Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rio Design Hotel 4 stars

Rua Francisco Sá, 17, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22080010, Brazil

#102 of 407 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1626 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    When coming to Rio de Janeiro, this is a place to be ! See you next time :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    - A bit thin walls / windows in upper floors, but if you don't pay attention to it, you won't even feel it + Rio de Janeiro is always a busy city and happening arround, so ... - Gym is really small, but you probably didn't come to RJ to spend hours in gym, right.

    - Staff speaks English and some other languages without a problem. All the crew really giving everything for sharing informations about anything you need. Very friendly and at your disposal, really good job: Hannah, Otavio, Carlos, Madie, ... - Location is perfect: felt very safe, 50m to Copacabana, some 10 minutes walking to Ipanema. Metro station is 7 minutes of walking distance, restaurants, bars and all kinds of stuff are in the next street or two. Also the police stations is 20m away, - Very clean, good job by cleaning service as well, - Good breakfast with quite good range of choice, - Good and stable WiFi, - Suite is worth all money you spend for it ! Definitely will come back here, when visiting Rio de Janeiro again !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room didn't look like the ones in the pictures- the decoration was old and not at all modern as it shows in the pictures on Booking.com.

    the location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff and good location, welcome drink was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not a 4 star, and that seemed to be similar observation to other 4 star hotels I stayed at in Brazil.

    Friendly staff and good location, welcome drink was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Great location and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed there 3 times in two weeks while travelling around Rio de janeiro state. Each time was better than before. Great location and breakfast. Excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change rooms because the first one did not have water.

    Staff member Madie was the absolute star of the hotel. She made us feel welcome and was very service oriented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything

    The staff specially Madie and the managers were really accommodating and helpful . They helped me to arrange taxi to airport as I don't speak Portuguese. Also they let me use their storage when my flight got cancelled. The hotel itself is beautifully located and very clean and got great breakfast. The staff were very co operative and helpful all the time. I wish them all the best.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Exexlent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exexlent location..2 min walking into copacabana beach We came later and they upgrade our room with free of charge. Breakfest was good than the average . A verity of product. And the staff speak English

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff is great, nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms have a limited internet but the staff will always do their best to find a solution

    The staff is great, nice and helpful. The location is ideal. Best value for the price .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Room service is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is a bit old and you either get the "new" rooms that are like the ones in the pics or the old ones which are just eh.

    Room service is amazing. Guys working at the front desk are very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is close to the beachfront in Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos show the hotel in a much more favourable light than reality. The hotel is tired and basic. The rooftop pool is very small, and the bar isn’t manned. We wouldn’t have wanted to stay here for an extended trip.

    This hotel is close to the beachfront in Copacabana. Perfect for what we needed - a single nights stay after our late arrival and before we set off early the next day. Basic but clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Good stay in Rio de Janeiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the safe box. The warm options in the breakfast were not hot enough. Bad smell in one room but they gave us another one.

    Location. Nice staff. Very helpful. Affordable price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay right in Copacabana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bit of confusion regarding my reservation at check in, but Madie was able to sort it out for me.

    The staff were very nice and extremely helpful! They went above and beyond and helped with all of my needs. The bed was also quite comfortable and the rooftop area was cute. The location was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great service and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The gym could be better

    Amazing location! Restaurants and stores are all around, also Ipanema and Copacabana beaches are super close. The hotel provides great service and they are very friendly. The rooms are beautiful and clean, also we got a room with an incredible view which was a pleasant surprise :) ideal for a romantic getaway! The staff went out of their way to ensure we where enjoying our stay. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.0
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent position (at copacabana bit very close to Ipanema) very close to the beach. Comdortable room. Excellent breakfast. Very kind and helpful staff: they helped me with the money change and they stored my luggages (for free) for 4 days as I went to Iguatzu Falls. In general, they tried to help me in everything I asked and always kind

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin so we could hear everything from the room next door, our neighbours fought a lot and one of them snored really hard and we could hear everything!! Quality of breakfast is ok.

    Location! Even though Ipanema is far more beautiful but also more expensive. The room was new and nice. We got early in the morning and the hotel manager invited us with breakfast while we waited for our room to be ready, very nice gesture!! :) The shower was great, it was double!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    100% recommended!
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is wonderful, so close to the beach. Plenty of restaurants, grocery stores and pharmacies close to the hotel in case you need anything. The staff was really helpful and friendly and spoke good English - thank you Ricardo for being so accommodating. The room was very good. The bed and pillows were great. The bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Position, staff very nice with us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we received a room not very comfortable (little and different from the pictures). I told it to the director and he gave to us a very nice room.

    Position, staff very nice with us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Good choice at Copacabana, perfect staff, little things have to get improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems to bee an older apartment building, they reformed into an hotel (with success, it's nice in an perfect location). But we somehow missed a vent in the bathrooms, so it got kind of humid in the room after showering. At the breakfast the bread always was a little dry and there was really no diversity during 5 days. Too sad that no one had an eye for the little things, e.g. the very crooked hanging pictures at the walls everywhere... and I'm not a pedant, but it was so obviously! These are mostly little things we recognized, which didn't mad us feel bad, but they make the difference, especially with high prices during high season.

    The staff of the hotel was just awesome! Especially Maddie and Octavio from the front desk and the very cute cleanig woman Salsete, who did a great job. They all have so many advices, know a lot of tips and all go the extra mile to comfort you in any case. Thanks allot :-) you made us feel so good! And they are the gems of that hotel. The rooms in the lower floors have new windows, so the noise from outside is not a big problem. The rooms in higher levels are high enough for the noise note to get a problem. But still: In Rio the noise is always present. Breakfast was not bad, but also not very good, we got satisfied. The location of the hotel is simply awesome! Still at Copacabana (20 Meters!) but very close to Ipanema. Bus stations, restaurants, shops and bars all nearby. Just perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Best Option In Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS IN #RIO. The #RioDesignHotel, has everything a guest needs: · Excellent location of #Copacabana, #Ipanema, #Leme and #Leblon · Comfortable, spacious and very clean rooms · Fair price · Excellent attention from Mr. Ricardo Miranda (GM) and all his collaborators · Safety box and minibar in the room · Complete and abundant breakfast Fully recommended

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    comfortable & great Copacabana location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    on Sunday when there was more people, the breakfast room seemed to be somewhat chaotic and supplies and staff seemed a bit too overwhelmed to keep up with the demand

    great location & lovely to have roof terrace staff was very accommodating about our late departure flights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    It was nice to stay in the Design Hotel. Just two minutes away from the beach with a very kind and h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we can complain about.

    The breakfast had a lot of variety. The staff at the desk was very helpful answering questions and telling us where to go to take buses. One of the receptionist called Madey was especially very helpful and professional . Her English was perfect and she even spoke some German and was exercising the Dutch language. She drew a very detailed map how and where to get the bus to the center and was very emphatic when my bag got stolen on the beach with my phone inside. She helped us to the utmost to contact the Dutch company KPN in the middle of the night to get my mobile phone blocked. It felt like a warm bath after losing my bag. We recommend this hotel to every traveler! Greetings Irene from Amsterdam

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    We have been visiting Rio for many years and this is the best hotel we have stayed in.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We stayed in this hotel for 16 days and it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in (in Rio and other countries). It was fantastic value for money, great location and the staff were just amazing - so welcoming, so friendly and so helpful. Will be staying here from now on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful and friendly stuff. We decided to stay longer than we planned. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel is 2 minutes walking distance to the ocean. Plenty of attractions around. I would recommend everyone!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    A good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arranged a wake up call at 3.15am, but they never called! Luckily my phone alarm went off so it wasn't a problem. Slightly old decor in places.

    We only stayed in the hotel for 1 short night before we left Brazil. It was perfect for what we wanted; friendly staff, huge comfy bed & room service. We got a free upgrade too which was great & there was even a steam room attached to our shower!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Amazing!!! I love this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi can be quite slow so if that could change to extra fast wifi that would be even better!

    I loved breakfast each morning, it was tasty! I also loved the rooftop pool area, it was beautiful and we all really enjoyed sunbathing and having fun up there. The location was fantastic right next to the beach front and the room was lovely, had an amazing view! I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. All the staff were super friendly and helpful too. 10/10!!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to come to Rio, it has everything that you need, a comfortable modern room, great service, wonderful location and amazing food!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Location: perfect location close to Copacabana, Arpoador and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: perfect location close to Copacabana, Arpoador and Ipanema beaches. Staff: friendly and welcoming staff. Breakfast: fresh fruits made my day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    I liked everything about this hotel. The staff was very helpful and doing everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choices (eggs, bacon, toasts, sausages, different fried bits, lots of fruits, deli meats, cheese, diary, juices and lots of different sweets). Rooms are little dated, but clean and big. Cleaning staff doing good job in replacing towels and toiletries. Lots of good restaurants around, my favorite two are: Venga and Nomangue Caucara.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our honeymoon and they upgraded up to a junior suite which was so beautiful, honestly if you can afford the extra money book the junior suite! I’ve travelled to all over Brazil and it’s one of the only that speak English and so friendly! The breakfast was lovely. Bonus points for coffee. My husband was continuing his stay in brazil and we checked in again two weeks later and couldn’t stop going on about how kind and nice they were. Can’t wait to stay again hopefully longer next year!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    good location- close to the beach / cafe/restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room photos do not correspond to reality- there is a part of hotel renovated not all floors/ roof top bar not working

    good location- close to the beach / cafe/restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were fantastic and very accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and very accomodating. The manager personally ensured our late check-out to match our awkward 9pm flight so we had somewhere to shower before we left. Breakfast is also very good and the location between Copacabana and Ipanema is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Fine hotel in South Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit old and air conditioning was not working properly in my room, as I stayed only one night it was not a big problem, but it was a bit annoying.

    Very nice location in South Copacabana, very close to Copacabana beach and walking distance to Ipanema. Very convenient valet parking service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    I arrived to Rio in the morning and early check-in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the street during the night (perhaps some generator not far from my room). Unstable wifi.

    I arrived to Rio in the morning and early check-in was possible. The location is very close to Copacabana beach. Breakfast was perfect. Relaxing on the roof with a pool and great view was cool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Simple hotel , great location , good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the pool is not super clean, but its acceptable

    The breafast was simple but good. Doesn’t change much, but the quality was good. The fresh cut tropical fruit and the cakes were a plus The staff in the reception was amazing , from the day to the nigth shiff were always impecable and available to help . The room was always clean and the towels changed every day .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Great base for 1st Rio visit
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little negative, traffic noise was apparent even on a high floor, but not enough to prevent sleep.

    Fantastic location, two minutes from Copacabana beach and right next door to Ipanema. Lots of good restaurants close by and very close to a metro station and hippie market (Sundays). An ideal base for 1st timers to Rio. Staff were really helpful (allowing a very early check in and late check out), rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    expensive mini bar (water was very expensive!)

    Location, breakfast (very much choice), rooftop with swimmingpool and view! Staff was also very friendly. We requisted for a late checkout (18:00) and this costed us 20 dollar. We received an upgrade when we arrived, to a very spacious room with side view at Copacabana. Amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was not so good.

    Good hotel. Good location. Room was great! Bathroom was great! Nice breakfast, but dinner not so good. Great hosts at the front desk. Would definitely go there again...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Food was ok - room and bathing area was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner

    Food was ok - room and bathing area was great. Right near the beach - and major thorough fares. Breakfast at the hotel was good, dinner menu not so good, but would stay here again....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Located in a busy and noisy intersection. Windows are paper thin. Noise from the all-night outdoor bar across the street kept us awake on the seventh floor. The upper floors are in need of renovation and upgrade. The walls are thin, the doors bang, one can hear everything going on the hallway! The breakfast was good.

    Excellent location: one block away from Copacabana beach, 15 minute walk to Ipanema beach and neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Not top but good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gymn is too small to make exercises. But the roof top terrace. is nice.

    The breakfast is ok but not more. If you stay longer than two days you miss the variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. Close to Copacabana and Ipanema. A nice little roof terrace with a small pool. Good breakfast, both sweet and savory and lots of fruit. Accommodating staff. Nice room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Good, clean, kind stuff. Good location. Great breakfast, horrible coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got a very big room and everything was clean. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had but the coffee was terrible. So if you need coffee in the morning, I suggest you get one in a coffee place close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, perfectly-located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, really delicious fruit. The shower was amazing and the location of the hotel was perfect, one minute from the beach and with plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    LOCATION!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noise but that's it.

    Location and staff were great and breakfast was good too. Also there is a lot of stuff around the are such as bars, restaurants, shops and ATMs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Bed was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was nice. Never did figure out the safe but family had theirs working so we used it too. Good breakfast. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Great location . We had fun. Would not recommend the laundry service but everything else was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Location is excellent, close to market, shopping, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent, close to market, shopping, excellent restaurants Easy access, nice size hotel, not too big We had dinner in the square right outside the hotel and got to watch tango dancers, a real taste of Buenos Aires

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    The location was nice and staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The New Year Buffet was not worth what we paid for! The sheets, pillow cases and bath towels should be changed for new ones. The breakfast was ok.

    Lovely location, friendly welcome. The agent at the front desk Mariana was very helpful and quick. She offered great service and was very professional. She should be working for a 5 star Hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise, you can hear people scream on the streets, I was at the 5th floor and still can heard people screaming around 3/4/5 am and during the day traffic noise.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Best place we stayed at in Brazil!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the pool was bad, which was surprising, because everything else was spotless!!!

    Our room on the top floor with views over Copacabana and Rio was absolutely amazing! The room itself was nicely furnished and decorated and very quiet for sleeping in the daytime as we had a late night flight. Nice atmosphere and spotless clean! Breakfast was the best we had in the whole of Brazil! The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially as we arrived early on a Sunday morning and it was not a problem to get a room right away and have breakfast. Very flexible and customer orientated! If we ever return to Brazil, we will be back for sure! The view from the pool is also amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not very clean. Bathroom quite small. Breakfast area quite small, so may be difficult to find a table during busy times. Price was expensive for hotel.

    Large spacious room. Great location, one block from Copacabana beach and walking distance to Ipanema. Eggs made to order at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel, excellent location, spacious rooms, kind and helpful staff. Check it out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to fault really for the price / what you get - to do so would just be being unnecessarily picky.

    This hotel is a hidden gem in Copacabana. You are 150 meters from the beach at the Ipanema end of Copacabana - great location for exploring both beaches. The staff were EXCELLENT - super helpful and kind (and a special mention to Jota / Jo on the front desk - who speaks very good english and very helpful). We had a free upgrade to a junior suite which was very spacious. Our luggage was mislaid by Iberia ( :-( ) however the hotel staff were very helpful in providing recommendations on where to go to buy clothes and essentials on a Sunday. Also recommendations for places to eat, visit, bars and clubs. Do make the effort to check out the rooftop sundeck and pool - whilst compact it is nice and great views over the beach / watching the sunset. On a price / quality rating this super hotel is hard to beat. Worth staying here!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and reception staff but overall poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small (opening the bathroom door meant hitting the person standing by the bed). The lightning reminded me of hospital. The swimming pool was TINY - definitely not an attraction for guests. Also a small thing but the room service did not change our towels. They took the dirty ones but did not replace them with clean ones, leaving us with 2 hand towels. Just a mistake but an irksome one, especially in a 4-star hotel.

    Awesome, super helpful reception staff - especially the friendly lady with curly hair and a tall dark-haired gentleman who avoids sunbathing :) (sorry I did not catch your names but you guys were THE BEST). Breakfast was good - tasty and diversified.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Good deal !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room should be double sized.

    Nice central location regarding the beaches copa et ipanema. Super personnel, very helpful. We asked a renew room we got an upgrade. We asked a late check out, not a problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    Position couldn’t be any better, between copacabana and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy. Room was small.

    Position couldn’t be any better, between copacabana and ipanema. 1 minute from the beach and with many restaurants and bars close by. Very safe too which was important as I was a woman traveling alone. Good breakfast with wide choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Stylish modern hotel good located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Good location close to the sea front in Copacabana close to Ipanema, stylish modern rooms, nice pool area on the roof top, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent service from always polite stuff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room interior was in need of a renovation. Uncomfortable bed. Lot of noise coming from the street (7th floor) at all times during day and night.

    Excellent service from always polite stuff, very good location, big room, value for money. We were allowed a (very) late checkout for no charge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.4
    Great Location, no professional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The employees were not very professional. Having chewing gum in there mouth while talking, Shaking hands upon arrival, while this is not appropriate in every culture. Laying on the couch in the evening shift while watching programs on there mobile phone, as well as the porter on his phone when entering en leaving the hotel. When questions asked about local attractions no answer was giving and they had to search for it on the internet, for a 4* hotel this knowlegde is my minimum expectation. Besides that when a guest is entering the hotel they track down the cameras and call the room immedeately, no room for privacy. The pictures show a real nice design hotel eventhough entering the room the floor and bathroom are really dated.

    The location is right near Copacabana beach and next to an amazing restaurant Venga. Late check out possible without subcharge. Friendly welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Great location in Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hot breakfast on main floor. Staff called cab for us a few times. Staff held our bags when we had late departure. Had a high floor, so decent view over Copacabana beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Stay close to Copacabana and Ipanema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room felt a bit outdated, especially the bathroom needs a renovation; breakfast room was way too small for too many people, hectic atmosphere

    very friendly staff; very good location close to Copacabana and Ipanema beach, secure area (police station across the street); large room with a huge bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location close to Copacabana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water leaking from air conditioning on the bedside table. Bathroom floor wet outside the shower.

    Perfect location close to Copacabana! Rooms/bathroom small and simple but no problem for a weekend stay with hardly being in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Top stay at Rio Design Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we might not be as happy was that the room was quite noisy and we could hear the traffic and neighbor's TV. Every thing else was top.

    All the staff were amazing as the made our stay awesome. They were always willing to help up and all the recommendations were perfect. We highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Warm, kind and helpful staff. Comfortable hotel at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    I have been at this hotel a couple of times and will definitely come back. The staff is special, very friendly, helpful, kind and professional. They make me feel that I am at home. This feeling is priceless when I am travelling. Location is also a positive aspect. Close to the beach and easy access to other interesting places in Rio. The rooms are very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly. Our flight departed at 21.50 and it was possible to have a late check-out for free. The rooms were big and clean and the location was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you twist our arm we would offer to widen the breakfast buffet and maybe upgrade the coffee...

    First and most the warm welcome :) Jose and the rest of the stuff were always friendly and helpful. The room was always clean and very comfortable for 3 adults. Very good location - close to the beach, public transportation, restaurants.... but on a more quite corner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Overall. Was not at the main street of Copacabana but was just a a street behind. Director was so helpful and changed my room from a smaller size to a bigger one with sofa bed, as next day my father and niece are coming. Modern. Good price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Would recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was light and spacious; the breakfast wide ranging and plentiful. J on reception was incredibly attentive and charming throughout our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was too cold to use.

    Mariana was especially helpful and friendly. Great location for exploring Rio. The room was clean and spacious. Good breakfast. The shower was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms were not revamped like most of the hotel. We got a mid range room which was nice enough.

    The staff were great, the young gentleman when we checked in with brilliant, he couldn't do enough. The breakfast was very nice and even better than other places we stayed in Rio, coffee lovely and fruit tasted so fresh. Also loved the rooftop pool and sun loungers, we had this to ourselves mostly. Felt safe in the hotel and the area, there were some homeless people on a nearby corner but they didn't approach us and everyone was friendly, went to the local supermarket and also local kilo reaturants :) Copacabana beach on your doorstep and ipanema a very short walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Really good option to stay in Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the location it tends to be a little noisy on night but nothing to be really worried about

    Premium location near to Copacabana beach (100 mts or less) so you have easy access to all Copacabana beach entertainment, Staff is really friendly, rooms are good enough, overall food in hotel restaurant is really good, this is a good option to stay in Rio with a really good value/money balance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    i have booked an executive suite and given a junior suite in...
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    i have booked an executive suite and given a junior suite in my opinion. toilet seat was broken and the room was smelling like it was closed for ages and humid

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Hotel close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not quite as nice as the pictures looked, but it was still Okay

    Large room, good breakfast, good air conditioning, close to the beach, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Room comfort, very good staff, large buffet breakfast opened...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool is tiny but still nice to have on the rooftop!

    Room comfort, very good staff, large buffet breakfast opened extra long (6 to 11 am on weekends) 1 block from Copacabana beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    I would be glad to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked in the reservation for the quiet room and received 1st floor, with the windows overlooking the busy street with the noisy ventilators under. During the check-in I asked again if the room is quiet and the woman at the reception desk confirmed it. Beware of famale Staff!

    Very modern and very clean hotel, excellent (and safe) location, great male Staff (ask about the tips regarding Rio).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable Design Hotel in a Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small pool on the rooftop; views blocked by the building itself.

    Large, comfy room; clean bathroom; very friendly and helpful, willing reception staff; location is perfect across from the beach, and close to walk to the bank, bus stops and plenty of restaurants; nice wide range for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfy hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ample but quite basic. Only scrambled eggs and masses of cake. Coffee from a machine tasted sweet. Yogurt flavours plain or honey only. Bathroom was a little small, basin was outside. However shower itself was v large with excellent power. A bar would have been useful. Pool is very small and shallow ok for a quick cool down but not to swim.

    Reception staff. Location close to beach, metro, bus, shops, restaurants, bars Good value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    The bed was comfy, very friendly staff and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pictures look better than the hotel actually is. We stayed on the newest floor (at the top) and it all felt produced cheaply.

    The bed was comfy, very friendly staff and the location is good!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rio Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil