Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana Regente This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida Atlântica, 3716, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22070-001, Brazil

#212 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2199 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.3
    Basic no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff did not care. I asked three times for a room service menu, ordered dinner without knowing my options, waited for a menu again so I could choose breakfast. Check out man did not speak English. I was trying to explain that my room service charges were actually missing from my bill, but he first assumed I was trying to argue that my bill was too high. I asked for water to be put into the empty minibar, it arrive too late to be of use for me. This is a cheap low-service hotel with a great location.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    5.0
    My stay was disapointment from wath I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room that I get was very disapointment. Very diferent from the photos that was show in the site. No view to the beach in the room. (was show in the photos). The clean off the bathroom was poor.

    the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Best value on the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast costs extra

    Great location and great value compared to other properties located on the Copacabana strip. Love the rooftop pool and bar area. Seaside rooms have a fantastic view of the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.8
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel rooms are not what they show on the photos. We changed rooms because ours were simple impossible to sleep in, dirty, old and smelly. The new one was a little bit cleaner, but again the tap was leaking, sometimes the shower didn’t have hot water. It seems they bought an old hotel and gave it a name of Grand Merccure, however the facilities are not at the same standard as the other hotels from the chain.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    5.8
    Good location but needs refurbishing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street next to Building B is very noisy until late at night, and since there are no shutters on the windows, only the glass doesn't keep the noise out. The blinds aren't wide enough to reach both walls so at dawn's first light, and with no shutters, the room becomes bright. The restaurant service is slow, the food took an hour to arrive.

    The location is great, just across the street from Copacabana Beach, walking distance to Forte de Copacabana, Pedra do Arpoador, Ipanema Beach and vans to Corcovado departure stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.5
    Amazing staff, great breakfast an decadent instalations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are old, a bit dingy. They informed me that the hotel is going to go through a makeover soon - and it really needs one. It has a decadent feel to it - but so does Rio and Copacabana. For the price, I would expect better - but the service they provide really made us see pass this...

    The people that work in this hotel are amazing - always ready to help with a smile on their face. 100% of the people I interacted with were super nice. Breakfast was also very good with loads of options and everything fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Central and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool is small but the view is worth every penny!

    The location is excellent and also offers a fairly good breakfast. The room was basic but offered a fridge and all normal amenities. WiFi was also really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.1
    Great central location, helpful reception staff and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy lift shafts heard from the bedroom, very squeaky! And the bedrooms are not soundproofed (gap by the window into next room) so they probably heard our baby crying and we heard them having sex! Rooms are tired, stained lampshade, one glass and 2 towels for a three person stay. Rooftop pool is very small and sadly the solarium (sunbed area) was closed for maintenance.

    Great central location, helpful reception staff and friendly waiting staff. Comfy beds and lovely toiletries. Nice breakfast buffet selection and will make hot food to order if requested at the kitchen window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.4
    I will choose a different hotel next time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had bad furniture, the room towels were falling apart, and there was only a shower, no bathtub.

    Great location but certainly NOT a four star hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Large hotel, great reception staff and location but bad bathroom and annoying lift cards!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crowded messy breakfast area. Lift card system. Poor shower and blocked sink. Hotel too big! Pool area disappointing.

    The reception staff..amazing assistance - made the stay! Great location opposite beach. Great breakfast variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    9.6
    The brekfast was excellent, the teem was nice and very kind,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi didnt work all the whole stay and even when we calld no one came to help us.

    The brekfast was excellent, the teem was nice and very kind, the location was amazing too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was not clean and smelly. Bed was uncomfortable.

    Great Location. Great view from the roof top. Nice Gym. Plenty of restaurants and grocery store around the hotel. The receptionist Mary Anna had an excellent English and very good customer service, which is quite rare in Rio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    2.9
    Pretty depressing. Rio is a great city but this hotel almost ruined my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dirty and seems like they aren’t interested in cleaning or upgrading. Dirty windows, dirty mirrors, rusty and dirty fridge, leaking AC.

    The breakfast was decent. However, breakfast is not included in the price. You have to pay extra at check-in. Don’t be fooled by the “breakfast included” option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    7.9
    If you don't want to economize too much and have a great view in the middle of the copa book a room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was (furnitere-wise) quite run down for the rate we eventually paid. The only compensation was the view. The beds, however, were okay (large and reasonably separated; I was staying there with my teenage son).

    The staff (particularly Darley) was extremely helpful. We got checked in early (8 am) and a late check out (3 pm). They offered us an upgrade at a (more or less ;-)) reasonable rate, so that we had sea view from the 10-th floor. The breakfast was better then the other hotels I have been before in the Copa area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    10
    Amazing expediente. Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing services and breakfast buffet.Incredible beach and city view from the pool. At the top floor.very friendly and helpfull stuff and premiar la locales in a privilege area

    Amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    6.3
    Poor service and aging hotel... Not at the level of Mercure Hotels in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service very low, room wasn't ready, 2h to wait for it and I arrived on time Aging hotel, a lot of detail they don't care, not at the level of a Mercure. Go for the location and that's it, if you want a good quality service and a brand new hotel try another place.

    View from the rooftop Bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    6.3
    The staff was not only friendly but highly competent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is dated; that is, it is in need of refurbishment.

    The staff was not only friendly but highly competent. In particular, its recommendations on tours and things to do were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    5.4
    Meh. Was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel pool not as nice as the photos. Elevator and room swipe cards rarely worked. Had to get new ones every day, sometimes twice a day! Room view was of another building.

    Ok location on Copacabana. Gym was ok. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Stay was Great would recomend in General the hotel was good!! But...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I Enjoyed everything really the ONLY thing I wasn't too pleased with was at check out... When there was some sort of misunderstanding because I had previously paid for taxes and everything and they said I hadn't and wanted me to pay again.... ALSO THEY SAID I HAD CONSUMED DRINKS AT THE POOL AND WANTED ME TO PAY FOR THEM WHEN I HADN'T DRANK ANYTHING... WENT UP TO THE POOL 2 MINUTES TOOK PICTURES OF THE BEAUTIFUL VIEW AND LEFT... ended up having to sign I hadn't used any facility at the pool and was left at that... but was abit unpleasant being told I had to pay for things I hadn't consumed 3 or 4 times.... 🤔 Apart from that I would defo recomend the Hotel(Great location and facilities)

    Location was good, Room was great size with good facilities,Nice variety at Breakfast, good Wi-Fi signal,Good Air conditioning, friendly staff and hotel was very clean with new facilities!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Awesome Hotel! Luxury at great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel had so many nice extra features. Nice and Clean hotel. I especially appreciated the offer to shower in the gym after checkout due my late flight out of Rio. Will absolutely revisit.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay in Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internal distribution is confusing and in case of emergency, I foud it difficult to leave. Bikes are for rent with no time tolerance. Walls are thin and noises easy to listen in and out. Staff just right.

    Location in front of the beach and terrace and pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.3
    Location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faster check out

    Location is amazing! You can get really quick to Ipanema and has good place to eat really close. During breakfast they have a person making omelettes and awesome tapioca.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel changed it's name on the 1st of January but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel changed it's name on the 1st of January but they did NOT communicate anything regarding this to us at any point, which was most disappointing and confusing to say the least! Also, the breakfast room is way too small for the number of guests in the hotel which made for uncomfortable breakfasts each day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    8.8
    Overall the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel has three blocks A, B, C . The pool is at the top of block A and the gym at top of block B. So depending where u are situated in the hotel you have to go down to ground floor to access each block.

    Location is excellent, close to ipanema, shops and restaurants close to the hotel. Loved the pool deck and pool bar. Food was good and service in the hotel was top notch. All staff were helpful and spoke English. Beach service a big plus. Free deck chairs and umbrellas and towels!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    9.2
    Affordabable Copacabana hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was slightly grubby!

    The hotel is In an amazing location, staff are excellent and will help with anything from organising sight seeing trips to towels for the beach! The wifi is perfect, rooms are air conditioned and the breakfast is ideal, as huge variety from cooked breakfast to fruit and cereals. The pool area is very nice. Overall lovely stay for very affordable cost

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    8.3
    Girl at the reception was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is not safe to walk around after sunset. Even for the short walk to a restaurant on the boulevard, hotel advised to use uber.

    Girl at the reception was very nice! Hotel is good, as you would expect staying at a golden tulip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    10
    Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again if visiting Rio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friend and I stayed here on 3 separate occasions during our vacation. I had booked 2 rooms well in advance. Unfortunately, only on the 3rd stay did we have rooms on the same floor as each other which would have been practical as you could not go to another floor in the lift with your card key. If you are booking more than one room, specify if you wish to have the rooms on the same floor.

    Staff pleasant and helpful. Beds clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good. Good value for money. Great location. What more could you want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    6.3
    Stay at the Tulip Inn instead
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was on the back facing side with no natural light. Shower would heat up to warm water at best. My friend stayed at Tulip Inn, better location, nicer room and lobby area, it just didnt have a pool.

    Has its own beach umbrellas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    9.6
    Good choice to stay at Cococabana Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was great.

    The hotel is situated across from Copacobana Beach, with easy access to beach kiosks for food and drinks. The hotel provided me with a free upgraded room without asking as it was available at the time. They gave a pack of chocolates upon arrival, and a hand written welcome card personally addressed. Within the hotel is an ATM, bar, pool and restaurant. Very stylish, lovely decor. Computers for access provided. Very helpful reception staff, friendly and able to answer questions, such as when I tried to make a phone call but needed to change the number for a local call. Porters available for luggage as well. Without going 5 star, this would be a great option for anyone wanting to stay on Copacobana beach. Also short walking distance to restaurants nearby, beach markets, although I didn't have time for shopping to explore the area around the hotel as I was only there for one night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really disliked the breakfasts. Poor quality food and choice. Dining hall wasn’t really very clean.

    The rooms are so nice. So comfortable and so clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable price for money. Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crowded breakfast with average service (need to wait for a table, for drinks and foods to be refilled on the buffet, etc.). Being a sea front hotel I didn't expect that my accommodation would be on a building on the back of the hotel, which was the case.

    Front desk staff offered a good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast, accommodation and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff organisation, we ordered a crib and confirmed it but nobody took it to the room. We also previously asked for two bedrooms at same floor and when we arrived one of them was busy

    Breakfast, accommodation and location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.9
    Everything was good except the car service and the taxi and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Car service inside the hotel its a big joke. Never use the taxi in front of the hotel, they just want to sell some tour or excursion at very expensive price.

    Everything was good except the car service and the taxi and the room service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a nice, confortable hotel in the middle of Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crowd breakfast with just one person trying to accommodate tens of people so it was a not so good experience, also they didnt have enough electrical adaptors so it was impossible to connect my devices to charge them

    Excellent location just in front Copacabana, near Ipanema, staff at reception so kind, very clean, nice rooms, bed very confortable, bath perfect in size and confort, business center ready, wifi good. Sea View rooms are completely worth the difference in rate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.5
    To avoid waste food I asked an employee who was working in...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To avoid waste food I asked an employee who was working in hotel restaurants to help me heating my pizza by their microwave but I was rudely refused by his reason just "no I can't!", between the regulations (if hotel has that) and convenience of clients how should do people think he should do? This is a good question

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, it is a good hotel. But I expected more with the brand "Golden Tulip".

    The location is perfect. Near a very good Chinese and Spanish restaurant. You can book a day tour with the hotel reception. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    3.8
    Worst hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    steffs at check in front were not kind, never smile and not friendly. It was same the next day. All the parts of this hotel was not same as the pictures. Room was too small and so dirty enough!!! Everything gets so old and I saw too much of dust and hair in the room and toilet! Even the smell of bed was terrible! Only the location and breakfast were good. I suggest you to choose the other hotels with same price.

    only two things that I like are ;good location and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Lovely Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On departure date much of confusion. Late check out authorised at 0800 AM of the departure date;however at noon I was requested by another person to either leave the room or pay an extra amount until previously agreed late check out time. Payment was another confusion. I wished to pay in USD and was quoted a fair exchange rate. When I was accompanied to the exchange counter, teh exchange rate changed dramatically. Did not sound professional this treatment.

    Nice location, view and surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    7.9
    A magnificent view over Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was terrible. I had to fall back to mobile Internet to be able to surf. Also, beware of the upgrade, it is very expensive. You lose all the discount booking.com have given you.

    We got a magnificent view over Copacabana after we upgraded the room. Also the breakfast was very nice. But the days we were late for breakfast it was very crowded. The hotel offers free chairs and umbrellas at the beach if you identify you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bathrooms - old noisy you could hear what is going on the other rooms from hot action to noisy kids xxx

    Staff was so friendly great location great brekfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.5
    Would stay again at golden tulip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1st night we were put in the room below the gym with people up there dropping weights and we were told it was an upgrade??? not a great start. My necklace was ripped off my neck 10 minutes walk along the beach sidewalk, it would have helped if reception who had seen me twice before we left for our walk and warned us or reminded us of the problem as money was put away bag was tied on me and I even told my husband to leave his wallet behind. ( put watch and bracelet away in the safe necklace is always on so never remembered )

    Location was better than perfect between Copacabana and Ipanema right on the road across from the beach. View from pool deck amazing, breakfast room looks right out to the whole beach area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    6.7
    80%
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price not same in booking 🙂🙂 Always higher value and Some of the reception staff are not helpful at all and are treated in a challenging and unpopular manner. Tip for everyone do not ask them for a taxi. I went twice to the airport from the same hotel the first time they told me the cost of delivery to the airport at 98 riyals, the second time I ignored them and went to the street in front of the hotel waiting for another taxi arrived with him to the airport at 60 riyals only and also in the other movements everyone was far less than them + Flamengo at the Maracana The Libertadores championship found a message at the reception table for the same match at 350 Brazilian rials per person (700 for two people) including tickets and transfers to and from the hotel. I did not buy them and I went to the Maracana with the taxi. My friend and I went into the stadium, bought tickets, watched the match and promised the hotel. We paid only 400 riyals,

    Location on Copacabana beach 🌊 good breakfast 🍳 great bathroom with sprayer mini shower 🚽 🔝

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    7.9
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet is unstable, poor soundproofing for ocean view rooms so we heard the traffic all night long.

    Location, possibility to take a shower after check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel! Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom had constant sewage smell which was nauseating, asked for room service (needed more shampoo) but no one bothered to come, no toaster at reataurant breakfast (??)

    Reception was friendly and gave nice free upgrade to room with bigger beds, location is excellent, breakfast very nice, beds very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but disappointing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some people at front desk did not allow my friend to go inside hotel during the day. It was very disappointing, especially I had paid for 2 people. Manager Horacio and his 2 staff members Camila and Monique were unprofessional at the same time.

    Great breakfast, good location. Flavio at the check in is great and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym a bit outdated but still ok. Shower takes a long time for water to heat up and sometimes doesn't heat up at all. Water doesn't go down the drain 100%. Minimal problems. Still loved my stay.

    Breakfast was delicious with wide variety of food to choose from. Staff is excellent and always friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, view from the pool amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel on the Copacabana
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room floor had not been cleaned properly, and pillowcases had an unpleasant smell, lake somebody was already holding their head on them. I recommended to replace old pillows and pillow cases with new ones.

    Perfectly positioned on the Copacabana beach with the panorama view pool on the 18 floor. Great to take some pictures! Hotel is huge though from the outside it doesn't look so. It is divided into several blocks. View from my business room on the 17 floor (block C) only partially covers the sea. Basically looking at not beautiful building front. The room was large with all necessary facilities, and with nice large bathroom. Excellent, reach breakfast! Hotel offer free chairs and umbrellas on the beach to their guests, so you can enjoy in the sun on the beautiful Copacabana beach. I can recommend to everybody this Golden Tulip Rio hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    8.3
    Solid Choice on Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Before arriving we received email asking if we desired an early check in if available when we arrived. When we responded yes we were advised we would have to pay an additional charge equal to half the nightly rate. We declined this 'offer" When we arrived we were given an early check in at no additional charge as we would expect if a room was available. Breakfast Sunday am was a bit of a circus, inadequate supply of coffee cups, plates, etc

    Our room was large and comfortable. A/C worked very well and wasn't noisey. Great location in front of beach. Front desk staff were very accommodating.We arrived very early in the am and were given an upgraded room immediately, at no extra charge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    9.6
    extremely good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pool very small but ok enough to cool off in

    location friendly helpful staff breakfast more than adequate free beach chairs and umbrellas over the road on Copacabana beach location fantastic value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2017

    10
    Perfect golden tulip in the heart of Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing is at check out they wanted to charge me for minibar stuff i didn't consume. I told them and they canceled it immediately with no questions. But there is nothing i didn't like about the hotel.

    Great location next to Posto 5. Easy access to Ipanema too. They had a beach service with chairs and umbrellas. Check in was fast and smooth. Lady spoke perfect English and had a nice welcoming smile. Room was large, clean and comfy. Bathroom was perfect. Breakfast was nice with a view over copacabana beach. Staff very helpful with any request and info. Everyone was professional. The place was safe and during the blocos in copacabana they sealed the entrance. Roof top sun lounge and pool were good. Amazing view of Copa and Leme. Bar service was good too. Tours were offered in loco. If i go back to Rio I'll definitely stay there. Very Tourist friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great, with a nice view to the beach. The rooftop pool is a great place to have a caipirinha whilst watching the sunset. The location is perfect to have a nice view of the Copacabana bay, but also a short walk to Ipanema, where you can enjoy the sun for longer in the afternoon (Ipanema is in a different angle from Copacabana, where the sun sets behind the tall buildings).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing and dishonest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room was so dirty and worn down we asked to move. Asked them to fix the broken lights on the landing outside the second room, never happened. Pool so dirty it makes you smell, there's an oily scum on the top along with hair and cellophane from cigarette packs. Glass panes on terrace also filthy, one pane shattered and wasn't fixed during our week there. Room service sent us a soggy cold pizza wrapped in cling film. Room cards need replacing almost every 48 hours because they stop working. At check-out, you get whacked with 10% service charge. To be fair, it sounds like a lot of hotels in Rio/Brazil do this, but when I asked what it was for and where the money goes, there was 20 minutes of smoke and mirrors about how it's a 'tax'- they deliberately used the ambiguity between English and Portuguese on this word, yet I asked 3 members of staff where this money was going to, and only after grilling the manager for 10 minutes did he finally say "it goes to the staff at the hotel" directly contradicting his colleague who had laughed off this suggestion just minutes prior. 10% service charge is a bit rich after you've already been tipping the doorman (who definitely never said "don't worry sir, you'll be tipping me at the end of your stay"), but the service was generally poor and I really didn't appreciate the dishonesty when I asked about it. It's like they knew they didn't deserve it, else they'd have been straight. Beach service never has enough chairs, make sure you're on the beach at 9am if you don't want to be waiting an hour or so. Breakfast is like being in a fast food restaurant, not enough tables, overflow tables put literally right outside the toilets on the landing outside the restaurant. Much prefer giving good reviews, but spend your money somewhere else.

    Good location and pool looks over Copacobana, although it seems to close at 10pm. Most staff helpful and friendly. Good shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2017

    7.5
    Good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool is so small and smells really strong and bad.

    Location is great and also you can park your car to car park where is front of the hotel R$2,5 per day. Breakfast is also nice. View from swimming pool is wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    9.6
    This is the best value on Copacabana. Upscale without the price of Marriott or others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wanted to stay longer.

    So many amenities...excellent rooftop pool and bar and the breakfast was a big buffet and had an omelet station. There was a gym, sauna, etc.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    7.9
    Our family (4 people) had a great time in Rio. Lot of sun, many beautiful places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi signal in the room very often was not working. and our room was not cleaned one day due to some "governance" issue according to the receptionist. there is no parking lot.

    breakfast is awesome as I had read in some other reviews! great location and view of Copacabana beach, Fort and Sugar Loaf on the left side.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    7.9
    Good, but need some improvement at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the hotel there lots of bedrooms and it was really busy at the new year eve, so in that time it was really difficult have breakfast due to thr big number of people who was waiting for it. In another words, the number of table available for breakfast is considerably smaller than the number of people that can be hosted by the hotel. As a result, I had to wait at least 1 hour at the queue to have breakfast.

    Good location, new room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    7.5
    Good price for great location on Copacabana beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough outlets to charge mobile devices. Wifi was "iffy" at times. Pool was extremely small. Breakfast buffet was not wonderful.

    Better than many other hotels we've stayed at on Copacabana beach. Staff was very nice. Great view from beach side.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    8.8
    Good location and facilities at an incomparable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beach service: the guy managing g this service was pretty unfriendly and not client oriented

    Breakfast, location, nice executive room and the staff in the hotel is always willing to make your stay nicer

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2017

    9.2
    Great location, ocean view of Copacabana -from the room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some negligence in maintenance

    Great location, ocean view of Copacabana -from the room and from the breakfast area. Nice rooftop pool and sitting area

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing- not what I expectedh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast plentiful but poor taste and food not kept hot. We came to breakfast each day at a different time and NEVER did we have a full cutlery place setting. Very few staff spoke any English which made it very difficult to communicate. Coffee machine broke down and out of action for whole day until I complained to the manager. Room cleaning very slow. Pool small. Sundeck also small - only 6 sun lounges though there are also chairs and tables. Went to pool one day at 1 pm and told no more towels. Again complained to manager and after 20 minutes towels arrived! Overall, DEFINITELY NOT a 4 star hotel.

    The bed was comfortable. The location very good. EXCELLENT coffee.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    10
    Beautiful place on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine.

    Place is on the beach. Thay heva free all necesary things to rest on the beach. Swimingpool on 12th florr is with beautiful view to whole Copacabana. Really exellent place. People are very kind and breakfast is also very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    5.8
    In this case, not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Me and my partner choose the golden tulip mainly because of the rooftop pool, which was closed for repairs during the whole time we stayed there. We left without being able to see it. The main selling point of the hotel on booking.com is the pool pics. We were very disappointed about not being able to use it, as an hotel of the same level without the pool would cost us a lot less.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location was good. The lobby staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    7.1
    Hotel near Copacabana
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was this unpleasant smell in the elevator, they should provide air refresher/fragrance on them. As it was located on a busy and touristic location, the noise from the traffic could be so loud.

    The location is really good, right in front of Copacabana beach. The staffs are friendly and the WiFi connection is also good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    9.6
    Good location, nice staff, clean room, Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise of the ventilator

    Good location, nice staff, clean room, Mr. Paulo Roberto Arrumador has done a great job cleaning the room for us. The breafast is great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    5.8
    Nice view but staff very unprofessional and unhelpful as got charged twice on my card for the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was asked to give my credit card as a hold for the 2 nights stay and was assured nothing would be charged to it. When myself and my friend Sonia Carey were checking out we asked for the bill to be split half each and we both paid by credit card. I have now discovered that the full amount for 2 people for 2 nights is pending on my bank account and that my friend was also charged her half of the amount on her card. I would like an immediate refund of half of the amount back onto my card before it is taken out of my bank account. I find this really unsatisfactory and unprofessional by the hotel staff

    comfortable bed and room and great view over Copacabana beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    4.2
    better to stay in another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel has to be repaired, a lot of old stuff (doors, windows), furniture is old as well as everything in hotel rooms, rooms need to be cleaned better. In my room the window was broken and didn't lock. One day it was not possible to unlock the safe in my room, so they had to break it to open and take my docs and money. BETTER TO STAY IN OTHER HOTELS near Copacabana, this one is not good enough and expensive, for the same price possible to find something better!

    staff is very responsive, location is very close to Copacabana beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    10
    Amazing Staff; Great Location; Best Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the staff at the hotel are top notch especially the front desk staff and the bell boys. Suellen at the front desk made sure our stay was beyond our expectations and Victor (shortened name) made sure whatever we asked for whether it be beach towels or assistance with directions that we were met with a friendly smile and accurate directions; he even went out of his way to give our uber driver specific directions when returning to the airport which ultimately saved us time and made us make our flight back home (traffic to the airport if taking a night flight is horrendous with airlines cutting off their check in time two hours prior to departure when returning stateside). The hotel room we got was spectacular; unobstructed views of the hill side and on a clear day you could see all the way to Ipanema. Powerful A/C and Hot Water in the Shower with strong water pressure made for an extremely comfortable stay. The hotel is also situated right on the beach front in the ideal location. Ipanema beach is a short walk as you pass through Apoardor and Fort de Copacabana. There is also a bike path/ runners path on the street right in front of the hotel between the beach and the hotel great for exercise or people watching. Right behind the hotel are grocery stores and drug markets so you can get any essentials you forgot to pack. There is also a great souvenir store right behind the hotel to grab last minute items to take home as well as havaianas slippers. You are also inbetween two great street markets (hippie market which during the day is a farmers market and during the night is a swap meet and the other night market up the street in Copacabana.) When getting around (for non-Portuguese speakers I highly recommend using uber as you can set the destination and is extremely cheap). The free full breakfast at the hotel in the morning is also amazing and open till 10am and the free wifi works great around the whole hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    10
    Excellent, despite average food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dinners were only average in taste. Lots of food at breakfast, but always the same and not very inspired

    Staff were very friendly. Room well appointed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Located in frint of Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room does not have a view and not so clean. TV and hair dryer were not working.

    Located in frint of Copacabana

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.5
    Good apart from room to hot and could not regulate air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning

    Air conditioners need upgrades or re gasing didn’t work very well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    8.3
    Good and safe location, also for solo travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good and safe location, also for solo travelers. nice view from the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Geral Hotel. Confortable, excellent staff and perfect breakfast. Exactly in front of copacabaca beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and viewfrom the roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi and staff on the roof terrace

    Perfect location and viewfrom the roof

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    6.7
    Early check in, ground floor staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furniture, old TV, disabled room for a non disabled, security

    Early check in, ground floor staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    La situation géographique

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil