Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Own Visconti 4 stars

Rua Prudente de Morais 1050, Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22420-042, Brazil

#199 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 355 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under an ownership transition so I guess that there a couple of details that will ve adressed soon by the new owner. The facilites were ok but can improve, the tv was quite old, the jacuzzi and gym area too. It was not clearly explained in any brochure on how to connect to the internet correctly. At the very last day I ve found out that there was access to nexflix

    The location is great and the hotel personell were very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym and sauna under maintenance This should have been communicated at time of bookling or compensation in price offered Tv at breakfast should be abolished Guests want quiet! Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More cable channels would be nice to enjoy the room at night. Some machines at the gym were out of order and the sauna has been out of order since last year. The jacuzzi could be a bit cleaner: not many people use it but is worth visiting.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, great breakfast, nice jacuzzi area. Great value for money. Will always come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our AC broke so we had to be moved to another room but just down the hall so it was a very easy move.

    The staff were very friendly and the hotel is a short walk to the beach in a very touristy area which felt safe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking fee could be charged to the customer's bill. Not a negative point, merely an area for improving the customer's experience.

    Very nice breakfast. Cozy property. Excellent location. Clean, convenient. Not fancy and that was not a requirement for my needs. A block from a the beautiful beach of Copacabana. Parking at the property (for a fee). Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice spacious room, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Gym and pool are very small but who needs a pool when you are at one from block from the beach. Location is perfect. A little bit on the expensive side, but so is Rio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could use a renovation, but the same is true for most places in Ipanema that Ive seen

    Great location. They were happy to move me to higher floor facing the back and away from the street. Very comfortable and good value. Stayed here before about 12 years ago.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be a little noisy when morning traffic begins, but that's what you get when you're in a busy town like Rio.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, nice and spacious rooms with kitchenette and sitting area. I will book this hotel again if I come back to Rio.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were excellent, but I had a bad experience with one member of staff. My cousin who is from Rio came to visit me; this staff member barred us when we tried to take up the lift to my apartment. I would not have minded this at all if he hadn't been so rude to us. It was very embarrassing and unnecessary. For this reason I will think twice before staying again.

    Excellent location, good breakfast, friendly staff (for the most part). Room was clean and relatively spacious, but could do with some refurbishing/modernising.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to sleep with the bar next door...

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Clean room and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever to complain about

    Very comfortable spacious room and extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is terrible. Impossible open my emails and surf in the net.

    Location, value, break fast and size of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice and clean hotel, just one block from the mean street, one block from the beach. Good breakfast with fresh fruit juice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing hotel with professional and friendly staff, who are always ready to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good location, spacious room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    staff were very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    Location Staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pricey.

    Awesome studio with everything you may need

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and thin walls and doors

    Excellent and friendly service,decent breakfast with long hours

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff was very nice and ready to help when I had to make some local calls. Fresh fruits and juice at breakfast were amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Elevators were very slow.

    Location, how staff went all the way to please us, clean and comfortable, good breakfast.. I place I'd like to go back for sure, and also recommend to others.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is only one bad thing about this hotel, but this is really bad: There are two night clubs / restaurants close to the hotel. And these are VERY loud at night. On two nights (monday and Thursday) there was a party and I couldn't sleep until 4am because the noise was so loud. I live in Brasil and I am quite used to the noise the people make here all the time but this was extreme. Sadly the hotel was full and I couldn't switch rooms. For me that is a reason to never return to this hotel.

    - very friendly personal - location is very good, close to the beach and the central street of Ipanema - Rooms ate spacious and clean

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning was a bit flaky being too hot or too cold much of the time. Bar close by was loud very late into the night.

    One block from the beach and in the heart of Ipanema. Clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast in the morning. We were in a luxury suite and it was more than enough space.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - towels were stained - only a very thin sheet on the bed - sheets were not changed during our 4 day stay

    - location was great - room was a great size - breakfast was ok but not great - staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was " non smoking room" and smelled to cigarette. They solve the situation after we informed it.

    The staff is friendly and professional, Diego made an excellent work.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived I felt the room's floor was not perfectly clean (there was some sand there) but we cannot say it is not a clean hotel. They made it up when cleaning the room the other days.

    The location is perfect, really near Ipanema beach. From there you can walk to Copacabana, Lagoa, Leblon and enjoy the nice restaurants and stores available in that region. The hotel does not have many rooms, so it is very quit. Breakfast is simple but good enough. We had an upgrade to a bigger room (almost an apartment) which was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was quite noisy in the weekend, a couple of restaurants with music are quite close to the hotel and parties go on till late in Brazil!!!

    The staff was super helpful and the location is fantastic! One block to the beach and one block from the Main Street of restaurants and shops! The hotel is nothing special but room was big and clean as was the bathroom

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean faculties and room. Room was large. Easy quick walk to great part of Ipanema beach. One of the better included breakfasts we had on our trip. Staff was friendly, helpful and spoke English.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The worst thing was the noise coming from the streets. One night it really affected my sleep, was there was loud music and people talking extremely loudly on the street or a bar right below my room - and I was on the 6th floot. I couldnt sleep at all which, for a business traveller is a major issue. Also, the reception staff was slighty confused and not very effective. On the other hand, the restaurant staff was very polite and helpful. The matress was way too soft, which made a good night sleep pretty difficult, even if the noise wasn't so loud.

    Romm was a decent size and properly cleaned.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms that face Maria Quiteria street are quite noisy at weekend nights due to a bar that exists there. Soft bed cushion.

    Staff is very friendly Location Room size Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really, some of the bathroom could do with a bit of a refurb but it all worked.

    Big clean rooms, hot powerful shower, great international tv channels available. Super fast wifi, very friendly English speaking reception staff

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No pool if that's your thing, and the gym/exercise area is very limited. That said, the beach is only a block away and has numerous exercise stations, etc.

    Great location on a mainly residential street (Ipanema beach/Posto 9 is one block away in one direction, and the other direction has streets loaded with shopping and restaurants). Safe walking in Ipanema and Leblon after dark (vs. Copacabana).

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not very helpful: - answered very late to the e-mails (had to call internationally 2-3 times before confirming the room after booking through the site) - we almost lost the possibility to see the Pao de Azucar because they haven't confirmed the tour (we had to go on our own without the tour). In all fairness they managed to organize the transfer to the Sambodrome after a lot of insistence from our side. - reserving a transfer from the airport was very difficult due to the communication (it was cancelled because I haven't replied in one day and a half and had to re-book it again) The breakfast was served in the lobby of the hotel with no separation between the eating place and the people checking in/out or going to the beach. The room seemed very expensive for the overall experience (most probably due to the very high season).

    The hotel is well located, 1 block away from Ipanema beach, close to some restaurants in the area and close to the main street connecting Leblon and Copacabana. The room was clean (but not exceptional) and with a decent size for 2 persons including a minibar and safe. Due to the Carnival, the "quiet room" during the night was quite loud despite the double windows but this was not an inconvenience. The breakfast had a decent variety (some good fruits) and OK taste.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The day before arriving hotel sent email cancelling reservation that was confirmed months in advance. Contacted the hotel and made us book extra room in order to keep up reservation. Rooms were not clean, the smell from the bathroom could be felt from the distance. Ended up paying almost USD 400 for just one night. For that price could have stayed at five star hotel instead.

    Except for the location, there was nothing remarcable.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were holes in the bed sheets, bugs in the bed, hairs in the bed, dirty sheets, dirty bathroom, mold, and doors that would not lock. The Promenade offered us a different room; however, the exact same issues were found in that room as well. With the door not being able to lock and be accessible to anyone at anytime, we did not feel secure and left after one night.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too soft bed! Would have liked a wash cloth too.

    Everything, except the the too soft bed, was fine. Excellent breakfast. Great personnel--very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not very comfortable

    The helpfulness of the stuff ! They were amazing helping us to communicate and finding the best places to go to Breakfast was very good ! Location!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to Ipanema beach was great Large sized room Rooms were clean Breakfast was a nice touch and provided enough variety Glad there was a mini fridge

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I specifically asked for a room for 2 adults a 8 year old and a 1 one year old when making reservation 3 months in advance. The day before arrival the hotel sent me an email telling me that the reservation was canceled because could not accommodate us. I called them and at the end had to book an extra room despite that the room we originally got was a spacious suite. Ended up paying more than USD 400 for one night stay. For that money I could have stayed at a much better hotel. It was a complete rip off considering the rooms were not clean, the smell of urine from the bathroom was very bath, the staff very unatentive and did not offer to assist or help in any way to make our stay more comfortable. I would never stay again at this property and would discourage anyone from staying here. For the money you end up having to pay surely a much better place can be found.

    The hotel location is good.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    Extremely friendly, smiling and well educated staff that makes you feel really welcome! Large, comfortable rooms. Good breakfast, Wi-Fi and Air con.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staffs readiness to serve. They were very friendly. Hotel is cosy. Location is very good. Near to the beach and lot of cafes arround. If you want, good shopping possibilities.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was super OK.

    Location, staff, comfortable room, breakfast, good price in comparison to other hotels in the zone.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service was impeccable

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpfull staff, amazing location, very close to beach and many excellent restaurants!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited space for breakfast

    Overall excellent staff and service provided by them.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely basic type of accomodation at prices of a five star hotel (even if during high season)

    Position at a block from Ipanema Beach

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff very unpolite, mainly at the front desk.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Housekeeping needed longer hours

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to excellent restaurante and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very poor building quality (noisy from both neighbouring rooms and also outside)

    good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room extremely noisy on Friday and Saturday due to a nearby club.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Hotel is close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Top location Friendly staff Nice rooms with all amenities, although very noisy a\c

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Incredible location. Very nice hotel exceeded my expectations.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Great staff, great location, so close to the beach and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not the most modern deco!

    Great location and very friendly staff. Plus really large bedrooms, especially those with the kitchen

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast lacked variety, room was pricey and smells old

    Nice location near Ipanema beach, room upgrade

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Localização perfeita! Quarto excelente! Promoção do booking, divina!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the beach and restaurants, very nice and spacious room and bathroom great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The balcony is a plus! It's nice to have a lookout even when its raining.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bad things to report.

    The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    had AC trouble twice in my room and was moved to another room for the final two days of my stay

    Staff was very helpful and courteous and well informed

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed not confortable, noisy ac, very expensive

    location, breakfast, nice staff, english speaking at desk.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too expensive for value, staff unfriendly.

    Location, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Position of the Hotel is perfect. In the middle of Ipanema neighborhood just 50 m. from the beach

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were rude and refused to allow us to stay in the room we had booked even though our baby didn't need a separate bed

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil