Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior 4 stars

Av. Ipiranga, 770, Sao Paulo, CEP 01040-000, Brazil

#133 of 516 hotels in Sao Paulo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1092 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person at the reception was almost insulting me with his attitude although I only asked to issue the invoice on my name. I had to get nervous to calm him down and realize to he should apologies to me for his behavior.

    Central location, parking service, good room conditions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cant say there was anything I didnt like. The staff was attentive (told them the toilet was blocked and it was fixed when i returned a few hours later, they printed my boarding pass at the reception) and friendly. There were many street habitants (homeless people) lying around at the entrance to the hotel, but I am affraid the hotel cant do much. There is always someone guarding at the door though, probably to help hotel guests in case they get cornered by drug addicts or beggars, of whose I saw plenty there.

    the hotel is very well located on the corner of Praca da Republica, shops are just minutes away, and so is Copan and Italia buildings. The hotel is clean, old school, but in a pleasant way, needs some more care though, the bathrooms are so 70-80 style, marble, handles etc, but showing signs of use and dirty-ish, stains on the wall etc. My room was very spacious, with no view though, but quiet and the bed was comfortable, the lighting was very pleasant, no direct light. And there was a socket next to the bed which is always very handy. the breakfast is not that varied, but is enought varied to keep you going until afternoon (tea, coffee, orange juice, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages in tomate sauce, pastry, 2-3 choices of bread, toaster, yoghurt, musli, cheese, ham salami, spreadable cheese, margarine, butter...)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy people talking on the aisle (staff) Some dish leftovers were left on the aisle table for 2 days, even after we notified the staff

    Price Location Staff Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the bathroom, they have not refurbished it. The hotel is old but good. It seems that in the past it used to be one of the greatest hotels in São Paulo, but now it is needing some refurbish.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is central but can be a bit scary. However, I saw a a lot of policemen nearby and on my way to the touristic attractions. Restaurant staff is unfriendly.

    Good location to explore SP's city center. Really nice breakfast. Excellent value for your money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They give us a room which was at the emergency exit hall. Because of the position of the room all the kitchen smell was inside the room and it was HORRIBLE!!! I can smell it in my mouth for 2 days more even after I checked out the next day immediately!

    The staf was okay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are not many options around for dinning. At night the street is occupied by prostitution, but we we didn't have any issue related to security.

    The staff was awesome. There is a lot a buses that passes just in front of the hotel and metro is only two blocks away (two lines). Nice breakfast and reliable internet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room had no atmosphere, no lamps, bright white lights to stark and bare, dinner at night not hot enough m

    Friendly helpful staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only lukewarm water lack of lift ! 2 elevators serving 200 rooms ! avoid rush hour for breakfast (8 to 9 am)

    Room very convenient, very bright, vith a view on Republica large bed

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they have only 2 lifts, this makes you wait long especially in the mornig.

    early check in no problem. friendly stuff at the reception with a little english, but okay. big breakfast buffet, but no vegetables, no salad. only 1 toaster for 100 people. If you arrive by airport bus at republica, the hotel is on opposite side of the park left, ask for mc donald. its in the same building. changing money outside the hotel is difficult, so better you change at the airport. dont take taxi at rush hour, the traffic is terrible. opposite bar have life music, this can be loud, but for visit its a nice chilling place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of homeless people around the accommodation. I felt a little unsafe. On our day leaving, there was on person stretched across the entrance shaking like they were on drugs. I thought the police could have been called to bring them to a shelter or a hospital but the door staff were just standing there.

    Room was nice and the subway was close which brought us direct to the centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Only have soaps in the bathroom. As a 4-star-hotel, at least you should have shampoos and conditioners. I had stayed in a 4-star-hotel in Faria Lima, they even provide full set of toiletries, include cotton buds. (They only charge us R$170,00 per night.) - I asked the staff, you even don't have sauna. - The restaurant only provide buffet for dinner, and the choices of the dishes are too limited.

    - The staffs are friendly and speaking English. - The location is the best. - A quiet environment.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None special

    Bed comfortable , breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. You claim on Booking.com that it is 4 star, but the mold and old stinky rooms suggests 2.5 star at most.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Hot tub

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good. Good location if u need to be in down towm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are friendly and very helpful. The location is good and breakfast has different varieties

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy location. Vagrants outside the hotel. Variety in the breakfast menu

    Good value for money. Wifi was good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't seem to work.

    Convenient location. Large rooms. Great breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was boring! Also the staff serving it were not helpful.

    The room was just the right size for us.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs construction and refurbishment

    The location Worth for the price The breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area bit disorganized

    Room very clean and good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    PL: Miła obsługa. Możliwość dokupienia 1/2 nocy. EN: Friendly stuff. I bought half a day additional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older furnitures in the bathtub.

    The breakfast and good hotel recepción.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast hours could have been a little more extended and more pastry and fruits variety would have been great.

    The location is good, close to public transportation and various places of interest, close to theater, museum and shopping.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's in a really bad neighborhood. My phone was stolen at the door of the hotel, when I stepped out to get into taxi. On my first day in Sao Paulo

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi - while booking it was mentioned that Wi-Fi was available at all areas but it was only at the lobby and that too didn't work most of the time.

    Wifi was at only looby and that too very poor. We seldom get the wifi. Rest all was very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old facility and unsafe neighborhood

    Friendly staff. Breakfast: a variety of fruit and bread. Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    perfect breakfast location is close to sightseeing

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Hotel Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil