Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Inglês 2 stars

Rua Silveira Martins, 20, Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22221-000, Brazil

#326 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 842 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I speak English and my husband speaks Portuguese. The staff do not speak english at all (Don't be fooled by the name). The staff was very friendly to my husband but not to me because my portuguese is very poor. I would have liked to be able to speak english and not have to have my husband translate for me. I fear that if you do not speak portuguese it will be very difficult for you to stay at this hotel, the staff did not want to talk to me at all and were very rude to me when I asked. But again - they were very nice to my husband but I felt like a nuisance to them.

    The hotel is excellent for the price. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was excellent!! They even had low carb options for people who don't eat bread and sugar. The hotel is located next to a beautiful park and near a very beautiful beach. The hotel is older but it is beautiful and very clean. You can't find a better place for the price. I will stay here again next time I go to Rio. Uber rides are very cheap because of the hotel's central location. I would recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    I liked personal. Really great reception people. Not all personal talked English, but they tried to understand. Good location - nearly Lapa street, Flamengo beach and others places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    This 35 room hotel was perfect for my 9 day stay in Rio for Carnaval. Great location on a quiet street was an easy walk to Flamenco Beach, the Metro station, or to the supermarket, bars, restaurants and stores. The hotel was clean, quiet, well maintained, secure with a 24 hour front desk staff who were very nice and helpful ( especially in english). My room had cold A/C, strong wifi, many tv channels, small refridge and nice bathroom with good hot water. Great breakfast. This hotel is a real gem in this price bracket. This will be my choice for my next visit to Rio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Front desk was very kind and helpful. Especially the lady Epifania, who speaks very good English and Spanish, was very helpful. She helps you find your way in Rio, such where to go for shopping, tour etc. It was great to be there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not cleaned properly and the lingering smell of urine. The humming of numerous air con outside of my window at night.

    The location,breakfast and the kindness of the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is super friendly and the place is very confortable, it is big And near of metrô, supermarket, pharmacy and food. In rio you can get Everywhere by metro and if you need help they will help

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses are diamond hard, feels like sleeping on bricks.

    Location is quiet but near metro & restaurants. Old style hotel, looks like a set from the Godfather. Good place to stay if you get a deal online. The walk in price is much higher.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The safe was ancient and broken. No place to put rubbish in the room. The airconditioning was very old and controls missing so it was on or off. People were smoking in some of the rooms!

    Breakfast was ok, not amazing but ok. There was plenty of space in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is very quiet in a very good location (safe and practical ). The breakfast is very complete and fresh. No noise is a luxury! Very good experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was weak on 5th floor where I was located, and sometimes I had to walk around the room to even find a spot with weakest connection to be able to use Internet.

    The location is great! Very close to the metro station and accessible to praia do flamengo also, though which many bus lines run. In addition, in front of the hotel is an amazing park (literally in front), which is nice for walks an relaxation (mostly families with children and elderly cariocas visit it). Flamengo is a residential area and was actually suoer safe for female solo traveler such as me. Around the metro, there are no decent cafes, however there are fast food joints around and also small grocery markets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good enough but I have seen much better. All else was fine!

    Staff was extremely helpful, front desk very personAble and helpful with things also doorman was a sweetie, recommending a clinic we could go to nearby when we needed health care. I usually stay at a pousada and enjoy the informal help of that kind of staff, this was just the same, people who took the time to get to know you (if you showed some interest) and then would help you out when things came up. The place is a touch dreary looking, kind of like out of s 50's film noir, but it had all the basics, older and well used but clean and functioning fine. Love the old elevator. Taxis could find it easily and very close both to some quiet (next to the Palacio park with its music and art expositions) but also near to metro and a great commercial/retail street. I will be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quarto

    Rapidez no check-in e no check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, felt unsafe, screaming in the hallway all night, felt like the hotel is a front for a brothel. Dry blood on the sheets, disgusting.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and helpful staff! I didn't like my first room, they gave better! I like!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, not great comfort but nothing to really complain about and the price was fair. Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you can't really.meet other travellers, no areas for sitting and hanging out

    Good value for money, nice rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds a little hard - no coke in fridge.

    Breakfast was satisfactory

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress is dirty.

    I liked the location which is very near from the beach and the bus to the airport is also very near from the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At that moment in of the safest areas in rio (that says something). Got worth for youre money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, value for money, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom.

    Location, staff, food, bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty shower water, smelly bed covers, and charged for drinking water in the middle of summer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was very hard, but staff exchanged mattress.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast. Rooms have air-conditioning. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location,personal,area,nice old style hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was great. Service was great and staff were pretty friendly. Great location also.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, near the Catete metro station. Smillie staff, good breakfast, but the room is poor with so heavy bed and loud enviroment. Anyway is a good deal for eco trip.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The double bed was so tiny! Also, during the night the terrible noise was coming from outside, probably from the old and noisy AC used by other guests. During six nights that I stayed there I didn't have a single moment of good sleep. Only one small wardrobe for three people was available. Staff members were unable to provide basic information such as the nearest hairdresser or laundry service. I wouldn't stay at Hotel Inglês again.

    Breakfast was decent. Location was great for exploring Rio, close to bus stops and Catete metro station.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had a great stay. The location is excellent and the staff very helpful with giving information about touristic and not so touristic places, alternative ways of going around, where to eat, and where to go to see just everyday life. I highly recomend.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My apartment didn´t have a mirror. And it was a little bit small.

    The location, very agreable and pratic.Near all means of transport and trade in general. Beautiful garden in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    i paid (in advance!) for and they promised a room with balcony. No balcony however and very cheap excuse..

    location next to beautiful park and palace where president Vargas committed suicide

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Group

    Maybe they should learn English a bit.

    I liked where the hotel was, close to public transportation, and close to basically everything. For this price people shouldn't complain as it is clearly stated it is only a 2 star hotel, but it was clean and quite cheap, so was perfect for just going back, take a bath and sleep. The wifi was working fine as well.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I love the location and the helpful staffs.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard bed.

    Very nice staff. In Flamenco beside the park and beach. Normal breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception very helpful sea view rooms are great

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good value hotel, good location, no frills but good value for money in a expensive city, always try and stay here if they gave room

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    great location, friendly hotel, not fancy but good value for money in rio where things can be expensive

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is really tiny

    Location, staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy a/c - really not a problem but the only thing I could think of!

    Quite but easily accessible location

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location! Excellent receptionists: Eliana and Janaina ! Very good breakfast ! Very good room!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Everything was very satisfying!

    Excellent location very friendly and helpfull staff!!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    air conditioner an "in-wall" type which was a bit noisy

    Close to beach, quiet, good size room

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel Inglês traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil