Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PortoBay Búzios 4 stars

Rua dos Coqueiros, 10, Armacao, Búzios, CEP 28950-000 , Brazil

#12 of 66 hotels in Búzios

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 234 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I loved the room and balcony it was just a shame we couldn't see the view as this was blocked by large plants. It was an unpleasant view but I just felt we were missing out a bit.

    The room was very large and had a lovely large balcony with sofa, table and chairs and hammock. In 2 and half weeks we had 1 day of rain and it happened to be at this hotel so the balcony was perfect for lounging around and relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Changing of towels could have been more regular and also replenishing of the toiletries, shampoo etc. However when we asked, the staff didn't hesitate to do it and it was no problem whatsoever. Would reccommend more hooks in the room to hang robes etc - only one hook in bathroom.

    Staff were so, so incredibly helpful and friendly. Everyone was always cleaning and everything was spotless. The door on our safe broke and the maintenance man was able to replace it within literally minutes. Extra hangers for the wardrobe bought up straight away. (Two ladies on holiday - we needs lots!) Reception team were so helpful, before we arrived, during the stay and organising a transfer when we left. The wonderful balcony and balcony furniture, including a hammock was stunning. The rooms are lovely and very comfy beds. The little extra's like Mosquito spray (for room and for personal use). The poolside and the area around the pool, sauna, gym etc was fabulous. Breakfast service great by the poolside. Location of the hotel beautiful - surrounded by trees. We had two massages which were amazing - so relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk reception including Johnny and Paulo was superb. Meals were limited to breakfast, but the fresh fruits were beautifully luscious, the breads/cakes delicious and coffee strong. This was one of our most pleasant travel lodging surprises ever. The staff was universally friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful and welcoming staff who speak several languages between them. Staff helpfully recommended beaches and restaurants, offering vouchers for welcome drinks at many high end establishments. Location is great: walking distance to centro (shops and restaurants) and beaches. Our favourite beach was Praia brava. Would love to visit again soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi and the services of reception is bad. I requested for someone to check on my WiFi and aircon but no one attend to me.

    The room cleanliness is good and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building and the facilities are amazing! It really has this tropical rain forest feeling. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a large terrace. The hotel lounge is very inviting and the staff is extremely friendly. Massages (1 hour) are very affordable and worth the money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My husband and I were really disappointed by our five night stay in Portabay Hotel Buzios last week. We had booked a master suite as a holiday treat. It was large but our ground floor balcony overlooked the busy main narrow walled walkway from reception to pool area so no view and we had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy and the balcony doors locked for security. Our room was also directly underneath the reception area so there was noise from the movements above. We asked to change our room but were told the hotel was full. The breakfasts were not great. There was tropical fruit, meats and cheese and bread and cake but the only egg option was scrambled egg and this was sometimes cold. On our first morning the scrambled egg was grey, not yellow so my husband requested an omelette instead but was presented with a bill for it afterwards. The bed in our room was comfortable and the air con, wifi and showers were good but the complimentary toiletries were cheap. Worst of all we had cockroaches in our room every day. The hotel did supply bug spray which did kill them but we really do not like to find cockroaches scuttling around in our room. When we complained to Reception about it they said was they couldn't understand it as they paid a company to spray the hotel weekly to stop that happening. (The cockroaches certainly weren't coming in through our balcony as the doors were always locked and we kept no food in our room.) The staff upstairs in the reception area were friendly and helpful but we felt everyone else just worked there. The pool area is nicely styled and the pool not large but clean. There is one tent with sunbeds inside but otherwise little shade - no sun umbrellas for the sunbeds. Buzios is a long peninsula so to describe the hotel as in the centre of Buzios is misleading. in the heat of January the nearest beach is a good 15-20 minutes hilly and shadeless walk away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a very nice place to stay, you can just have a short walk to the small town and do anything there is to do. the walks can be a bit tough if you are not used to hills.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport shuffle driving at times during the trip from airport to hotel was not comfortable at alll.

    I liked almost everything that is expected from good hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have a simple power adapter to charge my laptop,

    The staff are very friendly and helpful, the lady that leads the breakfast team was the best! Always smiling and willing to meet your needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could use more staff to operate bar and bring drink us to pool and lounge areas.

    Gorgeous property. Just 8 min walk to downtown. Rooms big with great views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even though it has the feel (and the price) of a "luxury" hotel, we felt like they were really "chintzy" with things. First of all, there was no water provided in the room. Generally, there would be one bottle per person for day. At breakfast, if you wanted an omelette you had to pay extra - minimal fee - which makes it look even worse. We needed transport back to Rio. We thought they were just facilitating it for us, but then they charged us 580 and the driver only got 450. I could have made the phone call to the driver myself. These are just little things but they make a difference in what makes a hotel feel classy or not. Breakfast was good, but snack bar food was not.

    The hotel has a lovely design - balcony, pool area, outdoor gym. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. They tried to make a big effort for New Year's Eve - snacks in reception, tshirts and a complementary mini bottle of bubbly. Nice gesture but seemed ill spent. We had no idea they were putting on such a big spread and had already eaten. Tshirts not right size. This spending didn't seem in line with some of the things they should spend money on ( read on for further comments).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little ants round the pool that bite Lots of Bugs in the pool

    Fantastic service from all the staff especially Jonny. It was our honeymoon so they had a bottle of bubbly in our room waiting for us. Amazing cake at breakfast! Happy hour every day for caipirinha! A short walk to rua de Pedras

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the hotel. Nice room with terrace. Lovely pool with loungers. Super breakfast (by the pool). Fruit, croissants etc. A really lovely place to stay and only a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridges in the rooms make quite an anoying noise, and their is no casing around them to soften it - had to turn it off at night. Also, the first room we had was right next to a generator of some kind which was very noisy, especially at night. The staff happily moved us to be fair. At breakfast, hot food such as omelettes was an extra 15 reals, not astronomical but a bit cheeky really and cheap for a 'boutique' hotel. Good location.

    The staff were all great, especially Johnny - super friendly and helpful. Good breakfast selection and staff once again were fantastic. Range of fruit, bread, cheese and cakes/pastries with juices and coffee. Nice pool and even a bottle of mosquito spray in each room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, and really friendly hospitality staff. They remembered each of our names, and delivered delicious drinks! The pool was beautiful and loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stingy with shower gel

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t have any negative points.

    Everything was perfect. Very kind staffs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    little outdated.

    wonderful pool, very relaxing. best location, close to the boulevard and Brava beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very welcoming Lovely breakfast Great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    i love everything at hotel, staff, breakfast, room .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no restaurant but we understand why as it's a little out of town.

    We booked the Royal Suite and it was a really big room with an extra room for our daughter.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At times there could be trucks going by the hotel that could create noise however this was due to the uneven road surface.

    Great location, 10 - 12 min walk into the main downtown location. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with suggestion. This is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for comfort and relaxation.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old bathroom. The pool looked a bit abandoned, but we were unfortunate with the weather. The wifi is not good.

    Nice big room and good breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all!

    Beautiful small boutique hotel, wonderful views and just a 10 minute walk into the town and beaches. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great pool. Food at breakfast and the bar menu was very good.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a biker music fest on during our stay close by which meant our room sounded like a disco until 2 am each morning

    Location Pool Breakfast Room particularly the Royal suite Friendly staff, very helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice to be able to have lunch there and drinks during the day at the bar.

    Good room size in Superior rooms. Comfortable beds and good showers.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, nice studios, very clean Amazing staff, especially Alexander Acevedo who help us a lot Very nice sauna and pool A really great boutique hotel, which can't be said in other places in buzios

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tropical gardens are a nightmare and meant that it was a breeding ground for mosquitoes. Hated this as we were bitten to bits.

    Excellent WIFI and good location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simply nothing...

    Everything! We hardly left the hotel as we enjoyed relaxing there so much: Amazing friendly staff that couldn't do enough, nice poolside menu (had lunch there each day), tasty drinks (not pricey), luxurious rooms, peaceful pool area...paradise!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is nothing we didn't really like. Perhaps the breakfast could have been a bit more robust, but there is plenty of fresh fruit, baked goods and basic eggs. Once or twice, the dog across the street liked to bark at 6am, but seemed more random. Also, the wifi is a bit slow in the room, but fine in the lobby.

    Porto Bay is a lovely boutique hotel in Buzios, close to Rua de Pedras but not right on the action. The staff were amazingly nice to my family, including 2 young kids and grandparents. The pool was also perfect, not too big or small. We had the royal suites and they were lovely with a balcony and hammock. The view outside our room and the lobby area is lovely! Would love to return soon.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, beautiful hotel in a beautiful location!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor facilities,poor maintainence,uncomfortable,cheap,bog standard food and breakfast.No view from veranda.Everything broken.

    Nice pool

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, facilities, staff (especially the breakfast staff) - just a beautiful hotel and well worth the money

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wather in swimming poll contain too much chloro. After using the pool my wife hair is painting in the green color. Reaction with color blonde.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cold pool sauna/ turco

    location room bed

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better. No directly view to the see.

    Friendly personal, nice pool and great comfort! We recommend the hotel.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse PortoBay Búzios traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil