Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PortoBay Rio de Janeiro 4 stars

Avenida Atlântica,1500, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22020-020, Brazil

#42 of 406 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1493 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    nice hotel - great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we expected a nicer room (we paid for upgraded room and it wasn't worth it), the hotel looks a bit old and needs renuvation

    we liked a lot the service of the staff! espicially Sacha in the recaption we also liked the pool and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    An amazing value for money on Copacabana. I can only recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    Friendly and very helpful staff, extremely comfortable bed, strong shower pressure, stunning views from the balcony, excellent breakfast. Great location, walking distance to everything on Copacabana. Safe surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    The beachfront suites are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The side view standard rooms are a bit small.

    The beachfront suites are great. Excellent staff. Rhiane in reception was particularly helpful when we ran into a problem unrelated to our stay. She took the time and gave us many good recommendations. Beach is right across the avenue and the hotel provide loungers, towels and umbrellas for shade.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    A fabulous relaxing 4 night stay after our main holiday sailing along the Amazon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big comfy bed and great breakfast. Bedroom spacious and we had a balcony with a sea view. Air con was quiet. Reception staff very helpful when one of our bags went missing contacting the airline on our behalf as we didn't speak Portuguese

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    The hotel has a very convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has a very convenient location. Our executive suite was a very good size and had an excellent Ocean view. The room service was good, and the room was always clean as can be. The breakfast was superb, an enough reason to stay here by its own. The staff was also very helpful. We left our luggage in the locker room in both arrival and departure for a couple of hours with no problems.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    clean and quite modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooftop was blocked for guests from the outside for a whole saturday evenining. had to book another night to get a late check-out. staff could be more respectful when dealing with complaints.

    clean and quite modern

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    Good location, the internet didn't work, and the facilities are average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The internet was really bad/ did not work in our room during the entire time we stay there. Average room Elevators are small and slow

    The location is really good and the staff is nice Amazing view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    made for a very relaxing time with comfort to help after an active day of vacationing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hotel tours were expensive compared with local agents in the neighborhood

    great location just across the street from the copacabana and close to the metro for getting downtown easily. Behind the hotel are hundreds of bars and cafes and restaurants which makes it easy and cheap to spend time there. the rooms were very well laid out and comfortable. for the price this was a great choice made from online research and turned out to be a great choice. 20th floor swimming pool was small but great for cooling off and with a great view of the copacabanaw and christ statue. Over all very quite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We pre-ordered an airport pickup which was not there when we arrived! Hotel charge 220RL, easy to pick up an official taxi at the airport and only 80RL. Wouldn’t book any excursions through them as they charge a lot more than you can pay with a company online.

    We loved it at the PortoBay! Big comfy bed, powerful walk-in shower, balcony, rooftop pool, sauna, steam room, room service. It was luxury and right on Copacabana Beach. Streets surrounding the hotel felt safe, close to lots of great restaurants and subway. Staff were always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The room was clean and with a nice view of the ocean (despite being a "side ocean view room"). The location is great as well. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very happy and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy and helpful staff. Wonderful location with magnificent views from the rooftop lounge. Very clean room and comfy beds. Overall a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Great facilties and a wonderful restaurant, also a really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but you should get a jacuzzi for the spa bit

    Great facilties and a wonderful restaurant, also a really good location on the beach front. The shower was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    A true gentleman in Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor complaint was the slowness of the elevators.

    Everything! The responsiveness and efficiency of the staff was just about the best I've ever experienced, including some of the very finest hotels around the world. The views were stunning and the food was delicious, including the lovely breakfasts every morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    This hotel was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault this hotel!

    This hotel was fabulous! A lesson on how hotels should be operated! The hotel staff were incredible and so helpful. The food (breakfast and bar food) was perfect! The hotel also provides sun loungers on the beach which was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Not what the website promised.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is not a good hotel for solo travellers. Hotel gave out a neat list of trips to take in Rio, but all were for couples. No exceptions. Room was not ready when I arrived. Service was prompt and after 2 days and 5 trips the room was OK. Hotel provides beach chairs and towels but their employee does nothing to stop the hawkers who seemed to concentrate on us. Same guys over and over, some with whistles!. Best to find a spot alone. After leaving I think I received some extra charges for the mini-bar which were paid at the main desk. Not sure if I have been double charged as I received a notice in Portegeuse, which I do not understand. Hotel copied notice to Booking.com. I would appreciate it if Booking.com would help in this regard. I have had many bookings through Booking.com. This is the first time I have been sent what appears to be an extra charges bill from a hotel. I would appreciate it if Booking.com would get back to me re this. Thanks

    The staff were good, they tried to help. Breakfast staff especially good.Although many things were missing from my room, service was prompt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    close to the beach, great view from the rooftop pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    transportation from the airport quite pricy, better to take Uber or local cab

    close to the beach, great view from the rooftop pool, amazing breakfast, good variety of tours offered

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The service could have been a little better at reception.

    This was the last stop on our tour of South America so we spent a lot on this hotel and upgraded to a luxury Suite. The room and the view were both fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a note through the door on the last day telling us as check out was at 12 we should leave the room 20 minutes early so we can queue up at the desk as it might get busy. If we are paying for a room until 12 we should be able to stay in the room until 12, perhaps put more than one person on the desk if you fear it will be busy.

    Location-from our room we had a good view of the beach and Christ the Redeemer (also the view from the pool was amazing) Comfy beds Amazing breakfast-with sparkling wine Good amenities Great food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was fantastic! We arrived at 7am without our luggage (it arrived the next day) ready to start our honeymoon and received complimentary early check-in. We stayed on the 19th floor with fantastic views of Copacabana and Christ the redeemer. Great room and toiletries. Comfortable bed and lovely balcony. The staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly and the breakfast was also fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Treat yourself!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet only worked now and again.

    Great location. Really comfortable. Fantastic staff with great advice for where to eat and drink in the area. Great rooftop pool with amazing views! Breakfast was also really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Location on the main beach and close to shops.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from moving chairs upstairs could be silenced with felt bottoms affixed to chairs.

    Location on the main beach and close to shops. Breakfast ***** ! Lots of good fruit and juices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were cleaned quite late in the day. Pool area service could be better.

    Great place to explore the beaches and nearby attractions. Staff were quite friendly and english was not a problem. The breakfast was amazing ! The beach service is also a great add on as you avoid the other beach services.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location and great spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows must get firmer ones Shower overflowing and some maintenance issues with kettle blowing up

    the Front desk were very helpful and also the little business centr on the fourth floor is so private and convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    location, price, rooms' appearance, rooftop swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cold as ice water in the pool. that's why nobody almost uses it. the only thing about this hotel to improve.

    location, price, rooms' appearance, rooftop swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is a little outdated. Could be refurbished.

    Location is perfect, right on copacabana beach. We loved the view on the bay from our bed and the breakfast was truly amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The pool area and the view was amazing as well as the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/pool staff were very slow and not very attentative, made mistakes kn our bill more than once

    The pool area and the view was amazing as well as the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Literally everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is great!

    Literally everything! And the best part is the staff! From front desk to bell boy to kitchen to the manager just everybody that works at PortoBay is great. They are all so nice, friendly and helpful always with a genuine smile. The location, the pool, the rooms, the lobby, the restaurant, breakfast just everything is great. We had a room with a beautiful ocean view. The tours the hotel offer are great and the best part are tips we’ve got from Rhiane, Sacha and Antonio. All was great even the chocolate on the pillow :) Muito obrigado!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    The rooftop bar and pool was great for hanging out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no free bottled water. The bathroom kit could have been better. The TV was broken/hard to use.

    The rooftop bar and pool was great for hanging out. Although the pool was small, the seats are very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning cold be cooler not working below 23c

    All over all a very good hotel, especially comparing with the others at Copacabana. Excellent Breakfast buffet! Very nice rooftop pool and bar area!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    The WiFi, it was brilliant in the lobby and up at the pool...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi, although it was good in the lobby and on the pool deck it was near impossible to use in the room... not enough juice for a Facetime call back home and barely enough to stream 360p quality YouTube. Also, for some reason on my level the hot water took around 2-3 minutes to come up to temperature.

    The WiFi, it was brilliant in the lobby and up at the pool deck. Bed was the best I had anywhere in Brazil.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lifts are annoyingly slow

    We booked this hotel as a treat to ourselves at the end of the trip, so knew it was going to be a little more pricey than what we had been paying for most of our stay, but it is so worth the money. The hotel is beautiful - the room and bathroom was very spacious; the bed super comfortable; the rooftop pool and bar are great; the fitness center is really well equipped and has a fantastic view; the staff are wonderful and the breakfast is incredible (a champagne breakfast?!). If we came back we'd probably upgrade to a room with a front view of the ocean, or try and ensure we were on a higher floor - we had a side view which was fine but I got a glimpse of the suites and they look superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and super helpful staff! We arrived at 6am and check in was at 1 pm, we could stay on the rooftop with access to the pool and toilets/changing rooms. We were so happy about that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay but wouldn't book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had no electric for a few hours one evening and 24hrs of no hot water. Only two very small lifts for all 20 floors which means long waits at times.

    Friendly staff at bars and breakfast. Especially Carlos and Wellington. Rooftop pool was really nice. Breakfast was good too but no variety as it was the same every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    The view from the room and rooftop bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was not cleaned very well and there was no coffee maker. Bathroom was uncomfortable to use. Elevators took ages to go up and down.

    The view from the room and rooftop bar Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    The hotel has a great location, just across from Copacabana...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows of the see view rooms were dirty.

    The hotel has a great location, just across from Copacabana beach, and provides for facilities on the beach. The breakfast was amazing, with so many choices. I booked a sea view room, which was spacious and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    amaizng location, super helpful staff, velue for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the dinner menu, the payment was only possible with credit card,

    amazing location, staff were super friendly, the pool is small but that was clear to me at the time of booking. the breakfast was great! no complaints. the beach area is a great bonus! really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Very good hotel !!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my second time in this hotel and not the last one. Stuff is super friendly always very helpfull, they gave me late check out due to my really late flight, food was delicious , prices are really good for this localization. I will go back there for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location with comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient reception staff, not very friendly. Two lifts for 20 floors clearly insufficient, long waiting periods

    Good size room and bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Good option if you can have a special rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators are REALLY slow and you are waiting a lot of time waiting. Sport gym equipment is not in perfect condition and poor choice, although the view is amazing. And not about the hotel but mostly the area - Copacabana is not the best choice IMHO. Next time I would choose ipanema for dining options, shopping and overall safety feeling.

    We took a room with sea view and it definitely worth it! Decoration of the room is ok, but a little bit dated. Bed and mattress are just amazing. Breakfast is good, with decent selection of options. Reception stuff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing, wasn’t worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having stayed in many hotels throughout Rio over the years, like many other hotels in Rio this hotel is looking tired and could really do with a bit of a refurbishment and clean up . We paid the extra for a room with a sea view, which the view was great, but at night there is lots of traffic noise from the street and as the building is only single glazed you can really hear the street noise and if you like a good night’s sleep you might struggle !, The bathroom floor was a continually wet as the shower door leaked and had black mould on the bathroom ceiling due to poor ventilation. Although the hotel did promptly send a maintenance man to look at the problem and force open the window to try and dry things out, it still continued to leak and we just put up with having to have wet towels on the floor.

    Good location, buffet breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    The pool and the views from the pool were phenomenal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was right next to the elevator and was quite noisy. Outside of that, our stay was great.

    The pool and the views from the pool were phenomenal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Great place in Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows were not very clean and the glasses had grayish marks on the borders (6th floor, room 603), a pity considering the great view.

    Great breakfast, one of the best views you can get in Copacabana (we had the Deluxe Double Room with Sea View) and very comfortable room with much space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall a great hotel with a few minor issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No iron in the room and we never got our welcome drinks on check-in. Very slow internet.

    Exceptional breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. The beach service was also fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    In my opinion, the best Hotel in Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion, the best Hotel in Copacabana. Having dinner in the balcony was fantastic. The place on the beach hosted by the hotel is very good. The de-stress massage at the 20th floor with Copacabana view was awesome. A suggest for the foreign traveller: buy a SIM card at Rio Sul Shopping Center for having a better internet connection).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators inadequate, takes a while.

    Suite with balcony is spacious and very comfortable. Nice bathroom, decent shower with proper water pressure and temperature control. Good breakfast with nice views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony could be more modern, needs renovation

    I loved the big bed in our room and the view from the balcony, plus breakfast restaurant!! Staff are always helpful and friendly. Breakfast amazing.❤️

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues: -the sliding door to our balcony didn’t have a lock. This was fixed in 15min!! -the floors in the rooms although looking clean need a good mop. Floor grimy/sticky typical of beachside apartments. -the breakfast room can get quite crowded. We were lucky and always arrived before a queue formed. -pool area quite small -check account at checkout as we were charged for minibar that was not used. Staff fixed this with no issue. -slow and small elevators. Be patient and don’t be in a rush.

    We really enjoyed this facility. The reception staff were always helpful and friendly and able to provide good advice re our activities. The location is brilliant. Easy to cross the road to the beach and many restaurants scattered about the area. We felt safe. A supermarket is a couple of blocks away but bottled water can be purchased at the small drugstore next door. The shuttle to the Christ the Redeemer statue is 2 blocks away and Sugarloaf cable car 10min taxi. Shopping Mall about 1.5km away. We had two rooms with a connecting door for our family and a balcony which was great to dry our swimming clothes. The rooms were clean and spacious. The beds comfortable. The wifi was good. The pool on the roof has brilliant views. The breakfast room had an excellent view and the breakfast choices were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location for restaurants and beach, fabulous breakfast to start the day and lovely pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was there any alcohol in the mojito we wondered, especially as was quite expensive but to be expected for hotel bar.

    Location was great. Quality of breakfast and service was best we had on this four week holiday. Attentiveness of pool staff and guy on the beach who set the chairs, umbrellas and towels up and got us drinks. We had a side view room which although opposite some flats, did give us a great view of the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    We loved the rooftop terrace, the bar and the view to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevators were slow, underestimated and way to small. The breakfastroom was overcrowded and we chosed to eat breakfast away from the hotel. There were no soundprofing and we could hear everything in the hallway and from the neighbour room.

    We loved the rooftop terrace, the bar and the view to Copacabana. Good beds. Top notch site. Nice cafe around the corner and a place nearby to rent bikes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    Worst stay in a four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was recommended by a family member to stay in this hotel. It was my first time and will definitely be my last time. The cleaning is awful! I found one of the towels dirty, the robe had a hole in it, it wasn’t given flip flops on the booking I made after this one. Once I jumped in the swimming pool at 8pm on the 9th Jan, I asked the bar tender of a beach towel and he said that after 6pm there’s no towels for guests. I was all wet and had to go to the room wet and aircon on because he didn’t even give a solution to this. Although I understood it could be the Hotel policy. There’s really nothing especial to a “four star” hotel. I found hair in the fruits plate during breakfast. The employee fixed it immediately. The breakfast room is small for the amount of guests it receives everyday. The variety of food is not that great. A suggestion is to improve the cleaning services by supervising the work the maids do.

    Sacha from reception is very handful and helpful. He helped me with the booking for my family. Alanderson is very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Good overall but Internet & Top floor staff is the worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet - super mega slow. Don’t expect to work on those conditions. Top floor staff - it takes 30 minutes for a drink, food is horrible, lack of enthusiasm on serving clients. Gym & SPA - is so small that you can’t barely call it a gym or spa. Machines are old.

    Location is amazing. If you get the frontline rooms you’ll have an amazing stay. Reception and ground floor staff is just amazing and very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice big bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff treated me with a huge lack of consideration and never responded to my complaint about the lack of security in the bathrooms, even after i had an accident due to their lack of grab bars and anti-slip mats. They also told me at check in that breakfast was included, but i learned that it was not on the second day of my stay. They never answered me about the possibility of adding it to my stay, so i never came back for breakfast. However they charged me for it, and the general manager was not available during any day of my stay to help me with the problems I experienced or to review my bill.

    Nice big bed. Great view from the rooftop pool. Warm welcome from the concierges!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel to experience Rio for the first time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and modern with quality shower products, the bed was very comfortable and the balcony was spectacular. Also, the location is super perfect for New Year's Eve festivities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Summer love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing related to the hotel. Just a piece of advice: Copacabana is a busy area, in case you are looking for peace and quiet ... you might wanna consider another location

    Everyone in the hotel goes above and beyond to create an amazing experience during my stay. The staff is constant smiling and making you feel really welcome ... the guest relations Isabela raises the bar when it comes to providing an exquisite concierge service. Knowing that this was my special romantic holiday with my husband, they personalized the room with photos of us and rose petals... melted my heart ! Make sure you book an ocean view room and join the beautiful scene from your balcony. If you are lucky, they will be having the happy hour on the rooftop: don’t miss it! Delicious drinks, great music and again Copacabana Beach stunning view and feeling

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay for few days holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    Great location at the Copacabana beach. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Great room with amazing view (ocean view room). Nice bar on top with amazing sunset view. Excellent service on the beach as well. Thanks for the great stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    We booked a suite with ocean view balcony, it feels so good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe facilities are a bit old, one of the window handles is broken, so we cannot close it completely.

    We booked a suite with ocean view balcony, it feels so good to wake up and see the view! Beds are comfortable, room is clean. Breakfast cannot be better! Staff are friendly and easy to communicate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel has no heating system. So, if it is cold outside, it will be cold in the room too. I was very cold. Since we had to turn off the air con to heat the room a bit, it became super stuffy too. The ventilation system is not functioning properly. The shower head is installed right above and you can't just wash a part of your body. It is either all or nothing. The wellness are is quite old and it is definitely not relaxing or pleasant to be there.

    I like the location and the view from the balcony. My bed was also quite comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful concierge/doorstaff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked slight variations in the selections at breakfast - the same supply of food choices was a bit repetitive. Did ask for upgrade and was told none were available and that they would try to give me most elevated room available. But that never happened. I also requested a late check-out on booking, but this didn't happen too.

    Very helpful concierge/doorstaff. Great location on Copacabana. Loved the roof top pool/terrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location on Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    steam room was out of commission, pool area is small,

    Good location on Copacabana Beach, Many restaurants within walking distance, Good breakfast, executive rooms have great view of the beach, comfortable bed. friendly staff, beach chairs and umbrellas available on beach across the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Hotel in the heart of Atlantica Avenue at the Copacabana!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room given to me 809 was smelly (mold) and very humid. I am allergic and room was bit dark. Later asked hotel manager and he gave me the airy room 1004 with lateral views of Copacabana. My TV did not work for 2 days, complained and it was fixed, later was the same. Hotel did not offer very updated activities as tours or what is happening on town. They tried to to their best but their info was not so updated for demanding guests like me. Clarissa other front desk lady was not so attentive .

    Decor is very contemporary lots of woods, leather chesterfield sofas and nice coffeetable books. Talis as the front desk person welcomes with nice and spontaneous smile. Same has to be said about Luciano the bellboy who works with smiles ear-to-ear for 12 years. Guests are welcomed with glass of champagne and check in is fast. Two eleveators are clean and go to rooftop level 20th where there is lounge bar and small pool with breathatking vistas of Copacabana. Breakasft is served on floor 5th and has amazing freshly squeezed juices and gentle servers offer cheese puffs to guests. Baked pastries and breads are a bit tasteless, but they make homemade jams (apricot and papaya so that´s a plus). Eggs are delicious and dark coffee is strong and freshly brewed. Decor is Mid-century with a contemporary twist, refined taste and pleasant calming color palette. Room has bare decor with high quality wood wardrobes and nice linens. Toiletries are generic . Bathroom is totally new, clean and superb shower!! Quality of sleep is fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Can really recommend this Hotel with perfect lokalisation, kindley/ helpful staff. Excellent break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd like the kindly staff and very, very good breakfast. The stadd at breakfast were very organised. The staff on the beach were also very kindley

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Perfectly located for all the main sights and attractions of Rio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfectly located on the famous Copacabana Beach, which was literally across the road. Room with balcony was delightfully comfortable, affording great views of the beach, the promenade, the distant mountains and of course, Christ the Redeemer. Rooftop pool was a great place to unwind and high enough to catch the sun throughout the day. Staff were friendly and most obliging. Would definitely stay here again if we were returning to Rio.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Sunset in Rio From PortoBay International Hotel Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Breakfast full of choices and quality food, the view on the ocean, the position on Copacabana Beach,one of the most beautiful in Rio and the staff which was very kind and always ready to help with all our needs!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable and memorable holiday and we would certainly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was far too small for the size of the hotel so we struggled most days to get a lounger.

    Location was excellent and the view was amazing. The variety and quality of food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Morden spacious suite facing Copacabana beach with great roof pool and cafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not too helpful, but willing to give me a map, when asked where is good restaurant, did not help much, just every where.very bad dinner.I had steak with prawns, came four nail size cut up shrimp and mushy,not fresh, steak was really tough.fish was very bad, no taste, only good thing is view!

    Love view and location,mine was suite with seperate seating area and eating table,very nice bathroom, huge bed.they give you two drinks at roof top cafe, very nice lounge chair and view. Breakfast is very good with many items and fruits.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, staff and massage!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Restaurant has a stunning view of Copacabana beach and the breakfast has a huge selection of fruits, hot food and pastries. Exceptionally friendly staff in all parts of the hotel. Had a massage with Lou which was incredible. Very professional and would highly recommend her.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall we had a very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not so good. Pool is small, there are no spa facilities but instead a small room with a massagista, however the massage we had done there was brilliant! Restaurant is average and has a simple decoration but the view is amazing!

    Nice beds, nice view!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    I probably would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had we known the pool area would be closed most of Saturday (one of the reasons we chose it was for rooftop reviews) we would have stayed at our usual spot at the Miramar. It was very disappointing for our family and our American guest who could not get a drink at the pool or the lobby bar (closed for some reason) to enjoy the sunset. Moreover, management said it was 'an outside event' therefore not the hotel's fault. Hmmmm.... let people know when facilities will be closed- your event or not!

    The views were great as well as the location. We usually stay closer to Posto 5, and this was a new experience for us. Hotel was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic staff team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike but I thought the pool was bigger than it turned out to be. No swimming possible. The beach is on your doorstep though.

    Fantastic staff team. Incredibly helpful. Loved my suite with a view over Copacabana. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    only minor, the bathroom only having one towel hook? and only one bedside table.

    For us we found the hotel in an excellent position. Our room with a sea view and balcony,was great.The room was large and bathroom good,excellent shower.Clean. We found the staff friendly and helpful,and fun.The breakfast very good and we ate at the pool bar on several occasions and found this good to. We would go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay, enjoyed the hotel, will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. Coffee should be provided in room. Iron/board should also be provided.

    Almost everything. Location, breakfast, cleanliness. Views are great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay on this famous beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel is only metres from copacabana beach. Restaurant was good quality and good value. The rooms were clean and comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty happening around outside of hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony and Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a small perimeter, not allowing for walks or exploration inside the hotel as all comodities are separate by the floors.

    Location was excellent, just in front of the copacabana beach and the staff was top, very friendly efficient and always ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    My home on Copacabana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is poor, needs a lot more invested in order to come up to even a 'good' standard.

    I love the Porto Bay in Rio. It's the second time I've stayed and still it gives me the same sense of enjoyment. Directly across the road from Copacabana beach, the location is unbeatable. Nice size rooms, great views, the spaces are clean and inviting. Fantastic breakfast, especially the champagne. The staff are excellent! The true highlight is the rooftop pool and bar - UNBEATABLE VIEWS!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were not very clean

    Location is great Sea view room has an amazing view Staff are helpful and nice Breakfast has a big variety Room is very spacious For travlers from around the world their was 110v and 220v suckets

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse PortoBay Rio de Janeiro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil