Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Convento do Carmo 4 stars

Rua do Carmo, 1, Santo Antonio, Salvador, CEP 40301-380, Brazil

#61 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 548 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is weak, doesn't match the quality of the property.

    Outstanding location, fantastic XVII century building that went by an amazing retrofit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the sauna and jacuzzi was open past 4 o'clock. We didn't get a chance to try it out after a day of sightseeing

    Bed was super comfy and staff were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have parking, you have to park your car at the street if you are lucky to find a spot during weekends

    The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the heart of pelourinho! The architecture and history of the buildind is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely staff, amazing location for the true feel of Bahia. Music in the streets, people in white during novenas in the open churches. Magical atmosphere and tranquility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property itself is very old and is a part of history. Gorgeous art is mounted on its walls. I would have liked to have seen some information about the significance of some of the old structures still standing on the property and about the convent-hotel's place in its historic neighborhood. A friend told me that people were bought and sold here long ago, for example, but I didn't see any placard at the hotel acknowledging that past. Education should be an important part of the travel experience and tourism industry.

    I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this quiet, elegant, and spacious hotel. The staff is exceptionally accommodating, professional, and friendly. They went out of their way to ensure that I was comfortable in, and satisfied with, my room. I felt like a princess in her castle. The hotel's restaurant features a splendid dinner menu, and the breakfast buffet (which is included in the daily room fee) is lovely. Thank you for a beautiful experience!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast around 10 was closing but at 9 all the food was already over. Need to ask for everything, they dont have basics as honey. No water, no juice uve almost have to beg to have some ( it means to wait at least 10minutes). Not to mention if u do have to order an omelette or their tapioca crepees. Service at the swimming pool doesnt exist, no towels available, we asked for a couple of towels, 30minutes awaiting and we ve received only cause we went to complaint. No.complimentary water in the room. Just one set of towel in the room that was booked for two people.

    Great location. The convento is amazing and well located. The swimming pool very relaxing. Confortable king size bed. Bathroom with very big shower. check in fast and kind receptionist who gave us all the info we were looking for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location - edge of the historic district with a steep, bumpy walk to the centre. No high heels! Electrics a bit rudimentary (but aircon quiet and efficient). Bedclothes just laid on top of large bed, not tucked in, so they got tangled in the night. Maid/room service a little vague, towels etc. not always correctly replaced. Bar and restaurant are a separate company so you pay as you go.

    This is a haven of peace and tranquillity, shielding you from the noise and bustle of the big city. The cloisters and corridors are dignified, spacious and elegant, the pool superb. The reception staff very welcoming, and able to organise anything you might need. Restaurant good overall and does a superb moqueqa. Well worth the minor inconveniences detailed below.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small of humidity especially in the Reception area

    The location: very central. The antique historical convent changed into a hotel Charming, old fashioned atmoshpere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing in our room was a disaster, the room smelled of sewer and the AC filters hadn't been maintained. The gym was disgusting, not one piece of equipment in working conditions, it was dirty and moldy, no AC!!

    It was an old convent, a historic monument and it felt like traveling back in time. The Patio and swimming pool, the restaurant (breakfast) and the staff was courteous and polite, especially the front-desk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The day I got to the hotel I tried to eat at the hotel's restaurant, but after making the order the waiter said that a few dishes were not available that day. Actually most of the dishes that were on the menu were not available. That was rather disappointing as many restaurants on the street were closed due to Santa Barbara's party

    The hotel is really beautiful and the staff is very good and ready to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be a bit better.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is good. The charm of the old convent. The rooms are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant facilities after breakfast, no bar operated in the evening, most likely due to low tourist season. A quiet recluse but at times, too dark and dreary. Rooms were small and dark with only one window that barely opened.

    The location in Santo Antonio

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more lights in the room would have been nice. Or more powerful bulbs.

    The location is perfect for Salvador – in the old town but not in its center. So you get to restaurants and attractions quickly but are not in the middle of the tourist hubbub. There are several good restaurants not more than five minutes away (walking). One can also eat well in the hotel's restaurant. The staff was very friendly and some of them spoke English. Of course, the whole setting in an old convent is very romantic and stylish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the particular atmosphere recreated by keeping the monastery as it was in the past, the facilities has not been properly updated: a/c did not work, the shower was encrusted and the room was humid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old and needs renovation. The hangers inside the closet were extremely dusty- The room wasn't well cleaned and the bed sheets and duvet felt like it hasn't been cleaned in ages! The floors make a sound everytime you walk... No offering of complimentary water or anything

    Location within a walking distance of the main city. Staff at reception was verry friendly and helpful. The hotel used to be a convent so it has a nice mystical/horror side to it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a little improvement with the culinary. Thats all.

    Fantastic place. An old convent turned into a beautiful small hotel. Center of the old town, near all the "action" so to speak. Very helpful management/staff, eager to assist and with a big smile. Beautiful place. Dont be detered by the 4* star title its much more than any other place in this town. the way dont miss Salvador. Super interesting town with unique history.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a hotel it's decaying has no maintenance or very poor one, everything is falling apart , tissues , furniture, tables , exaustion systems full of dust, dirty walls, room smeels like old dust , very old furniture in the room you really get the felling you are in a convent (in the bad way). The swimming pool although big is very dirty it has no shower in the pool. The breakfast is satisfatory but its confusing sometimes you have no glasses sometimes nos cups some times no plates... I think the hotel is porly managed , understaffed and it needs to be closed for a long remodeling. This hotel is from Pestana Group (Pousadas Of Portugal)that have excelent luxury hotels which have visited several times in Portugal in old castle and convents and I'm really perplexed how can this hotel group leave this one, that could be the best hotel in Salvador, become a old decadent 5 start hotel.

    This hotel has a magnificent background atmosphere the building is beautiful convent you feel somehow getting inside a historic building (not a hotel). You have a large swimingpool very rare for salvador center hotels. The location is easy to access by car or táxi and you can visit many local museums from salvador.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor by Brazilian standards. The fruit not always ripe, they had granola on the first day but not for the next two . The croissants were inedible, heavy, stodgy and pallid. Their cakes were plain. The three of us who ordered fried eggs wished they could have cooked them themselves. They were hard. The juices for breakfast were disappointing too. We ordered and paid for fresh orange juice.

    Our room was attractive but of only moderate size and the bathroom was good. The bed was comfortable. It's a gorgeous building with plenty of spaces to sit and talk. Attractive bar area. The receptionist was extremely helpful and advised us where we could change money and recommended places to eat. Counts a lot in a new place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the atmosphere of the convent is amazing but the facilities are outdated and not up to the standard that the price demands. I can imagine the difficulties in converting a convent to a luxury hotel but old fixtures, moldy bathroom, dusty furniture and bedding is not acceptable in "luxury hotel". I found two roaches in my room. I live in a tropical climate and know all about trying to keep bugs out of places but I've never encountered roaches in a luxury hotel before even in a tropical climate

    the neighborhood is great and the ambiance of the convent is amazing with music and candles at night, I enjoyed the over all feel of the hotel but the rooms need work. They are also much smaller and darker than the pictures imply, at least on the 2nd floor

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately in my opinion the hotel is a really bad option 😧 I was there in 2010 and then was a completely different history now it's totally decadent. The reduced number of employees compromise the quality of attendance. Restaurant and bar closed from 9pm on New Year's Eve. The shortage of items at breakfast was depressing. There were no basic supplies for drinks in the bar and in the restaurant such as salt and pepper. The pool water was cloudy, disgusting. Dark rooms, lack of maintenance, several lamps burned in the corridors. Run away from this property!😐

    Nothing 🤔

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained facilities, cheapest possible items at breakfast, dirty sun lounger mattresses, poor wifi, surly staff, very expensive caipirinhas. It must've been a spectacular hotel when it first opened but it's simply being left to rot, the staff seem demotivated and abandoned - they try not to make eye contact. Not a five star hotel or experience by international standards.

    The old building has lots of character.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing hotel! Historic place, great location, and very quiet, even being situated at Pelourinho. Close to a lot of the main attractions, really nice staff and we loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms in the higher floor are a bit like in a maze/labyrinth to find - long walks through gang-/passageways to get to room. The hotel could need a rennovation! Breakfast assortment was not that great - could be more variety. That the caterer (restaurant and bar) does not belong to the hotel makes payment unnecessarily complicated (can't just bill the room, but need to use card or cash - would be good if billing via hotel room were possible).

    Amazing atmospheric building set in old monastery with charming courtyards, spacious rooms. Great location close to the old town. The restaurant is good - try the local speciality "Mochecha".

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the hotel needs restauration badly - breakfast rather poor - pool in bad condition

    - quiet location near old town - impressive historic building - comfy bends - friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were dirty. When you book they say they have cable tv with complete selection, that wasn't true and the tvs barely worked. Sheets didn't fit the beds properly. The breakfast buffet was one of the worst I have tried in Brazil. The cost doesn't match what you will find.

    It's a cool old building. You feel like part of the history of the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the cover of the sittings in the garden should be changed.

    The hotel as a building is so nice. Its an old monastry but with renewed rooms and bathroom. And the garden was so nice to sit and enjoy the evenings. In the safe and good area with some nice cafe and bars on the same streets. Quite and peaceful area...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Given the fact that the hotel is advertised as a "5 star hotel", I was very unpleasantly surprise to see how poor the management structure was. First of all, it is very wrong that it's not mentioned among the information on the web that all the services in the hotel stop at 11 pm and all the staff leave the hotel at that time. Once I forgot my key in my room, and the only person I could find in the building was the security guard who didn't speak any english. I really freaked out that I was not going to be able to get in my room until I figured out a way to communicate with him through google translate on my phone, and he used his key to open my door. On my departure I left the hotel at 5 am due to a very early flight. From the night before, the reception staff - the only English speaking persons in the hotel - told the night guard to come to my room in the morning and help me with my heavy suitcase. But nobody came and I had to carry it myself (I have an injured wrist, it was quite difficult). It is very strange for a 5 star hotel that you can't charge anything on your room at the bar or the restaurant. You are supposed to pay each time immediately as you eat-drink something, therefore carry cash-credit card with you at all times. I was eager to use the sauna which was advertised in the web, but it was under maintenance during my whole stay. The pool water was quite green and thick whey I arrived. I have been told it was going to be fixed. Towards the end of the next day some work has been done, but it still looked very green. I haven't seen any guests dearing to enter it during my entire stay. Although they seem to be nice people, it is very inconvenient that none of the bar - restaurant staff speak no English at all. I believe a 5 star hotel should have at least some staff who can communicate with non-local people in each of their devisions.

    The beautiful historical building which has a magical atmosphere. The nice reception people who are kind and helpful - the only English speakig people in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worse breakfast I ever had in a hotel! The internet doesn't work on the room. The bathroom floods when you take a shower and the water goes everywhere. There is no keycard and only one key per room, The air conditioning is oud, makes a lot o noise and not strong enough to this tropical climate. The people who works there is extremely unprepared and unprofessional.

    The building is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charms Building

    Poor breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some little fashion could be up-dated

    location and the hotel's garden

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room and slightly dusty

    Great location and very quaint building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noice of the airco even when it was turned off.

    The service at the reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building, staff and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beleza do hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room smelled horrible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs maintenance - smelled like mold sometimes

    Building is beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entire hotel need a serious renovation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but a bit pricy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning bad. Food awful and food and bar staff dreadful.

    Reception staff were great and lovely historic building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was partially broken. That cannot happen in such a nice hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs remodeling. Looks dated and old.

    Beautiful hotel architecture. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a remodeling, but is Charming

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Wonderful setting and location comfortable beds nice swimming pool good service fantastic garden and very quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor maintenance, looked empty and neglected ( missing light bulbs, empty mini bar..) .

    Beautiful building and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, food and very friendly employees!! I will book this hotel again :-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building was smelling partially of dung. Room was quite dark. AC and lights were not working despite report

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dirty, torn down

    Location, rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, restaurant and pool were dirty. There was a lot of noise. No cable tv. And no staff that could bring solutions to any problems.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an enchanting, historic building with beautiful artwork and a peaceful ambiance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the atmosphere, my room - tapioca crepes for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing space, amazing building I was in awe of the space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool area could be better maintained. Loungers needed repairs and the pool required more cleaning.

    Beautiful old convent in a good location, reception staff could not be faulted.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was too dark -- on ground floor; poor lighting in the room. Lunch was poor quality; snacks were better.

    Helpful staff; near the center of the historic city.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The poor maintenance is absolutely not of a five star hotel! Carpets and fabrics in hallways and rooms are very, very dirty, as well as dining chairs and pool chaises cushions. Bad smell in some areas like the elevator. The safe in our room was out of order, despite our numerous requests, nobody came to fix it during our 4 nights stay..There was a leak in one of our bathrooms, nobody seemed to be aware of it...the towels are thin and old, barely white. There is no shower around the pool, nobody rinses before entering the water. Gym equipment is outdated. On the first day, our room was still not cleaned at 5pm...we had to wait until the day after to have it done. Upon departure, we asked for a late checkout which was refused, but we where insured that we would be able to shower in the gym before departure in the afternoon : when we asked for towels, no more available. We went back to our room, the door was still open, it had not been cleaned yet...so we used our room towels, wonder why they refused a late checkout! The breakfast is nothing special (although Brazil is number one orange producer in the world, no more orange juice after 10:30 on our first day). Last but not least, the hotel is located right under Bahia airport landing route, a lot of low flying airplanes noise!

    We liked the convenient location and the beauty of this historic building. Front desk good assistance about what to do in the area.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelly towels, Smelly bed linen and pillows, overall hygiene is a serious concern, 5 star rating completely inappropriate as well as booking.com score.

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the breakfast is not not reactive. The quality of breakfast is poor taking in consideration that it is 4/5 stars hotel.

    The building and furniture are impressive. A heaven of peace!

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I'm writing this to give some feedback, not because I didn't enjoy my stay at the hotel. Overall it was a beautiful calm oasis to return to after being in the heat of Salvador. So, some small points: -gym wasn't air conditioned and the treadmills barely worked. Given the high security presence in Salvador and the narrow cobbled streets, going jogging by yourself does not appear to be an option, so having a functional gym would have been good. - The breakfast was large and varied (with excellent fruit and juices and good scrambled eggs), but a few simple things would have made it better: cold milk for muesli (not lukewarm even at 7am), muesli that didn't taste like mothballs, bread rolls that had been properly baked (not still doughy and undercooked). - getting laundry done costed a small fortune. It was as expensive as getting laundry done in a 5-star hotel in Australia.

    Location at the edge of the old city centre was great. There are some good restaurants just nearby (handy for families with young kids) and it is only a short walk to the centre of the old town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and could speak English well (reception staff).

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool was more for show and not really meant for swimming. the breakfast lacked eggs except watery scrambled eggs, no vegetables or soy milk, honey only on the first day. We expect a coffee pot and makings in a room that is charging this much. In others Brazilian hotels this is standard.

    Beautiful grounds and lots of antiques. had a wonderful massage from Euridyche in the spa and at a fair price. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The gym was not clean The breakfast buffet did not have always the natural yogurt that we requested and the eggs were cold

    The location was very good and the hotel was beautiful . Great people at the reception and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the junior suit and were really disappointed by the bathroom. It is very dated and small, something you expect to see in a cheap hostel rather than a five star hotel. The towels were very worn, grey and really thin with threads hanging off the edges. Most of the furniture in the hotel was very worn as well. The armchairs in the bar are all stained and have water marks. The hotel really requires a face lift.

    The hotel is set in a beautiful historic building and has gorgeous courtyard, where you can enjoy your breakfast outside or relax by the pool. We had a really good time cooling down by the pool on comfortable loungers during the midday heat after exploring the streets of the historic centre.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gay friendly attitude of staff. The quiet, peaceful atmosphere of the hotel. The comfortable room complete with air conditioning and good bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately our dinner experience was poor, otherwise we would have eaten there again since the atmosphere was great with the live music.

    Location is excellent, we loved the grounds, the pool area made our trip memorable, we rushed back to have our drinks sitting in the pool. We would go back to Salvador just for the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A one in a million hotel Fantastic building great staff Great location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanless

    I like very much the kindness of Francesca

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - wifi not working - beds and bedding not good - musty smell in room - "sauna" was closed during our stay

    - staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    24h pool access

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful spirit of the staff and place!

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool chairs could be cleaner and towels could be better

    Great building, comfortable rooms and a povely pool area

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dark room

    Nice pool

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bath towels are very old

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gym was a little sparse and out of date

    Beautiful setting, attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful, historic building close to many tourist sites. Very attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the Hotel were some of the best in Brazil, they made it a true pleasure to stay here, especially in such a beautiful hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is poor.

    The building, the staff, the room.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pestana Convento do Carmo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil