Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Colonial Iguaçu 3 stars

Rodovia das Cataratas Km 20, Foz do Iguaçu, CEP 85863-000, Brazil

#68 of 119 hotels in Foz do Iguaçu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3297 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dated but to be expected for price point.

    Staff were friendly, tour office in reception was good. Very close to Brazil falls and airport, good location for early starts. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor facilities in the room. There is a small TV with few channels only. Nothing in English which is weird as they have huge satellite dish besides swimming pool. I mean huge is like sizes of the two cars LOL. Hotel looks very old inside and there is nothing much in the rooms. Not recommended for cold night as there is no heating and basically I was freezing to the bones. When I arrived, there was an awful smell on corridors and afterwards, I found that this is issue with the pipeline as whole my toilet was smelly for all duration of my stay. At the evening, there was no much hot water left.

    I do like location of the Hotel, very nice and professional service. They have a two mini souvenirs shops inside the hotel which are great and well equipped. There is also desk of the travelling agency and they can organize for you trips to waterfalls on Argentinean and Brazilian sides. Also they offering free pick up and drop off to and from the airport. Nice swimming pool area and good restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food provided in the on-site restaurant was not the best but it was edible. They also do not provide any water for drinking or for brushing your teeth, but they sell it at the bar/retaurant

    This hotel is in a great location for visiting the Falls but a little far if you want to go to town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything is this vacations.

    I liked the breakfast, the diner and the accomodation in general. Staffs was very funny and helpful. Was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better than just croissants and coffee. But that is the Argentinean thing.

    Perfecrt. Great location, friendly staff and good clean accommodation. Very happy with the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not that comfortable and there is no isolation. It was loud from 6 in the morning until late night, hard to sleep. The water in the shower was not warm enough.

    Good brakfast and good location to walk to national park. Nice pool and trail around hotel. The receptionists speak good english.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work, bad cocktails in the restaurant

    Not the fanciest hotel but clean rooms, close to Foz do Iguacu waterfalls, good trip offerings to both sides of the waterfall by the hotel, great staff, good and various breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The décor in the rooms was very outdated and lacked a comfortable modern feel. The Restaurant staff were not as friendly as I was expecting. There is a lovely Bar, with an outdoor terrace, which was in darkness most evenings, the hotel could make more of that facility.

    I liked the location, close to the airport & to the Brazilian National Park. I also, thought the Reception staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a bad condition, basement level- lack of ventilation, everything quite old and rundown.

    Excellent location to the park and free shuttle service to airport. Great selection for buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rather old and old-fashioned that leaves an impression of it being not really clean. The bedrooms are small and not cosy. The insulation lever is rather poor. It could be worth the price you pay, but I have had better accommodation experiences in Brazil for the same price.

    The hotel is perfectly located between the airport and the entry to the park with the waterfalls. It is only 10 minutes’ walk from the waterfalls. The airport is also reachable on foot. The city of Foz is nevertheless far and it is complicated to get a taxi to go there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms could be better

    Very friendly staff who spoke great English. The staff where very helpful with booking trips and onward travel. The rooms where a decent size Good Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff from restaurant don’t know how to make a drinks (alcoholic one) we order something but we got different drinks don’t know what was it and waiting time for all drinks even soft or juice too long .

    staff very friendly Pools a good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free shuttle worked excellent for pick up, but the service desk claimed that I had to pay BRL 20 for return to the airport. However, a very nice girl at the reception reminded me about the free shuttle also for departure, and she managed to reimburse me the 20 BRL.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room waa noisy

    Located close to airport incl shuttle service upon arrival. Located close to national park. Good aervice to fet you to and from the park. Goodl service to bring you to Argentinian national park

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proofing. Got very noisey in late evening and early morning - could hear everything in the corridor while in the room including children running and shouting. I bought earplugs

    Good location near waterfalls and the airport. Good facilities for food and drinks with live music some nights. Reasonable prices, good service, amenities and tourism facilities. Good breakfast included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was great up until checking out. During our stay we had noticed one or two bites on our bodies. Having spent just under two weeks in Rio, we assumed that these were additional mosquito bites. However, on our last day we discovered a worrying amount of ants in our beds and in the room. When I brought this to the staff’s attention, they said all that they could do was apologise. No offer of a slight reduction on room charges or anything - a very disappointing end to an otherwise positive trip!

    Staff were overall very friendly, the hotel was in a great location relative to both the airport and the falls, and the pool was a nice addition.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in desparate need of a remodel. At least ten years overdue!

    Excellent location! Five minutes from airport and falls. Also excellent breakfast and staff was very nice and cordial.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hoards of noisy spanish/portugese children Plumbing leaks Reception staff could have been more responsive

    about 2 kms from falls park entrance + buses run form outside hotel. Great hotel if you have young children yourself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if you book a standard room, the rooms are in a very busy section of the hotel with a lot of noise, every single sound carries into the rooms. I was able to get moved to a quieter section after making a lot of fuss about it. Once in the quieter sections things were much better. Use of recycled water makes the bathrooms smell bad.

    pleasant staff, tour agency in the lobby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel really close to the falls and the airport. We arrived relatively early from the Argentinan side of the falls and were able to store our luggage free of charge and head straight out. Room was good size and air conditioning worked well. Outdoor pool and bar area great to relax in. Dinner buffet offered good selection as well as breakfast the following morning. The staff on reception were extremely friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from town meant we were restricted to what we could eat - we had to get room service for dinner and the food was bad. Rooms were dated and ugly, the whole hotel needs a facelift.

    Great location if you want to just come for the night, go to the falls and then to the airport. The free transfers to the airport is really handy. The tour desk was helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old stile windows

    Very close to Iguaçu falls, birds park and airport. The offered free shuttle from airport cuz we have booked through booking.com. at the property they have a tourist company that you can book shuttles to the falls, other tours to Paraguay and Argentina and also Itaipu. The cleanliness was very good, although as the name said is a colonial hotel. Some things could be renewed to the hotel not look so old

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps just the Dinner menu was lacking options but we enjoyed the food that was prepared :)

    Was very happy with our stay here, staff were very helpful and took pride in making sure we were well looked after. Even the Barman helped me learn some Portuguese. Had all the facilities like pool, spa, restaurant etc and great location to Falls and Bird Park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not within walking distance of shops, so if you arrive by bus you need to bring what you need.

    This was a great budget hotel with comfortable room, swimming pool and restaurant. The reception staff speak good English. I had an early flight and the hotel gave me a transfer as soon as I was ready.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff didn't have information about the city and the tourist attractions. There is a tourism agency inside the hotel, so they advise us to ask there. And in the tourism agency, they just knew about their tours - and not even the whole information about the attractions! For an example, to go to Itaipu, they told us the price of the agency tour (only transport), and prevented us that the tickets were not included and that we should buy them there. But when I asked the price of the tickets, they weren't sure. It's even more complicated if you want to do things for your own, without tours - you'll have no sufficient information and tips in the hotel neither in the agency.

    Breakfast is great and it just next to the Brazilian falls - far away from the city center, though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to make me pay twice for the room. Paid at checkin but at checkout they gave me an invoice. Had the cc-reciept as proof. Scam or incompetence?

    Great breakfast. Nice swimmingpool. Close to falls and airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy and the food was not great in the coffee shop.. Breakfast buffet was good. This seems like a place where local bus tours stay. Too far from restaurants.

    The staff tried hard and were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They need someone on Reception who is more conversant with English given the number of guests they likely have for whom Spanish is not their native language. I had several difficult conversations. My smattering of basic Spanish was very necessary.

    The proximity to the airport was excellent. The Travel Desk personnel were helpful. One could speak good English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were a little bit old fashioned and you could hear every single noise from long corridor all through the night

    location and food was fantastic! Staff were fabulous :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fly wire in our allocated room was torn so there were mosquitoes inside but the staff changed us. The room is bare and charmless. Music by the pool was too loud.

    The breakfast was good, and the dinner buffet also, which was reasonably priced. The location is superb - walking distance to the Falls entrance. The pool was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast below average, old and 'spartan' rooms without any extras. However for 1/2 nights it was OK.

    Very good location, free transport from the airport, bilard and tablesoccer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 issues as regards water: 1. This Hotel Colonial Iguassu didn't make out a pricelist of their water/sparkling water inside their mini bar, the only 2 things that were in there -- only 2 bottles of water & 1 bottle of sparkling water. Maybe that's why no more pricelist!! After checking out, we were charged with a statement of R$16 for 2 days stay for the 6 bottles. Almost all hotels i have gone gave out free water. If the water is free, meaning, the 2 bottles of sparkling water cost R$16? What???? I mean they should inform that their sparkling cost that much @R$8. Anyways, i'm not fond of sparkling water. The other hotel which we went to in Rio de janeiro put out a price list of their inventory mini bar like for the water and sparkling water, both @R$5 per bottle. This is better with proper disclosure. Vacationers like us knew of the pricing. We got a bigger 2.5 liters from outside the hotel then. 2. As i knew that this is buffet breakfast, AFTER FINISHING THE BREAKFAST, i went into the room, got an empty bottle and went inside for the request of filling the empty bottle up for our trek to iguassu falls place not far from the hotel but still needs TO WALK!! The fat waitress said "I CAN NOT HAVE IT!" This is the first of any hotels that i checked in that didn't give in to my request for giving out their tap water.. I won't recommend this to anybody.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unfriendly and often unwilling to help. Bedding and towels were old and had holes in. Location is great with a bus stop just outside. Despite poor service the pizzas were tasty.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an update throughout. Has potential to be very grand but everything seemed very tired. Facilites, such as the pool, weren't great and wouldn't entice me for a longer stay (other than to see more of the falls and surround area). The waiter forgot about us during dinner and the menu was quite limited and pricey considering there are no other options for dinning in the area.

    Location location location. 2 minute drive from airport and walking distance to the falls and bird park entrances. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great. The hotel is very close to the airport, so its perfect for a short stay if you have to catch a flight; but it's also nice for a longer stay: swimmingpool, bar, music, shops! And the rooms are big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main pool was shut for maintenance throughout our stay which was a shame.

    The staff were more than helpful and worked well with the onsite travel agent for tours, etc., which were great VFM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant doors were kept open by the head waiter even though it was zero degrees and customers were wearing coats and scarves. When I asked him to shut them to keep heat in he refused.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner Not many options for vegans at dinner. Ended up just eating limited options..didn't go hungry though! Time-keeping The hotel arranged pickup from the airport, to/from the falls (brazilian side), to/from Argentina (to see the falls from there), the bird park and to/from the city centre. For each pickup, a time was agreed upon, but the only instance where I was met at the agreed upon time was when they collected me from the airport. Whether this was because they used just a small number of drivers and were out on errands when they were due to pick me up, or because of poor attention to time-keeping, i'm unsure, but it was a little unprofessional. Argentina-Iguacu I was told that i would have enough time to book a trip to Argentina and that there would be no rush, so following that advice, i waited until i returned from a shopping trip to the centre. When i got back, they informed me that all the group buses had been fully booked and that i'd have to get a private driver. i was prepared to pay for this, but it was still almost double the cost of the group option. if they had explained when I first asked about booking, that there was a chance i'd have to pay that much, i would have requested the group option when there was still spaces open. it felt a little like they knew, no matter what, that I would pay, and they were getting as much from me as possible.

    Breakfast Lots of fruit and bread suitable for vegans Location Close to the airport, the falls and the bird park. Bird park was actually walking distance, but I was short on time, so I used their taxi service. Not too far from the city centre either, on my first night i was dropped off and picked up from the centre without too much fuss. Tourist attractions I hadn't booked any tours or really had much idea about how I was going to spend my time while at Iguacu, so it was refreshing that everybody connected to the hotel that I spoke to had a good idea about what i could be doing and were extremely helpful in arranging things. it meant that I was able to go visit the Brazilian falls about 15 minutes after checking into the hotel, and book a trip to the Argentine side for the next day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel is very noisy; you can hear everything from the corridor. Do not except a good night sleep :( The pillows were old and smelled bad.

    The location is brilliant for visiting the falls; you can walk to the entrance in 15 min. Breakfast buffet was great! Free transfer from the airport, even though it was not there when we arrived, but the information desk lady at the airport called the hotel and sorted it out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Courtesy pickup from airport was non existent. We heard from a travel agent at the airport that they don't turn up to pick their guests up unless you phone them, which explains why I had sent 3 emails asking them to confirm we were getting pickup to which they never replied so I am not sure why they ask for your flight number and time when they aren't going to come anyway. Restaurant first night we went there they had 5 soups there and were encouraging us to try them, but never said that it was a promotional buffet and charged $19.50 per person on your account on top of the main meal that you ordered. As the restaurant staff didn't speak English I felt they should have had signs up stating what the buffet soup was all about which would have made it clear what was going on and you could have chosen to participate or not and not just sit there after soup wondering if there was going to be any further buffet food coming out or not, which there wasn't and we eventually asked for the menu to get something else to eat Swimming pool was freezing

    Breakfast had a great range catering for different nationalities. Excellent location for walking to the falls, but not so good a location if you want to be close to town and restaurants as there is no option but to eat at the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down, the property has clearly seen better days. There was also considerable highway and airport noise. It is located far from downtown-- but close to the bird park, the falls, the road to the Argentinian side, and the wax museum. A good choice for budget--it travellers who have a car and want to be a bit out of the way.

    Helpful staff, great pools, inexpensive and family friendly. Great staff-- particularly the local tour company located inside (Colibri). Service was excellent, and the food was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey tiled floors in the corridors which ment anyone pulling cases to there rooms caused a racket

    Breakfast was good but hotel could do with a few new touches -towels & bed clothes very old

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food at the hotel restaurant is expensive and just acceptable. Avoid dining in.

    Old hotel but in good working conditions. Do not expect first class confort or service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find socket to charge my phone near the bed. Minor inconvenience.

    The most I loved the location - I walked here from the Parque Nacional do Iguaçu - it's like 1 km or even less. The second best thing is that they have transfer to the airport - that was very convenient. The 3rd is the breakfast - it's just amazing! And of course the room itself - all was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. I'm so surprised by all these positive reviews, it's a stark contrast from the reality of my stay. Rooms were terrible, wires exposed on hairdryer and mould on mirror, lamp not working, the "gym" consists of rusty playground equipment that did not work at all and breakfast was average. Even the staff were flat and lacked knowledge of local buses which caused us to almost miss our flight! The location was great and that's about the only positive from this hotel. Utterly dissappointed and not what I expect from an apparent "hotel of the year".

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for breakfast but since my flight was before breakfast at the hotel even started I was left without breakfast

    Free shuttle from and to airport, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old, staff quite unhelpful,if the curtains are closed in the pictures there's a reason! :( Not soundproof and didn't sleep a wink. Only place to eat is their restaurant, nothing nearby apart from restaurant in bird park but closes at 17:30/18..

    Hotel is on main road to park, the breakfast is excellent and airport transfers were punctual.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi there.The room was noisy and the staff has signed and confirmed tgey will give us one night refund as compesation of having not slept at all due to the bad setup of the room. We have the paper which they agreed to refund us a night cost. But we can not see the refund arriving our bank at all. Please provide us the email address to contact them or help us for refund please. Thanks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel need modernising Shower and bathroom door were falling apart. Didn't seem to be much of a bar to chill in during the evenings. This would have made the stay better and added to atmosphere

    Good price and great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very basic - it's clean and functional, no frills. It's old in design and style. I arrived after midnight and left early for the falls so if you are looking for a place to lay your head for the night that wont break the bank- this is it. The night receptionist was a little grumpy but fine, the day receptionist was excellent. He was helpful and went out of his way to help.

    Location was excellent -5 mins from the airport and the falls. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was so short 😊.

    Very friendly staff, plenty of fresh fruit at the breakfast buffet. Loved the complimentary pickup from the airport late evening and the tour operator arranging our ride to Ciudad del Este the next morning. Outstanding value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for two nights as it was a quick in to see the falls then out again the only downside was the walls were thin so very noisy.

    Excellent value for money and excellent location for airport and national park/falls.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one staff member who could speak English. Food in restaurant was horrible.

    Close to the falls, 1km walk or a short bus ride, good pool facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were construction works inside the hotel, next to my room. No wifi was available inside the room, and there was water dropping from the tube in the bath room. Transport to the entrance of Iguazú national park costs 30R (2min driving time).

    The hotel is well located between the Iguazú waterfalls and the airport. Convenient shuttle is provided and staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was a bit of a désappointement, the mattress was old and not ver confortable.

    The place was very nice, very friendly reception, the restaurant was good service, good atmosphere and well price. The pool was very good and the snack and drinck.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some facilities are missing (eg in-room safe)

    Excelent location between airport/birds park and. Nice and efficient travel agency inside: Trip to Argentina side costs 200 reals per car and very nice organized (saved a lot of time for searching/waiting the bus, custom etc).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable, and the bed sheet wasn't fitted which meant I often woke up sleeping on the bare materess.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im not one to complain,but I feel when writing an review you have to be as realistic as possible,the Food was awful and i really mean awful especially that being the pizzas..

    Swimming pools on location and close to National park.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I Sent E-mail to Hotel that we would arrive at very night, and asked them to pick us up, but when we arrived, no one there.

    Very Near to Iguazu Falls, and breakfast is OK

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the receptionists don't speak and understand English . At times it's difficult to communicate . There is no supermarket - mini mart nearby the hotel . Downtown is about 20 mins bus ride from hotel . When raining there are many insects in the bathroom as the old window can't be closed properly .

    This is a family resort style hotel . It's very near the airport and they provided two way pick up transfer although you have to call them from airport . There is a tour counter , restaurants, Pub lounge with a good Portuguese singer , and 2 souvenirs shops , all these facilities accepted USD which is very convenience for tourists. Buffet style Breakfast is great ! The retro style deco of the western restaurant is unique with lovely super stars prints of Marilyn Monroe , Elvis Presley's etc on curtains and table cloths . They serves tasty dinner and wines with good atmosphere .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pre-ordered a transfer from the airport to the hotel, a positive response came from booking.com support. but the transfer was not and we had to travel by night. The hotel staff dont speaks English, respectively could not explain why there was no transfer. The next day we asked to call us a taxi, but personl could not do, they are addressed us to another girl (from agency), who can call taxi, but with big price and after 1,5 hour.

    Good location very closed to Iguasu park, nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't so clean, especially the pools outside. The lunch/dinner menu wasn't so good either.

    The location was really good, rich and delicious breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was dirty

    Very friendly staff in the kitchen Great location close to the Brazilian park, the bird park ant the airport Free ride to the airport

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electronic key of the hotel was not working. The staff repaired it, after 1-2 hours. Very old windows, no electric plug near the bed. There are some hidden charges, like a service tax of 10% on the minibar.

    Extremely good location. Airport and Iguacu falls both by walking distance. The hotel has a really nice bar, restaurant, shop, and gives lots of information about the falls. The room was very spacious. The free shuttle is super efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was the worst. The restaurant made us wait a long time for food and when it did come out it was over cooked with zero flavour. Eat somewhere else if given the chance. Not very close to the main city will have to pay for cab to and from city so can get expensive. Not a place I would return to.

    Solidbreakfast option. Not much variety day to day. Close to falls and bird park. Nice pools and clean common areas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much a dislike rather than an observation that the rooms are a bit sterile with tiled floors etc.

    Excellent location for Iguazza Falls. This hotel offers live entertainment as you eat and drink; has excellent leisure facilities - pool inside/out and is great value for money. Staff couldn't be more obliging and helpful. 10/10 for staff attentiveness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    to far from city, i had to call once i got there cause no shuttle was available to pick me up, they did sent someone afterwards.

    Close to airport, excellent for a night sleep and free shuttle. They have a decent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one grumpy staff member on during the day. The other staff were nice and let me leave my big bag there for 2 days.

    The location was great only 15 minutes walk to the falls and buses just outside hotel. The buffet breakfast was incredible with vast selection of both hot and cold food. Room was spacious and large beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guys at the reception could be a little more friendly( considering that the Brazilians are very friendly people) and the room could be more airy.

    It is a very nice place. The best part is the location. 4 mins from Airport and 10 mins from the Foz entrance. I want to make special mention of Christanne at the restaurant who was so caring and cordial. And the music by Victor during dinner was enchanting. Overall a very satisfying experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to get information about shuttles to the falls so we ended up walking there.

    Breakfast was amazing, so much choice! Very close to both the falls (you can even walk there) and the airport. Room was big and comfortable. Hotel was big and very neat and professional. After checkout they were happy to keep our luggage safe while we visited the falls and arranged a free drop-off to the airport at a 5-minute notice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot shower in the first room we got. The staff/manager offered a new room to solve the issue after an hour

    An option if you need a place to stay close to the airport

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No other food places close by.

    Location to airport and Brazilian side of the falls was amazing, if you plan on visit get both sides and flying into the Brazilian side then this is a must stay place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone mischarged their dinner to our room. And we did not use anything from the fridge but were also charged for multiple items. The staff fixed it after a little debate but makes you wonder who is raiding the fridge.

    Close to the falls. Great location,pool and resturant. We had a nice dinner one night and the breakfasts were good. And the small path with the orange trees were a nice touch outside. We liked the place a lot.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the rooms did have heaters the rest of the hotel was freezing. I felt sorry for the staff in the front foyer who must have been frozen and it made the stay there very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel was freezing cold whilst we were there and totally let the hotel down. Early June is winter, but there was no heating facility in foyer, and lounge spaces. We had wanted to relax and socialise in the evenings, using the couches/lounge areas. Staff were wearing jackets, scarfs and some even woolly hats. Nevertheless, the main doors were left open as well as windows which let the chill in. The bar/restaurant and cafeteria were also extremely chilly. The only place one could get warm was in your room. But the rooms are small, with only one tiny chair, so certainly no room to entertain. .

    Location was near the Bird Park and out of city. Also relatively close to Iguazu Falls. shuttle service good.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Colonial Iguaçu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil