Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Rio Atlantica 4 stars

Avenida Atlântica, 2964, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22070-000, Brazil

#319 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 975 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my boyfriend forget his blouse in the room, we sent a message right after to the staff to come and take it back, no answer, I sent a second mail and then we had anegatif answer as there is no blouse in the room. the staff stole it and i dont think that this is a professional behavior. We also paid very expansive for a room sea view, the room has nothing to do with the pictures! we didn't have a direct view on the sea, just from the corner of the balcony you see a bit of the sea.

    rooftop and breakfast were really good! it's one of the best rooftops in copacabana !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff were useless. Constant queue at the reception desk, taking a long time to check people in and out. Breakfast items not restocked and tables not reset quickly enough. The patio door in my room would not lock or even close properly. This was also the case for my friends room. After numerous calls and various non english speaking staff coming to my room the door was not fixed. I also had to request a safety deposit box, which was eventually brought to my room. At least them my stuff was somewhat safe seen as my door didn't lock, although the safety deposit box was not secured to anything so somebody could just pick it up and walk away with all my valuables.

    Excellent location. Good value for money overall. Comfy beds. Decent sized swimming pool for Rio standards.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location on Copacobana beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not soundproof at all, can hear traffic, people yelling in the streets and coming and going all night (this is from the 9th level). There are 3 lifts and every day for 6 days one of them would break down.

    Great location on Copacobana beach Friendly staff - very accommodating with us speaking English

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely magnificent and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't serve bacon or pork sausage at breakfast......but I survived as the breakfast was still outstanding The safe in our room didn't work yet we told reception about 5 times and eventually gave up

    Liked the actual hotel, the breakfast, the staff.....it was across the beach...beautiful sea views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Will not be back at this place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty curtains, outdated/cracked leather on chair in bedroom. Dirty walls. Dripping air conditioner. Dirty hallways. Definitely in great need of cleaning, painting inside and outside as well as terrible service. Went to the roof top bar and sat at the bar for almost 10 minutes and the barman was too busy talking to a friend and nobody else was there to be served. Barman completely ignored me and woud not attend me if I had not asked for service. Then he did not speak a word of English. The cushions of the chairs/benches had holes and the glass around to see was dirty. Definitely does not deserve more than a 2.5 star.

    The breakfast was sufficiently varied. The coffee was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Cleaning could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not up to standard. I believe they don’t use hoover and moping was not everyday either. Shower and bath tubs were not touched at all in our 8 nights stay. in breakfast no fresh tomatoes and other salads available. Their room keys are very sensitives and we need to re-activate them nearly every time we were coming back to room.

    Location and rooftop pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay in Rio - location on Copacabana beach- one of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing especially the coffee. No variety of what was served. Every day was exactly the same. Crockery was chipped. The bar man on the roof top bar was very abrupt- not sure if it was the language barrier!!!!

    The reception guys were great. They could speak English very well and were very helpful with tours, taxis, metros etc. Location was superb. Couldnt have asked for a better location. The centre of all the beach nightlife! stunning roof top bar!! We had a room with a partial sea view and a small balcony which served its purpose.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great views from the roof top balcony and the daily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great views from the roof top balcony and the daily breakfast was a nice treat! Being right across the street from the beach and so many restaurants around was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff (good English)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom bathroom doesn’t have a proper door , it is a sliding glass door so there is not much privacy in the bathroom.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff (good English) clean rooms , nice roof top with a great view , good value, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff, property needs a over haul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are showing their age and are not clean. The linen did not fit the bed well and kept coming off. The gym is dirty as well. For some strange reason, the pool opens at 10am which doesn’t fit in with a schedule of a business or leisure traveler. 2 out of 3 lifts are extremely slow and take about 2 mins to get to the 12th floor. If you require total silence to sleep, do not take the top floors as the music from the deck bar is loud (did not bother us). Overall, I wouldn’t stay here again.

    Great location on the doorstep of Copacabana Beach and a host of bars, juice shops and restaurants. Friendly and attentive staff. Nothing else is positive about this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is in a perfect location just across from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is in a perfect location just across from the beach and this is the second time we have stayed there. You do not get a lot for your money in Rio.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Good as always but unecessary problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was closed exactly in the morning we wanted to stay there...and it seemed that the products that were used to clean the pool could easily have been used during the night also. As we found the Jacuzzi also not working we were not amused at all.

    Beds and shower very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Excellent beach-front hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food/drinks in the rooftop bar are unnecessarily overpriced, which keeps the bar mostly empty in the evening.

    The staff at Pestana is outstanding and by far the greatest asset of this hotel. Johnatan, in particular, was exceedingly helpful and corteous. The rooftop pool is a nice place to enjoy the welcome drinks they offer. Finally, the breakfast is outstanding and the tapioca/eggs station is wonderful (even though there is a bit of a line during breakfast "rush hour").

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    It's a great hotel with great rooftop views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The safe stopped working and they were repairing it few time so I needed to stay in my room loosing my time.

    The room and rooftop was brilliant, including the Dj ! The breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place, but needs a renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For a luxury hotel, which it should surely be, it needed some renovation. 1 of 3 elevators didn't work, leading to long waits. Front desk was understaffed. Towels were old and crusty.

    Stunning location and rooftop bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    3.8
    Terrible , dirty in places especially by pool area, terrible staff hotels needs a serious renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty toilet on arrival and was the same when we changed room.The poor ,tired old furniture, no duvet covers meaning other people had slept on same duvet. In two rooms air vent in bathroom could not be used as sounded like an aeroplane taking off. Air conditioning unit making terrible noise. Very poor room cleaning staff. The swimming pool area tired, dirty, needed painting, discusting cushions and sofas, broken chairs,bar area that need a clean and up date. Unclean beds around pool. Poor breakfast.Very poor staff at breakfast very miserable.Got stuck in broken lift. Side rooms with two balconies? Be aware they are not balconies you can go out onto they are sliding doors balcony about 10 inches deep very disappointing. Unwelcoming bar area in reception. One day smell of sewers in reception. Very little security anyone can walk in and go to rooms. On a sat the bar on top floor has music charges the public. If you want to go to your room queue of people all getting in lift who do not belong to hotel.

    The Position of Hotel was the only good thing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Just OK. Don’t expect too much.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is somewhat 80is style and quite worn. The pictures available do not illustrate the hotel correcty. They show the hotel better the it really is. Breakfast is so so.

    The location and the view from the hotel is excellent. The internet is good and free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Best view from the rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms, the food choice is very limited in the restaurant, personnel in restaurant don't speak English at all...

    Very cozy bed, very nice personnel, the rooftop view is the best one in Rio

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good breakfast with a huge variety of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door to the bathroom in the room was heavy and hard to slide. We asked the maintenance people to try to make it slide better but nothing changed. The guest relations lady wasn’t very nice when I invited family to eat and drink at their rooftop bar during the day. She said they couldn’t be wearing their bathing suits if they were not the hotel guest and asked them to put their clothes on, which was kinda embarrassing. She could’ve talked to me in a better way.

    Very good breakfast with a huge variety of food. The restaurant and bar staff were nice to us! The rooftop was pleasant to stay and we enjoyed the pool area. The view of Copacabana beach is amazing! The location is very good, in front of the beach and lots of shops around the hotel. Room was comfortable and quiet. We had a great time with our family with two small kids!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasent Stay with no problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C in room leaking on floor showing long term damage to laminate. Problem never resolved. Bathroom looking worn. Generally a hotel this standard should look cleaner and more detailed!

    Front desk staff and doorman very helpful and could speak English. Gave us a room early on arrival. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Centrally located hotel on Copacabana. Great view from Top.
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Beware of possible loud music from beach bars on Avenida Atlantica in the late evenings. The three elevators are working at a slow pace. Some details in rooms and workout-area need maintenance. No tomatoes or green at the breakfast (but lots for the sweet tongue).

    Nice staff, good bed, good bathroom. Great view from the roof/pool-area. Breakfast: Cook preparing eggs of choice. Reception: When I complied about a dirty room, they made a new room available. The neighbourhood streets behind the hotel have a sort of buzy, intimate old Copacabana charm; with ATM, pharmacy, Zona Sul (Supermarket). A few blocks away is the Cantagalo Metro Station with direct line to the Stations in Ipanema - or to the City Center - like Cinelandia or Carioca. From the hotel it as a short taxi ride (or even walking distance) to "Beco das Garaffas" a side ally to Rua Duvivier - with small clubs for live bossa/samba.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    we received a towel with pubic hair in it (it was folded)...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we received a towel with pubic hair in it (it was folded) the response of the hotel staff was immediate and correct but it should not happen in the first place. There were several of the facilities that were not available and in the case of the jacuzzi it was clearly a long time since it had worked. In general the property seems to be ill maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location in Rio but scale down your comfort expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevators were not functioning properly. Very slow check-in process. I booked a room with partial sea view. The room faced a wall! I asked the front desk and they said it was within the standards. Will never stay there again.

    The location is perfect, the view from the roof terrace is wonderful any time of the day! Delicious papaya and mango, as well as other fruits, served for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    6.7
    We were disappointed overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked a suite as a treat, but it didn't feel 'Deluxe Luxury'. We thought we were getting a balcony but it was no different from the basic rooms with no space to sit out on it, more like a balconette. There was no tea/coffee making facilities or iron. It took ages for hot water to come through the shower. Our floor was not washed in living area. Bed wasn't changed until 2nd to last day and the bottom sheet didn't fit very well. They don't make it easy to room charge at the pool area. The burgers we had for lunch one day were terrible and we didn't finish them but they weren't concerned. Mini bar prices were shocking, outrageously expensive.

    Aircon worked well, and was nice to have an in room safe. The pool area was nice, although the pool needs relining. Breakfast was very good, would be nice to have different egg options though. The staff were generally very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay at Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes there was difficulty getting the lift from the 4th floor - minor irritation

    We had a beach facing balcony suite which was excellent. Good breakfast and other facilities like roof top pool, bar and restaurant area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.1
    5 Star pool 3 Star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath room was horrible shower and sink did not drain The air condition barely functioned the frigo bar did not work nothing was cold The cleaning of the room was abysmal there was sand on the floor and paper trash on the desk even after the room had been cleaned.

    Tho location and roof top pool The gave me a cake and bottle of champagne for my birthday Avery nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We moved rooms 4 times, air-conditioning not working, rooms have been hammered and not repaired, rooms are also not cleaned very well, when you find someone else hairs in the bathroom. We went up on the roof to sunbath and there was broken glass and bottles and glasses all left from people been up there drinking the night before, the pool side tables by the beds are never wiped, and full of sticky drinks, the floor is never cleaned either, the pool and all sunbeds, and umbrellas all need replacing, the pool lining in coming away, and pool grids sticking up, so you could easily trip up. After moving 3 times, we went to ask to speak to the manager as we wanted to check out, this hotel was having an impact on our holiday, we were told that he wasn't in until 3pm and there was no one else, we told our story yet again to the poor reception staff, who were as helpful as they could be, but unfortunately this hotel needs such a lot of money spending on it, I bet it was nice some years ago. there is only air con in the rooms, and thats if you get one working, the corridors and lifts are so hot. I would never stay here again, there are a lot of other hotels with a nice roof terrace along the beach. Very disappointed . We arranged to see the manager at 3pm, when we returned we were told he was in a meeting!!! But he had arranged for yet another move to an upgraded room. Which was better in size, and ac worked, but apart from that it still needs things replacing and things fixing. Very 3/4 star, there is nothing 5 star about this hotel.

    The view from the roof terrace is awesome. Breakfast was nice but staff at breakfast were really quite rude unless you spoke Portuguese.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.0
    Place to go only with a couple...not for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is an adapted motel, not suited for families. No space for clothes, bathroom with windows to the room. Elevator broke with us inside for nearly 30 minutes.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Good mid-range hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some areas were a little dated, it would have been nice if the reception bar had been open during my stay.

    Lovely staff, although busy at times, they were friendly and courteous. Loved the sunloungers and parasols on the beach - but you must get there early. It's not far from the Metro for economical sightseeing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.0
    Dont stay here if you expect 5star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not 5 star accommodation room was shabby furniture broken lounge suite had holes in it see photo cleaning missed one day.

    Pool bar and location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was aweful. My coworkers who we're traveling didn't always get their rooms cleaned. I didn't always get fresh towels.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    6.3
    Price of a 5stars hotel but service of a 2.5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services: Beach service is not guaranteed, however this is not clearly stated when you book your accommodation. I had to pay extra to a third party to get chairs and an umbrella at the beach Swimming pool at roof top is small and not as glamorous as pic, again not enough chairs to cover not even half of the guests, staff at rooftop are very rude, service is slow and food is expensive for the quality you get.. Cleanliness: I had my bathroom sink blocked since day one and they could not fixed properly, I had no towels or duvet in my room .. and when I asked for it it took more than 40 minutes to receive it and when I open the towel was a big writing saying employees towel .. what I found extremely discriminatory against hotel employees and also looked dirty to have all that ink on the towel itself. As a genius member I suppose to have a welcome drink.. and a possibility of early and late check in .. I have not received any of them and when asked they said they are not responsible for what booking.com says and I should talk to them directly instead! You are not allowed to order food and drinks and put it against your room number unless you block an amount of money on your card at the reception, there is no control of who uses the swimming pool.. while I was there there was a group of 5 people and none of them were staying at the hotel and they were bragging about it how easy was to just come up and enjoy the pool! Overall, for the price you pay.. you don't get half of what you should on a 5 stars hotel! There are many other hotels cheaper with same good location but a lot better service!

    Location, breakfast, beds and blankets, size of the rooms, a/c in the rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    3.3
    My horror show at the Pestania Rio Atlantica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very inefficient system for checking-in. AC in Lobby inadequate. No lobby bar, terrible food selections. Minimal English language skills for a heavy tourist area. No sense of urgency when issues arise. Horribly overpriced for what is provided. Would not ever recommend to a non-Brazilian guest.

    Not much.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Good, but potential to become much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in and check out was very complicated and took a long time, the corresponding I had was with a person that the Hotel did not know anything about. In the morning we found a couple a cockroach in the shower and they could not compensate us for this.

    Very good room, breakfast was perfect. The view from the terrass was marvellous. Helpful personal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.7
    Location and rooftop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service upon entry. It's meant to be 4 stars and they didn't even have an available phone to use - my credit card wasn't working because if Brazil and I needed to call the bank to pay for the hotel, as it was declining. They need to be better prepared for situations like that for guest support.

    Location and rooftop. The feather pillows were great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.3
    Mainly good than bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulties with language barriers - managed although would have been easier if there was one or two English speaking staff Service could be slow at times although put that down to a slower pace than what I am used too

    The hotel was lovely, the room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.4
    Not good, bad facility.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is really really bad, it is ridiculous that Booking.com marked 5 stars hotel for this hotel, it is a hotel with the facility of 1, no more than 2 stars!!! Without toothbrush, without toothbrush!!! The floor is broken in some place as well.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.1
    Great location and Wonderful Rooftop pool and Bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the fitness center could be much much better, in fact the condition of the machines is the worst I've seen : equipment was extremely dirty. sweat and dirt laded. Towels seem like they were in short supply or supply just not handy. The fitness center and spa area could be upgraded just a tad bit and it will have that luxury spa feeling, just by making sure it and the equipment are clean. Rolled towels here and there. Fragrance diffuser

    Great roof top pool and bar. Had a fitness center, steam and dry saunas. Had a late check out value rate. Fitness center location overlooking the beach is inspiring as well as breathtaking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel with stunning view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have enough umbrellas to shield from the sun, at the roof top pool. That was very dissapointing. The sun is very strong, more shade is needed.

    The view is breath taking and could not get enough of it

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Ok but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast pretty average, beds a bit old and tired, hotel expensive for what you get and doesn't feel 5 star at all.

    Location, views, lovely rooftop pool and bar area

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice enough hotel on Copacabana beach probably wouldnt stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that Rio is quite expensive but overall I dont think this hotel is a 4/5 star hotel and is too expensive. We ordered lunch at the rooftop restaurant. Waited an hour for a caesar salad wrap and what came out was appaulling - it was literally a wrap with lettuce only with caesar salad dressing. Nothing else. Terrible considering it was about $18 aus. The day spa wasnt open on Sunday which was disappointing since that isnt on their website and we were only there for Saturday and Sunday. Also we went to the beach on Sunday and they didnt have enough umbrellas for the number of guests and it was 35 degrees so we couldnt sit on the beach. Normally wouldnt be so upset but considering the price we paid i would expect this is something u would get no matter what.

    Awesome shower. Clean rooms and quite spacious. Bruno was amazing and very helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Kali topothesia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Kali topothesia

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and pool. Very centrally located

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Location and amazing Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms

    Location and amazing Views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Everything was exceptional well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was exceptional well...Maria was wonderful and professional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Colleagues in rio
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar by the pool. The couches were damp.

    Location was excellent. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    Not recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor: cleanliness, customer service, health & safety.

    Location. That’s all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice stay in Pestana thanks to roof top, bar and pool despite room in bad condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old fashionned room in a very bad condition

    Roof top and pool, the bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location for a short stay at Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lttle worn out, should get some refurbishment. Prices for drinks and food on roof-top bar are too high.

    Perfect location, nice roof-top pool!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast included in my reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included in my reservation.Also the free WIFI.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing location Friendly, professional staff Very good costumer care Excellent breakfast Nice view from room and rooftop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Great personnel and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great personnel and value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location for what we wanted to do
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception messed up a trip we booked. Lack of information and follow through. Waiting for refund

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    The room was dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Second time in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price

    Second time in this hotel. The place is great , directly the beach . The pool and the view is so nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Splendid!!! Excellent service and best location in the middle of the Copa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony cannot be sitten on

    Roof terrace with swimming pool, large rooms, great staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Location, location,location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be better if the room provides a kettle for making tea.

    Location, location,location! Also front balcony with full view of sea and beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location with wonderful view on Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabiana and Chris at the reception were very helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Time of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area and food in pool area the best So relaxing and the view superb

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very clean and frendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location

    Very clean and frendly hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Perfect Pestana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic view, great swimming pool, superb breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful staff!!! Nice rooftop bar and pool area. Great view !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels we're a little harsh on the skin.

    Gorgeous view at the pool and real good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.0
    The view from the rooftop bar and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned every day and bar wasn't refilled daily.

    The view from the rooftop bar and pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.3
    Avoid
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is rundown

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Awesome Stay @ Pestana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Awesome hotel, my second time staying there. Loveiit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    3.3
    Don't Book
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a dump

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.9
    There for the view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed sheets were not great....a stain, and not comfortable....(but the pillows were great)

    THE VIEW IS AMAZING!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay with great rooftop bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Electric plugs could've been updated to fit US outlets.

    Rooftop bar was amazing, views of Copacabana from my room were also excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.2
    Rooftop Pool and Bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooftop Pool and Bar

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers on a nonsmoking floor.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    2.5
    Worst 5 star hotel I've ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, service, prices, rooms

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Great stay in copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from surrounding buildings

    The view from the roof pool, The hotel location close to both copacabana and ipanema

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff a little old
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old and could use renovation for the price it charges

    staff was great, location is awesome

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pestana Rio Atlantica traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil