Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada des Arts

Rua Direita do Santo Antônio 90, Santo Antonio, Salvador, CEP 40301-280, Brazil

#11 of 78 B&Bs and Inns in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 490 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    lovely breakfast and great view on the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because of the age of the property and the style, it did not appear to be properly clean. There was quite a lot of dust in the room. Also, there wasn't any bed sheets other than one sheet covering the mattress and a bed cover. I wish I knew in advance to take bed sheets with me.

    lovely breakfast and great view on the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    The building was impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the rooms makes it very difficult to maintain a high standard for cleaning. We found the rooms to be rather dusty

    The building was impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Tudo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tudo! I highly recommend this hotel. It is Beautiful, clean, comfortable, accesible and super nice. Breakfast is yummy and people is extremely friendly and nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is super! That’s what can make a place special! We really loved the place, the details of the furiniture, the AMAZING breakfast, the location. Really recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    I liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of things would have been added bonuses. A small coffee pot in the room as I wake very early and that would have been nice. Perhaps some additional information about tourist activities.

    I liked everything! I was completely amazed when I checked in . . . It is a fabulous pousada and the staff could not have been kinder or more helpful! Sempre Com Um Sorriso! The chances of my returning to this pousada are 100%! They exceeded every single expectation! :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    A very charming pousada in the City Center without the noise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the mattress, it's a bit soft for me and the bed squeaks...the fact that it doesn't have a TV doesn't bother me, but for some others it may be an issue.

    This pousada oozes of charm, it's quaint and very well located, and although it's in the Historic Center more known as "Pelourinho' it's quiet and a bit off the main plaza. The colorful arts and paintings cover the walls. There are two cute turtle pets which greet you everyday! The view from the terrace on the reception level is beautiful and the breakfast is just very good and plentiful with fresh squeezed juices and fruits. The room is clean and spacious enough. the staff is helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was not very confortable (soft mattress) and wifi connection not very good

    Very colorful and nice little pousada, perfectly located next to the old center. Great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    water took a while to get hot

    So beautiful to the eye it looked like a little rainforest inside. Maybe update the number of booking.com because it doesn't have Whatsapp and só staff were not prepared for our early arrival, but showed extremely good service when trying to sort out our room early. Greatly appreciated! Loved our stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Amazingly beautiful place, breakfast with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all: the place is super beautiful! I loved he colours and decoration. Every little detail here is made with so much care. The hostess is very nice and welcoming. The biggest bonus was the great breakfast on the balcony with an amazing sea view. I loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful rooms, thoughtfully furnitured.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stuff could be a little bit nicer and obliging and it would be nice if the breakfast could start earlier for those travelling from Salvador with bus or plane.

    Beautiful rooms, thoughtfully furnitured. Good breakfast with a great view over the bay. 24h reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Okey,but for this price you can get better in the center of Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the place we were told the breakfast price is 25R$ for a person.I booked this pausada being certain of having a breakfast include.Still don't understand if it was booking mistake or the pausada's staff.

    The room are very stylish and clean.The building was truly amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    La pousada è molto bella, coloratissima e arredata con gusto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La pousada è molto bella, coloratissima e arredata con gusto. Il terrazzo e la vista sono incantevoli. La colazione è abbondante e varia. L'atmosfera è davvero unica. Il nostro soggiorno è stato reso ancora più piacevole da Rose che è gentilissima e sempre disponibile per consigli!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely posauda with very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes there was a bad smell in the rooms, but I guess, it has something to do with the old houses...

    The breakfast was great, the staff was helpful, the house was decorated with a lot of colourful pictures.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Pousada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful and original Pousada with care taken over every detail. Really friendly and helpful owner. Spacious rooms and lying in the hammock on the balcony watching the sunset over the bay was bliss.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Maraveiloso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs some improvement, although very diverse offering and beautiful setting. Coffee especially and quality products.

    The atmosphere, the design and the decoration was amazing. Super friendly and helpful staff and great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Very nice, I strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no bar in the poussada so we could not have herbal tea in the evening for example.

    Very friendly hosts and very nice decoration. The sea view from the room was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful house. Nice views from the breakfast area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was smelly... toilet plumbs I guess. There were other rooms bigger and empty that were offered to us but with an extra cost so we didn't take it. It would have been a nice gesture to upgrade us for free as the hotel was quite empty in those days.

    Really beautiful colonial house, it could be a museum! Great views from the breakfast terrace to the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful. 5 min walk to the center and great cafes and restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    A golden nugget at the oore of Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Of course, being at that place means that other attractions (beaches, Bomfin, Rio vermelho) require transportation. But that's Salvador.

    Pousada des Arts is a great place to stay in Salvador. It is situated at walking distance from the historic center in an incredible and colourful reorganised house. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable (speaks French and can English) and the breakfast --I mean if you are not expecting the very same breakfast as at home-- is fantastic. The street is very safe all the way to the highly protected city center. We had a very pleasant week there and would be delighted to come back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful guesthouse, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that could have been better was the coffee!

    My room had a balcony with a hammock looking over the harbour. It was really peaceful and the room was very quiet. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated, the rooms are quite big and the bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was good - had a lot of options (more than the photos show). Staff were very helpful too and gave some good suggestions of places to eat, such as Cafelier - I ended up going there every day!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    I LOVE this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend updating the way the beds are listed. As far as I can tell most of the rooms have a double and a single bed at least. We were confused by the way this was expressed on Booking.com

    I LOVE this hotel. The decor is fabulous and the view from the balcony over the coastline is amazing. Beds are comfortable and everything works well. Lovely breakfast too. :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    great place
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there wasn' anything to dislike.

    the design, and the staff was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect localisation and very authentic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous breakfast views, a pair of tortoises shuffling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous breakfast views, a pair of tortoises shuffling about, bright colours, friendly staff & big rooms. Loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpfull staff, beautifully designed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpfull staff, beautifully designed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    A good location in friendly Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O

    Friendly staff even they spoke limited English, ocean view and terrace, quiet location, walking distance from old town center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in Pelourinho
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful but breakfast is too expensive

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    This hotel was so cute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was so cute. The environment was inviting and friendly with lots of color and plants. So cool! Great breakfast and great room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The decoration and the building itself. The The spacious rooms. Also the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Stunning and memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    great experience
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there wasn't anything really to complain about

    all of it, highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Part of the Historic District, and at a walking distance to a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I do thank the management and the team for the hospitality,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    I had a great stay at Pousada des Arts, a great place to relax while exploring Pelourinho!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rules for bringing in guests were too strict. :(

    Very cozy bed and home feel. Also, great view of the sea!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and peaceful place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Amazing Stay! Highly Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Small Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was amazing! Super nice, friendly and even awake at all hours to let us inside from a night out at Carnival :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.8
    I will go there again when I'll be in Salvador next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great location, beautiful rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Very nice stay, great view over the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    staff speaking English

    very nice room, beautiful balcony, nice sunset views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    It's a really well restored building and the warm feel of the building was matched by the staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Friendly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Suite - Historical Centre View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower barely lukewarm.

    Located in historic area. Very interesting old world decorations and interesting artworks. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    amazing colorfull hostel,big rooms,excelent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Balcony Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    amazing colorfull hostel,big rooms,excelent staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay in the Pousada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We really enjoyed our stay in the Pousada. It really lives up to its name and has lovely artwork. The rooms were beautifully decorated and we had balconies with a lovely view over the harbor and of the sea. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    O cafe da manha fue super bom e sobretudo ficoi muito...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I only had a problem with wifi...maybe it was an option of My phone that I don't Know but with other wifi it was ok..well some application I couldn't use.

    O cafe da manha fue super bom e sobretudo ficoi muito impresionada por os lençois..lo mais lisos que eu encontré! Parabéns!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.9
    The property is a very pleasant, delightful and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast wasn't good. There where many options, but they where not well prepared neither the ingreedients had good quality.

    The property is a very pleasant, delightful and beautiful. It's style references region real culture.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    5.0
    Location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rundown pousada. Management not very friendly. Superficial housekeeping, damp towels never changed during stay, old plumbing in need of maintenance, bed sheets too small.

    Location !

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    9.2
    1. beautiful place - i had room with a terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. just one person who works there speak spanish.. others - no spanish no english

    1. beautiful place - i had room with a terrace and didn't want to leave it.. feels like home. amazing view on a ocean 2. very comfortable bed 3. very clean 4. close to centre but far enough to be very quiet 5. great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    super exciting pousada with beautiful rooms in fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    super exciting pousada with beautiful rooms in fantastic building. Breakfast is excellent. We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    The Pousada was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Pousada was beautiful!!! Very clean and comfortable with a cool Brazilian feel. Just a short walk outside the city center.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    8.8
    Really friendly and helpfull owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really friendly and helpfull owner. Beautiful littel house with a lot of lovely details.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.3
    Very charming house and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I like orange juice when in Brazil ! - and maby a small TV in room ?

    Very charming house and friendly staff. Help with everything, just ask.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.2
    The owner Rosie and her son were really helpful and the lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner Rosie and her son were really helpful and the lady who made breakfast. Accommodating and down to earth - real people.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Pousada des Arts traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil