Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pousada Estrela do Mar

Rua Afonso Celso, 119, Barra, Salvador, CEP 40140-080, Brazil

#13 of 86 B&Bs and Inns in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 151 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Best Pousada in Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Estrela do Mar is one of the best boutique hotels that I have ever stayed in. The staff pays a lot of attention that everything is fine during your stay, you get your breakfast personally served at the table, you get a beach towel even if you didn't ask for. The staff thinks in everything! The location is fantastic (just 100 m to the beach), the building is beautiful and you have space for reading a book or just relaxing in the hamock. The rooms are very nice and the bed is absolutely comfortable. There is 24hrs security, it is a very nice and calm atmosphere and you really feel like coming home :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Too short.... would have loved to stay longer in this lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    This hotel was simple but extremely nice, clean and stylish with lovely staff who spoke excellent english. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place at Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could need a renovation.

    Very nice and kind staff (and the owner as well!), fabulous homemade breakfast, good quiet location, in a lovely house, near the ocean and close to many small bars and restaurants. Area that felt safe for walking at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great poussada very close to the beaches and restaurants of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small bed had a bad mattress.

    Great poussada very close to the beaches and restaurants of Barra. The staff is amazing (especially Nubia and Sean). It feels like home when you arrive!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Friendly peaceful helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sean is a perfect host. Our plane was delayed so we missed our nights stay but Sean let us use the room when we arrived around 11 and cooked us up a fabulous breakfast after a weary nights travel. Incredible! The place itself is well situated and safe. Beautiful too right by beach. We are looking forward to our next stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told I would be leaving too early to have breakfast. However when i left other people were already eating, I was offered breakfast then but I didn’t have time.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    The kind of place to recommend to friends, and to which many probably return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Personally I think all hotels should provide a small electric kettle in each room. Haven't seen one a Brazilian hotel so far, though.

    Very attentive, genuine and friendly staff make this place feel like a holiday home for a few days, in a location giving access to some safe and lively small city beaches, well-served by a shopping mall and other facilities, and two minutes from a very photogenic and historic beach-front eating and promenading area. I liked the proper-sized bar of soap also! And the water and beer in the minibar at market rates. Big effort made to offer a variety of fresh local fare for breakfast. Oh, and they loaned me a beach towel, which hasn't happened before. Good wi-fi strength.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended for chilling in Salvador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    There is the best ever staff! Very friendly, helpfully and nice. Really, we felt as we are home! Location is perfect - close to two beaches, one of them especially is nice to swim. Close to buffet for tasty and cheap lunch, close to fresh juices 24). And breakfast - really, like home! Always fresh juices, fruites, coffee as a bonus ).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, very helpful staff, simple but nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were more outdated than expected. Showers were lukewarm.

    Great location, very helpful staff, simple but nice breakfast with great coffee! A clean but basic place to stay. Good for a night in transit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful, great value and well worth the travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were very few mosquitoes in the resort and on the water, but they were out in force during the jungle walk! Bring lots of repellant!

    Beautiful location, very friendly and helpful staff who went above and beyond. Fresh, tasty food which was plentiful (with lots of vegan options). Resort is lovely, super clean, lots of animals on the property. Despite being wet season, we had plenty of sunshine, and saw a great variety of birds and animals. We did all the activities (horse riding, canoe, boat rides, walk, night safari) and all were excellent. Guide was A+++ and highly knowledgeable. Sunrise and sunset views were especially beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Estrela do Mar is a great place to stay- yummy breakfast, great area, and awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On a negative note, I do think that the room was smaller than I expected for my partner and I. There was also no pool, but thankfully we were right in front of the ocean and very close to the lighthouse of Salvador.

    Pousada Estrela do Mar was visually beautiful. It is decorated with white and blue tiles and has eclectic paintings on the walls. The staff at the front desk, especially Daniel, were so kind, patient, and helpful. A lovely aspect of the Pousada was how organized they were. Upon our arrival we received a map of the area, a little paper with the wifi code, and a paper of recommended restaurants nearby- super useful! The breakfast was amazing! Did I mention they have bfast until 12p? There was fresh squeezed OJ, cut-up fruit like watermelon and papaya, delicious eggs made to order and fresh bread with ham and cheese! They even had exotic fruit jams like pineapple and guava!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Lovely place, feel at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I dislike is not even their fault; there are some men that seats all day at the street beside the Pousada trying to get money from watching cars, and they are very loud and screaming and they disturb people when walking down the street.

    Everything is excellent! You feel at home at Pousada Estrela do Mar! The staff from reception, Núbia and João and the owner Shaun, were extremely nice and friendly! There is always nice hot coffee for the guests, and the room is very cozy, the beds are very comfortable! The location is excellent, near shopping area and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, breakfast and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Depending on the room it could be a little bit noisy. Not close to the historical center of Salvador but that was a choice.

    Owner and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is wonderful! Location is great. Ocean, boardwalk, good restaurants just a few steps away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Overall a very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the rooms, and repeating hot water issues (the staff was very quick to respond, but still...)

    . Location is fantastic. Excellent, helpful staff in every possible way

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    - good location near nice beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - good location near nice beaches - awesome breakfast with tipical products - the owner and the other workers are very kind and always ready to give you informations or to help you to organize your excursions

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.8
    Cute picturesque. Super nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi in the rooms was terrible. Needed to go to the reception to use it. Reception area does have tables and you can sit there and use the Wi-Fi. Beds were old and not very comfy. But ok for one night.

    Excellent location within walking distance to farol da Barra. Super friendly and nice staff. Breakfast prepared freshly with a base of bread fruits, tapioca crepes and eggs but with a new local recipe daily. Our day had fried curd cheese which was delicious. Cute picturesque building, tiles and windows.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice and friendly guesthouse in Salvador with a very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The big size bed in the superior room was great, however the second bed was only a single sized bed. Unfortunately we also had a cockroach in the bathroom. Considering the tropical weather in Salvador, this could probably happen in every guesthouse.

    The best breakfast we had in Brazil with daily varieties, fresh juices and local food such as tapioca cake. We had a superior room, with a pretty big bathroom, aircon, fridge and TV. The television has a nice selection of international channels. The staff was very nice and helpful. Great location, less then 5 minutes away from the Lighthouse and beach. Many restaurants and bars around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Excellent stay in Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in a room under the stairs and it was a little bit stuffy and smelly. Also, the breakfast was too much food and a bit heavy for first thing in the morning.

    The location was perfect and the staff were extremely helpful. The free coffee, tea and hammocks were also a very nice detail which made the place really nice to stay in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent beginning to our trip to Brazil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast with eggs cooked how you like them, homemade cake,fresh rolls,ham and cheese and fruit. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Good and will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was put in compared to the other one I stayed in last time

    Breakfast and decor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent, breakfast was superb, and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit basic, but had everything we needed and was comfortable.

    Location was excellent, breakfast was superb, and the staff super friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, staff, clean rooms, great for families and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in rooms is not great, close to a busy street so there may be noises

    Great location, staff, clean rooms, great for families and couples

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. They helpt us very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast, great hosts, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, great hosts, perfect location. Will be back soon!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.9
    Big, clean rooms, good bed and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No buffet breakfast, therefore only limited choice of juice, fruit and cakes.

    Big, clean rooms, good bed and shower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    Helpful staff, lovely building, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated rooms, but still good value

    Helpful staff, lovely building, great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    The staff at the Pousada Estrela do Mar is extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was facing the street, therefore it was a bit noisy.

    The staff at the Pousada Estrela do Mar is extremely friendly and was very helpful. The breakfast was great, one of the best we had during our stay in Brazil. Our departure was late in the evening, we could leave our luggage at the hotel and could use the shower after check out. We even got fresh towels. The area is very safe and you have many restaurant options around.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bigger towels!

    Great value for money. I stayed in both the old town and in Barra during my week in Salvador, and would highly recommend this area over the old city, which is best seen on a day trip. The area is relaxed and convivial at night and is extremely safe and friendly. The Pousada is both welcoming and homely and spotlessly clean. The staff are the biggest asset.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    9.2
    Pousada has great location very close to Farol and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pousada has great location very close to Farol and the beach. It's calm, quiet and safe. Breakfast is served to the table and it's delicious. Sean the owner booked a transfer to Morro de Sao Paulo for us and staff in general was very helpful. I liked the decor and relaxing atmosphere od this place, with couches and hammocks. Free coffee all day.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked mostly everything.

    Breakfast was excellent. Resting and reading in the hammocks after the breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location conveniently close to the carnival events, but we could still get some sleep. Overall - we are very pleased with our stay, good value for exploring Salvador and its beaches.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    10
    The location is great, rooms are comfortable but the best is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great, rooms are comfortable but the best is the staff..absolutely outstanding. Everyone was super helpful. Our trip to Brazil started from Salvador and to be honest at Pousada Estrela do Mar we experienced the best service. From the very beginning...the airport transfers, restaurants recommendations and trips booking...everything excellent...nothing to add.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.8
    Location was fabulous, a stone's throw from the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was fabulous, a stone's throw from the beach and walking distance to lots of bars & restaurants. Breakfast was great! The staff were friendly, lovely & super helpful

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. They really take care of your personal wellbeing. Facing a problem with my travel plans, they advised and assisted me in changing bookings and they arranged some appointments for me.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    Great staff, central Barra location, really clean, comfy and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great staff, central Barra location, really clean, comfy and safe. Breakfast was yum and the staff here are all friendly and thoughtful. We only booked for one night but ended up staying on as we enjoyed so much.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.5
    1. Very nice staff, all three staff members at reception did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Facilities - the internet was incredibly poor, and the tv did not work properly. 2. Room - the room was incredibly basic and looked a bit shabby and grim (I think previous reviews don't make it very clear that this is actually more of a hostel type comfort but without typical hostel clientele). For the price we paid, this was good value for money, but definitely not a room you would look forward to going back to.

    1. Very nice staff, all three staff members at reception did their best to be helpful, booking restaurants, airport transfers and helping us use their laptop when we had an issue with our flights. 2. The breakfast was very nice as well, we could choose how we wanted our eggs done, and had fresh fruit, tapiocas and fresh juice every day. 3. Incredible location for Salvador, very close to the beach and nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    4.2
    Location and lady at reception was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safe in the room. Majority of staff members working there not helpful at all. Had an incident with a taxi driver who tried to charge us triple when dropping us back to the hostel and received no help from the staff member at reception when we reported it to him and asked if he could speak to the driver. Disappointing and useless service.

    Location and lady at reception was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is perfect! You are very close to the lighthouse of Barra. So you have very good restaurants within walking distance, late afternoon street life at the seaside only two streets away and a spot every taxi knows. The team is very, very friendly and helpful. Thank you so much for a pleasant stay in Salvador!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Everything!! We felt that the stay here was a highlight of our trip to Salvador. The staff were so helpful and friendly; the rooms (we were able to change to a room with a slighter more private outlook) were clean and comfortable; the frigibar SO useful and it's location close to the lighthouse and beaches either side was brilliant. I would thoroughly recommend it for young and older alike. Thank You Pousada Estrela

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    7.9
    Friendly and helpful receptionist who had many suggestions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you arrive in the dark as we did, you don't get a good impression of the district but wait until daylight and it is warm and sunny then you see another side to the Barra district and beaches. Enjoy!

    Friendly and helpful receptionist who had many suggestions of places to visit and she phoned ahead to find out the opening hours of the museums and spoke good English too! Breakfast great!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    Daniel, the receptionist - very helpful, great English and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Daniel, the receptionist - very helpful, great English and overall very nice staff Big, clean room with all amenities Good wifi Great location Fantastic breakfast! Everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    The staff was so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was so friendly!! They helped us a lot by organizing our trip! The Pousada is really good located. Restaurants, beach, busstation to the citycenter - everthing is nearby. We loved the breakfast! We absolutely recommend to stay in this lovely Pousada!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff and particularly Sean himself where a never ending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The staff and particularly Sean himself where a never ending source of advice and tips on where to go and what to do, always friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast and Tea/Coffee available 24hrs. WiFi was very good. Excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    10
    We've given this pousada 10 out of 10 because it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've given this pousada 10 out of 10 because it entirely met our expectations. It is more towards the budget end of the accommodation range and so the facilities reflect that. But the location, staff and value for money can't be beat. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were very helpful in making arrangements for us during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and helpful, even if most of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, even if most of them were not able to speak English. They had tea for 24h and altogether the poised is very comfy. Plus: they organized the pick-up and drop-off.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    7.1
    The pousada is ok, very good breakfast, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pousada is ok, very good breakfast, friendly staff although less than half of them speak English. the state of the room was not worth the money we paid: unsafe plug socket, old furniture and the room was very dark. The surrounding Barra seems safe and there are beaches and a few restaurants open in the evening. Good for a short, couple of days visit.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Perfect location, very nice and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location, very nice and helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.3
    Good location to get around Bahia, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location to get around Bahia, great staff!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.6
    Lovely staff, awesome location right by the ocean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Zilch.

    Lovely staff, awesome location right by the ocean and the lighthouse, warm and welcoming atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    Nice Hotel - we will come again next time Salvador
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice Hotel - we will come again next time Salvador

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    Excellent staff, great location (close to the beach)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom wasn't the nicest.

    Excellent staff, great location (close to the beach)

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    Super friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and comfy room, very clean. Great breakfast to top everything !

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    Never seen so many nice employees in one place, including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy traffic from the street

    Never seen so many nice employees in one place, including the owner. The do not pretend to be nice, they really are!

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    9.2
    The staff is efficient and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is efficient and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff, awesome breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff, awesome breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    The room and the house were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room and the house were very nice. The lady of the house took care of me so well that even my own mother got jealous! :-)

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    Great service, perfect location, and amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service, perfect location, and amazing breakfast! Would definitely recommend Pousada Estrela do Mar!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    The friendly and helpful staff, fantastic breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly and helpful staff, fantastic breakfast and excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Great location and the breakfast was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and the breakfast was very good!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    The team is very nice and helpfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower has no enough water presure

    The team is very nice and helpfull!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    8.8
    Super friendly and attentive staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can't think of anything.

    Super friendly and attentive staff. Excellent breakfast. Everything was well organized and easy.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil