Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mama Ruisa Boutique Hotel

Rua Santa Cristina, 132, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20241-250, Brazil

#11 of 212 B&Bs and Inns in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden and pool place could be better cultivated

    The staff attention is a plus and the superior deluxe room is a must. I've been granted with a upgrade and it made my days at Mama Ruisa more than perfect for the occasion. The hotel location is also perfect to enjoy Santa Teresa main spots by walking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to leave....

    I love all the attention on the small details, from the perfect towels to the good bye note left by the sweet hostess Valeria that was always very helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Here and there a bit „worn out“ (e.g. our bathroom)

    Great location and view, amazing old house with top design elements. Beautiful garden. Very friendly and caring staff. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some noice (music) until 1:00AM during our first night, but after we changed rooms this was not a problem anymore.

    Great place to stay, beautiful view and perfect breakfast! Like many great places, the difference between good and great is made by the host - and the host of this place certainly made our stay great! He is friendly and super helpful with all sorts of information and recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, Mama Ruisa is just amazing. A turn of the century French-inspired mansion with huge rooms and high ceilings, it's like staying in a museum. The staff are incredible. They all speak at least three languages and helped us with everything we needed, from an airport transfer to a late checkout. Santa Teresa is a really cool neighbourhood, with breathtaking views over the city and some really nice bars and restaurants. Like most places in Rio it's best not to stroll around at night, but if you've got Uber, that works great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is on my top 10 list of my best around the world for selective and inquisitive travelers who expect the best in sophistication and uniqueness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a gem. Very personally run boutique hotel with super friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic advise on what to do in Rio. Walking distance to Metro station Gloria, the rest better by taxi. Situated in what is probably the most trendy area of Rio. Furniture and internal design is spectacular. So are the views and attention to detail. Simply spectacular!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel with a brilliant eye for detail, beautiful little veranda to have breakfast, perfect service by warm and highly professional staff. I will absolutely stay here again if I have the chance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff first! The mansion has great character, it is a cosy and nice option when staying in Rio. Breakfast is also quiet good, you won't find a better option in the neighborhood!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying at Mama Ruisa. The hotel is beautiful, the location great and the staff is so very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to coming back here soon - a small gem in the heart of Santa Teresa!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't get a massage here!

    The staff at Mama Ruisa are amazing, they go the extra mile to help you. The attention to detail is perfect in every way. The rooms on the first floor are the ones to go for if you can as they have gorgeous double height ceilings, the lower ground is a little claustrophobic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could not have loved

    Arriving at the hotel after a long flight was like arriving in heaven.. the staff were so welcoming and accommodating. Our room was so beautiful with the most stunning view from Our balcony ano each morning we lives waking to the sound of the birds and a delicious breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old property with great character hence closing/locking doors a little tricky

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Very relaxing with breakfast to suit you and good advice on what and how to visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving. I didn't like leaving.

    This is the exact kind of place Booking.com advertises as Booking.yeah! I brought my husband to Brazil for his first time in South America, for our honeymoon. Mere seconds after our hosts left us alone in our room, he turned to me and said, "Wow. Wow - you did REALLY well." It was an incredible way to start our vacation. The location is ideal, our hosts impeccable and the views incredible. Mama Ruisa is truly a very special place for an intimate introduction to the Cidade Maravilhosa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clear from the moment we arrived that Flavia, Tiago, and any other staff working behind the scenes were dedicated to providing us with an excellent stay. The room was immaculate, the view incomparable. Breakfast on the balcony was not only delicious, but an unforgettable experience! Highly Recommend!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful old-style building, big rooms with view, very charming. Nice swimming pool, great breakfast with view over the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent management, location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were exceptional and we loved the cat that mae itself at home in our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nicely renovated old mansion full of quirky furniture and details tastefully decorated close to Rio central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was super charming, as were the staff. I felt so taken care of...Lovely setting and location was ideal in Santa teresa. Adore

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room, wonderful staff! A great place to relax and Santa Teresa is a beautiful neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place to be in RIO. Fantastic house, incredible place, unforgettable service. Thanks Paolina and Jean Michel for everything. Greetings Andreas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood

    Very cute hotel with nice view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE FOOD AT HOTEL, THEY CAN EXTEND THE MENU

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi cut out (probably not your fault)

    Valeria was terrific.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were amazing - stunning hotel and really unique!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we could not stay longer!

    Fantastic hotel: very friendly and helpful staff and excellent location!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    given the location in santa Teresa, taxis can sometimes take a little longer to arrive

    lovely old style colonial house

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet reception and power cuts

    Very welcoming host, very personal.Great Interior Design.Super views over town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great house, well decorated. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast and beautiful room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, only seven rooms , perfect for couples. Wonderful view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Large comfortable rooms. Everything worked; quite rare for Brazil. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hip area of town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff made our trip next level amazing. We got some great ideas for plans that made our trip amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower temperature was difficult to regulate and the fittings in the bathroom were a little tired, but it didn't diminish our experience at all.

    We loved the laid back yet attentive service and the location. Santa Theresa is a world away from the crowds and noise of Copacabana but to us it was a magical place full of old world charm. The staff were very friendly and gave us great dining tips and were only too happy to help us make dinner reservations and book cabs etc. I would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not being able to meet the dog who belonged to the owner.. We loved all of it including the vintage records and the Jennifer Baker room.

    We liked the ambiance and the décor very relaxed lovely girls working at the desk very good breakfast with several fresh juices. We rate it top marks also the bedrooms were lovely with fab views .We would go back and the area is quite funky.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    False advertising on website, doesn't show images of all the apartment types. We booked over 4 months in advance through booking and got shafted with our room - got the smallest of all apartments. BE AWARE that the junior suites are the only room type that guarantee a view, the deluxe apartments are all located on the lower floors and they can stick you in one of the small, stuffy ones without any heads up because they book by room type and not specific room. But because they only show images of the nicest rooms on their website, we felt as if it all lacked transparency about the actual selection of rooms. Of course it's clear why we were disappointed when we got the room we got. If only they had just told us from the beginning to book a junior suite to guarantee views we would have.

    Cute place, vintage pieces and furniture, strong caipirinhas, a nice little pool, friendly staff, a large balcony out back

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couple of side effects of old house that I could not decided were charming (rusty porch, hot water brown) or to be accepted as part of a very cool experience... Better if fixed

    Really cool location super attentive staff cool decoration beautiful views unique set up

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Barking dog outside our room. Limited breakfast options. Not for cat haters...

    Perfect for design lovers. Breakfast good but exactly the same each morning. Quickly got bored of it. Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to local restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel is decorated with great taste. The staff speaks great english, is welcoming and has been very helpful in terms of advicing us what sights to visit, what restaurants to go to and how to plan the rest of our trip in brazil. The pool is very nice and clean with amazing view on the pan azucar. There is an orchidee wall next to the pool which makes the whole experience even ore glamorous. The breakfast is very nice and has been served promptly on our room terrace. The room on itself is very spacious and comfortable. It is equiped with high tech tv where you can log into your netflix account. We also had an amazing massage at the hotel. The owner Jean Michel has been extremely welcoming and extremely helpful. The neighbourhood is very nice with lots of bars to visit and amzing views. I would definitly recommend it

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didnt like having to leave! i want to live there!!!!!!

    The hotel and staff are so amazing, personable, warm and attentive - It is like you are staying at a dear friend or family members house abroad.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think we were in the worst room - with low ceilings and little natural light - and a bit shabby. The other rooms - especially on the top floor - were significantly nicer. It was noisy - especially from the floorboards above. You also needed a degree to work the shower (four identical knobs - with no labels on any of them!).

    The staff were incredibly helpful - and made a huge difference to our time in Rio by helping to plan each day and evening, with interesting shops and eateries off the tourist trail. This is the major advantage of staying in a boutique hotel rather than one of the big ones in Ipanema or Copacabana.The communal areas were nice. We enjoyed being in Santa Teresa.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on the lower floor is unbearably noisy due to footsteps on the wooden staircase starting early in the morning

    Location is excellent, beautiful building, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best breakfast in the world against a great view! The staff is very helpful and with the decoration all together create an amazing Rio experience. We felt at home as well. We loved it here, and definitely will be coming back!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything, hotel is nothing short of amazing. Beautiful rooms (we stayed in two different ones), great Santa Teresa location, extremely nice stuff. ***** P.S. Make sure to try their breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose to stay in Santa Teresa because we wished to contrast "old" Rio with Ipanema Rio (where we also stayed on the same trip). You do have to take taxis every time you go out (they are cheap and plentiful) but rather boneshaking on the cobbled vertiginous streets.

    Mama Ruisa is the most stunning Belle Epoque mansion. Very atmospheric, and it feels like one is staying in a glamorous private house. Delightful breakfast served by the pool or on a private veranda. We would return in a heartbeat! Pauline is a wonderful hostess too.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Room was very charming and the Staff was excellent. The staff made arrangements for all our transit, reservation, and sight seeing request. This was our first time in Rio and I'm glad we stayed in Santa Teresa.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Although I'm very used to animals at home Lily the dog was a little too vocal at times!

    Wonderful breakfast, gorgeous room and incredibly welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be aware you're a 20 min taxi ride from the South of Rio where the famous beaches are. It's also high up on the hills so the streets are quite steep.

    The view was amazing, the decor extremely elegant and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. A beautiful, quiet boutique hotel if you want a few days to discover another super-pretty part of Rio (Santa Teresa) other than the usual Copacabana / Ipanema / Leblon areas.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was there on a Saturday night and Santa Teresa gets quite lively so be prepared for a noisy night. The other nights were fine.

    The most impressive aspect of Mama Ruisa was the extremely helpful and charming staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Flavia and Lydia assisted me before I even arrived. Jean Michel, the owner was charming and willing to accommodate requests for early breakfasts. The breakfasts were delightful, the decor perfect down to every detail, the rooms were comfortable and the bath products lovely. I was treated extremely well and I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. Santa Teresa is more difficult to access compared to more conventional locations but I had no trouble with taxis. The restaurants and bars in Santa Teresa are fantastic and all within walking distance of Mama Ruisa and I felt very safe during the time I was there. It would be well worth your while to consider staying here when you are next in Rio.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful boutique hotel! The staff was great. We had a lovely stay. Definitely want to come back soon!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cleanliness, peaceful

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in historic Santa Teresa; Josephine Baker Suite; sumptuous breakfasts; friendly and very efficient staff. The sitting room is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Refined set up and finishing. Personal service and attention. A place ideal to relax in the pool and an oasis in a large city.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Mama Ruisa Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil