Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Promenade Princess Copacabana 4 stars

Rua Xavier da Silveira, 58, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22061-010, Brazil

#211 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Were were disappointed based on the many reviews we had read before we booked. Everything was quite 'old' and though we had a kitchenette there was nothing to cook with - only basic crockery and cutlery provided. I had to ask for something to boil water in, and was given a small old dented aluminium jug. There was also no soap or tea towel for doing dishes - and when I asked, I was told I could go to the supermarket and buy my own. I was told that the maid would do the dishes - mostly this didn't happen and the things I had rinsed out were still sitting where I had left them, when we came back to the room. The unit desperately needed painting. All the seats in the suite were old and needed re-springing The breakfast was poor - juices too watery to bother drinking. Poor choice of items. Same cakes presented day after day. We were there 7 days and the things on offer were the same every day. Same watery scrambled eggs, and chopped up cocktail frankfurts? in a tomato sauce. The coffee was poor and in containers with scruffy old dirty labels which looked like they had been there for years.

    Location was 2 short blocks back from the beach-front of Copacabana. The "junior suite" we had was spacious. The room was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Staff were all polite and pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air-conditioner in the room was extremely loud, which meant that a good night's rest was difficult.

    Excellent location, only two blocks from Copacabana and walking distance to Ipanema. Lots of restaurants etc very close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The pool closes at 5pm which is a little early in summer. This may be because the lifeguard only works until then. I often wanted to swim at 7 or 8pm. 5pm is a little early to close up.

    Excellent hotel in Xavier da Silveira- the heart of Copacabana. I had a suite at the back (poolside) of hotel which was quiet for daytime sleeping as I was out all night. The room is really an apartment with a sitting room and kitchen. No issues with visitors as long as they have identity. There is a safe in the wardrobe which is important in Rio. The hotel is well run and a good choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was much smaller than it looked in the photos. And we couldn’t use it since the water was dirty/unclear and there was a lot of sand at the bottom. Also, it was only 1 meter deep. The other services and equipment in the “relax and gym area” were in rather poor condition (for example, there wasn’t even water in the spa tub).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Not cheap by any means.

    Property is only a few blocks from the beach. Reception staff speak English and always helpful. Breakfast is great but rather monotonous. My special gratitude would be to the maid service lady who cleaned my room daily before I return from breakfast consistently. Thank you Princess Promenade for a wonderful vacation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was good, but same choices everyday which made it a little boring for a week stay.

    Spacious room and very comfortable beds. Having a kitchenette was useful, especially a fridge to keep drinks, snacks and fruit chilled and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room can get quite crowded when the hotel is full - I simply took my breakfast outside.

    One of my best Booking.com experiences ever. I initially booked for 3 nights and ended up extending my stay. My only regret was having to leave. Everything was fabulous, from the friendliness of the staff (Antonia and Patricia at reception and the staff in the breakfast room - thank you so much for looking after me so well) to the cleanliness and functionality of the rooms to the breakfast itself (best apple and cinnamon fritters ever......one can get addicted) to the location and the quietness of the rooms (I had a back facing room away from the street, which was so quiet that one wouldn't think one is in the middle of the Copacabana). I can really recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Pool and terrace area closed

    Large apartment, with separate lounge and bedroom. Staff were really great, after checking in and paying in full for room, we were told the pool and the terrace could be used as there were closed for maintenance, and we were allowed to cancel our booking and got a full refund, fantastic customer service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was fine.

    GOOD BREAKFAST. CLEAN ROOM. COMFORTABLE BED. GOOD SWIMMING POOL.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning even though it said there was when we booked. Balcony door would not shut properly so it was very noisy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Twin
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Bathroom quality, Swimming pool is only around 2 feet.

    Staff is really helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street outside.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was in a good location for Copacabana beach and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and clean. I've stayed there before

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put more kitchen utensils pots kitcheb soap and towels etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite Twin
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable.

    The staff is extremely professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our wi-fi was sooo poor, but being happy about everything else, we forgot to complain about it to the staff :D Anyway, if they see it, please improve the speed of internet. Muito obrigado! :)

    Really big room. FANTASTIC view from the balcony at the ocean and mountain if you choose the street view, but notice that it's a bit noisy due to air-conditioning systems outside + traffic + the ocean. Anyway, we LOVED it. Helpful and friendly and fun staff. Delicious breakfasts. Good pool, used it a couple of times. The hotel is old, but very neat.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    almost nothing. except the fact that the terrace door was broken and could not lock it while there is easy access to it - had to put my computer in the safe every time i leave the room as it is quite expensive one.

    perfect location, 200m from copacapana beach, and very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Broken amenities that were not told to us before arrival. They would not let us use their other property to use the same amenities.

    Decent location and large room.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some facilities were not available - sauna, jacuzzi and steam room No shade around the pool Kitchen amenities could be better - no pans for use on the hob

    Staff were excellent and helpful, good location Plenty of space in the apartment and super balcony

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sauna and jacuzzi not working at all.

    English speaking receptionists who were helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchenette would be great if you wanted to make snacks. Breakfast was good. 5min walk to copa beach.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym facilities were very poor. The pool was in shade all day but you don't really need it being so close to beach! Air conditioning was very noisy but we didn't really need it much while there.

    The breakfast was very good for a small hotel - good range of fruits, juices, cereals (including lovely granola), breads, cooked items and cakes for those with a sweet tooth! The staff were very helpful and also the cleaning staff did a great job each day. Location is amazing - literally 30 seconds from beach and sunway and street itself is quiet compared to others around it.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both sauna and steamroom appeared to be not working

    The hotel is perfectly located for Copacabana with lots of restaurants in walking distance. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Staff were very helpful, breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I picked this place because it offered a kitchenette as I was staying for 2 weeks and eating out as a vegetarian in Brazil can be tough. A full set of crockery and eating utensils were proved but nothing else and the hobs weren't working. Someone eventually managed to get the hobs to work after we pulled the fridge out and discovered they weren't plugged in and he turned the gas on. Twice I asked for things to cook with but only ever received pots and a stirring spoon and a flat dish, which limited me to only things I could cut with an eating knife and things that weren't very liquid and didn't need covering for the microwave. I don't really think the facilities should be advertised as including a kitchenette when they don't provide the means to use it! The air con was the old window type so quite noisy.

    I was staying here while I was working downtown for two weeks and the location was excellent for my commute - just two blocks to the Metro. Microwave and stove top was great for simple meals but no cooking equipment provided (see below). As a vegetarian I was happy to discover the vege restaurant Bio Carioca in the same street.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't think of anything. :-)

    Great service, everyone was very friendly and made every effort to make you feel at home and welcome. The location is ideal, very short walk to the beach and stores of all kinds. Don't miss the 24hour restaurant at the corner, yummy local food at good prices.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Front desk staff was very nice. Check in and check out was very easy.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    atencion y comodidad en general

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad value for money. Not genuine 4 Star. Barely 3 Star.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location near shops, bars, beaches etc . Friendly staff and very comfortable bed with nice soft pillows! Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A small hotel in the heart of Copacabana. The facilities are not amazing but the service is great and the people is really nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very helpful. Very comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen had no pots, pans or utensils so pretty much a waste of space!!

    Convenient to beach, shops and restuarants

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed is small

    Location, price, kitchen

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, size and quiet room

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast could be better once they were out of things they didn't replenish them especially on the weekend.

    Location, size of room

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil