Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gran Hotel Stella Maris Resort & Conventions 5 stars

Praca Stella Maris, 200, Flamengo, Salvador, CEP 41600-500, Brazil

#105 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2212 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful enjoy the pool, the beach and especially the food truck on the resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can think of is, there wasn’t any irons in the rooms.

    The hotel was nice and clean, great location, wonderful staff, I would definitely visit this hotel again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.5
    We did already 20 houres before arriving stat to phone to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did already 20 houres before arriving stat to phone to the hotel, to inform about our delay. But the staff, make everything complicated, we was late incoming,due to flight delays. Ands the staff what to cancel our stay and ask us to book another, with extra cost !!!!!! Only because my wife is Brazilian, we managed to hold on to the booking. However the hotel is ok, but the staff, in the reception is really bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, in front of the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bedroom and everything is inside. There is no window in the bathroom. Musty smell.

    Location is great, in front of the beach! Good gym. Great breakfast. Amazing swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Hotel is old and needs maintenance. Staff are not trained enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of waitress at the swiming pool. We couldn’t order drinks so we spent our day time at the beach in front of hotel. Actually, we didn’t spent time at the hotel at all. Service is poor...

    Bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in routines were unnecessarily time consuming. Copies of passports and complete information on all who will be living in the room that must also be signed? It is 2018 and it must be easier for the guest. The rooms were worn and would have been renovated a few years ago.

    The man at the reception from Portugal was very nice and understands what service is. The hotel was nice with small events for children and guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.0
    The bedroom was very confortable and the bathroom was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived a few hours before the check-in and waited for 2 hours after the check in time to get our rooms, but later on they said the room was available a short while after we arrived and no one told us. We also had a problem with our reservation that had a check out to a wrong date, having to book again. It was messy. The key card to our bedroom was always demagnetized and we had to keeo going to the reception all the time to magnetize it.

    The bedroom was very confortable and the bathroom was big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Had a relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels had holes, the hotel is nice but it needs more care. The pool was disastrous because it was dirty! You couldn't see through the water...nasty...they need to replace water more frequently.

    Breakfast was great! The hotel is beautiful, however it's a little bit old.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.6
    Great Location but Poor Service and Not Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The poor service at the hotel and the fact that it was not clean especially our room and bathroom

    The location of the hotel near the ocean was the best thing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    4.6
    It 's 2017 and the hotel doesn't have internet in the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -THERE IS NO WIFI IN THE ROOM (Everybody has to go to the lobby and try to use a super slow internet that depending on where you are sitting just doesn't work!) -Hotel is far from the city -Beach is dangerous -Lunch/dinner buffet was kinda disappointing

    The view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice, but noisy place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is amazing, however there is all day long an entertainment staff with loud sound, so if you look for a peace and quiet place, that's definitely not recommended. Also any place with wristband policy is uncomfortable and also gave me allergic reaction.

    Nice location, in front off the Beach. Plenty of bar facilities and restaurant. Gerenous breakfast selection. Close to the airport (15min approx).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel near airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym, although quite well-equipped, doesn't really look like on the photos, a lot smaller than I imagined and a bit run-down.

    Friendly staff. Good location near the airport and right on the beach. Nice, big pool and towels provided. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    It could be much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and restaurant services were poor. The place needs redecoration. Furniture is old and could be cleaner. Pillows were particularly disappointing.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Great accommodation with a beach view and great swimming pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi-fi connection could be better, it took long to download any bigger email. The room was just basic.

    The location was really great, near to the beach with a huge pool. Breakfast were great with planty of possibilities what to chose. Nice staff, receptionists able to speak english.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    - Great shower;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Noise in the refrigerator at night; - Small TV with bad image; -Hygienic shower with leak; - View of the lawn of the playground; - Room with musty smell.

    - Great shower; - Great beds.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    Overall great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been more organized. I ordered room service and the order was incorrect. There was no floor towel in my bathroom. I had trouble finding water to purchase one day: the pool bar was out of water, so they sent me to the lounge bar; it was closed. I went back to the pool bar and they were able to located a couple of water bottles for me. The checkin and checkout lines were also very long. It took us about 30/40 minutes to do either. I checked in around 15h00 and my room wasn't clean yet. I had to wait 15 minutes before I was let in a room.

    Excellent room, location and breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    2.5
    Never more!!!! Less than 3 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately everything could be MUCH better. Lots of complaints from many other guest. Very poor and very dirty. Dining room no words to describe. No towels. Everything was a nightmare

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    4.6
    Not worthy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 stars hotel! 1) Room was not available by 2pm as they advertise. We actually had to wait more than an hour at the lobby. 2) wi-fi is horrible. It barely works. 3) The pool has a very strong chlorine smell and it is dirty. 4) The beach in front of the hotel is full of sea weeds and rocks. 5) there wasn't enough towels to all guests for New Year's holiday. 6) my family booked 2 rooms and they gave us one on first floor and the second one on fourth floor. It doesn't make any sense! 7) Both rooms were smelly and musty. It is quite simple for the price you pay.

    Great breakfast with a lot of food options. The new year's eve party was very well organized, except for the band. The music selection was not good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.5
    Lovely if you want to stay in the resort and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool needs a clean - mold on the walls and slippery on the bottom. The dinner/lunch food was average, we ordered a pizza for dinner and it arrived cold. The property itself is quite far away from the city and getting in will cost you a lot! $30BR just from the airport and thats a 10min drive - town is more like 40mins away.

    The pool is lovely, right next to the beach. The rooms have large beds and were clean and simple. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is very varied and there is something for everyone

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.1
    Good option if you want a place to rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff. They do their job with visible tension. I mean, the hotel should give more attention and better working atmosphere to their employees.

    The location. The food and the beach in front of the hotel. It is really awesome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    4.2
    It is not a place for business people to work, internet is terriable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The Cleaning or lack there of in the rooms was Really Bad!! (dead bugs in the room and cleaning didn't even bother to clean them up. Food was delivered cold most of the time and beef was not good. The internet was the worst I have ever seen, kicked out every other minute.

    Ocean and Pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    10
    Relaxing one-night stay nearby airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean rooms, all fine. Great pool with relaxing chairs. Beach is the garden of the hotel, possibility to rent surf boards. Dinner and breakfast very good, good café to watch sports. Nearby the airport, easy to park your car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Gorgeous Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On checkout day Cleaners came in early & made the beds but without changing the sheets. Found it hard to make myself understood so not sure if they were rechanged once we left or not. Rooms are tired and in need of an update.

    Gorgeous Pool Areas and the view from our rooms just beautiful. Reception Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of options nearby for eating out. An excellent supermarket. Very slow service for meals (1 1/2 hour wait for sandwiches at the pool bar.

    Travelling as a group supporting family competing in the Olympics, we asked for rooms beside each other with seaviews. The reception staff went to some trouble to arrange this despite heavy bookings with several Olympic teams staying at the same time. Great sea views. Excellent access to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.1
    Não considerando o check-in, consideramos boa a estadia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    O check-in é demorado, ineficiente, burocratico, cansativo. As filas se prolongam causando aborrecimentos e reclamações.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.3
    Beautiful view of the ocean, terrible internet service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Internet was terrible, service at bar was very poor and people lacked customer service skills.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.9
    Right by the beach, big swimming pool, front rooms have nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's not a 5*. Or perhaps it was but it is showing its age. Still, quite acceptable if you don't pay full price. Also, they have swimming pool group activities but the sound system is loud and distorted. Ask for a room on the other side if you want peace and quiet.

    Right by the beach, big swimming pool, front rooms have nice views. Good place if you have to catch an early flight from Salvador, much better location than the official airport hotels and only a few minutes further.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    3.8
    The Internet doesn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Internet doesn't work. The AC leaked and created a lake in our room. The staff were unconcerned. What was advertised as being free, wasn't.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    7.1
    The pool is great, there was always room by the pool side or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service was very slow when you ordered something in the pool bar o to the room.

    The pool is great, there was always room by the pool side or beach, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    Breakfast was a great choice of foods and dinner was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing that I did not like but if I was to be critical a maybe some more English TV programs but this is a very minor statement and it did not in any way spoil my visit. Thank you to all the staff. Awesome!

    Breakfast was a great choice of foods and dinner was very nice. Most of the staff spoke English was was great for me as I'm from the UK. Not too many English speaking people in brasil so was made to feel very welcome

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    4.6
    Our bedroom was a terrible,the air conditioner did not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beach view.

    Our bedroom was a terrible,the air conditioner did not worked properly,the night we arrived we went to the reception to order something to eat,and there was almost nothing available on the menu,it took very long for the chef to make a single sandwich,the bathroom was unclean and smells really bad,the food was ok only the flys touching the food was unpleasant as all it was uncovered. Too expensive for what it is.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    The pool was great and like the service of the massage that...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    My wife is Vegetarian and there was not much options available for her when it comes to meals

    The pool was great and like the service of the massage that was available there.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    It's a nice hotel , but rooms are a little basic and an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms a bit basic , bathrooms dark and not that clean .. Can be noisy

    It's a nice hotel , but rooms are a little basic and an a bit noisy. It's really a family holiday hotel .. Reception and check-in good and efficient

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.8
    Views of the ocean are beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms look dilapidated and old. My room had only shower but no bath. Wi-Fi connection was up and down. There was no coffee facility in the room. It seems that there were too few reception staff as I often found myself queuing to get help from the reception. This hotel is far from the city hence it was expensive to visit other historical sites. I had trouble exchanging money at the reception and on two occasions they had no Brazil reals to do the exchange for dollars.

    Views of the ocean are beautiful. Hotel is on the beach so it is easy to take nice walks. Reception staff was very kind. Bed was big and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service was poor, food was poor. Attention to detail is non existent. Will not go there again. The hotel is old, unclean and drab. Loud unpleasant music from the beach all day long. Wifi was intermitent. If you book a taxi through reception, make sure you check several times that the booking has been done.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    10
    Beautiful place to relax, hotel directly on the beach, sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place to relax, hotel directly on the beach, sea view from hotel room, delicious breakfast, helpful staff (speaking english). Close to the Salvador airport

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    7.5
    The swimming pool and the beach front were the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were not designed properly. There was only one outlet to plug in our computer neat the night table making it very uncomfortable to use. The bathroom had a perpetual smell of urine probably due to a plumbing issue. The Italian restaurant served poorly cooked and prepared dishes which had to be returned. We were advised not to walk outside the hotel at night to avoid being robbed or worse.. The front desk service was abominable ..long lines to check in and out. The employees in general were unfriendly showing unhappy faces. This hotel only should be rated as a "1" star hotel.

    The swimming pool and the beach front were the most attractive aspects of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    2.5
    I wish I could give at least one positive aspect about this...
    • Solo traveller

    Staff are not friendly, the service is all based on point systems which is determined by your wrist band given to you at check in. This is what determines the way in which people will deal with your enquiries. The customer service is awful. No WiFi code was given to me, no information about breakfast, the room was very old, mouldy, uncomfortable bed, with a noise air-con. It is very close to the airport which was the only reason I decided to stay. If I ever pass through or stay in Salvador ever again, I will defiantly never return to this shuck !!! Over all very disappointing...

    I wish I could give at least one positive aspect about this place but, there is none whatsoever ...

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    8.3
    Staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi unreliable.

    Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    2.5
    Near relatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is NOT a 5 star hotel. More like 3 Stars

    Near relatives

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    7.5
    good breakfast, location close to airport, seaside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    it is far from 5 stars hotel, the hotel needs renovation

    good breakfast, location close to airport, seaside hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.8
    Local, visual, café da manhã
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Local, visual, café da manhã

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    4.0
    food,staff,rooms,furniture.
    • Group

    food,staff,rooms,furniture.....

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.1
    Great location on the beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were a little outdated

    Great location on the beach Restaurants had good food Swimming pool was excellent Well worth the price

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    6.7
    Piscina e o bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A comida do restaurante, caríssima

    Piscina e o bar

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Da equipe de animação, da recepcionista Flávia, do visual do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do serviço do restaurante Italiano.

    Da equipe de animação, da recepcionista Flávia, do visual do local.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.5
    Options for food on the room,
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Options for food on the room,

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Blankets weren't provided.

    Breakfast. View. Location. Calm and exclusive.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    7.9
    close to airport, near the beach, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    only water in minibar, no beer

    close to airport, near the beach, good breakfast...

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil