Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pousada da Mangueira 3 stars

Ladeira da Saúde, 09, Salvador, CEP 40040-640, Brazil

#18 of 78 B&Bs and Inns in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 786 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Indifferent Staff, not really welcoming; quite surprising for Brazil...

    Quite good location in the old colonial Salvador (Pelourinho). Provides good comfort, but nothing fancy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very pleasant. Nice breakfast. Very comfortable beds. Dry clean. Airport transfer can be arranged for $R100. Swimming pool with views of colorful houses of the Pelourinho.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if we attended breakfast as early as possible (7am), the coffee was almost cold and not very tasty. Beside that, all good!

    The reception of the hotel is not very welcoming (decoration), but once you get in the room, you can clearly see it's very clean and renewed. Location is fantastic (easy-walking to Pelhourinho barrio). Staff is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our short stay and we would definitely stay here again.

    Location. Walking distance to old town, the view from the hotel right on the Pelourinho. We were listening to the music sitting in the garden because there was a concert not far from the hotel. Swimming pool is a huge plus. Nice room, garden. Receptionist with perfect English, very helpful😊

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's actually motel, with parking just next to rooms, it's good for drivers, but I don't like this type of places, it ruined a little bit view from my room.

    Only one budget option with pool near Pelourinho with old-fashioned, but clean and comfy rooms with great breakfast, stunning views and two minute walk to Old town. I really enjoyed place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After sunset I did not feel so safe. Noisy neighbourhood during the night.

    The room was clean. The breakfast was very good. Nice swimmingpool. Location was near historic Pelourinho.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. The hotel found an English speaking guide for mr, Marcos Wilson, who provided private tours at a reasonable rate. I learned so much about Salvador from him. The location was excellent for walking into the historic district. The hotel does not offer luxury but rather a warm family feeling, which I prefer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no elevators, so if you are travelling with a lot of luggage, use a room on ground floor

    Very friendly people, right near old town/Pelourinho. Excellent coffee and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The window was fitted with only a blockout curtain and even though we slept with the window open, the curtain wouldn't allow a lot of air through so the room would get hot at night because we didn't want to sleep with the aircon on. A second curtain (sheer) to allow air through while providing privacy would be great. The bathroom could do with an exhaust fan.

    Overall, this was an excellent choice. The location was perfect as it took us only a couple of minutes to get to Pelourinho but we were not right in the middle of it and its never-ending fiesta, so we could have silence and peace when needed. This was complemented by a lovely outlook which made us forget we were in a big city. The pool was a great relief for the heat of the day and the bar service, although small, offered enough drinks, snacks and small meals and was more than handy. Breakfast was fantastic. Room was comfortable although on the small side. The bed was extremely comfortable. Above all, Claudio was a terrific host. With a wonderful manner, he advised us of best sites, restaurants and tours. He helped us sort out transport at short notice. He was always ready and willing to help without being intrusive. Thanks, Claudio.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food. The breakfast is nice, but do not have lunch or dinner at the hotel because they offer frozen meals. The wi-fi connection is good most of the time, but sometimes it just won't work.

    The manager is super helpful and knows a lot about the city's history and touristic points. He'll always be willing to help. Also, the pool comes in handy for such a hot place. The view is simply AMAZING!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such an excellent welcome and advice. Claudio speaks English very well and advised on everything so well that we took full benefit of our stay in Salvador . So happy we will return next week.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    it was a lovely place, safe and near the Pelourinho. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and could give us lots of very useful advice. The atmosphere was very relaxed, the views wonderful, and the city amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Actually everything was fine, maybe just say that for make a regulation of the hot water is a bit hard when you are small due to the buttom is too high.

    The location is very good, close to the historical area and safe place due to the police in the area. Close to restaurants and market. ATM where you don't get charge for get money is very close to the place. Staff very nice, very helpful with the information that you need. Breakfast also good, in general a good place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Deluxe Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu very limited (pizza, frozen lasagna and spaghetti)

    The staff was really helpful and friendly Great location (walking distance from many sites) Nice room with hammock Swimming pool in the city centre! Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way to get to the poussada is not easy by foot if you have any difficulty to walk..

    Very well located, few minutes to the centre historical. Good breakfast and confortable and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After dark the area is not safe, and we got mugged in Pelourinho. I'd recommend to always use a cab if you go out.

    It is a beautiful pousada with a great view to the historical center. Everyone was very friendly, breakfast is simple but very good. Claudio offered us many tours, around Salvador and in Pelourinho, which we enjoyed very much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once the porridge ran out at breakfast, it wasn't replaced for the rest of the week. For anyone with mobility issues, a steep walk to the Pousada (although 80yr old grandma managed it!) Pelourinho is generally very hilly/steep.

    Great accomodation with beautiful views of Pelourinho across the pool. Nice size, not too big and overcrowded. Rooms very clean and fresh sheets daily. Lovely pool. Breakfast every morning had lots of options: porridge, fresh fruits, yoghurts, scrambled eggs, granola etc. One free to use computer in the lobby. A short walk uphill gets you into the historic centre within minutes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location great, view of the old town amazing. Staff super helpful and amazing. Very clean rooms cleaned every day! Free carnival party which was amazing! There was a large group of us and we would stay here every time visiting Salvador ! Just perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The size of our room was a little tiny. Not much place to move around after placing our two cabin-sized bags next to the bed.

    The hotel's location is excellent. A short, but steep uphill walk takes you right to the center. The breakfast, the pool, and the view from the restaurant are all very good. Our rooms were cleaned everyday and always smelt fresh when we returned after our day out. Stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2017.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and helpfull staff! We arrived in the early morning so we couldn't check in straight away but they very kind to offer us free breakfast and use of the facility. The staff is very informed and can organize everything for you. I highly recommend this pousada.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for price. Rooms were small, but the use of space was excellent (storage, clothes hangars, TV location, etc), so not really a negative at all.

    Good value. Clean with Comfortable beds and mostly quiet area- not an easy combination at this price point. AC also quiet. Very close walk to old part with restaurants etc. Staff helpful. Breakfast good. Pool refreshing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My first room opened on the garden but the AC was noisy. That was solved by changing room. Be prepared to speak Portugese...

    Clean and tidy room, good breakfast, helpull owner, nice view, charming garden,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was noisy and hard. The property is on the edge of Pelourinho, on a poor street which does not feel very safe at night although there are police permanently standing at one end of the street.

    Nice garden and swimming pool. Bar open at night to take drinks around the pool. Helpful staff can arrange tours.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff and team at the hotel are AMAZING! It feels like family and is warm, peaceful and relaxing. I would stay here anytime i am in town! And what an amazing town it is to stay in. Pelourinho is one of the most special towns i have stayed and Pousada de Mangueira is a perfect example of Pelourinho's warmth and culture. I can't recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is good but at times borders of youth hostel standards, with some groups of travellers leaving their stuff lying around common areas.

    Claudio at reception is a wealth of Information and willing to help in any way. He can recommend and organise day trips, taxi services etc. and gives good practical advice about safety. Good breakfast served outdoors. Wifi works well and there is a computer in reception connected to a printer for online check-ins.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses in the new rooms were a bit too soft. The hotel is near Pelourinho which is very picturesque but there's a lot of loud music which is very popular but very noisy.

    The staff and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds! Bad. Way too soft. The general level of noise- other guests are extremely inconsiderate and probably management needs to mention that the layout means you can hear everything.

    The breakfast is the best I've had in Brazil. The staff are exceptional. Really went out of their way in so many ways. The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poolside bar did not offer any food only drinks at night.

    The location, the staff, and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Pelourinho, excellent breakfasts, helpful friendly service from all the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. A little bit expensive for what they offer

    Good breakfast. Staff very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was really central. View from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiete nice

    Room too litle

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfy bed, good pool, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Access to nice beaches by bus Needs more than an hour travel time

    very Close to pelourinho which is a great old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to historic center. Nice outdoor area with swimmingpool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staffiv

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confortable room, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast with homemade cakes every morning, swimming pool overseeing the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice and friendly, not too big. very close to important places. would book there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    liked everything

    Very near Pelourinho. Nice, kind staff. Amazing view of Pelourinho from my room. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Excelente people and localization, Excelente breakfast. Fantastic. I love all in this property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In9

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful view, very spontaneous and helpful staff,delicious breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking lot in a place where there is no parking space at all. Perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Otima estadia! Atendente do bar super atencioso.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size

    Simple accommodations but quite confortable. Nice staff and environment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is good very basic property. Clean and nice however for those who expects a little bit more luxury it may be not enough. Perfect value of money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only few persons speak English

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Great Location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Hotel Nice Staff Nice Location Nice Price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting with great view. Friendly staff. Claudio the manager speaks great English and is really helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bon rapport qualité prix situation correcte une piscine sympathique

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All of Salvador has certain roads that one should not visit. Some all day, and some primarily after sundown. The staff will let you know about this. As we have small children we were not going out late and were not suffering from this.

    Very friendly and service minded staff with several English speakers. great pool. close to old city. excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a word could be written in the negative box

    Greeted to be shown to our room which we were delighted with,beautiful French doors that opened up onto a balcony that overlooked the old town,felt we had got lucky :-) nice clean room. Location was absolutely ideal for the old town. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were more than helpful. An enjoyable stay to say the least,well recommended :-)

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    During our 2 days stay we have found only one man, who can speak English. No one else in the whole hotel can't say even a word in English. That's horrible. Another negative thing was car parking right in front of your doors and windows if you are sleeping on the ground floor (you can check picture attached). We have been joking - we are staying in a hotel, or a motel? Because I have seen similar things only if you sleep in the motel! Wi-Fi in our room was not working. If you want to use it, you must go outside and sit, for example, near the pool. But there are a lot of mosquitos around, so sitting here is not a pleasure at all. Regarding the pool - it is very warm. You can't get fresh even after jumping in it, because temperature of the water in the pool is similar to the weather - water temperature was not less than +25-27 C - no refresh at all. All the services and activities what hotel is offering - are extremely expensive. You can find everything cheaper if you'll search for it in town.

    We liked the breakfast, but it should be served on time. Hotel officially declares, that breakfast starts at 7 AM. But if you came at 7 AM, there is nothing to eat at all. All the food is being cooked at this time and it appears on the tables before 8 AM. So maybe it should be better to start cooking everything much more earlier or declare, that the breakfast begins on 8 AM? Location is very good, but you must climb a lot before reaching the hotel. Hotel offers various tours around Salvador, but they are very expensive. Rooms were clean, A/C was working great (but unfortunately Wi-Fi works only in reception and surrounding rooms - as we were living in the corner room, there were no wi-fi at all). Hotel has offered transfer to the airport, but it was very expensive (like everything what this hotel is offering to their clients) - 100 BRL per car.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great breakfast. Wonderful staff. Answered every questions we had about the city. Gave us suggestions on what to do where to go. All that in English. A+

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful garden, refreshing pool, very courteous and helpful staff with several excellent recommendations of how to spend our time in Salvador. Excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms are modern so there is a lack of charm. The swimming pool is a little bit small and not that clean but with a beautiful view on Salvador.

    Great staff, great view.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit disappointed in the English speaking tour guide who didn't know the answers to the questions and was anoyed at my interest in the event. Other clients interpreted for me as their Portugese speaking guide had so much great info and tried to answe my questions when I asked in Spanish.

    Breakfast was great with lots of fruit and a variety of protein and carbohydrates. Great location close but removed. Loved the balcony where I could do my yoga and see the moon rise.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    This hotel is fantastic. The rooms are excellent, clean, comfortable, some with an awesome view. The hotel has a patio-terrace with the best possible view of Pelourinho (and an awesome swimming pool), and it is location is perfect: two blocks away form all the sound and soul of Pelourinho, but a bit apart to have enough calm at night. Breakfast was great, as it was all the food we tried in Bahia, but fruits were particularly varied and sweet. Staff was the most attentive I have seen.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't turn hot water into cold water in the shower and it was quite dangerous for electricity (room 101)

    The position, the view over Pelourinho, the kindness of Claudio and all the staff, the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing major

    Extremely helpful staff, clean, good location (close to "main" Pelourinho but far enough to avoid noise), great/scenic pool area

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Neighborhood is a bit gritty

    Nice, well maintained and painted pousada which has got beatiful views over pelourinho. Also lovely garden and a pool. Hotel is in very good condition and everything is tip top.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved this place!!! Actually this was the second hotel we stayed in Salvador downtown area. This hotel was so much better than the other one.

    1) Great staff - The staffs are trying to help you providing a map explaining where to go/ not to go which is very important in a not-so-safe city. 2) Great view - wow. Can't even explain. 3) Great facilities - they have a nice cozy pool, they also provide basic stuff such as water, tea, etc 4) Good location - walking distance to everywhere in downtown. 5) Great service - Domingos helped us get to the airport with very reasonable price. My wife wanted to go to Bonfim church which is not walking distance at all and Domingos took us there as well (with small extra fee) before we head out to the airport. Thank you so much Domingos!!! :)

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to be at breakfast early in order to have what you wanted as eggs and other foods on offer would run out quickly. No fan in room. Always had to use airconditioner.

    Able to book tours from hotel. Some staff spoke English which made communication easier. Great breakfast. On Christmas Eve a dinner with complementary drinks was provided for guests. Private airport pick-up available for less than the cost of a taxi. Able to use service upon checking-out. Hotel very near to historic centre of Pelourinho.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Mario, night receptionist, was calling all the time, every night. Even when we checked in, the phone almost did not leave his ear. Also the next nights he was calling on his mobile phone, all the time. We booked a matrimonial, but initially got 2 seperate beds. Only after pushing a bit (with a frustrated Mario, because he was on his phone), we got a room with a double bed. - police officers eating the whole breakfast. Every morning (4) we had breakfast with 4 police men, and they ate everything. However, I do think it's an agreement, because they stand on the corner in Pelourinho on the street to the hostel, probably to keep us safe. Maye it's better if they come after the breakfast is finished.

    - Clean room - swimming pool, with beautiful view over historic center - walking distance to Pelourinho - tasty breakfast buffet - room cleaned daily - the owner (we think he was) was really friendly and explained everything we asked to us, with a lot of patience. We don't speak Portuguese, but do speak some Spanish. The owner spoke bit of English and Spanish and helped us a lot!! He showed everything on google maps; really appreciated!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff was extremely kind and helpful -and they even spoke very good English (which made everything soooo much easier for us since we don't speak Portuguese). Location was perfect - just a few metres out of the Vila Alta

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and helpful to provide a map with 'no go' areas at night. Breakfast was really good and so nice to have a pool so near the historic centre with such a great view!

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lift, not surprising in a period property. We asked for triple room, one bed was an uncomfortable sofa bed.

    Pool, good breakfast, location near the historic centre. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Didn't feel safe walking at night to get dinner.

    Great location - close to the Center. Felt safe walking around during the day and comfortable in the hotel. Good breakfast at nice outdoor tables. Small fountain with grass. Great outdoor pool!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The second time we came back We couldn't have a hot shower as on the night when we arrivwd the water it was cold . Something to do with solar panel system. In the morning it was still the same. As a result to try to accommodate us the compromised on the taxi fare to the airport as that it was our last destination.

    We stayed there in two different occasion and as a overall it was good, Really helpfull at the reception

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room (102) happened to have only partly funtioning AC, so it was little bit sweaty every now and then!

    The hotel is really nicely situated close to the historical center of Salvador, Pelouriho. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. The pool is nice, because there are no beaches on walking distance. Really nice and well kept room! (102).

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nois - when there is music or drums playing in the old city you can't get a sleep - and they are doing this all day and night

    Location - 200 m' to the old city. It is close to the main street so you feel safe walking there. Room and facilities - pretty comfortable and cleen. Good wifi on the hotel Overall - this is a good value for money hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were exteremely helpful in recommending us safe city areas and arranging an airport transfer. A nice breakfast is served in outdoor area, with tropical fruit and freshly made juices.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pousada da Mangueira traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil