Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gran Marquise 5 stars

Av. Beira Mar, 3980, Mucuripe, Fortaleza, CEP 60165-121, Brazil

#6 of 120 hotels in Fortaleza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 610 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Missed the mark and follow up terrible!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temporary breakfast area (now for at least three months!!) is terrible. Many food areas empty and staff not seeming to care. Look at the French bread in my picture! It was left there for an hour! The downstairs bar is awful and terrible customer service. Terrible selection of wine as well! Check your bill - mine had a 50% reduction of wrong charged items. Inconsistency. I was there 5 days and had only 1 day where complimentary water bottle was left!!

    The L'Occitane spa is amazing! The room was good but terrible view, never mind! The lady who serves at the pool bar - Aedline (I think is her name) is great and a credit to the hotel and customer service. The pool area is also great but under-used. I would hold a lounge music DJ there or something better than the awful piped music playing the same horrible songs over and over again! The stall opposite the hotel sells coconut water for R$2!!! Incredible and great to people watch!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to sleep with the lights on for two nights. First night I couldn't turn it off, unless I took out the card from the wall, which I didn't because I needed to charge my cell phone. Second night, because my complaint wasn't checked properly. It really annoyed me. Except for the bed, that could have been more comfortable, the rest was very ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Probably the best option in Fortaleza but not a 5 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was freezing and even with the thermostat way up it made no difference. There was no way of controlling the fan speed. No liquid soap in the bathroom, just bars of soap. That doesn't sit with the star rating of the Hotel

    Good facilities Friendly Staff Spacious room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    it seems there is no other place better than this in Fortaleza...so sad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are dated, there is no conditioned air in corridors, the whole hotel has an unpleasant humid odor , doors of the rooms needs really to be updated, the room and bathroom are a 3 star or less , really not a 5 stars

    breakfast and lunch buffet; people working inside the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    beautiful place but the price versus excellence is not compatible at all
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed is too hard, there were ants in the toilet, the check in was crowded and confused, they charged me a higher price than the one booking.com was contracted for the same room

    all the staff and the spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    I was supposed to stay, had a problem but they did not want to change the dates of my reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non andateci, don't go, n'y allez pas. I tried to change my dates and they lied to me saying that it was busy when on booking was free and so they got my money without me to stay. I agree that my reservation was with no cancellation, but if you have got a free room you try to satisfy the client. What's more hard to talk to them and to communicate. Take it off from your list

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Grand comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room needed updating.

    THE grand hotel, seems to have come out of an old movie. The breakfast is AMAZING and so is the breakfast terrace overlooking the beach. Personnel is very kind and professional . The Christmas tree in the hall simply beautiful! We stayed only one night and the stay was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.4
    Because of this will not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    overcharged three nights accommodation EVEN though notified in advance that the accommodation dates would be varied three nights well in advance- TOTALLY NO EXCUSE FOR THIS - MAXIMUM UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES IS TO LOSE ONE NIGHT DEPOSIT IF NOT NOTIFIED

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom door was hard to close, we struggled a few times with it.

    Very good breakfast, the gym is also probably the nicest in Fortaleza hotels. Well located too, you get an amazing view from the roof top and the fish market is a short walk away. Special mention to the Gran Spa, the services in there were excellent. Room service was also pretty good every time we called them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Kindness of employees;
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Class Deluxe Double or Twin with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise isolation at night coming from street football players or hockey players, even on the ?12th floor; beach in front not recommended due to water poluition

    Kindness of employees; rooftop bar; breakfast; Japanese restaurant. Location superb for working travel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - this is now our go to hotel in Fortaleza.

    Hotel is absolutely stunning. Room was gorgeous, maybe the most comfortable bed/pillows I've ever experienced in a hotel room. Pool/roof deck is great. Staff was outstanding, extremely attentive and accommodated our every need.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No late check-out without a fee.

    Great breakfast Good location Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tinny. Noise thru the walls.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Hotel top
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fortaleza

    Het hotel was top

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Excelente Opcion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atencion de Dhianney en recepcion

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Best Hotel In Fortaleza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom was a little on the small side.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly. Good location. Nice room. Excellent breakfast. Nice gym, pool and spa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Gran Marquise 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Class Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service was extra excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    attention to little details.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gran Class Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    attention to little details. the tray for the remote controls.. the quality of towels.. the bed sheets and attention of employees

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Everything, especially the location and all the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, especially the location and all the facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Padrão superior do hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Padrão superior do hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of stuff in the mini bar

    Almost Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    great breakfast, nice reception people, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a little noisy without the air conditioning on.

    great breakfast, nice reception people, great location. Confortable bed. nice spa.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    The bed was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was huge. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    6.3
    A luxury hotel cannot have a bathtub with hair. Period.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and the floor were dirty. There were hair in the bathtub. Scary.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Only Chanel's in portugués.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Gran Class Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only Chanel's in portugués. I couldn't enjoy watching tv

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    One of the best ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.0
    My hoildy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gran Class Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel

    My hoildy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    Comfortable, spacious and quiet rooms, with a great view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, spacious and quiet rooms, with a great view on the sea (if you ask for it). Great quality and variety of food and drinks for breakfast (same for the restaurant). Very good equipments (swimming pool, spa, massage services). Excellent service from the staff. We recommand it with no reservations. We had an amazing stay, very relaxing with a great service from the staff. With no doubt, we will stay again in this hotel during our next trip to Fortaleza.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    The Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant Nostradamus Very run down needs relooking both on quality of food and decoration Does not represent the quality of the hotel Although expensive Also is closed most of the week so only one option for dinner: the asian restaurant which is ok but not very interesting or cosy

    The Spa Friendly and help fil staff

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    5.0
    good speed on internet, asian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is not a 5 star hotel, almost 3+. Many details in the room, in the hotel generally not repaired. Lavabo, WC clogging. No view at all. Photo of rooms not correspond to actual rooms. Most of staff do not speak english. Swimming pool is a big bathtube. Location near the port-bad smell.

    good speed on internet, asian restaurant

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the decor was very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only negative comment I would have is that they say they have a sauna, but when I went up to use it, the sauna was closed. It was a rainy day, so I didn't much want to use the outdoor pool. A sauna session would have been great though.

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the decor was very fresh and pleasant. The staff also made an effort to prepare a room service meal that met my dietary requirements.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    3.8
    air conditioning not worked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    air conditioning not worked hot water missing sink of bathroom

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    2.5
    Excellent breakfast variety !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Air-con not that very effective.

    Excellent breakfast variety !!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    10
    Location, grate value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location, grate value for the money. Good restaurant .

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    7.0
    Really outdated rooms, dirty windows and very loud from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really outdated rooms, dirty windows and very loud from the street and beach noise

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    poor english (staff) Reception didn't know to help with the excursions, gave wrong information old room, problem with the sink

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.3
    Beach ,relaxed atmosfeer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fitness room,for Workum!

    Beach ,relaxed atmosfeer!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    Busy but helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy upgrades being made - nobody's fault!

    Busy but helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with an amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hard to speak with staff, no one spoke English. Orders for our meals got mixed up constantly...

    Beautiful hotel with an amazing breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast buffet, room with high pressure water runs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gym and wellness area not available due to Renovation.

    Breakfast buffet, room with high pressure water runs.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    Nice remodeled rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi is particularly bad

    Nice remodeled rooms Value for money

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    4.2
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms need some serious refurbushing for the money they charge.

    The location

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Hotel Gran Marquise traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil