Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mar Ipanema Hotel 3 stars

Rua Visconde de Pirajá, 539, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22410003, Brazil

#210 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1223 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best as far as sound proofing goes, but the hotel is older and you have larger rooms.

    You are 2 blocks from the sea and from the roof bar you can see the lake and the Corcovado. The rooms are a very good size and the breakfast was good, we didn’t have any trouble with finding a place to eat,there is lots to see and do. Good air con.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in Ipanema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the rooftop terrace was amazing. Staff is very friendly, breakfast was exceptional. The neighborhood is safe, Mar Ipanema is 2 blocks away from the beach. Perfect place to stay on a first visit to Rio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Good for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is nearest to Leblon and not to Ipanema. People in the front desk is not friendly.

    Clean room, the breakfast is taking in an small place that not belong to the hotel but is in the same building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Standard nice hotel, in a great location to explore the beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    2 elevators - 11 floors, and one kept needing maintenance, so very slow to get to room or leave. Sheets were not changed all week (5 nights)

    Location was excellent. Breakfast was simple and tasty. Shower and bathroom were small but very nice and clean. Air Conditioning was very handy Overall a very good 3/4 star hotel - great value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything eas bad except the employees

    Thais Hotel needs urgently a big reform specially in the rooms. The room is old and too small with no space to move. The bathroom old as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Ipanema beach is very nice to stay, first of all hotel has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Changed the room, due to the bad water providing and street noise on the first floor. Poor breakfast, was always out. Had connection door to the next hotel room, which was locked by key, it made me feel uncomfortable.

    Ipanema beach is very nice to stay, first of all hotel has nice location. Staff was excellent. Roof view and relax zone was a great bonus. Wifi connection was normal, no claims.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were horribly uncomfortable. Room was so small you could not walk around the furniture. Terrace bar was non existent. Elevator was small and slow. All areas were old, worn, and dirty. All areas were too small. No lobby space.

    Location. Near shops and markets. Good walking area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    My favorite hotel in Rio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My favorite hotel in Rio. If you listen Tom Jobim stay here because this hotel has style! Everything is made wisely. The hotel gives you chairs, sun-umrellas and towels for the beach. For free, if you want. I was leaving Rio for 3 days and could keep my bagage in a hotel during this time with out any questions. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, very close to the beach and full of shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could work though. Only down side of the hotel. But booking helped us know that in advance so we came prepared to it.

    Amazing location, very close to the beach and full of shops and restaurants outside. Very good breakfast comparing to other hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Ok place but I wouldn’t recommend it or go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed at best a bit disinterested in you being there and at worst just very rude and grumpy. There was only 1 lift working for 2 days which was a pain. The breakfast was super busy and a bit rubbish.

    The bed was big with lots of pillows and very comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Good location, chaotic breakfast and non working lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little sorry for the lift that was not working. Ended up running the stairs the whole time. Can get very warm.

    Hotel is located in the best part of the city in the main shopping street, but still not noisy. The hotel has 2 lifts and when there is only one lift working there is a big disadvantage. The hotel did not accept paying a compensation for this. Breakfast was included and is served in the corner cafe from 6 - 10. Very chaotic place because locals also go there to eat breakfast. Should have been reserved for hotel guests until 10 a.m.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    The bed was lovely and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait for the one working elevator was painfully slow and when it did arrive it was generally full given it was quite small. I did note they had workers trying to fix the second elevator while we were there The location (on a corner interesction) was very noisy. Constant beeping by cars (taxis) in the morning made it difficult to sleep in Whilst booking a deluxe room I was surprised how small it was I was also surprised that despite not being able to drink the water from the Tap there was no supplied bottle water other than in the bar fridge that you had to pay for

    The bed was lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Location worth it
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room itself (bed and pillows weren´t confortable) and the food. Price was quite rough as well.

    Quite expensive for the room they offered - but it was Rock in Rio time so... It was an old one which was available. Location is amazing, of course, in one of the most famous streets of Ipanema! Staff was ok, quite nice. I didn´t like the food tho (room service).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced and very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was ridiculously high for this hotel, comparing with a recent stay on Piazza Navona in Rome. Similar daily rate but third rate in comparison. Poor Wi-Fi, poor communication from staff, smelly & musty room. The top floor terrace has potential but no staff, one has to call down for service. The photo of the terrace is what sells the hotel yet is very neglected and hence no one seems to use it. TV stations not set properly, one of two lifts was out of order for the 2 days which forced us to use the stairs, even with luggage in check out. The breakfast in the bar next door was good but the atmosphere not. This hotel will need to do a lot to come up to the standards of others in Ipanema and around the world given the price!

    So many negatives that it drowned any positive memories. The location is good but then there are hotels nearby which are better and share the same good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    At Least, everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the two elevators was broken all weekend, so there were many people to use the same elevator. A little bit longer to wait.

    I really like the location, it was so close to the beach, restaurants, Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.5
    Be carefull with the personal of the hotel.
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal of the hotel is unloyal and acted in bad faith. They charged my credit card with services I didnt use and refused to give me back my money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Great, convenient and close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really bad.

    The location, staff and breakfast. Close to ipanema beach, and the lake. You can walk to Leblon, nice restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    I really like the location of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioner is quite loud. It is difficult for a sound sensitive person like me to sleep through the night. I actually turned it off both nights during my stay because I kept being waken up by the loud noise. But the room would then turn hot without the ac.

    I really like the location of this hotel. It is in a nice neighborhood area with lots of choices of nice restaurants. It is close to the beach and close to the public transportation. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel with issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had an issue with air condition equipment, It didn't cold, Rio had over 40° Celsius so it was not so confortable to sleep at night. Manteinance were notify, but they could not implement a solution during my stay. Also walls were too thin that some noise came from neightboards.

    Great Location, very near to Lojas Americanas, You could find everything you need there. Also all kind of restaurants and stores around hotel They have whatever you need for expending the day on IPANEMA beach.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    4.6
    What was the most negative was the attitude of the staff, nobody say hello even look at you.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff very unfriendly, old elevators without air condition and very slow in a city were is extremely warm. Terrace without direct connection to elevators and without any service at the bar.

    I like the location, near to the beach, metro and to all shops. I like too the gym.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.7
    Great location, rooftop terrace, big bathroom, hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room packed with tables, towels not always clean, single-glazed windows (noise from traffic )

    Great location, rooftop terrace, big bathroom, hotel supplied cooled fruit-infused water

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    A great place to soak up the lifestyle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrice upstairs was never staffed and dosnt really happen. Breakfast was not staffed by anyone that understood English.

    Comfortable quiet and clean. Great shower. Great location to food and beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    4.2
    Bad and expensive night... not worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible windows that did not close well therefore you can hear all the noise from the street. The windows open wide thus VERY dangerous. MISLEADING picture of rooftop bar which is not attended, you have to call downstairs for your order. Elevators are noisy and jerky. Furniture is dented and discoloured. Management apologised but still did not let us check our immediately rather forced us to stay at least one terrible night.

    Location, in the middle of Ipanema on the busiest commercial street. Restaurants and bars nearby and beach only two blocks away if you care to walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.4
    The staff was nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and not very clean. I found hair of previous guests here and there and it was quite dusty. Not a great value for money (quite pricy for what I got)

    The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is greatly located in the heart of Ipanema, just two blocks from the beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Ipanema Mar- excellent location, great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great just 2 blocks from the beach and on a street with restaurants and shops. The room was very clean & the buffet breakfast excellent with a lot of choices.The hotel was also quiet. Staff was helped us book tours and get taxis.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location, clean, good breakfast and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were a bit uncomfortable. They were shaped by other people's bodies. Would be nice if they could buy new ones. Our room was facing the street which was made it a bit noisy at times. Same situation with the connecting door to the room next door.

    The staff in general was very attentive and helpful. The location of the hotel was great for shopping around and going out to a few restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. Breakfast at the hotel was great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice 9 nights stay in the middle of Ipanema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There were surprisingly lot mosquitos everywhere inside hotel too. In elevators, corridoors, lobby, so needed to put mosquito poison spray even for breakfast. That is general problem in Rio, but inside hotel they should poison all insects. So prepare room insect killer machine with you.

    Breakfast was nice and a lot of choises, thought exactly same every day. After 9 days some change would have been good, but anyway selection was wide. The location is good, near beach and middle of Ipanema. Hotel restaurant was good, and popular with locals too. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Hotel is in good condition in any standards, even scandic. Staff were friendly. Good security.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.2
    Very unpolite guy in the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is man at the entrance, and i am not talking about the kind guys at the desk, who treated my Brazilian gal really badly. 1 he clearly misunderstood the situation, asking really inappropriate things to her. she is a friend of mine that has nothing to do with what he was asking and was coming from another city 1000km far from Rio 2 he continued to be inappropriate in next days as well 3 no girl has to be treated that way Please get the rid of this unpolite man.

    Nothing can be good if that guy works there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    good location but old building problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a lot of problems with our room, that we had to change it: old air condition that was leaking water on the desk of the room, noisy air condition too, some water leakage in the bathroom. Old building problems

    good location, new stations of Line 4 of the subway, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Great location close to the beach, good selection at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was slow and lost connection, rooftop bar was often unattended even during the evening

    Great location close to the beach, good selection at breakfast, definitely worth the money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Great location. Perfect breakfast. Facilities need improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    Perfect loaction. Close to the beach and to good restaurants. Very kind and helpful team. the room size is fair and in great condition. the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    location was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast could be better- could have had more choice of hot foods. There was also confusion at check out and I was sent an e mail saying I was to be charged more than I had already paid. I'm still unsure whether this has been resolved.

    location was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.4
    Bad Service in the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Team in the reception was very bad. 1st: They issued a provisory bill in the name of my companion although I was the one paying and had booked the room on my name. When I asked to amend it, they said they would send me the correct full invoice by email. I asked already several times and they never sent it. !!! 2nd: We asked 2 times a few days before for a bread without gluten. They ensured that it was not a problem but at the end they did not pass this Information to the restaurant... 3rd: When we had a problem with WLAN around midnight, they asked us to go down to the reception, instead of sending someone upstairs or trying to solve by phone.

    Windows were silent. Bed was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    5.0
    The location of the hotel is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really expected much more than what I got at the end of my trip. I really felt that the front desk were not at all happy to be there and welcome us. The first night we stayed there, the water was completely brown because of a break that occurred and I felt that they handled it very badly. After a 10 hr flight, I couldn't brush my teeth or shower until the following day- I called the front desk and they practically said I had to deal with it- fortunately enough, the wonderful head manager gave me a place to shower across the street. I felt that it was all a BIG MESS though. The head manager was lovely but nobody wanted to compensate me for what had happened. I have never experienced anything like this- especially when I planned this trip with my nephew and sister in law 6 months ago! The rooms were much smaller than showed on Booking. I really don't like writing negative reviews on anything, but I really felt let down with this stay. Leaving the hotel, the front desk representatives were so serious and just ready to have the people go. With the Olympics going on, I feel that they were not prepared and have a lot of work to do.

    The location of the hotel is lovely. We were exactly two blocks away from Ipanema Beach. The stores on our street were really great to visit as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, great area , correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some renovation , windows don’t close properly

    Location, great area , correct

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT LOCATION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EXCELLENT LOCATION!! GREAT STAFF.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Love Rio!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need revamp of paint, noisy aircon and fridge. Breakfast in neighbouring hotel not ideal and very sparse selection

    Location and superb staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Good excellent services
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good excellent services

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room space, cleanliness, bed comfort, staff lack of ability to speak English.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Very good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very basic

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Adequate but not as attractive as in the pictures on booking.com site
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was small but comfortable enough. It was a tall building and we were on a high floor with slow elevator.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Awesome breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Best place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    Very responsive and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.2
    I do not recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Staff not friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Awesome tropical breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Awesome tropical breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room, redundant terrace with average views.

    Great location. Practical room. Air con worked.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (not very friendly) and breakfast area (too small).

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    2.5
    Will not recommend this hotel regardless of the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very unaccomodating

    Very poor service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Confortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very slow.

    Confortable bed. Nice personnel. A lot of tours can be bookee directly with them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the elevator too slow

    it was close to the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    very nice
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    This hotel is charging too high, as they are located in Ipanema, Rio. The quality is but just low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment too small for the price, too noisy, just one plug with a strange connection and no adaptors, internet very slow.

    Bed has good quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    8.8
    It was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent staff and very warm welcome and very accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Stay for 3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff friendliness was excellent something one does not always see in Rio. Breakfast was outstanding

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Overall Great Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very spotty and basically unable to use.

    Amazing location and staff was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty !!!

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no help whatsoever for concierge services - small and dark rooms

    - good location in Ipanema - breakfast buffet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and nice staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.5
    A PLEASANT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi , is weak

    extremely recomended , excellent location , friendly staff and very comfortable and clean stay .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location. Okay everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not the most comfortable.

    The location in Ipanema was excellent! The restaurant next door was convenient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room. Breakfast is served at a night bar, which is very dark and tight.

    Location and staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Excellent & Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better by substituting scramble eggs wit fried eggs every alternate day.

    Location, courties & professional staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.0
    Hidden Booking fee - don't book through booking!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bkfst is very poor. Like other hotels in Brazil, horrible value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Good convenient location, handy to beach, shopping and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    little small Rooftop bar

    Location Breakfast Provision of beach equipment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    Good location in Ipanema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    towels, decoration, basic service

    location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Location and Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Comfortable, Clean Breakfast included - very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.3
    must improve to fullfil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    facility needs to be renovated, no service at top roof bar. Breakfast service at the Devassa restaurant is awful.

    location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    Great location and $$ value in the heart of Ipanema
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym was too small and basic Agree with others review that walls aren't sound proofed but would still stay there again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.2
    Unbeatable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, secure area, close to everything is needed. This was my fifth time in the hotel. I just love it!.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    6.3
    I liked the location, the room is the perfect size and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was a little rude, and when I was using the computer downstairs I could listen them talking and commenting of the others guests. The breakfast staff charged us more than the price on the advertising outside in the street and when I went to complain, as they didnt give me any receipt, they said there was nothing they couldnt do.

    I liked the location, the room is the perfect size and breakfast is fair

There are also 65 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mar Ipanema Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil