Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monte Castelo 2 stars

Rua Cândido Mendes 201, Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20241-220, Brazil

#248 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1603 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Everything was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surrounding was not quite friendly but it is a Rio.

    Everything was great. I have to underline that it was very clean, every day the room was cleaned, breakfast was tasty with many different products. I recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Friendly Staff. Beautiful Architecture.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bed was terrible. This was my only problem: the bed.

    Staff was amazing. Nice guys!! Always willing to help! Very friendly. The design of the room was pretty cool. The whole building was beautiful, amazing architecture from the 1900s. Great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    ONE OF THE MOST FRIENDIEST COUNTRY I HAVE EVER BEEN TO
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    more variety for breakfast

    Hotel good location a few minutes walk to Gloria station and very close to the Marina, and it is about 45 minutes walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Stylish but super affordable hotel in one of Rio's livelist areas. Very short walk from the Metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were looking for a decent but cheap like hotel in Gloria but weren't expecting to find anything like the quality of Monte Castelo for our money! It's like a little design hotel for the price of a crappy motel! The rooms are great with large comfy beds and exposed brickwork - really stylish and a cut above most Brazilian hotel decors! Staff too are great and really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very interesting because it's an old property refurbished according to Iphan (Brazilian Institute) become in a hotel that keeps some original structures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    The staff was simply amazing, Super friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If the hotel had a laundry service it would be perfect!! :)

    The staff was simply amazing, Super friendly and helpful! The location is perfect, just few minutes from the metro Gloria. I had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic. Good location, great for lapa nightlife and tube connections to all attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The purpose of my stay was for tourism and as a young, single male lots of partying etc. The hotel was great for this price and I have no complaints.

    The staff were friendly, knowledgable and nothing was too much when asked. The door of the hotel stayed shut and locked and it made me feel secure. The hotel had 24/7 reception too and they were very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    A good location in Rio and value for money if you get the right room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I understand that many of the rooms have no window to the outside and that this is a bit of a drawback. There were no glasses supplied in the rooms and it would have nice to have these. One of the front of house people had no English at all and yet there were plenty of English speakers in the hotel. It would have been good to be able to communicate well with all the people on the desk.As usual for South American hotels there was no extractor fan in the bathroom and this needs to be remedied in almost every hotel room in the continent.

    The location in Gloria is excellent for Rio. It's within easy walking distance of the Gloria metro and the areas that you would like to walk in Rio, like the steps and the wealthy districts. There were also several good restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff mainly spoke good English (great, considering my Portuguese is non existent) and were very helpful. We spent Xmas Eve and Xmas Day at the hotel and the manager laid out a setting in the breakfast room with melon, wine glasses, cutlery etc etc and made our Xmas celebrations memorable. The rooms are small but we were fortunate in that we had a room at the back with a window opening onto the outside (and to Konker the cat) which meant that we could always have fresh air. The a/c unit was very quiet and we had comfortable and long sleeps every night we were there. I can't speak about the other rooms but we had the same room both times we were there and were very happy. The breakfasts are good although there is no cereal. Instead we had ham and cheese toasties with plenty of fruit and great coffee and cake. The internet was good but not brilliant in our room. Our room's floor was clean enough for us to do our exercises on so we had no problem with cleanliness. There was always plenty of hot water and the fittings are modern, including the small refrigerator. Overall, I reckon that it is good value for money, especially if you get the right room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel close to metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located very close to Gloria metro station. From the international airport you can get there for 16 BRL by taking bus 2018, which stops nearby and takes around 60 min. You have a supermarket and some small restaurants closeby. My room was very spacious and clean equipped with AC, TV as well as a fridge in a quiet location at the end of a corridor. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also very good, even though nothing special. If you are looking for a basic hotel in Rio with good standard and easy metro access for a reasonable price, this is your choice! I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay altogether.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovated rooms but old beds and mattresses. In the small patio construction waste. Using the toilet in bathroom for tall people somewhat complicated. Touching the wall with knees.

    Neat hotel within close reachability to metro station, supermarket and restaurants. New renovated rooms. Breakfast was okay with very good coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    A great value hotel in a very beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the windows open into a multi storey air shaft there was noise from other rooms however it was not for long and would only be a problem with really inconsiderate guests. Also in peak season you would keep the windows closed and use the air con.

    Our room was newly renovated and although there are continuing renovations they did not impact on our stay. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The breakfast was a small selection of tasty fare and more than expected for the price paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    The staff made the difference for me they were so accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Single room was 2 floors down, in the basement. No lifts, constantly up and down stairs. No wifi down there, only on upper floors. Only window, outside of bathroom, was a french door which was kept locked.

    Staff were excellent, very friendly. Well situated for shops, bars , sights etc. Had a room safe and a refridgerator

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.6
    Nice staff and breakfast but terrible room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible. Tiny room with only glass frosted window to toilet and shower that didn't close properly. If you don't mind being able to see and hear everything your travel partner is doing in the toilet then this is OK but not acceptable for most people. Not usually fussy but this wasn't good. Also there were lose wires everywhere which made it dangerous.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    The hotel facilities were very clean and we liked the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some miscommunication between the hotel staff, booking.com and us to make our transit from the International Airport to the Hotel's location. Other notes: While uber was commonly used, wifi isn't as readily accessible at the airport and the only available exchange rate at the Airport was terrible.

    The hotel facilities were very clean and we liked the renovation of the place. We chose the hotel for its convenient location and it was indeed value for its money. It is a 5-min walking distance to the nearest metro station and plenty of eateries, restaurants nearby. Walking distance to Centro or the main square is very convenient too. The hotel staff were helpful in providing recommendations on the things to do in Rio and local tips are always the best! The serve a good breakfast too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    It was clean and the staff, bed and location was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door was basicly invisible so no privacy and the room was very dark and looked like as if it was still be under construction.

    It was clean and the staff, bed and location was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be a bit better ,internet wifi a bit slow

    good price and it's safe your valuables won't be stolen from room the subway station Gloria 4 blocks away Lapa Aqueduct around 8 blocks away and Copacabana beach could be reached via metro which is Gloria station ,staff is pretty good people's some speak English some a bit Spanish,my third time staying at this hotel ,would stay again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice and basic hotel. Bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and there was a funny stinky smell when we came in the room. We asked for late check out but was not possible. Breakfast is nice but very basic. Sandwhich with ham and cheese, coffee and cake, orange juice, and fruit.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Everybody makes you feel welcome. They gave lots of options of things to do and giving direction. Also very close to a metro station. Definitely a plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Reasonable accommodation in Glória
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was quite small and with basic equipment, with the window without view (one floor below the street level). However, to be fair, for the good position and the low price I could not have expected more.

    The position was excellent, very close to the metro station The are was full of small restaurants, bars, shops. The price was very reasonable for a hotel in a central area of Rio.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be better maintained

    Staff is very helpful; check out time at noon - very good option; breakfast was good enough; value for money; available shower any time after check out and baggage storage as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Short Stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and lots of stairs

    Reception team, location, modern facilities in the room and the breakfast with lots of fruits cakes juice & delicious bread and very easy to take a taxi from doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    5.0
    Renovations happening at this hotel. 1 night enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a building site. First night no evidence of building works. In the morning the drilling and hammering started place filled with concrete dust. Couldnt stay for the remaining 5 days.

    The staff were very accomodating and helpful. I requested to move from the hotel as major RENOVATIONS where in place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    3.8
    Ongoing building works on every floor in the hotel - from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ongoing building works on every floor in the hotel - from 08:00- 00:00 Staff did not advise upfront about the works and stated they would be finished on our first day- this was incorrect Another guest entered our room with a key The safe in the first room did not work electronically and the master key was required Rooms were dated and did not reflect the photos on the website

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    5.8
    Rio 31 degrees (Celsius)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from Galeão international airport and from the bus station. Safety in Rio de Janeiro is always a concern. This is no exception. Modest facilities. The TV never delivered the goods. The bathroom provides an alternative setting for "Ant-Man".

    Close to Santos Dumont airport and to Swiss house. A couple blocks away from famous Lapa. Gloria is a nice neighborhood close to Marina da Glória, Flamengo and Botafogo. Above-average price due to good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    I really love this place and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love the front desk help. they are always pleasant and helpful. Great Brasilian hospitality. The breakfast is sparse but that is also traditional for Brasil. If you are expecting more you will pay for it to be closer to Copacabana or Ipanema.

    Monte Castelo is not for everyone. I happen to live in Brasil and am very comfortable if a hotel is clean and the bed is comfortable. The hotel may not meet everyones standards but the price is right and the location, for me, fabulous. I can get to the metro easily and be in Copacabana in 15 minutes. I love the local flavor and the staff is wonderful. I have stayed here several times and will continue to do so,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    economical stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a bit poor but reasonable for the price.

    Wifi, TV facilities were good. Location was good, it was near from Gloria subway station and supermarkets. Flamengo beach was walking distance. (10 minutes)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Good location, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are two "underground" floors with effectively no outside-facing windows. But you get used to it and, let's face it, you don't go to Rio to stay in your room...

    Very nice staff, good breakfast, good service and location (just around the corner from a metro station, 10-minutes walk to Lapa)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Great breakfast, nice staff, very good and safe location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tiny bathroom, noisy in the mornings, WiFi in the room was weak and breaking every other minute

    Great breakfast, nice staff, very good and safe location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.3
    Convenient accommodation in older part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Missed having a hair dryer and kettle. The bathroom (or shower room) was minute with the smallest basin I have ever seen.

    The breakfast was good with fresh fruit, cold meat, cheese, bread and rolls plus good coffee. The room also had a modern safe that could fit a laptop. Gregora restaurant down the road is worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only few minor things which won't affect your stay over all.

    Friendly and helpful staff. They speak English pretty well. Nearby are shops, restaurants, supermarkets. A walking distance to the metro station & bus stops, taxis are waiting in front of the hotel. If you like strolling around you maybe able to go downtown/marina by foot. Breakfast buffet is the same everyday consisting of fresh fruits, assortment of bread, cheese & cold cuts with coffee, tea and orange juice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel really enjoyed my stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really minor point the shower room and toilet was very compact so got a bit of getting used to but everything else was really good.

    Location and staff were excellent. Breakfast is a very good continental style but plent of it if you want. being Brasil they also have cake at Breakfast so that's good with me. Staff always on call if needed. Location wise it's very near Gloria metro so for me was very convenient as I was a volunteer at the Paralympics. I saw a comment saying breakfast wasn't good the breakfast here is more than good enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Stayed during Olympics so price was inflated at this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for a whole week and a few times when we had to request towels, loo roll as not fully serviced. Room and bathroom is very compact and concertina bathroom door becomes annoying! Our room was off an internal corridor and 2 floors below street level. Seems majority of rooms are like this rather than ones with street views. Other guests banging their doors shut rather than using key to close!

    Stayed during Olympics so price was inflated at this time. Staff really friendly and helpful at all times. Perfect location to Gloria Metro and felt safe in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    Crear locación for Gloria, Sta Teresa & Lapa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor rooms are not so quiet early in the morning because they are on the way to breakfast area. If you need to rest ask for 1st floor or higher & no street.

    Great coffe and quality fruits (3 varieties). Kitchen staff is ready all the time to clean the tables and replenish empty trays from buffet. Reception desk guys very friendly and proactive. Good sized tv with cable & music streaming. Well designed open closet and laptop table useful for 2 big backpacks; even though the room was no huge we didn't fell cramped with our stuff. Stayed once in stopover and a second time coming back to Rio. Close to Metro Gloria in quiet lively residential area & supermarkets and food botecos.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.1
    Depending on price I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing was adequate for a short stay as a single.

    Staff were very good. Everything else was average. Breakfast was "interesting and adequate".

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff and the quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, feel like you part of the community
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really like the location, you feel like part of the community

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    La PRIVACITE est toujours FORMIDABLE
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Everything is FABULOUS

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Exquisite architecture.Great!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing had bothered me.

    Everything is FABULOUS.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean room with fresh supplies everyday, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean room with fresh supplies everyday, nice breakfast and the staff spoke English and were very helpfull, defo recomend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Interesting
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain.

    Everything is FABULOUS!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, good staff but the bed is not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed is made by two single bed, what make it no so comfortable for a couple

    Good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Simpatia total!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super charmoso

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location near a metro station, and you can walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real views from the windows.

    Great location near a metro station, and you can walk to the city centre safely. Really nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    i suggest this hotel to people who visit rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -1st and -2th floors smell humid but other floors are good

    good location, friendly staff, enough breakfast, room service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Staff & Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Wifi connection

    Staff & Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Rapport qualité-prix

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable for travel alone close to Lapa busy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Location close to Lapa and to the Metro. Luciano and Marcelo receptions staff very helpful....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Love the helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap. Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Decent location not too far away from the Gloria metro.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent location not too far away from the Gloria metro. Staff very helpful in organising excursions. Decent breakfast especially at the weekends!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Can’t wait to return again great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving at the end.

    Staff and location superb 2nd time I have stayed here. Breakfast really nice continental with fresh fruit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Ten points
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo perfect

    Excelente atención

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometime, wifi did not work, but staff helped to fix soon

    Location, close to subway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    cozy and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    at night , there was some noisy when I prepared to go to bed

    it was really cozy for traveler alone and really reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    The staff was helpfull and excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some neighbouring streets were stinky.

    The staff was helpfull and excellent. The metro was close.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Value for money, great locatio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, value for money. Reception staff, specially Luciano, he really knows how to make the guests feel special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfortable bed.. Reception staff very friendly specially Luciano, he really knows how to make guests feel special.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi upstairs was interrupted at times; bit noisy at times

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.8
    Great location, and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior rooom with no window.

    Great location, and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.3
    The room was dirty when we checked in, like there was sand...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty when we checked in, like there was sand on the floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Aircon was a huge bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was a huge bonus

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.5
    I was satisfied with shops and restaurants around and with metro station near the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location and atmosphere around the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Clean and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locker didn't work in my room

    Clean and good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    Thanks to their helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds may be more comfortable

    Thanks to their helpful staff; Leonardo, Luciano and Alexander

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.6
    Great staff and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple breakfast, but okay.

    Staff and location were great! Near Lapa, which you can reach by walk. Staff was really helpfull and great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    great location friendly people
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    5.8
    Just a place to crash
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too small

    Fast internet

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location (near metro station), english speaking hotel staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Safe and friendly hotel, cheap, but clean and perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Best service, best venue, safe venue, supermarket 200m remoted, Metro 300m, friendly reception, very helpful: best location in rio - why pay more?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    It is near from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't allow visitor enter in your room.

    It is near from airport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    5.4
    This is a low grade hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room turned out to be a small single and set of bunks. More hostel than hotelt

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    Good location, close to a metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom is very small. No direct daylight in the room.

    Good location, close to a metro station. Friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    8.8
    Excellent to offer early check in and breakfast after a long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could have different choices of breakfast in a week. Almost the same everyday for a week.

    Excellent to offer early check in and breakfast after a long journey to arrive Rio in morning. I can take a shower after check out before my way back to home. Central location to most attraction points with metro access. Beaches can be reached within 30 minutes metro ride.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.9
    The staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - really small room - very noisy - the rooms on the underground gave the feeling of clautrophobia - no much privacy

    The staff! Its the best part, they are very very helpfull and nice. The cleaning lady even organized our belongs in the wardrobe. We were able to do an earlier check-in and have the breakfast without paying anything else for it. - Shared computers for the guests. - good location

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    8.8
    Safe location in Gloria, computers in the hallway to use for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise from the corridors in the morning, no eggs for breakfast, most of TV channels blocked

    Safe location in Gloria, computers in the hallway to use for free, clean room with aircon and TV

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Monte Castelo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil