Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada do Baluarte

Ladeira do Baluarte, 13 casa, Santo Antonio, Salvador, CEP 40301385, Brazil

#19 of 78 B&Bs and Inns in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 73 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the pousada was very busy waiting for the shared bathroom would have been frustrating. But it seemed to be just us.

    The staff were very helpful, the pousada itself is beautiful and airy and bright

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff My Portuguese is dreadful, but Zelina and me still found a way to communicate. She was extremely helpful in helping me figure out what I could be doing during my time in Salvador. It was clear that she cared, not just that I had a pleasant stay in Pousada do Baluarte, but that I was able to appreciate the area too. She makes a mean caipirinha, too! Breakfast The breakfasts that I had while at this pousada were always filling, fantastic and varied. I told them I was a vegan and they didn't bat an eyelid, just chucked in extra fruit and other cooked options. Every day I was full enough to skip lunch...which was an issue, only because I found a couple of good vegan lunch spots in Pelourinho and wanted to try them all out! I would definitely go back there again, i didn't feel like the few days I spent in Salvador did the place justice and I would highly recommend this spot for anybody else thinking about exploring the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing guide to let you know what is best to do in the area and really helpful staff. The room and breakfast area were gorgeous. We hope to go back soon

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, Comfortable, and Quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent reception and lovely breakfast. It was perfect for the little time we had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I recommended the place to a friend and she didn t feel very welcomed, which made me embarrassed. I will not recommend it in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dona Zelina is friendly and helpful, the breakfast is amazing, it's a quiet and romantic location, walking distance from the Pelourinho.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It feels like home. And the housekeeper is so sweet and an amazing cook!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like.

    The breakfast was lovely, lots of fresh bread, fruit and eggs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was fantastic, thank you Zelina! :-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very good,fresh fruit,a. variety of cold meats,cheese,cakes and tarts,served in a lovely room.Also a charming small sitting room with small library in which to relax.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing...

    Amazing place! Amazing stuff - good people. Very very clean. Great breakfast. Great location. One of the best places I have ever stayed in. Will come back for sure.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfortable and charming guesthouse in a good location. Beds were very comfortable and the house overall is very welcoming. The breakfast was also fantastic with lots of fresh fruit and freshly made juice. Zelina is very friendly and helpful with lots of information about how to get around and things to do, as well as helping with reservations when needed. Good location in a safe and quiet neighbourhood but within a 15 minute walk of the Pelourinho. Would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner could have spoken at least some English. She was nice but a bit hard to comunicate if you have any questions and dont speak French or Portuguesse.

    Great place! Safe and quiet part of Salvador, easy to reach city center. House was clean, as well as the room. It has been cleaned every day. Breakfast was excellent - everything was fresh and the lady serving it was really nice and always smiling. Common area really nice and clean too. Would love to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very kind and friendly owners who helped us with every question we had. Even if we don't speak either Frensh or Portugues. Great Location next to Pelourinho

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More than 100 euro for that room is ridiculous, but it was during carnaval. Room is rather small, matras is old and thin. In the description is was stated there would be a hammock. Our room didnt have one. Only one room has it.

    It is a 15 min walk to the center. Quite pleasant to be away from the noise. The house is beautiful. Not a place for children. It's a place to come home to and enjoy the calm atmosphere. Its very noisy so you dont want to hear children cry in the night.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really,overall a nice stay.

    The place has Great Breakfast! the owner is great, she takes the time to answer all of your questions.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was amazing and staff super friendly and helpfull!!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    the room is really lovely, the friendly staff. Breakfast was lovely too. Its close to the center. we would stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a beautiful place. Sunny, breezy, pretty quiet, a refuge from the city

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place, stylishly decorated. Warm and kind owner and staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A fabulous place with helpful staff. Highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a nice quiet place

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location about 15 minutes walk from historic Pelourinho. Host is helpful and the pousada is very romantic. Has a B&B feel!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Zelinda is a great host! Excellent location, great place to start off the day!!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice accomodation, Zelina is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and tastefully decorated Pousada with very helpful and friendly staff. I can recommend it!

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil