Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Merlin Copacabana Hotel 4 stars

Avenida Princesa Isabel, 392, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22011-010, Brazil

#194 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 272 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff did not have good English which we were expecting . Was overcharged €30 and couldn't communicate this with staff for explanation of this fee.

    Very clean hotel,fantastic location, spacious room and great roof top pool. Tours arranged by hotel around Rio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was a bit expensive during carnaval. Poor English at reception. For a big hotel in a city with many tourists, I expect that staff at the reception at least understand basic English, which was not the case.

    Location was great. Comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hotel and its facilities are pretty old and not all rooms are renovated (and thereby looking different than on the pictures) - concierge was not able to call a radio taxi for us (apparently he had never heard of it)

    - good breakfast for Latin America - excellent location, 5 Minute walk to the beach and very close to supermarkets and restaurants - personal mostly friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all good.

    Our luggage was late and the reception staff were very helpful in retrieving it. All the staff were friendly. The room had 2 bid double beds and a table and chairs, ample for a short holiday. Breakfast was buffet style and good. View from room was fine - could see the beach (although we were about 5 minutes walk away) and look out on Rio life. Shopping centre (handy for buying clothes when luggage is late!) was just through the tunnel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints here !!

    We arrived early on our check in day and front desk staff were super obliging getting us straight into our room. We stayed 6 nights and our flight wasn't leaving until 6.05pm - again reception was so nice allowing us a late checkout .Most impressive!! Only a 5 minute walk to the beach ( with supermarket close by) and the rooftop area tables and pool was lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff that let us check in early. We arrived at 7am after a long flight and were allowed into our room immediately. Also, as I was unwell on the final day of the trip, they allowed us a later checkout (3pm). Fantastic service!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The linens are not so clean and the room is a little bit humid

    Well located and staff are also friendly and willing to help me to arrange some stuffs and they have delicious breakfast as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks a little dated. They've tried to update it but not quite pulled it off.

    The hotel is an easy walk to Copacabana beach and a 5 minute walk to Rio Sul shopping center with lots of choices for meals.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little dated and it is a little pricey for this reason.

    Breakfast was ok. Location is good. Just a few minutes walk to Copacobana. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were charged for taking a towel that we hadn't been supplied with. It just appeared on the bill. disappointing as every thing else at the hotel was great.

    Good breakfast. close to beach. safe in room. good facilities though didn't use as there to watch Olympics

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not the best I ever had but the staff was so great I would not think twice about going back !

    Everything was excellent from the moment we walked in. I believe his name is Henry was the person who did our check-in and he was so helpful although all are stay in Rio was not at this hotel he gave us tips we used thorough out all are vacation in Rio de Janeiro. Loved all the staff and the facility was great as well as the location was great close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower was great and the rooftop terrace with the pool was lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Lovely helpful attitude of the staff, great breakfast, room small but at the quiet side of the building with great view of the green hill behind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Amazing breakfast! Just a few steps from Copacabana beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodations are old and looks like a 3 stars. Narrow beds and cheap mattresses

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark furniture

    Service & swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nobody of the staff, except the reception, can speak english

    Everything is good......

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One very slow elevator

    Staff was great! Very helpful by storing our suitcases for 2 days while we visited Iguazu falls.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frienddly staff, nice and clean hotel for a good price at Copacababa! I would always recommend it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, staff were very helpful, room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!

    Staff were great and very helpful. Hotel was only 5 mins from the beach Room was spacious and clean Perfect start to a first visit in Rio!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was a bit dark in the day. But during the night, we found we could not turn off the light situates opposite to our bed if we want to keep some light on. (Only either totally off or partially on) It would be better if we can have more options for choosing which light we want to keep on and off. The location was a bit far from the other beaches in Rio. But it is totally fine if you only plan to stay in the Copacabana beach.

    The location was right next to one of the biggest malls in the Copacabana area. For those like to shop, this is a great location to stay. The staffs were very friendly, polite and helpful. Most of them speak very good English. When we asked them questions about the city, local tours, they gave us good suggestion, and also efficiently arranged all tours for us. The room was very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    May I suggest a change in some of the breakfast dishes especially for those staying longer.

    Hotel was very clean, location was perfect - couple of blocks from the beach, less than 10 mins walk to shopping mall and church. Walking around the neighboring blocks gives one a taste of the local life - not too touristy! The room was larger than I expected and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast spread was incredible with sweet and savory, hot and cold, with lots of local fruits, assortment of breads, cheeses and also several hot dishes. The hotel takes you back to old and graceful times with their imprinted plates, napkins - including the chocolates on Easter morning. The staff were very friendly, offered us a late check out since Our flight was departing night time plus the use of hotel facilities to shower and change if we wanted to spend more time on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything outside the reception area! The staff were not happy to help, the restaurant was poor, service was worse. The room smelt as though it had been a smoking room for 40 years, The pool is tiny and no staff at the pool bar.

    The reception area is well proportioned and clean

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Night staff was very strict with hotel rules and not allowing friends to access the room

    Morning staff was very helpful and professional. Great variety of breakfast choices.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise sometimes was disturbing. Breakfast was a little bit boring (although cheese puffs were exceptional) :)

    Staff was helpful and friendly. Location is excellent. Rooftop terrace is very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was fancy once upon a time. Nothing wrong with it now, just a bit old ( so it's the furniture, mattress, etc).

    Friendly and helpful staff, convenient location. Good value for money, has a nice pool

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is both good and bad. area a little scruffy but in our view at the nicer end of copacabana beach ie leme rather than iphanema.

    staff very helpful and friendly. particularly useful as rio and in fact brazil is not very english speaking in general, used hotel at beginning and end of month trip to brazil. rooftop pool ideal after sightseeing in hot humid weather.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a good room but it was all grey.All 50 shades. A bit depressing for a Rio hotel. Lack of soap. AC only worked on low.For a hot shower you turn the knob on cold setting!

    Staff were very helpful. Location was excellent-near beach,grocery store and shopping mall.Quiet and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast buffet-fruits,cereals,meats,cheese,hot breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They close too early the bar and pool of the terrace and not too much places to sit there.

    In general everything was good, friendly people especially the reception, hearty breakfast. Good location, easy access to the beach and a shopping mall.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a tour through reception and were not told that we needed to pay cash for it until 10 minutes before the tour started (we had to walk to an ATM and held up our tour group because of this). When we checked their list of tours later it stated that we COULD pay by card. One of the doormen encouraged us to use their private driver 'friend' instead of a taxi - this driver charges double what a metered taxi charges and was not a safe driver.

    The location was great, walking distance to Copacobana beach. The rooftop pool area is great and the poolside bar-staff were each wonderful. It's walking distance to a huge shopping centre. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Swimming pool area isn't very welcoming

    - Friendly and helpful staff - Good location (a short walk to the beach) - Good value-for-money - Large beadrooms

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    almost none.

    I spend 2 nights for the countdown. It's very close to the Copacabana beach and I can walk to the beach and see the count down without bringing too much valuables. Accessible to metro too, around 6 min. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't expect to be given two beds in the room. Would prefer one king size bed rather than two doubles. But it was ok we just put the beds together. The staff at breakfast were a bit annoying taking things from your table before you had even finished eating.

    The pool area is very nice. It is open till quite late. The pool is deep so good for swimming and they play nice music.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Arranged transfer from airport cost us 3x more than yellow cab and the car was a wreck, not even official hotel vehicle. We wanted to exchange some dollars, didn't like the hotel rate (below average), made the hotel guy give us better one, after coming back with the cash another receptionist (she was standing next to the other guy all the time) exchanged money for the old rate, when I said that's not what we agreed on, she made me wait without even trying to find him, not nice

    Excellent location with bike rental across the street, 5min walk to the beach, 10min to metro, 5min to shopping centre, 3min to tourist information, amazing breakfast and nice roof pool. Staff helpful, whenever they actually speak English or not. Rooms bit outdated but clean with good working aircon. No charge for towels on a roof with swimming pool, if you want to leave your baggage after checking out in the hotel, it's free of charge

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a hole in our bathroom shower and outdated furniture. Not a huge turn off but could be improved.

    Loved the rooftop and location was good for an alternative to the very expensive hotels on avenue Atlantica.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were a couple of issues with the hotel staff 1) consierge misinformed us about transport to tourist sites so that we would travel with a hotel employee at an inflated price rather than using a metered taxi or bus ... we didn't expect to be ripped off by our hotel! 2) restaurant staff were very sexist. I was travelling with a couple and at dinner they were both handed a menu, I wasn't even given eye contact. At breakfast only the male in our group was spoken with. The staff at the pool bar, however, were lovely. 3) one of the reception staff misinformed us that payment for tours was by cash only. We were told this on the morning of the tour and were caused undue panic and stress racing to get money from an ATM. We later noticed that the tour info sheet specified Visa payments were allowed but incurred a 5% surcharge.

    In terms of the price paid, the location was great as were the facilities (room, roof top pool). The staff at the poolside bar were great: attentive and remembered your room number. The breakfast was awesome and the bar menu was good as well.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A glass was broken during breakfast, waiters didn't seem to care at all. Literally walked by and kicked shards of glass with our batting an eye lid. I started to pick up glass as the cleaner came

    Loved the pool and bar, they also let us check in early when we went to drop out bags

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outside of breakfast the food was not good. Shower was dangerous - step up and big step down to get into shower with granite floor. Very slippery and I fell. No grab bars. Not particularly attractive hotel. On a very busy noisy street.

    breakfast was good suite was large

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really new but fine and clean.

    Helpful staff, good location about two blocks from Copacabana beach. Hotel clean though a bit dated. Very good breakfast. There is a pool on the roof - small but good relax after a hot day in Rio.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were dated and the gym equipment did not work also the sauna was switched off and i got an electric shock from the switch outside. AC was poor

    The Breakfast was excellent and the reception was impressive but thats all i afraid

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No atmosphere, receptionosts have zero english, location isnt great (beside a main road leading into a tunnel), overall very average.

    I liked how clean the room was and it had a good power shower.breakfast was fine.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We moved rooms as the first one was too noisy due to traffic on the street in front of the hotel. A surprise really considering we paid for the room many months before.

    Friendly willing staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were not comfortable, not to clean, but o.k. to pricy, probably the location makes up the price but not the hotel itself.

    Very very helpful and sophisticated personnel.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy on the main road, room could get a bit of renovation but was overall really ok.

    Great breakfast, convinient location. Just a short walk to Copacabana, good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet in hotel is very hectic. Out of hotel, beware of thiefs -- one in the bicycle appeared fast from night, stole golden chain from my wife's neck so fast that we even couldn't react, and in the night it disappeared.

    Nice clean hotel close to Copacabana beach. Pedro is fluent in English and very helpful guy!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing I did not like was the bed. It was too hard which sleeping a bit uncomfortable

    The hotel is very good. Great location, great ambiance large room

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Towels should be replaced by new and better.

    Excellent location (next to taxi and bus station, close to new shopping mall and not far away from metro station), very friendly stuff and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some of the staff were not smiling, looking a little bored: the guy at the breakfast buffet, and the guys handling towels to the beach and to the swimming pool.

    The Master Suite is just great. The bubble bath made me feel like Pretty Woman.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately bad wifi. Especially Apple electronics had some problems to geht a connection.

    Great breakfast!! Very polite people and a good area around: 5min walk to copacabana, buses are going directly in front of the hotel to every place in the city.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food at the restaurant was awful. We had to change rooms because of a problem with the toilet. The rooms and the corridors are narrow, with low ceilings. For the airport taxi we paid 180 reais, whereas from another hotel in Santa Teresa we took a taxi back to the airport for only 50 reais.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ideally would have liked a balcony to enjoy views of the City

    Excellent breakfast available 6am - 10.30pm. Nice rooftop pool with seats and loungers and views.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bedroom decor is dated and there is no view. The reception staff organised a taxi for me - I only needed to go a few blocks and the taxi charged me 50 Reals! You can get to the airport for half that price (and I did)!! Was my first night in Brazil. Staff should help against these scams. These taxi-men wait at the front in the morning so watch out. (Hotel is also away from the beach).

    Had everything I needed. Did the job for one night. Porter was very helpful. Breakfast was good. I slept well...well, until the morning noise of people getting up. Reception area looks modern enough.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was a little slow.

    Very nice hotel compared to the nearbys, and at a low price. The breakfast is awesome. Location is great, between beaches and city. We walked to Copacabana and Ipanema beaches.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind and helpful staff with English language skills. Excellent breakfast buffet. Ten minute walk to Copacabana Beach. Stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hospitality of team and services

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast choices.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need to work on their toilet plumbing issues.

    Great front desk staff. Excellent included breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooftop pool

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception multilingual. Not far from Copacabana beach. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Elevators make you waited for you so long time .

    Staffs are very helpfull and they smile all the time .

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    friendly staff. clean rooms, good location

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The air conditioning was very weak and did not cool off the room.

    Location, very clean, friendly staff and wonderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast. Staff at the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wlan doesn't worked sometimes.

    Breakfast was amazing

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bar on roof Poor room and facilities Too close to busy road

    Pool was nice

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    l the rooftop pool , great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in Copacabana area.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    That limited staff spoke English

    The facilities

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location. Close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lobby was very nice, staff was helpful and rooms were spacious. Breakfast was great. Great location for beach and shopping.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very friendly and accomodating.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    air con not great as needs to be on a while to kick in

    The pool Location - near metro, near beach, near supermarket The man that unlocked my safe

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated rooms Very uncomfortable bed

    Location Roof swimming pool & bar Excellent breakfast Nice service

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Merlin Copacabana Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil