour or 30 minutes extra after check out time just and the answer was no way.

    It is just a room to sleep

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    8.3
    Most importantly, it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Most importantly, it was clean. The location was perfect for me. Desk staff were pleasant (especially when tipped). Housekeeping was thorough and the price was great. The TV didn't work but I didn't pursue it and the room didn't have a view nor was it aesthetically pleasing but for the price that was OK.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    5.4
    Location ideal for beaches, monuments and tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Managers not very social towards staff or customers. Everything rushed, also when signing out the manager had no interest in reviewing the final bill as I was unsure of a few things. The room........ Comfortable for a stay if you're just looking for a place to put your head down after a wild night in Copa! Only the two main lights in the bed area worked, the rest didn't. Bathroom had a horrendous smell coming from the drain of the shower. Breakfast area hard to find and also smelled bad. The hot tub was in need of a good clean. No view at all, just a loud aircon unit.

    Location ideal for beaches, monuments and tourist attractions etc.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    2.9
    Nothing really apart from the location as it's close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lot of things were bad in the room. The window which was broken, the door locker almost destroyed, the shower without pressure which later they fixed, the AC which was very noisy. The room barely had any natural light as the windows were very small. There were a lot of bad smells in the hotel. We noise insulation was very poor and we could ear the next room conversations. The room safe didn't work one day and I had to call for assistance.

    Nothing really apart from the location as it's close to Ipanema and Copacabana.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    4.6
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff at the reception are very rude apart from one young guy who tries best, I felt he's new at the job but the others were very arrogant to him and very unfriendly to us guests in general, hardly a "hi" or "good morning" etc.I Have been using booking.com for years, I travel a lot and stay in hotels often and this is the second time in all these years I leave a bad review. Also the rooms are too busy with nasty wall paper with matching lampshades and bright cushions and throw ons, but then maybe this is due to my taste levels ( sometimes less is better ). Also in the past I stayed at cheaper or with the same price point hotels so this is not a "value for money" or " you get for what you paid" kind of situation. Anyway, I know everybody have different views when comes to giving reviews and that's mine.. I'm never going to stay at this hotel again

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.2
    Small hotel within walking distance of beach, Copacabana...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was provided but it wasn't the most lavish. The selection was limited. Also the roof hot tub was never open.

    Small hotel within walking distance of beach, Copacabana Fort, grocery, metro.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I traveled with my female friend and have experienced the most hostile environment from the reception staff and also I beleive the owner of the hotel purely as we wanted to see the room before signing in and approving the charges. I've never experienced this level of anger and unapropriate pressure from any place Ive ever stayed. I travel a lot all around the world and I am used to a commotion from cheap hostels to 5* hotels and would strongly recommend to look for other places to stay if you like to be close to Copacabana beach ( plenty of choises within the same price bracket) The rooms nicely decorated although very noisy as they facing busy road, even if staying on higher floors. Hot tub is very dirty and rusty ( you can't see this from the photos), so impossible to use. Breakfast including breakfast staff are however very good.

    Breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    7.1
    Unbeatable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unbeatable location.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    5.0
    Good location, price is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small and dirty. It was not confortable though.

    Good location, price is good.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.5
    Localizacion
    • Couple

    I likefacilities

    Localizacion

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Staff was awesone, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't like the system they use for wifi.

    Staff was awesone, great value for money. Good location

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor maintenance.

    Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    7.1
    BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NOT GOOD WIFI IN THE ROOM

    BREAKFAST

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    5.8
    It was close enough to the beach but not too close that it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was close enough to the beach but not too close that it was stupidly busy

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil