Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Brazil hotel reviews
  3. Rio de Janeiro State hotel reviews
  4. Rio de Janeiro hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Pura Vida Hostel

Reviews of Pura Vida Hostel

Rua Saint Roman, 20, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22071-060, Brazil

#316 of 383 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 464 hostel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    7.1
    The Location is very cool and so close to the Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At first...the Neighbourhood is scary... its right at the entrance to the Favela so especialy at Night, you have to be aware. The Room was really ok for the Price and you cant expect 5 Stars if you Checkin to a Hostel. This was the Suite how ever and the Aircon did not cool and in 35 Degrees that was a shame. As seen in the Picture, the Bedsheet is not fitted, so as it has the same size like the Bed, dont be fussy as during the Night, you will touch the Bare Mattres. Electricity only works when the Key is plugged in too... but you need the Key to Lock the Door. So you have to do this all in the dark before setteling in. This was only a 2 Night stay, and all in all it was fun and a good excersise with all the Stairs!

    The Location is very cool and so close to the Beach. Very easy going and friendly Place. Helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    7.9
    Perfect location very close to copacababa beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Female Dormitory Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    10 beds womens dorm is just too hot cause there are only two fans for a huge room and sun is shining in all day.

    Perfect location very close to copacababa beach, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. Free tours organized by the staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly/helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It can be a bit loud, music from the bar.

    The kitchen is very big and has all you need. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Very close to the beach. Although the area seems “rough” we never had any problems and felt fine and safe all the time. A lovely woman on reception, very helpful!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.1
    The location was really near Copacabana and Ipanema beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water was always cold. Heater was not functioning very well.

    The location was really near Copacabana and Ipanema beach. There's a nearby shop where you can buy goods for souvenirs. Garden hostel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    7.1
    Good vibes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was hard. Breakfast was too plain. There was a big cockroach near my bed. And a little lizard in the shower!! Toilet paper was never replaced

    The friendliness of the staff 😃

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.6
    The private rooms are lovely, really clean and all have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is not included!

    The private rooms are lovely, really clean and all have a small balcony! The Hostel is at the end of a favela but we never had any problems. Only one block from Copacabana beach and maybe two blocks from the metro, so the location is amazing! Would really recommend doing the favela tour ran by the hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay during carnival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar is too expensive for backpackers. Staff were not knowledgable enough on Rio.

    Great location. Really lovely private rooms with aircon. Cleaned daily. Good common areas. Huge kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    8.3
    Great Hostel in Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar at the hostel didn’t serve drinks so not a place you can have a few unless you bring your own. Check in lacked a lot of information, weren’t told about the bar or that you had to drop your key in if you wanted your room cleaned. A little more information upon check in would be great!

    Great location, super cute room with balcony in the gardens. Room was quiet at night when doors were closed up. Kitchen had everything you needed including bubbler to fill water bottles. Wifi worked well. Shower had hot water if you needed it but not required in that weather!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    8.8
    Really nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shared toilets/showers are adequate, but don't offer much in the way of privacy or comfort. Also, the electronic lock in the dorms plays a little tune every time the door opens or closes. This gets old pretty fast. Most of the people in the dorm simply leave the door slightly ajar in order avoid triggering the annoying tune, which beats the purpose of having a lock in the first place.

    Really nice staff. Location close to the beach, supermarkets and nice places to have breakfast or eat out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.7
    Private rooms are very clean comfortable and well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our shower was cold. The hostel has a bar as part of the complex and on Friday and Saturday night it was very loud and felt like the party was going on in our room. Which kept my girlfriend awake most of the night.

    Private rooms are very clean comfortable and well decorated. Very close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and polite. Was very close to the entrance of a favela so had lots of interesting characters around. Although we were a bit concerned about this to start we took precautions with our belonging and nobody gave us any trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    8.8
    The vibe, the communal areas, the happy hour at the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The vibe, the communal areas, the happy hour at the bar

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    7.5
    It was close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was close to the beach

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    6.3
    42/5000 It was fine, but I expected more from the hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dirty kitchen, location to the hostel not clean, something ugly.

    Friendly, fun, great place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.6
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything mainly the people!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.1
    Cool5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ok

    People

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    5.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelled quite bad and there were lots of ants.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.1
    Fair Accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi not working in the room. No bidet

    Staff is very nice and helpful,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    10
    The staff was the best i went alone but i got to party with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    That i could stay for to long.

    The staff was the best i went alone but i got to party with them every night more than just staff they became my friends, they speak perfect english spanish and portuguese... It looks a bit scary at first because the entrence its at the beginning of a favela but dont let movies fool u its super safe there is police 24/7 and i walked alone in the favela and felt safer than anywhere else !! Big thanks to Kim, Victor and ciro they were super helpfull and funnest ppl to party with!

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2016

    4.6
    The staff for the breakfast is very nice, I don't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    But the staff from the reception, not very involved in their job, or smiling or try to create a good atmosphere.. The kitchen, I've been in many hostel in australia and the kitchen was clean, and we had access to many commodities. here not even a bowl ! The smell of the Favela close to it every morning I didn't like it neither my friends ! Ah I forgot, the breakfast at 8am why so late ???? And then we can pick up a "fecha" at the reception. I couldn't take my breakfast two morning because I was going to visit something, and then I asked if I could use my two fechas for the day after. They said no... What's the problem ? Nothing very commercial at all !

    The staff for the breakfast is very nice, I don't have anything to say about that. The bar in the back of the hostel is very nice and WIDO the bartender as well ! I had a great moment ! The room was ok.

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2016

    4.6
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms so hot with only 1 little fan!!! Most of the Staff would rather be somewhere else rather than speaking to you.kitchen too small and no staff to Cook (we had to ask for Forks!!!).location: it s couple of blocks away from the beach however it s at the entrance of a favela. Lots of doggy people around all the Times . I down t feel being in a safe area.

    Good breakfast. The building is nice with balcony from the rooms and little outdoor area.

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2015

    5.0
    The workers always helped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell of the rooms. Was a very boring hostel that did not have much life. I would have never stayed there if I would have known its a block up a favela. Very shitty experience for a young woman walking alone.

    The workers always helped. The main building of the hostel is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    5.8
    Location and big room in the 12 dorm that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The unfriendlinest staff I had on my trip Unwilling to help, rude, purposely given false information (wanted to excend my stay and the said not more space. I checked online and there was plenty of space). I had to ask 5 times before somebody helped me booking my flights (I unfortunately don't speak Portuguese). For evrything you have to pay. When you arrive early/late you pay 5 reals to keep things safe, you have to choose between from breakfast and get only one thing of each (eggs or ham and cheese or fruits) overall not satisfied that att all. Only location made me stay the staff was always bothered when asked for help that is in my eyes

    Location and big room in the 12 dorm that's it

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2015

    7.1
    Tiptop located, nice rooms, balconies and hammocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Strange that you had to choose for either egg or fruits or cheese and ham for breakfast... And the service personal every day brought the wrong thing - not what we ordered. Don't know why you make it so "complicated"... And the kitchen could be better equipped. Just 2 small pots, no pans, a few forks and knifes for a whole hostel was just not enough.

    Tiptop located, nice rooms, balconies and hammocks!

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    7.9
    The staff were awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Mattress were not very comfortable weak WIFI signal

    The staff were awesome The facilities were in a good condition (bathrooms recently restored, spacious common areas, etc)

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    7.5
    It is very close to Copacabana Beach, just a few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The street it's on is a bit sketchy looking, kind of scary when you first arrive, looks like the beginning of a favela. Apparently everyone feels that way at first, then you realize it's not a big deal and are quite happy with everything else.

    It is very close to Copacabana Beach, just a few minutes walk. Very comfy beds. Good private bathroom in the dorm, clean. I stayed in the 10 bed "Gávea" dorm. I also used the shower in the shared bathroom one day and thought that bathroom was not so good, dorm with private bathroom is much better. Overall I was happy with stay. Nice breakfast terrace.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    7.5
    staff really friendly and spoke english and spanish (and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One bad thing I could say is that whilst the hostal is very close to the beach it is also at the entrance to a favela, and walking up that hill late at night did sometimes feel a bit unconfortable. Also a kettle in the kitchen would have been good.

    staff really friendly and spoke english and spanish (and maybe more) and were ready to help us with whatever trip we were planning with lots of helpful information, we always felt welcome there

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    6.3
    Really good breakfast (inkluding ham, cheese, egg,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The bathroom was horrible, also dirty, the kitchen was really small and the dishes were dirty, there were cats in the hostel yelling infront of my roomdoor, and the hostel is located at the entrance of a favela

    Really good breakfast (inkluding ham, cheese, egg, fruitsalat,...), that it is just a 5 min walk to the copacabana beach, there is a main avenue close to the hostel with a supermarket, bank and all you need, also metro is close so you can walk there and lots of busses to the main sightseeing thinks are close to the hostel

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    7.9
    Location of the hostel is great, it is very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hostel seems to be very strict about, they have procedures for everything even logging to the Wifi requires extra effort :). They are not very flexible - e.g. there were free caipirinhas in a bar until 19:30 and when I was there at 19:35 I didn't get one (I know I was late but in every place I was it wasn't that strict). Also they may charge you for keeping your backpack (in the end they didn't charge me but at the beginning they said it will cost something). However, they keep backpacks in a secure locked place - so you pay for this. Anyway it was first time I saw paying for this.

    Location of the hostel is great, it is very close to Copacabana beach and what is interesting it is at the very beginning of one of Favelas (but is really very safe and for me location in a Favela was a plus). My room was clean and the bad was comfortable. Bathroom was clean too. Breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    6.3
    Just 5 minute walking from the Copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just 5 minute walking from the Copacabana beach. Single rooms are new and nicely decorated: There is no cleaning service in the rooms, but you can make laundry yourself. Common area in hostel is a nice with huge living room with sofa and TV. Breakfast is not bad, but organization is a bit messy, you get to wash your own dishes. Good if you like hostel atmosphere, if you want more luxury for the same price you could stay in a some of hotels nearby . Hostel is located on the entrance to Pavao Pavaozinho favela, so you get to experience the smells and folklore of favela for free :) Police car is usually parked nearby, so there is no reason for fear. Staff is polite and speaks English well. Cheap bicycles for rent are available at hostel, but make sure you get it on time.

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2015

    7.9
    Loads of people and the possibility to makes new friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The breakfast was small and didnt have any juice, on the weekends they have a club downstairs so its very noisy.

    Loads of people and the possibility to makes new friends

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2015

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Staff is basically there to make sure that you pay your bill and to check future reservations. I had the feeling that I was disturbing when I asked for assistance.

    Good location.very close to copacabana and easy bus and subway access to center of Rio.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2015

    8.8
    The staff is frendly, and the feeling is that of being in a...
    • Solo traveler

    The staff is frendly, and the feeling is that of being in a group of cooperative friends. The hostel also organizes events, free cocktails hours and trips.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2015

    7.5
    Pura Vida is a fun, colorful hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bathroom could be a little bit cleaner (it smelled a little) but for the price it was totally okay

    Pura Vida is a fun, colorful hostel. The location is right next to the entrance of a favela but it felt really safe (lots of people around there)

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2015

    5.8
    Staff are really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I stayed in a private room and it is not quite worth the money. The hostel is at an entry of a favela, but it feels safe. Breakfast is bad.

    Staff are really nice. Price is good. Location is close to beach and everything in Copacabana.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2015

    6.7
    Decent location although it's right by the entrance of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drinks are expensive and I didn't like the breakfast coupons policy! A buffet would be more adequate and reasonable! Kitchen was also very average!

    Decent location although it's right by the entrance of a favella and double rooms are comfortable and clean!

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast was good especially if staying in a double because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do not get the "EASY TRANSFER" bus from them. They get a tiny commission from it and sell it as being a good easy way to travel - free pick up etc but it is anything but easy. A 4 hour trip took 8 hrs. Stick to public buses...they are more comfortable cheaper and more reliable.

    Breakfast was good especially if staying in a double because you get 3 tokens instead of 1. Close to Copa Beach...near a pacifed favella entrance but this is not a problem at all. Nice open lounging area, great to meet people.

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2015

    9.6
    They have the best staff I've experienced in all my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have the best staff I've experienced in all my travels! Not only are they welcoming but they are extremely helpful. The location is perfect because it's close to the beaches and restaurants and there are always good people at the bar to meet.

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2015

    6.7
    Close to the beach,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maintenance and cleaning of rooms Bathroom door did not close at all. No daily cleaning

    Close to the beach, Free wifi, Friendly staff Nice other guests

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2015

    6.7
    stayed for 2 nights in one of the private rooms which were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad really, apart from noise, but it was the weekend, in Rio.

    stayed for 2 nights in one of the private rooms which were great and hotel standard. Clean and comfortable. Kitchen was average and we never found it busy. The Friday night music from the bar was playing very loud until at least 4am which if you are not getting involved is a bit of a bore. Bar was also expensive and you were not allowed to bring your own alcohol into the hostel.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2016

    10
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Seating on the balcony ;)

    Great breakfast. Great view. Good fans. Great security. Great location. Fantastic people :)

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    10
    Location is great and the bar is super fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is great and the bar is super fun. Private room is very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2016

    4.6
    Bad breakfast, A little bad location, Some of staff...
    • Solo traveler

    Bad breakfast, A little bad location, Some of staff can't speak English

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    10
    The staff are so friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff are so friendly

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    5.8
    Next to a favela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Next to a favela. Looks scary

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2015

    8.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2015

    10
    We stay in Pura Vida about once a month.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stay in Pura Vida about once a month. It is just perfect for our needs.

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2015

    9.2
    Only 100 metres from beach, staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of steps to reach propert and then even more to get to the room

    Only 100 metres from beach, staff helpful

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    5.8
    Location near to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid for private room with shower. Two nights of no water. Smell of cat pee everywhere inside room.

    Location near to beach

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi sign in process was irritating

    Friendly staff and good location

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    8.8
    Awesome location, right next to copacabana beach and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy at night sometimes

    Awesome location, right next to copacabana beach and close to arpoador and ipanema for surfers

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    8.3
    Made new friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stares haha but was ok

    Made new friends! And the tours! And parties!

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2015

    7.9
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC was mediocre

    Nice room Good WiFi

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil