Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Normandie Design Hotel 4 stars

Av. Ipiranga 1187, Sao Paulo, CEP 01039-000, Brazil

#226 of 516 hotels in Sao Paulo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1771 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was in desperate need of renovation. Maybe this is understandable for such a cheap stay.

    Very good breakfast, helpful staff and good location in the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont advertise that your staff speak english when they dont. It was very difficult to communicate with them. They barely had basic english. As a result i coulnt assk them for directions or where to go.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street gets noisy sometimes, make sure your windows are closed well. With the ear plugs I slept like a baby.

    The breakfasts were decent Staff very accommodating and polite Great room, simple but comfortable Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially placed in a room beside the Main Street and it was ridiculously noisy. We had to request a change at 1 am which was reluctantly given to us (even though our room looked nothing like the pictures provided through booking.com). Neighbourhood also felt very unsafe. Wifi didn't work in our room and then on our last night in the hotel when we were trying to book flights, the wifi stopped working throughout the hotel.

    Breakfast was fine, some of the reception staff were friendly and helpful while others weren't so much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Unsafe areas surrounding the hotel - Smokers allowed (I could smell cigarette on the hall of my room's floor) - bathroom's floor tiles are artisctly but they look like dirt (white with rustic black spots). Not nice at all. - curtains could be replaced so that they 'd appropriately block sun light.

    * Nice staff * Easy check-in * Great room, simple but comfortable * Great shower * Gooo breakfast option * Booking.com price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Artistic tiles details in the bathroom made it seem like dirty. Not cool. Dangerous surroundings

    Fast check-in Great price A soup or macaroni were offered as a courtesy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont know where to start.... We had a TERRIBLE night at this hotel. I definitely DON'T recommend you to stay in here. When we looked from booking.com, it seemed like a nice 4 stars hotel. We had a half pension stay (a dinner and breakfast). When we arrived at the hotel at 21.30, we asked the receptionist where can we get dinner. He directed us to the hotel restaurant. And they tried to make us pay for the dinner, even though it was stated that dinner is included in booking.com. And they told us that it was only valid in the afternoon. The room they gave us was terrible, very uncomfortable, dirty. And so noisy. It was looking to the main street and the windows were wooden. There was no noise isolation. We could not sleep all night. My husband went to lobby to sit there all night. When it was almost morning (about 6 a.m.) the receptionist offered him a free room, on the back side of the hotel to sleep, and he accepted. He slept for 2 hours. Even though they offered him for free, in the morning they tried to charge us that room, too! The general manager was also there, he was incapable of any problem solving and customer satisfaction means nothing to them. This place turned our honeymoon into a nightmare. Don't ever stay there.

    We didn't like anything about this hotel. It was terrible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should not called it a design hotel, seriously. There is nothing related to design aspect. Bathroom was not so clean specially the shower cabin.

    Breakfast was ok, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It may be a little bit noisy outside but except for that, everything was perfect!

    The service was outstanding. They were really nice to us our whole stay. They were really warm and helpful. Whether to call a cab for the airport, whether to give us a hand when we had a problem with another hotel. I am really grateful to this hotel. They were too nice to us! I would definitely recommend it. The buffet was also amazing, i didn't expect that and it was delightful ! I had a very good time at this hotel :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not located in the funkiest sides of town. Good connections to other parts of the city via subway though

    Friendly staff, providing free secondary services is no problem (printing, storing luggage for a longer time). Breakfast is good, lots of choice

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice but the bathroom had a lot of spot who don't clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many hobos in the neighborhood (especially during the night)

    Breakfast (selection, freshness of food, service) Size of room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the green eyed recepcionist must have been on a very bad day. the room was very disappointing.

    breakfast. and the door man

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant Closed. Neighborhood a bit dangerous by night. Staff didn't speack English or Spanish.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and breakfast

    it's very good hotel and the price is cheap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    The breakfasts were very generous. Staff very accommodating and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the center of Cracklandia, unsafe to walk outside.

    Great breakfast and lunch buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good stuff, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Localização

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be updated

    It is close to almost everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, simple rooms

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the bed, the shower, breakfast, lots of mold.......

    The staff and the workers are very friendly. They helped me a lot

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is not a 4 star hotel. Could be categorized as 3 star.

    Center of Sao Paulo.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location does not feel very safe at night.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi

    good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Horrible district!!! NEVER chose the center of Sao Paolo for accommodation. There are only homeless and criminal people. After 9 pm it is completely dangerous place! As to hotel it is old and quite dirty. I do not understand how this hotel got such a good rating!

    Nice breakfast with shampaine

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Photos does not quite reflect the reality. Room was a bit old and the entire place would need some renovation. Bathrooms weren't that clean either

    really good breakfast selection!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was filthy, a lot of someone's hairs in the bed and on the floor! Horrible furniture and no proper air con.

    Breakfast was good. That's about it...

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms did feel a bit sparse. However, I spent most of my time exploring the city so this was not a major issue. Also, the neighborhood is not Sao Paulo's swankiest, however it does have many interesting landmarks and architectural gems.

    The hotel was a good value when considering its price. The property was clean with excellent staff and centrally located to many of Sao Paulo's historic landmarks and metro system. The morning breakfast was excellent. The rooms met the basic needs of those travelers spending most of their day outside of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unless you want to go shopping at the 25 de março, it is a really scary place to walk around! A não ser que seu propósito seja fazer compras na 25 de março e lojas da eletrônicos a vizinhança é péssima. Tive medo de andar. Não recomendo o centro de São Paulo, só a paulista.

    The staff was great, the facilities were good , everything was clean and wifi was good. Serviço bom, tudo funcionava bem. Não tenho nada a reclamar sobre o hotel. Só a localização .

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very basic and partially resembled a cell with a bed. An improvement in beds and decor would make this an excellent place to stay.

    The staff was very accommodating to help with all our needs upon first arriving in Brazil

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel should be honest and say it is 2-3 star. It is a great 2-3 star but not 4 star.

    Breakfast was amazing. Hotel still being renovated. Our second bedroom much better than first. Reception staff very helpful with directions and arranging early check-in with no additional cost.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street gets noisy sometimes, make sure your windows are closed well

    Excellent breakfast! Good WiFi Centrally located

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ok

    Ok

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet connection was poor, or not working at all

    Location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Group

    Staff was nice and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have any bad experience in the hotel.

    Great breakfast, good location, friendly and helpful staff - big thanks to all.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location not so good, looks old and not really "design" look.

    Really friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast is OK. Really cheap!

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean facility. Kind and professional staffs. Great location. Easy access to downtown. Breakfast is also great.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from window. Noise.

    Breakfast, clean, comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Almoco ..too dark and cleaning of tables very unprofessional...

    Privacy and concern for guest is very good..

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The area was a little seedy

    Staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed is small..single bed....not much English is spoken.

    Location is good ..staff is nice & helpful...food is good.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My First Night was horrible due to the Language barrier and also location of the hotel.

    The receptionist, The complimentary Breakfast, Free Wifi.9

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Browse Normandie Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil