Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4 stars

Rua Farme de Amoedo, 34, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22420020, Brazil

#289 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1249 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - There was no Internet! They apparently had an issue with the provider and the WiFi was not working at all in the room. It was working a little bit in the lobby but it was suddenly disappearing. To book a flight, I had to go to a nearby restaurant... - The rooms (like the all hotel) are really old style and a refresh (especially in the room and the lobby) would be more than welcomed: I guess the place has the same decoration than in the 70s - The breakfast is not that good... poor choice (and bad coffee)

    The location is perfect for staying in Ipanema

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had hot water issues from time to time.

    This is the best hotel in Ipanema if you want comfort, large rooms, great staff, and proximity to beach, restaurants, shopping all withing 3 minute walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not working when I arrived, my shower was broken etc... Lack of attention for these small details, which shouldn’t happen based on the standard of the hotel

    Good location and friendly personal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was not working properly and the connection was most of the time only working in the lobby.

    The Terrace on the roof of the hotel is a big plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water in the shower one morning. I could not figure out if this was a regular issue or a one-time issue.

    Excellent location, with an awesome view on Ipanema from the rooftop. Reasonably large bedrooms, comfortable although a bit old, and excellent bed, all for a very decent price for the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is old and it needs renovation. The shower is too low and the head doesn’t move. We are both tall, so it was a little awkward to take the shower. The staff were ok. Helpful, but not too nice.

    The location is the best thing you’ll get. It’s just amazing how good it is with all the bars and restaurants around. The breakfast is also great. We had breakfast everyday at the patio down at the Opia restaurant where it’s served. The bed was REALLY confy and the pool had the best view. The room itself is good. TV works just fine, the safe is great. All and all, it’s a great hotel for a great price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms have been undergoing "refreshing" for the past 8-10 years. Don't expect 5 star, but they are always clean and the wifi has gotten significantly better. Remember, you are in Brazil- you only be sleeping in your room, not hanging out there. Bar service at pool is marginal.

    We stay there 3-4 times a year. The staff is great and the location can't be beat. One pays a premium for the location, but it is very well worth it. The pool view is one of the best in Rio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was patchy. Bathroom was small.

    Perfect location in Ipanema. Very comfy room with a very large bed.Breakfast was fabulous. Really good service, nice restaurant and fabulous pool on the roof. Also good value given the quality. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee is very bad; music is depressing American pop. When I go to Rio I want to hear happy BRAZILIAN music. Breakfast great, except for low quality of coffee.

    The people and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us was very old and didnt look good, had problems with the air conditioner Twice. THANKS to Tania from booking.com we got a better room, after she spoke to Amanda from the hotel they took excelent care of our stay.

    The location is excelent. Everything walking distance, lots of restaurants, bars and ipanema beach. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel arranged our taxi for our arrival in the middle of the night, nice van and nice driver.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel claimed not to have my booking and that the room rate was higher No hot water at peak times The door to the adjoining room did not lock when I first arrived

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was stuck in an elevator on the 17th floor for an hour and no one came to check on me. Tried to follow up with staff and a management to investigate why this happened and was met with nothing but lies and excuses designed to make me drop the issue. Eventually was offered a trivial discount on my room rate as an apology. Also found condoms in the room left my the previous guest and when I told the front desk they just shrugged their shoulders. Do not stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In carvaval that street is crowded.

    Everything was great and perfect location to beach and leblon mall and restaurants. Provide chairs and towells for beach use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 23 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is never consistently up and running”. A very very frustrating sign-in process that’s “hit and miss”. Wifi is often simply not working. They really do need to get a better router and internet provider.

    Barbara, from reservations, (behind reception), made everything right. She’s 100% responsible for making our month-long stay at this hotel delightful. Thank you, thank you, Barbara! Front desk staff were always helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too cramped for size of hotel. Would have liked more international choice at breakfast. There seemed to be a huge cake selection but little variety in other respects. Also it is in a perfect location for days on a sandy beach but there is nowhere to rinse sandy feet before entering (which is a normal facility in Rio apartments) and nowhere to easily rinse and dry beach things so our bathroom was constantly festooned with damp sarongs, towels and swimwear.

    Location. Staff. View. Nice bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist Hannah had great English and was so friendly & helpful; Towels & chairs and umbrella's for the beach were an excellent bonus & the attendants were so helpful; Fantastic sushi and tuna & salmon at the Opium restaurant & wonderful pool on 17th floor,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The external tour they booked for me had a poor guide - perhaps look around or check to make sure you are getting what you want. There was work in the upper areas so I couldn't check them out.

    The staff were very helpful with all my odd requests. This is a good location. I stayed in both Copacabana and Ipanema and felt safer here and in a smaller community with nice places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A staff member came to my room it the demanding more money because a friend of mine came to my room for a few minutes. He refused to leave until I signed a document saying I would pay the hotel 100 reals. The staff said that if I had anyone in my room they needed to be registered with the hotel or they would charge me 100 reals per person, which is ridiculous. The hotel manager should be fired for letting the staff treat the customers like this, I have never been at a hotel that demanded more money for nothing in the middle of the night. I would have given a nice review otherwise, but customers should know that the staff here may try to cheat the customer out of more money in the middle of the night. What scum.

    The pool is nice, the hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room we had on the eight floor was miserable. The bathroom needed to be pulled out and redone, the bedroom was a reasonable size but all needed some TLC. However the Manager helped us by moving us to a much nicer room

    The staff were very helpful. They managed to change our room for us, on the second night. The pool terrace is nice. Mostly the help of the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Having a couple people that spoke English was very helpful. Hannah at the front desk was very helpful each day. The breakfast each morning was an excellent way to start the day. The service was very good. Tiago was very friendly and welcoming. The security was excellent at the hotel. The front door person each day helped to guide me as I went exploring Rio each day. The roof top room offered a beautiful view of Ipanema Beach. The pool was an excellent way to exercise and cool off each day. The beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach was a great addition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom : hot water missing most of the time it took up to five minutes to get it , air in the pipes all the time, toilets needed up to 10 min to fill a flush with the noise of water until it finishes. Faucet dripping water all day long, un-economical , un-ecological ! Bathroom is old , toilet seats from the 80's !! all metallic parts show signs of extrem long time cleaning ... General : On the same floor I had two rooms getting renovated, with smell of paint and noise , unacceptalble to put up people on same floor than renovation. And at check in they told me I was "upgraded" for free (uprade means a small window with a little view trough buildings to the beach). Internet slow and disconnect all the time ... basically had to sign in about 15-20 times in 5 days ! Sometimes all 30 min.

    Breakfast was nice, every day the same though ! Staff is nice and friendly...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is great, just a 2 min walk from Ipanema beach. The rooftop terrace and swimming pool is also a nice treat! Breakfast is amazing, all in all a good experience. Neighbourhood is safe to walk even in the night - suits well also female solo travellers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most staff is not very polite and helpful Structure a little "old"

    Breakfast is amazing Great position Comfortable rooms Great beach complementary service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is renovated and has a really nice pool area with views to the beach and Corcovado.... it was very well located in Ipanema with restaurants and the beach nearby. The room was spacious, breakfast was really good... we enjoyed our stay very much!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electricity (and HVAC) is controlled by placing your room key card into a receptacle by the door. We had two room keys so just left one in the receptacle at all times so the room would be fresh and cool when we returned. The thermostat controlling the HVAC was useless, either the ac ran full blast or got too warm, no happy medium and never at the temp it was set to maintain.

    Breakfast was superb, staff very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was not aesthetically pleasing and did not look clean, in need of revamp. There were constant noises coming from the bathroom and hallway. No extractor fan in bathroom. The room was also not aesthetically pleasing. Pictures displayed on booking.com looked better than the actual rooms. No proper concierge services.

    Breakfast was good. Location was good, close to beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise insulation was insufficient because neither the door nor the windows closed entirely. Reception made me feel like in a public administration - no sense for customer service.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I don't think I disliked anything in the hotel. Perhaps I would have liked for the gym. swimming pool and saunas to be open until more late. They close at 8pm.

    Everything was really good. I don't understand why people have rated this hotel at 7 or so in the past. It is a very nice, clean and well maintained hotel. I stayed for a week at a room with sea view and woke up every day with one window watching the golden sands and waves of Ipanema and the other window the Corcovado. The bed was a king bed really nice and comfortable. It was quite at night. Everything was very safe. There is a security box and I left money and documents and just walked around with a copy of the passport. The breakfast is superb with many choices of fruits, cakes, breads, hot food, yogur etc. The swimming pool, the gym and the saunas are also very well maintained and there is a person always keeping the area attended and he is very helpful and nice. The area where the hotel is located is really good, right on Farme de Amoedo, which is a quite lively street with many bars and places to eat. All the area around that, particularly toward Leblon is very safe to walk during the day and evening, or at least it seemed like that to me. A few steps away is one of the busiest areas of Ipanema, with great stores, banks, many places to eat and supermarkets. The beach is really close, literally 1 minute away and the rocks of Arpoador which are a must to watch the sunset are just a 15-20 min walk away. This is an excellent hotel. Everything was really good. All workers were very friendly. I can't wait to come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is a bit okd. Bathrooms old. Furniture is less than 4 stars

    Safe location, you could walk around at night too and feel safe. Pool is great: amazing view! Pool is small but in winter is perfect because it's not high season

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is good, but the room was extremely noisy. There were some water pipes going through the room that were making lots of noise. We asked the reception to have a look at it. Somebody came to you room and said that they would take care of it but nothing happened. For the prices that the hotel charges they should have rooms with with more comfort (less noise) to their guests.

    The location is perfect, just a meters walking from Ipanema beach (the best place in Rio).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was nice but not particularly helpful, if that makes sense. The room was ok, but was a bit dirty. It didn't feel disgusting, but didn't have that feeling you get when you walk into a fresh, clean room. The breakfast was adequate, but not bad by any means.

    The experience was fine, in general. The location was stellar! If you stay at this location, it should be because you want a fantastic location with ease of travel to the beach. I would recommend only to someone who isn't picky about the room quality and want's to spend all their time at the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    *the bathtub i requested was poor and leaking. *there was no airport shuttle facility... we took a cab they provided for us. *the wifi was not always available. *the reception staff was not always that polite, but a few of them were nice.

    *the breakfast was great... enough to choose from and a nice staff in the restaurant. *the laundry took a while to return your clothes and i lost a t-shirt, for my luck i remembered the store in Rio so i got a new shirt of the hotel. *the location was perfect, not far from the beach and not far from the metro. *late checkout was not a problem. *the conciërge was very helpfull. *i felt safe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs an update. City tax was not included in final price from Booking.com

    Friendly staff, in particular Luiz. Great room with city views and good lighting. Great location in the best part of Rio. Wifi worked well and breakfast was great. Opium restaurant was great too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small issue with the room air conditioning which was quickly fixed

    The hotel was spotless, always someone cleaning something. Dining at the Opium restaurant was superb. -go the tuna. The beds and pillows were super comfortable. Location was perfect, close to everything -beach, restaurants, shopping Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, -thank you Barbara S.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for late checkout and hotel offered to let us stay two hours after original check out free of charge. Very good location 200m from the beach. Can see Christ the Redeemer from room top, roof top pool also very nice with plenty of seating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Cleaning hours seemed to be pretty random, had to ask for body lotion to be replaced. They left everything except that :)

    Trays of fresh fruit every day make my day! Staff was always helpful and friendly. Rooftop view is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not good. It looked older than I am. A hotel is primarily for somewhere to sleep. All the other bells and whistles are a bonus, but you need to get the bed right! Check in took over 50 minutes - absolutely ridiculous amount of faffing around with paperwork involved in this process. It needs to be streamlined as I didn't face this delay in other hotels in Brazil.

    The breakfast fruits and breads selection was really good! I didn't expect such good variety. The restaurant in the hotel is a bit on the pricy side for Rio but the food is delicious. I recommend that you try it at least once.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated.... the ocean view was only from one small window ...the biggest window had direct view to the neighboring apartment building.

    The location is good. Good breakfast and it is good that they give you chairs and towels for the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom in the room was old and not clean. there was mold in the showers and the tub had cracks in it and the paint was chipping.

    - Nice Staff - Decent Breakfast - Free beach chairs and umbrella

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isnt new... It needs to be refreshed. But the location is the very best you can get.

    Barbara and Luis at the front desk were amazing. So friendly, and excellent recommendations on restaurants. We stay here 3x per year for the past 8-10 years. No need to try anyplace else

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooftop bar and pool closes too early (22:00 hrs). Rooms do not have a terrace, so if you want to have a drink or a smoke after 10 pm the only option is to go out.

    The hotel location, just half a block away from the Ipanema beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 22 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had the enthusiasm of someone who thinks they are about to lose their jobs. Unenthusiastic about everything. Except for Aline at reception who was wonderful and professional.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a bit outdated, but had very strong water pressure (a bit too much in fact!).

    Fantastic breakfast and great location - one block away from the beach and right next to great bars and restaurants. And has no trouble checking in a bit early (unlike most hotels in Brazil!). I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We first arrived at a very dirty room, the bed sheets feels like was very humid, there were stains at the bed frame and I had to ask to move to other room because the room they gave us was not clean at all. The hotel had seen better times and need a complete renovation, old bathrooms and very outdated rooms, Too expensive for what you get, we paid 150 euros per night and we were vet disappointed about the room!

    The breakfast was the best thing about this hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC worked very poorly. They did not turn on AC in the restaurant for breakfast. The phone was broken and never replaced. We went to a "complimentary happy hour" for new year's eve and it was over 30 minutes before advertised.

    The room was spacious, comfortable. The shower had great water pressure & temperature

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks very old the rooms are really ugly and I'm not even talking about the bathrooms ,, the bar and the pool close really early so you are kind of stuck in your miserable hotel room . They need a serious remodeling ,,, its terrible

    The location is very convenient with Ipanema beach right across the street

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceramic tile in corridors as well in rooms favors noise from walking: one can hear the noise from above..the hotel should discard loose furniture and must honor the so called soundproof rooms!!!

    Location one step to Ipanema beach

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiles in the room. Made it very sterile. But as it's close to the beach I guess it's more practical. There was no air in my room. Felt like window hadn't been opened in years. The building is slightly dated. There were drains in my room, covered by a wardrobe door, which I could hear water trickling down. The AC was loud. My card stopped working about 8 times in 3 days. Which means 8 trips all the way down to reception. Been located on the gay street, had a few locals asking me if I was gay, which was a bit random. Security at front door could be friendlier to guests. Cost of laundry was really high.

    Location is good. One block from beach (half a block really). Breakfast is served til 11 at weekend. Nice pool & views from roof garden. Staff friendly. Bed was comfortable and staff were in and out like ninja's.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They don't have iron or iron stand in the hotel which i think is very important for travellers. The hotel is is ideally located and not that cheap so it should need an upgrade.

    The staff and everyone were really nice and friendly. The location is ideal and almost 2 mins walk from the Ipaname Beach. Which is fantastic. Roof top pool area and view was also beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room smelt very damp and aircon made water logged noises, very loud at night. also floors were not cleaned properly, sand was left all over...

    location - seconds from the beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are getting a bit old but with this location you only sleep there and spend days outside :-)

    Location , location , location just out the main door and to the left and less then 100 m and you are on the beach. Breakfest in the morning are huge and very good. Also a huge amount of various resturants with in 5 to 10 min walking distance from Hotel. Something for everybody.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is a bit old, even though comfortable. Needs a general renovation project. Also, a better more equipped fitness center would really add value to the hotel.

    The staff is super friendly. Especially Aline at the front desk is the best. They all speak good english and are very helpful. The best thing however, about this hotel is its location. Right in front of the Ipanema beach and the area is very lively full of cafes, bars, shops. Chairs, towels and umbrellas are available for free for guests. Also the area is very safe for tourists.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning staff needs to work on cleaning methods. There was a great deal of mold in the tile grout in the restroom. Was out all day left the " please clean my room" tag on the door, came back about 5:00 p.m. room not cleaned had to call for cleaning.

    The location, the great buffet breakfast, the rooftop pool and the steam room. Very nice restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms are a bit 'dated' but ok. A pity we could not stay in our room for a few more hours because of non availability of rooms. On regular departure time on checkout the manager said it would not have been a problem (and on booking.com rooms were still available)

    Very centrally located in a safe area. Nearby the beach and nice restaurants. Gay friendly, great breakfast, beach chairs & umbrellas available for free.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was a absolute joke, 1 person who had to take care of at least 5 / 6 people all the time. We were waiting For at least 25 mins to check in after a 11 hour flight. Then we got to our room and the photos are def photo shopped as our room did not look the same. It was old run down and not what we expected for our money. The bathroom is old, the view is blocks of flats. The tv doesn't work. Hated the room if I'm honest and now I'm moving to a hostel. Shame as we spent at least 450 for 3 nights and I feel robbed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool not clean (pool floor was molded. We were charged for water Sometimes staff was not knowledgeable of the closing times of sites

    Breakfast Comfort of beds Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I travelled with my parents and booked 2 rooms, check in was slow (arrived 7pm) and there were no staff to assist with my parents luggage. The room of my parents had not been cleaned properly, the door opened to a lounge area with a sofa that had visible sex fluids and stains. These stains were also on the bed duvet. Completely obvious I don't know how they were missed, it was disgusting and I had to call housekeeping to come and change both. I would have requested another room but had a slow check in with my request for our rooms to be on the same floor so did not want to spend another hour changing their room. Rio is a party town, I understand, so even more reason to be vigilant about cleanliness and guests welcome.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my entire stay and didn't experience any issues that were not promptly addressed by the helpful staff at the Ipanema Plaza.

    Great staff - they have always been helpful to us during our many stays at the Ipanema Plaza. Newly renovated Room 504 (which the hotel is using as a test for a possible hotel-wide renovation, was superb - ultra-modern with a clean, uncluttered look.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is kind of old and looks like it saw better days. Gym is tiny and not well maintained. There are better options in the area for that money.

    Breakfast was nice. Very close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Pleasant stay! Great staff, friendly and helpful! Like the lobby restaurant, the outdoor part very relaxing! The Asian food very tasty. Great selection of fruits for breakfast. Facilities look out dated but stays comfortable. Good Shower water with enough pressure and the twin beds are big and comfortable. Room size is also good. Really near the beach and Ipanema beach is better for a family with kids. Nearby there are plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was renovated, but the bathroom quite old; airport transfer through the hotel was expansive, but the car and driver were not good.

    Very nice location and swimming pool; good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: They now charge to make an omelet. These were formerly offered for free. Checkout: Only 1 receptionist available at 10:45 am. The guest in front of us took an unacceptable 20 minutes to check-in.

    Breakfast: Nice selection of fresh tropical fruits. Room: I was given one of the newly renovated rooms on the 5th Floor. Very "W Hotel" like!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small quibble - my upgraded room, although with a nicer bathroom and huge bed, had less storage in terms of dreamers than the previous one.

    The location is excellent, 50m from Ipanema Beach. (I'm told this is the gay section of the beach but the beach isn't very busy in September).Very safe and lots of places to eat locally - including the bar where The Girl from Ipanema was written. Roof top pool with good views. The plaster was peeling from the ceiling of my shower so they upgraded me to a better room. My adaptor which had worked in São Paolo didn't in Rio. It seems the sockets are deeper. The hotel will lend you an adaptor for a returnable deposit. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better to provide free bottled water in the room.

    The location was excellent, near the beach and great restaurants but not noisy and crowded. The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outdated WC - small bathtub instead of a real shower box Bedroom not completelly silent - 17th floor apartments have sounds of the pool waterbomb. quite anoying for some people, but for me was just ok Pricey Restaurant

    Breakfast - Delicious food with many options Staff - very helpfull and friendly, most of them were fluent in english, spanish and portuguese Location - Really close to Ipanema beach, the subway, dozens of restautants for every pocket and taste, walking distance from copacabana Really Clean - The room was regularly cleaned, and we could see it was well done.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & very helpful staff. Fantastic tour to sugarloaf mountain and Jesus statue booked via the hotel. Awesome location right near ipanema beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Our room was very clean and we had a lovely balcony. Beds very comfortable. Lots of toiletries. Breakfast was excellent Staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pipes run through the rooms. They make a lot of noise! The place also feels outdated and surely needs an upgrade. The bathrooms are basic and outdated.

    The location is really good. The staff was very friendly and gave us an upgrade after complaining about the noise in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the brakfast will last until 11:00am every dsy, not only on wekends also throughout the week.

    The location its great just half block from the beach, nice descotects, all kinds of restaurants around, the subway only 3 block. The hotel staffs extremely attentive, the breakfast fabulous, very clean and neat everywhere. I recommend this hotel to any body. The whole staffs goes beyond to help you in anything you could think about it. You will never feel recreated staying in this place. Who ever stays here will be very placent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    really old rooms and bathrooms; need to be redone; certain people and competence problems at reception; breakfast buffet not quite up to standards for the location and price ; elevator problems; some wifi problems

    Excellent Asian restaurant; good new pool; nice view from 05 rooms ;

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Probably bathroom equipment requires renovation.

    Room is great and spacious. Amazing view to the ocean and mountains from the last floor where you can find swimming pool, sauna and gym. Location is beautiful. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day after I left rio my bank account was emptied! I did not give these card details to any other place in rio! Make of that what you will but I will not be staying here again!

    Stayed here between 16th-20th june gave card details at reception to preauthorise my stay. This visa card remained in the safe for the rest of my stay! I used another card to pay for food and drink.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately most staff is not speaking English at all. Rooms are run down.

    Very nice staff at the reception and speaking good English. Nice and quiet location close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is past the time for renovations at the hotel. I have been coming here for over 5 years and nothing has changed. Furniture is worn, water damage is evident in some rooms and the paint layers are thick and peeling not to mention the pitted tubs.

    The redeeming quality of the hotel is the location - one block up from the beach and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Perfect location close to beach and metro station. Wonderful breakfast - appreciated the surprise factor provided by small variation from day to day. Not too fancy hotel, but everything OK!

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil