Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Brazil hotel reviews
  3. Rio de Janeiro State hotel reviews
  4. Rio de Janeiro hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Solar Hostel 4u Copacabana

Reviews of Solar Hostel 4u Copacabana

Travessa Guimaraes Natal 6, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22011-100, Brazil

#284 of 384 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 372 hostel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2019

    8.3
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lot of ants :-( It could be a bit cleaner in the kitchen. Thin doors so you can hear noices from the corridor and feel every smell. All others aspects really good! For this price it was very nice.

    Lockers in the room. Kitchen available,a lot of bathrooms and showers. Very frindly staff.Especialy Kevin who speaks english and is super helpful. Great localization, close to the metro station. Tasty coffe every day.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    7.5
    Really enjoyed my stay, location great, clean, staff are amazing. Basic accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic accommodation. Air con only from 10pm at night.

    Staff were absolutely amazing. The tall brazilian guy with dark hair was amazing (cannot remember his name) but my bag got stolen at the beach and he went over and above to help find me another locker key and offered me chocolate too. Air con very good. Location great. Lots of bathrooms and toilets available.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    4.2
    Close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really really small rooms with to much beds. Also not very clean. Dammmm expensive, but it was during carnaval.

    Close to the beach. You will make friends here fast.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    5.8
    Staff solve problems quickly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room for 4 beds. It was a little mess around when I got to the room. But it was due to the guests who I was sharing.

    Staff solve problems quickly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    The crew was very nice and helpfull, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen closes at 10 pm and some times it felt a bit stressing. The tap in the kitchen wasn't working well.

    The crew was very nice and helpfull, good location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.9
    - 2 or 3 are very friendly and helping staff, not all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - they should oil the hingend on the lockers - the bed is not the best. makes sound, if you move

    - 2 or 3 are very friendly and helping staff, not all - Breakfast was good and coffee too - big locker - good location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    6.7
    very good location, few blocks to the beach, closed to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    first night they give me the wrong room (20 beds instead of 6), absolutely overprice for new years eve

    very good location, few blocks to the beach, closed to the metro and in a safe area. Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    8.3
    Recommend this place for a stay in Rio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet not always works, but I think its a problem of Rio. As this hostel have 3 different wifi.

    I arrived early around 8-9am, thou the official check in is at 14pm, they were nice and checked me in. The location is perfect and feels very safe! The female dormitory is nice and big enough. Have an a.c. and a fan.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    5.8
    Close to Copacabana beach and the metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restroom most of the time were flooded with water. The cleaning staff did their best to keep it clean, but there was always water in the restrooms. The toilets had to be flush at least 3 times. The rooms were very hot, two fans should be in each room. The AC were only in between 10 pm to 8 am. It could be better if they could be on at least for 12 hours. The breakfast was very poorly. Sometimes the kitchen area had a sticky smell. The WiFi sucks. It’s very very bad. I couldn’t even make calls via WhatsApp to family members back home because it was very weak.

    Close to Copacabana beach and the metro station

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    5.0
    Pass
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattresses are old and tired. If you're not from Israel, you don't exist. You're ignored

    It's about .5 km from the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    5.8
    Forgettable . . .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The was no bar,just some cans locked in a fridge,no laundry service and the breakfast was poor, the common areas upstairs were crawling with ants also, never again . . .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    5.0
    Not a good hostel at all, sorry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sorry guys, you dont have it quite right yet. New Year is a very expensive time of year, but when paying nearly R$500 (£90) a night for a bunk bed I would expect to be able to count on a few things. On arrival my bed was dirty and not cleaned (the story was that the person left without checking out, but if the need is assigned to a new guest this should be followed up). When moving dorms for my last night the mattess protector sheet was covered in sand. Again, when beds are cleaned, the under sheet should be at least shaken out. The mattress was so old, worn and dipped in the middle, not comfortable sleeping on the wooden slats of the bunk. The wifi is absolutely terrible. The story there is that it is just rio that's bad, however restaurants down the road as well as peoples hotspots are really good, you need to take a bit of responsibility in this and ensure travelers are not let down. It is such an important part of travelling these days to enable us to buy plane and bus ti kets, book accommodation and tours. If you say you have good internet, you need to deliver. I understand it was new year and very busy, but at that price, more than a shrug and blaming Rio's internet is required. Due to poor internet I needed to stay an extra night because I couldn't book anything. In my 5 days 3 of my showers were ice cold, 2 were warm. And on my final night (6th night, additional) I was left in the shower covered in soap and the water ran out altogether. No water in the shower or the taps. I had to cover my towel I soap and run to reception from the shower to tell them. You would think I'd get some sort of knock on the door or something telling me what was going on as I waited for a dribble to come back on, but no. So luckily had a small bottle on drinking water in the bathroom with me and splashing myself had to rinse off the soap.

    Some of the staff were nice. The people I met there were great and it was a short walk to Copacobana beach. Nothing else.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    5.4
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 21-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was left dirty in the morning after the party was over. Cigarettes and beer cans everywhere including a picture of the mess

    The location. It was safe

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were woken up at 2am by other guests getting ready for a night out, they were walking in and out of our room for an hour. They were drinking and talking loudly with the staff in reception and then the same again at 5am when they returned. The hostel is undergoing renovations so the upstairs communal area and the bar was closed. The only common area was the dining room which closes at 10pm and no other areas to talk apart from the rooms.

    The staff at check-in were very nice and even helped us move room the next morning after we were woken up by the other rude guests. Kitchen area is small but good enough to cook basic meals. Large dining area and ok breakfast. Shower/bathroom areas are nice and great location close to the metro and cocacabana beach.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.9
    The most awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi fi was really bad, non existing at times. There could have been some more variety on breakfast. There was not much choice for vegetarians.

    The most awesome staff! Nathalia is just amazing , very helpful and always positive. The location was good too and there was always nice, hot water.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.6
    Definately worth it, would be my choice again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The aircons are old and noisy. Could use a couple more bathrooms. Kitchen small with no really infrastructure for a hostel like this.

    Location, personnel, spotless clean sheets that you get in bag on arrival, nice matresses, breakfast with variety options, free table water. Good value for money and in general good vibe in tbe hostel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Great location, hot showers and good WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our window to our room was cracked so a breeze came in, but we managed to block it with towels.

    6 minutes walk from where the bus dropped us off, down the road from where the tours are sold. Nice hot showers, good WiFi and you can rent a heater for your room for cheap (it was snowing when we were there) and you can do your laundry there, good breakfast too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    7.9
    Very good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the most comfortable hostel but good value for the price

    Very good staff

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    I love Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good Hostel.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    10
    everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The chicken time

    everything !

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    8.3
    "Friendly-Party" Hostel! :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faster internet.

    Staff is amazing! I was there for the Carnival and the atmosphere was incredible! All the staff was very supportive and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    6.7
    It is a decent hostel, just really overpriced during...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is a decent hostel, just really overpriced during carnival period.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    4.2
    they have bad wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they have bad wifi i had to make my bed by myself it's hard to survive the day without airconditioner. you can use it only in the night.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    The best!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location and the best staff. I'll be back.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    5.8
    Location, very close to the beach and metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Their staff, the wifi internet was terrible

    Location, very close to the beach and metro station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Staff simpáticos, clima legal
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff simpáticos, clima legal

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Very good Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is perfect. Near beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice staff, speaking multiple languages
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is weak; not many bathrooms, so there might be some waiting

    Very nice staff, speaking multiple languages

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 15-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great Hostel. Ideal location, close to Beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2016

    2.5
    This is the first time I write a bad review, but I really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    This is the first time I write a bad review, but I really hated being here. Lots of reasons: -At check-in I have to pay 10% extra to use my debit card, the guy said this hostel doesn't want to pay taxes. -There is an electric plant next to hostel, and I guess the electric magnetism is totally unsafe. -Wifi is bad and doesn't work in the rooms or in the kitchen, just at reception without chairs or in the terrace with nice view on elecric plant. -I asked to cancel one night, my reservation was for 6 nights. Policies said that I can be refund 50% for any cancellation, but the guy didn't want to refund anything. He said he makes the rules. -Once i went back to my room at night and I found 3 cockroaches walking around. -Kitchen is so bad that it is not possible cooking. It is very small, fire very weak and about 3 forks to share with the whole hostel. One person at the time can cook. Better eat outside. I suggest to void this place, pay a bit more.

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2016

    5.4
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived, they first couldn't find our reservation. But when we told them they already charged my credit card they suddenly did find the reservation. Only two of the staff spoke english, so sometimes it was hard to communicatie, even though we speak spanish. The airco only works between 22:00 and 01:00. We slept on a room where the airco was next to a pillow, so that person got really sick because of the airco. Our room was a little bit small because the lockers are to small for the backpacks and thats why all the backpacks were in the middle of the room. Breakfast sucks. You only get two little pieces of bread. There are only 3 bathrooms, so we had to wait many times to go to the toilet or to take a shower. We spend 7 nights at this hostel during new year: VERY expensive!!! The kitchen is very small.

    The location was very good. It was only 10 minutes to the beach and I didnt feel unsafe.

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2015

    3.3
    the location was ok to discover Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room (private double room) felt like a prison cell, the staff was neither friendly nor helpful, the whole hostel rather filthy and completely void of any atmosphere. Far from being worth the money.

    the location was ok to discover Copacabana.

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    4.2
    The hostel is well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the place is dirty, the bathrooms are bad, the rooms are not comfortable, and the staff is not that nice, they have a place to dry the clothes, and someone took our stuff, and they didn't care!

    The hostel is well located

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2015

    7.5
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The top bed of the bunk is almost touching the ceiling. There is not much space to move and you can hit your head on the ceiling. The air conditioner just works overnight.

    The location is perfect! The hostel is near Copacabana beach, a metro station and there are plenty stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    3.3
    The location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was not clean at all, there are cockroach and the sheets were stained, and besides that, the private bathroom has no lock inside making it impossible even to fully close the door. Also, the staffs were always in a bad mood not willing to help.

    The location is good

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    6.3
    There´s a very kind guy in the reception but the other ones...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast and wifi were pretty bad. There are not enough bathrooms nor so clean! One of the nights they were making reparations of another room without caring about the sleep of the whole guests! You´d rather find another place for this money!

    There´s a very kind guy in the reception but the other ones were not helpful at all! Its only good located but not a nice place to stay in, at all!

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2015

    6.7
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room musty smells terrible!! It was kind of dirty and the water gets stuck in the shower :(

    The location is great! a lot of transportation and places to eat pretty close, beach is a couple of blocks away! the staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    4.2
    +Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Breakfast was horrible. It was free, but I only took it one day, and I didn't want to repeat it again. - The bathroom had a lot of water on the floor, everyday, everytime. It was disgusting. - I ask to the people of the reception about some information about Rio de Janeiro: buses, parties, etc. And they didn't know how to answer my questions.

    +Location +Price

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    7.0
    Staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Poor security for valueables. No hot water Poor showers, need better shower heads My door lock did not work well. Bathroom sink faucet needs to be replaced

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Great Location

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2015

    7.5
    Close to Copacabana beach and Cardeal Arcoverde metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Has a steep hill leading up to the hostel Rio prices - not specific to this place but a place like this would cost less elsewhere in Brazil, you're paying for the location.

    Close to Copacabana beach and Cardeal Arcoverde metro station. Staff were very helpful and most staff on the desk spoke OK to very good English.

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Its located at beginning of the copacabana, and far from ipanema and leblon and city center. There is no hot water to shower and there was a insect in the room. When i want to pay i asked 2 receptionist; one of them said if pay by credit card have to pay % 10 more. And if pay by us dollars, take from 2.40 Other receptionist said; if pay by credit card there is no commission, if pay by dollar, take from 2.00 There was no hostel activities. If you find another hostel, dont think and go there.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is not buffet and it is very poor and bad quality food/juices, the service personal never smiled,not even once, these ppl are not happy the room i stayed, it was always wet, it was awfull and unconfortable, you cannot use wifi from rooms, only in breakfast room, which is closed at nights. There is no refrigerator for common use.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    4.2
    The place is clean
    • Solo traveler

    Only one bathroom with toilet for 18 persons, the night staff is not very welcoming, room with 9 beds : bunk of 3 beds !!

    The place is clean

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    6.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They have almost everything, but in a necessary level.

    Location is good.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2015

    7.1
    close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    wi fi works only at reception

    close to the beach

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    4.2
    I liked that the room had a/c, and the proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I didn't liked the cleanliness,breakfast and the poor coverage of the WiFi.

    I liked that the room had a/c, and the proximity to Copacabana.

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2015

    8.8
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Value for money. Highly recommend.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil