Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure SP Grand Plaza Paulista 4 stars

Rua Leôncio Carvalho, 201, Sao Paulo, CEP 04003-010, Brazil

#157 of 516 hotels in Sao Paulo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 839 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    2.5
    They will give your reservation to someone else and downgrade you with no compensation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived past midnight from the airport for a late check-in, my reservation booked weeks ago was gone since they gave it to someone else. They transferred me to a Novotel (Accord brand below Mercure) in an other area distant from anything I had to do in SP. Had to come back the next morning. Slept 5 before a long day of work because of that disruption. Staff was unfriendly and offered 0 compensation. Complete mess. Won't come back ever. Also hotel inside looks old, furniture are not in good shape.

    Leaving that place for good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    - Location is great, 1 block from Paulista Av.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Fitness area needs some renovations - Room a bit dated

    - Location is great, 1 block from Paulista Av. - Convenient location: 2 blocks from the metro and 1 block from a supermarket. - Room is big and confortable - Bed is great - Bathroom with a big hot-tub - Wi-Fi was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Did the job it was intended to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle was 15 minutes late which had us wondering and nervous re catching flight.

    Perfect for a lay over to catch early morning flight. May not be glitz and glam, but did what it was supposed to do, in comfort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    Look for something better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities at this hotel are quite dated. The towels in the room were frayed, the TV remote did not work and the air conditioning was very noisy. Definitely not a four star experience. This property needs to be re-rated to two stars.

    The hotel is well located. It is near the Brigadeiro and Paraiso Metro stations. The breakfast is very good with tropical fruit and juice options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Near the station "Brigadeiro", the subway, facilitates access to all the neighborhoods of São Paulo. Staff attentive and with excellent breakfast. On Sundays, there is a fair on the street Oscar Porto

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and Friendly Hotel in a Pleasant Area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The sound-proofing could be a little better in the external windows/walls of the hotel, and the hotel lacks a proper swimming-pool -although the Jacuzzi and sauna are present (just remember to book in advance). The 4* rating should include heated bathroom mirrors (this is a rest-of-world standard, trust me), but those were lacking in even the best rooms, but it is a minor gripe.

    A friendly, comfortable and fairly modern hotel (1999) with very helpful, friendly staff and pleasant, balconied, air conditioned rooms. The breakfast is excellent, and the restaurant menu is very good. The location is on a relatively quiet residential street in a safe area just off the stylish and impressive Paulista Avenue. The junior manager changed my room at my request, with no qualms, after a minor mechanical fault developed, so the customer service was faultless. I would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Change the GM or close this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    horrible service and inefficiency in all areas. Breakfast & food in general was mediocre, they need a better chef and trained staff Would never recommend this hotel and never go there ever again.

    Not much, Hskp was good and certain reception staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    I have already been here for several times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor internet connection as always

    I have already been here for several times. Everything is always nice when talking about accommodation, bed and sleep quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    its was nice but can be better
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hello,yes the hotel is nice,the only things that i didnt like was that the airconditioner is cooling only and the room was freezing,also they didnt have any aspirin or advil or any medicine to give me.i think they must have both.sao paulo is a cold city in winter and aspirin is must have. thanks

    hello,i liked the size of the room.its really big and comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel in good location for a great price..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was difficult to find English-speaking staff, but they were always helpful and cheerful. The building next door was in the middle of construction, so it was rather noisy on my side of the hotel - not the hotel's fault and I didn't bother asking to change...

    Very comfortable and clean room for a nice price - just 2 blocks away from Paulista, a metro station and a huge shopping complex, as well as a nice little food truck area. Internet worked well for me (was worried by some of the reviews - perhaps it depends where your room is - I asked for one where wifi would be good).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    Good for a short stay in Sao Paulo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little dated in its furnishing.

    Property is close to Avenida Paulista, and is in a safe neighbourhood. Front desk was helpful as was the concierge. Showers were ok, and the bed was quite comfy. Free wifi, breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Check out Invoice not clear
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Check out Invoice not clear

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Big room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty , cold and not comfortable

    Big room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good, but for the price, it could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt cold at night with thin blanket and the WiFi was poor.

    The room and building were great - clean, spacious, modern. Good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate good location but an old hotel that needed updating..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food, the stained bath and towels.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Thumb up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very sweet and helpful staffs They even upgraded me to suite! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, espectacular facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect but especially I enjoyed more the hot tub!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Construction works next to the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Construction works next to the hotel. The hotel is getting old and needs a little refurbishing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should keep intercom in Jacuzzi and Sauna area

    Location and rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    The address is good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address is good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.5
    The staff was very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noises in the room, it was a construction near to my room

    The staff was very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    9.6
    It worth it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub not hydro.

    Bed, balcony and the view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have a pool

    Good breakfast!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Excellent accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The hotel location is excellent, breakfast is amazing. The Wifi is good, if need to work in your bedroom. Nice place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.5
    location - break fast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location - break fast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything, but the bathroom need some updating

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Quiet comfort near busy Paulista.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need more menu options for lunch/dinner.

    Friendly receptionists and good management. Soundproof windows.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.1
    The facilities and its localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor quality of the Internet access. Needed to get a new password every time would return to the hotel. Neither phone or AC did not work in the room. Have been complained and it was not fixed. Quality of room service food it's quite low.

    The facilities and its localization

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    6.7
    Fairly spacious room with separate living and sleeping area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complimentary mineral water. No kettle to boil water to make tea or coffee in the room. Looks a bit old.

    Fairly spacious room with separate living and sleeping area.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    6.3
    Location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was practically non-existent, even Google timed out. Staff was not friendly, would never smile and was annoyed when I complained about delayed laundry, phone not working and intermittent wifi. Will not stay here anymore.

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    9.2
    Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet is the same every day, scrambled eggs very runny. There is construction going on adjacent to the hotel. There is no information of this on their website nor at the time of check in. Most standard rooms face the construction, which is bothersome as drilling and banging begins at 7am and continues throughout the day. No DND signs available in room. No kettle or ironing facilities available in room.

    Location is excellent Value for money is great fro Sao Paulo. Complimentary Wi-Fi (standard connection) Granted us early check in at no extra charge (10:30am)

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.3
    Nice suite with lots of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No swimming pool. Booked the spa but found that the water was too cold to enjoy and we couldn't' adjust.

    Nice suite with lots of room. Clean and elegant. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Safe location, good breakfast, clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Safe location, good breakfast, clean room! Fernanda at front desk was amazing!! She solved any issue in one minute. Also was able to use the Jacuzzi that was very clean and nice!

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    5.8
    as a smoker balcony
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Braekfast horror its better to book on the other side of Paulista hotel because more restaurants and entertainment, if you like

    as a smoker balcony on TV DW and CNN room upgrade

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    5.4
    Excelente location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Part of the roef in my room fell down at night,on the next day had to move to another room.The hotel manager didn't show or call me to apologize.

    Excelente location

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.9
    the property located next door to the hotel is a huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the property located next door to the hotel is a huge construction zone, drilling and huge machines 7am to 6pm, was unable to stay in the room during these hours, awful experience, was told after I checked in that the other side of the hotel away from the construction was fully booked, was not offered any compensation by front desk staff- do not stay at this hotel for next 6 months unless confirm can stay on the side of the hotel away from the construction noise, ony stayed one night, was terrible. In my opinion booking.com need to warn its clients before booking this hotel for next 6 to 12 months.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    6.7
    Location,it is 2 blocks to Avenue Paulista.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The yonug gay at the front dest appears feeble and did nottend to hel you.I complain he ignore m request of booking for higher floors but he replied that they seems gracful to have me check n early at 12:00 rather than 2:00pm. Finally I was chaned to the 12 th floor. But te young girl at theearly night shift till 11:00 pm was helpful.

    Location,it is 2 blocks to Avenue Paulista. Good brekfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Jacuzzi installed in the bathroom but it didn't work. Also had someone walk into the room without knocking. Staff were always knocking on the door for one reason or another. There was no 'please make up my room' or 'do not disturb' sign. Was also overcharged for the mini bar.

    Breakfast was brilliant. The decor was nice and the room and bathroom were really spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    I love how this hotel is quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing that I don't like I just would suggest they play some music in the reception area to livin the place up and give the seats in the restaurant a clean .

    I love how this hotel is quiet and comfortable. I love to stay here . The brecfast is really good and there's never alot of people fighting to take food compared to other São Paulo hotels !!! They have a nice selection of food . The rooms are always comfy. The staff are helpfull. It's very close to the metros and great restaurants and the shopping paulista which has great shops and restaurants and a cinema.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful reception staff both at checkin...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The room service was like a Fawlty Towers sketch: we asked for 2 glasses of red wine, but received only the glasses... without the wine. As there were no Koen wines, we asked a bottle, but I needed to help the poor girl to open the bottle. We had a good laugh, but it shouldn't happen at a 4* hotel

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff both at checkin and checkout. As the room was not yet ready for a requested early checkin, a free upgrade was offered to an available suite ! Quiet rooms despite de location. Adequate breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    8.3
    * Everything **this is my 5th stay in last 2 years & I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    * Everything **this is my 5th stay in last 2 years & I will be staying in same property next month too *** most important - indian restaurant 5 blocks away

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, from reception to cleaning lady, doorman,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom air conditioning didn't work on last night. They offered a different room but we chose not to move.

    Friendly staff, from reception to cleaning lady, doorman, waiter... Comfortable room and bathroom Great location Good price - for what we get.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    10
    very good and spacious room, very comfortable, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    free wi-fi not available

    very good and spacious room, very comfortable, very nice staff and breakfast. perfect location close to Av Paulista and the Metro Brigadeiro

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    7.1
    Rooms are large and well equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I experienced some language difficulties - I should probably learn more Portuguese but very little English was spoken on property. This made it difficult to order room service and work out how to logon for wifi.

    Rooms are large and well equipped. Great breakfast! Very clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    6.3
    Location is subjective in Sao Paulo, however for me the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is very limited. The room is okay, but really simple. Other than that it works.

    Location is subjective in Sao Paulo, however for me the Grand Plaza is perfectly located. A lot of my customers are in the same general area (Short taxi ride away), so it is very convenient. There are plenty of places to eat around, especially for lunch. The wifi is fair (the free option). A good option for a short stay. The staff is friendly. It covers most of the basic necessities.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    Location is great, there is a supermarket two blocks away,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great, there is a supermarket two blocks away, the staff is quite nice, not so expensive compared to other similar hotels in the same area

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    5.4
    The wifi is super slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi was too slow

    The wifi is super slow

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    wi-fi free is slow.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    wi-fi free is slow. Should improve.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    5.0
    The location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The old furniture, the old plugs, dark room and dusty feeling

    The location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.5
    Center location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It feels like an old hotel

    Center location.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    7.5
    fitness centre, room facilities, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    constaction in the next building - all day working noise

    fitness centre, room facilities, location

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    9.2
    super location close to metro station, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit noisy...they have to change the windows frames

    super location close to metro station, friendly staff, tastful brakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    Every things is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

    Every things is good

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    10
    Great location, lovley spacious room, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Great location, lovley spacious room, very clean. All staff I encountered were courteous and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.3
    Breakfest is simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfest is simple. Coffee is not tasty.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.5
    clean rooms & friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfest very simple & coffee not good.

    clean rooms & friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed wasnt so comfortable and the towels were too small

    great staff and location

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI is bad, even the paid one

    location

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.9
    Internet connection was really slow and I had to take a cold...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet connection was really slow and I had to take a cold shower one day because there was no hot water.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi password changed everyday.

    The staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Comfort and cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Forget make my bad and clening my roon

    Comfort and cleaning

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Nasty gym, breakfast served 20 mins later
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nasty gym, breakfast served 20 mins later

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.5
    everything good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything good specifically staff at reception & restaurant. most imp is Indian restaurant is 4 blocks away

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Reception staff - Andries - very cooperative
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception staff - Andries - very cooperative Breakfast - very good For Indians - 4 blocks away is a Indian restaurant

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.2
    Staff friendly, quiet And Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Paid Wi-Fi

    Staff friendly, quiet And Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    7.1
    OK hotel - nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel rooms were a little tired. Wifi was painfully slow.

    OK hotel - nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    6.7
    Location, decks attached to room, free breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are worn and wifi slow

    Location, decks attached to room, free breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charging for wifi is not good these days - it is as essential as a phone in the room.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    Very well located,very friendly staff,clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very well located,very friendly staff,clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    7.5
    standard hotel, all facilities available - average/OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    in international hotel, one would expect all reception employees to speak a bit of english

    standard hotel, all facilities available - average/OK

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil