Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Santa Teresa

Rua Dr. Júlio Otoni, 254, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20241-400, Brazil

#271 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    View was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee available throughout the day. When it has its restaurant it will be lovely. Even to sell snacks would have been good.

    The view! The helpfulness of the staff. Giving me breakfast early so I could leave for my tour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Awsome Place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really love the view from The Villa. Its a very nice and comfortable place to stay. I went with my friend but If someone going on honeymoon, Id totally recommend it. I would love to go and stay there again if I go Rio again. And not forgetting the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and the lady that cleans and serves breakfast, she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa which was one of the things we most wanted to use was useless because the water was fairly warm and such a disappointment

    Location and the lady that cleans and serves breakfast, she is adorable and so attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    We loved it by day, but it was hard to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a leak in the shower, the toilet flush kept going off out of nowhere, we couldn’t turn the air conditioner on so the room was very hot and full of mosquitos (since we had to leave the window opened). We kept ringing the staff to sort this all out but there was no answer in the reception or in the telephones they gave us (it was around 8pm when we started calling).

    The view is amazing, and the hotel was very pretty and cozy. The room was clean and very put together. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    secluded in the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is freaking heaven!!!! Uhmazing views , away from tourist and the craziness. Secluded off in the hills and very private. Super quiet. Breakfast was wondeful and the hospitality was unbelievable. Very accommodating and friendly. Definitely recommend to ALL. Easy to navigate via Cabbie’s to nearest attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that I somewhat disliked was the fan in the room that didnt work very well and had a loud sound. And also you can hear the airplanes over the hotel so it is a Little noicy but not in nighttime.

    This Place was Beautiful, had a nice bed and a wonderful view out to the center of Rio. Nice and quiet and you could hear the sound of the city and also the nature. Supergood breakfast and nice host that vere very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    3.8
    Villa Rio The Shame
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, in ruin, has to be renovated. Breakfast disastrous. No hot water in bathroom. Old stained towels. No renewal of toilet paper. Poor service. Couldn't even settle account by credit card, their POS machine was out of order. Barrier language. Staff should at least speak some english. I will not recommend to guests. Dishonest on the part of owner to use old pics when property was new for advertisement. Advertisement do not reflect reality, that is the actual situation. We were totally disappointed. Booking.com should verify/check before proposing this hotel accommodation to guests.

    The views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property does not look like the photos. We paid £130 per night for the master suite as we wanted a treat for our final nights in rio and we were severely disappointed with what we got for how much we paid. The hotel was run down, undity and in need of a complete renovation. the property looked vacant, the rooms by the pool were full of wood and paint pots and looked like a maintenance room. The bar and restaurant were not open, there was no bottled water in the room fridge, no hair dryer, no toilet paper in our room, the phone in our room didnt work and the electric cables were hanging out of the wall. No bathrobes as the photos show on booking.com, the pool was filthy, there were only 3 sunlongers by the pool. None of the double day beds as advertised in the photo. I actually think this was the bed in our room. The aircon dripped water all ober the floor, the room was not ready on arrival and there was no English speaking staff apart from the owner who was there for a few hours and didnt seem remotely interested im anything. The list of faults is endless and we actually had far better stays for a quarter of the price everywhere else we stayed on our 2 week vacation.

    The view was amazing and the private spa bath on our terrace was lovely. Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with amazing view over Rio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in the room we had could use a little refreshing.

    The view from the rooms is just breathtaking! Nice breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and juices. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.4
    could be ´´wow`` but we did not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reality of the hotel is quite different from the pictures. Reception hardly occupied. Unable to reach anyone ("just call..." - servaral times - no answer!) After arrival at 14h our local friend wanted to help us to do onward flight/hotelbookings. (Not more or less!) So we set on the terrace of our room - got a call from the reception right away that she had to leave our room/terrace imediantly as "the room is booked only for 2"! We were told that we can do this only at the Restaurantarea. There the wifi hardly worked ! What a hassle - what a bad service! We have been promissed to be able to store our bags during a 3day absence. But when we to checked out early (as already said on arrival) ... again - noone arround. We had to store our bags for a lot of money at the airport and decided than not to return to the Villa Rio for our final (or any future) stay.

    - great view (even noisy due to airplanes /dogs in neighborhood) - beautyfull design of the room (even a lot is in bad condition.) - the breakfast was good - the rate was good ( but many alternatives in Rio for similar amount)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The staffs is very gentle and I felt very good, the room is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs is very gentle and I felt very good, the room is fabulous and the view amazing. The building is in a perfect position in Santa Teresa and as for me one of the most beautiful and typical Brasilian district. Thanks to the staffs of the hotel I saw the best brasilian location and resturants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    Bit disapointing
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing - very old and mouldy exterior compared to the photos online. It appeared that the hotel has run out of money as it wasn't being looked after very well. Our air con was leaking and toilet broke (the staff did fix it immediately though and were very helpful)

    The view was unbelievable and worth staying just for that!! Room was pretty nice but not finished to a very high quality. Nice staff. Near Santa teresa which is a lovely neighbourhood but hard to reach the hotel without a taxi. (45 min walk to nearest metro)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Great views- but may be too far off the path for those looking to experience Rio or santa Teresa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the views are beautiful, it is far off the beaten path in Rio. I would stay here if you want to "get away" from Rio. It is not really in santa teresa. There is no food, wine, stores within walking distance. I was disappointed by booking.com's portrayal of the property--it wasn't accurate.

    The views are amazing. Absolutely incredible. This in itself is worth the trek. The room we stayed in was big and romantic and the staff upgraded us at no cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely villa with nice rooms and best view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully view and stunning sunrise! Good and conformable rooms with lovely balcony looking over city, Christopher de redentor and sugarhill! Close to neighbourhood santa Teresa and Lapa. Breakfast on rooftop with jazz and friendly staff. Nice swimming pool as well even though the balcony is also really comfortable. We stayed 6 nights and it felt like home. Villa Rio Is a lovely place we would highly recomend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    The great outweighs the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit remote - uber or taxi is required to access at night. Buses run nearby in the day. The water could be frustrating. It was very hard to get a warm shower.

    The staff was very friendly and accompanying. The breakfast was excellent - fresh bread, juice, fruit and eggs! The view could not have been better!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Great little stay with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found rainwater came into our room over night as it was raining all weekend. So some water came in through the front door.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Rio. We found getting a taxi from the airport the easiest option to get to the hotel. The view was AMAZING, waking up and having a view of the sugarloaf from our room was definitely a special memory. The staff were really friendly, we were offered breakfast in our room as it was our honeymoon. The breakfast was also really good, along with the pool. We were also offered complimentary late check out, as it was our honeymoon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Santa tereza is a beautiful place with a beautiful view. But the logistic is awful. Don't stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no employees in my check out. I waited 30 minutes before give up. I left the keys over the table with a letter asking them to call me. Nobody calls.

    the view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no problem.

    Excellent value for money. The room was silent, comfortable and clean. It is also a beautiful and charming property, tastefully decorated. There is even a pool, perfect place to sip a wine and enjoy the sunset. The views of Sugarloaf and Corcovado are stunning, probably the best in Rio! Hosts were friendly and gave us loads of local information. The breakfast was very good every day. The location is great: buses right outside the door to subway stations and a taxi rank there too. Great little bars and restuarants nearby. We will certainly go back!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Hotel with a fantastic view and much room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room wasn't ready at arrival, staff did not fix the leaking air-con during the whole stay. Many little things were broken all around the property.

    The view is astonishing from the panoramic rooms. Staff tried to be courteous, e.g. offered crockery for self-made dinner at the pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    The location is spectacular perched high above the city of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could hardly speak English, except for 1 person. No food options, so you have to order from out. The breakfast could go beyond just eggs and toast.

    The location is spectacular perched high above the city of Rio in Santa Theresa. The room was large with a beautiful balcony providing stunning views of sugar loaf mountain, Rio city and Christ the Redeemer in the distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Relaxing Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a fantastic stay at Villa Rio. The atmosphere felt like staying at a friend's house and Karoline was above an beyond helpful during our stay. The view of Rio from the room was spectacular and it was great to stay in Santa Teresa , away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    6.3
    Excellent views, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moldy rooms with strong odor, stained carpets and old towels. Hotel is worn, very tired and in desperate need of maintenance. A pity, since the hotel has great potential with spacious rooms and tasteful decor. The hotel doesn't offer dinner, rather annoying as there is nothing in the area. Stayed last two nights before leaving Rio. Not practical to use as a base to explore Rio.

    The views are truly splendid! Breakfast was ok. Was kept as clean as possible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.8
    Very good stay, best hotel in Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most staff don't speak much english, but easy through google translate. Far away from most attractions so lots of taxis.

    Breakfast was so good, the views were amazing and the staff were very helpful, and the manager is very good, close to the hilltop town of Santa Teresa

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    6.3
    Only a nice view.
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for the boy serving the breakfast and the night frontdesk guy , staff was either unprepared or complaining about life. It wasn't possible to have food there, only if I order for delivery. Even a cup of coffee was a denied service. Didn't notice who was in charge, perhaps that was the problem.

    The view is great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Best view in Rio. Best value for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    No in-house restaurant for lunch or dinner but menu's are available at the front desk for free delivery (i.e. pizza, sushi, hamburger, drinks etc)

    The view!!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.1
    A lot of potential but needs more work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It definitely needs a little bit of care. The hotel could be amazing if a bit of time and money was put into maintaining the property. Our water jets in the spa bath didn't work well and there was mould above it on the roof.

    Hotel has great potential and would recommend for the price. The staff were very nice and the room was comfy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice design, great view over Rio at both Corcovado and Sugar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility is a little difficult - located in Santa Teresa, it's far from both beaches and the city center. Uber worked well though and the difficulty of having to come and leave by a cab was well offset by the great view.

    Nice design, great view over Rio at both Corcovado and Sugar Loaf, helpful staff. Value for money was great. Great place for a romantic stay, away from the hassled center and beaches.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Bedroom - specially the view from Corcovado room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance of the property and lack of staff after 18h.

    Bedroom - specially the view from Corcovado room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    The views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels, sheets and linens were not quality...some stained. The items were clean, but not quality.

    The views...it is all about the views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    The Villa in Rio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be reconditioned

    Staff and views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    I will stay here again for my next visit to Rio De Janeiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    suitable space and the view was amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Million Dollar View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad neighborhoods close to the hotel and the hotel needs quite a bit of work done.

    Million Dollar View. Very nice owner and employees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Great views over Rio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views over Rio.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay for the money you pay, friendly host and the view is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city center.

    Beautiful view over the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Really nice breakfast and great views of Rio form the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really nice breakfast and great views of Rio form the room balcony. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    All staff so helpful and friendly it felt like we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff so helpful and friendly it felt like we were staying with family..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was beautiful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    - Breakfast on the terrace was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Breakfast on the terrace was amazing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Worth it for the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not the best for exploring Rio. No close restaurants.

    View is amazing. Breakfast OK. Staff helpful. Jacuzzi on the balcony was a treat.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Amazing view and jacuzzi in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was terrible. Not good, no fresh bread, not enough quantity of food.

    Amazing view and jacuzzi in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.3
    Views were incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was spotty of existing at all, toilets were backed up in our first room resulting in a nasty smell. We switched rooms and all was good. Both of these problems seemed to have been attributed to the unusually heavy rains before and during our stay

    Views were incredible! Room was lovely and breakfast was filling. Dinner at the restaurant was also great, the salmon and Thai rice was amazing

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.8
    Beautiful views, great styling, cool location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needs proper maintenence - holes in sheets, hair in Bath towels, small bugs in decorative mosquito net, peeling paint everywhere, filthy grout, mildew smelling bathroom, little English spoken, safe was not operational, this probably use to be a really nice place and still enormous potential they need to repaint the property, deep clean everywhere including the pool which was full of dust.

    Beautiful views, great styling, cool location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.0
    The view from our terrace was absolutely stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle in room to make a drink, but realise this is Brazil and they don't understand the British and their need to drink tea

    The view from our terrace was absolutely stunning

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    8.3
    Very Friendly staff and place is nice and relaxing with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is out a little from the main spots and to go anywhere Its a taxi all the time .

    Very Friendly staff and place is nice and relaxing with great views of Rio. Jack & Jack restaurant as part of the Hotel has good food with an excellent location view .

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.3
    - The location is absolutely magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Rooms could be refreshed/repainted, especially the bathroom. - WiFi could be improved.

    - The location is absolutely magnificent. - Excellent value for money. - Friendly and English-speaking staff

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    We stayed here 10 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In general we enjoyed our stay a lot. We had only few bad things. The room was dirty all the time during our stay; only trash bags were changed and bed covered. We even found stuff from previous owners. We were needed to leave notes that we could get new towels. Dinner was not good and expensive. Remote location is challenging for some but we got with it just fine! With improvements to cleaning and dinner it could be easily a 5-star villa.

    We stayed here 10 nights. Villa had an incredible view and athosphere was very calm! Breakfast was excellent and the room was beautiful and had a nice access to pool from front of our room. Location was remote but the area surrounding villa was calm. By walk it takes 45 minutes to closest metro station (Largo do Machado) where you can walk pretty easily. There was also buses running but we didnt use them. We really enjoyed our stay! Hint: Although we were suspicious first, use ONLY Uber Black here! It was recommended us from local. Official taxis cheat and can rob you easily. We used official taxi twice and second time taxi took us to wrong part of Santa Teresa although we could tell and show him our address. He resisted to drive us on and left us to metro station. Uber we used 15 times and had every time professional and polite drivers and always got our destination on time with low cost. We also got usually free water and candies.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    10
    It was brilliant, taking a bath with views of the Pão de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was brilliant, taking a bath with views of the Pão de Açucar was definitely one of the highlights. Pool was also great, and the food over dinner was amazing - can't wait to go back and try their tasting menu! You should also see the sunrise one morning, it's like falling in love for the first time.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.2
    Amazing pool with view, master room terrace is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast has room for improvement (fresh bread, eggs, etc)

    Amazing pool with view, master room terrace is awesome. Helpful and friendly staff, fluent english, hot receptionist

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    10
    Location is perfect with a view of Christ and Sugarloaf from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Location is perfect with a view of Christ and Sugarloaf from your own balcony or from by the pool. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the bar and restaurant is very good with great views too. It was so good that after leaving and traveling through South America we came back here for a few days before heading home.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    8.3
    The staff is very welcoming and helping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was very good although did not seem very authentic.

    The staff is very welcoming and helping. I really liked it. The restaurant serves very good food as well. Will definitely come back and suggest it!=)

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    7.1
    Nice old historic property, very interesting, really has the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit better mosquito protection in the room (some cracks in the bottom of the door) would have been nice

    Nice old historic property, very interesting, really has the colonial character of the neighborhood. Good breakfast, good english for those that need it. The pool was small but nice

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.2
    We spent a lovely time in the hotel The Villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi

    We spent a lovely time in the hotel The Villa. The view was splendid!! We could see the Christ and Pao de Asucar from the hotel. The room was really big. We got the upgraded one with the jacuzzi, located just in front of the swimming pool. This hotel feels like home, quite, peaceful and warm. The team was so nice and kind. Thank you to the French owners and a big thank you to Carlos, at the reception, who has been so helpful when giving us the best advices to have a good time in Rio. The Villa Rio is to be seen.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    9.6
    The Villa was just even more beautiful in person than in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The neighborhood in which the Villa is a bit removed from any downtown area (it is located on a street where residents/etc are behind walls and there is no real sidewalk). This didn't really detract from plans much, as the staff was great about calling taxis to pick us up for excursions. The area is also safe. Just something to note as we weren't expecting this. Also, our room didn't have a door separating the bathroom from the rest of the room (again, not at all a deal breaker, but something to note).

    The Villa was just even more beautiful in person than in photos! The staff was beyond accommodating, making for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    8.3
    Great view from the balcony and lovely large rooms - with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very hot outside and you could smell the drains a little in the bathroom, not too bad though. Lovely presentation of the breakfast but some of the chopped fruit each morning was a bit tasteless and bad. These are minor things, was a good stay and value for money.

    Great view from the balcony and lovely large rooms - with good aircon! Great recommendations from the staff for what to do and where to eat all across Rio. We used a mixture of local buses (one stops 1min down the hill from the hotel), the metro and taxis to get around. The hotel has a pool which was nice to cool down at after a busy and hot day walking around the city.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    10
    After av very warm welcome, was shown to my room whiosh had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    After av very warm welcome, was shown to my room whiosh had a stunning view of the city, with a backdrop of Sugar Loaf mountain and Christ the Redeemer. Staff are so helpful and welcoming. Fooed is excellent to, overall a fantastic placeto stay and highly recomended

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    Great staff beautiful view, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is good but we rented a car and that made our lives a lot easier because we didn't have to rely on cabs which can get pricey in Rio. Rent a small car and you are good to go.

    Great staff beautiful view, good breakfast. Grear location. We had the master suite it was amazing I highly suggest spending the extra for it.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful and arranged taxis and bookings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit tricky to find and the majority of staff seemed very new to the hotel.

    Staff were very helpful and arranged taxis and bookings. Also provided onward travel tips which we followed and were very pleased with their recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    Location with the incredible view of the city, Christo and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell (not overwhelming, though) coming out of sink and bathtub due to incorrect pluming. WiFi not working well in some areas of the hotel.

    Location with the incredible view of the city, Christo and Sugar Loaf. Friendliness of the staff. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.6
    I rate the location as excellent but I know St Terese so be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed could be positioned looking right out so that you wake up and look right out not to your side only a personal preference

    I rate the location as excellent but I know St Terese so be warned this is not the beach front however the view from the hills of the whole of Rio will surpass any thoughts you have about being so far away from the beach. Also it is extremely safe in my opinion to walk around this area. The guy on reception is not only extremely good looking but also extremely polite.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    The staff are really friendly and give you the bast places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I didn't like!

    The staff are really friendly and give you the bast places to visit on your holiday. For the price we booked the expensive carnival room and the lapa room they were excellent with amazing views. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.5
    The views are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is a restaurant on site because there are none in the area. The food was a 6 but the service especially by Max was a 9. You dine there for the views and not for the food. I would however go again.

    The views are amazing!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    We started our holiday here and we couldn't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not fault this hotel,it was amazing and the staff were so helpful and friendly.

    We started our holiday here and we couldn't fault it. The room we were allocated opened straight out onto the swimming pool and a breath taking view. Breakfast is buffet style, sat on a terrace with again breath taking views, to the left the sea and to the right the statue of Christ the redeemer. This was a truly fantastic hotel couldn't fault it. I especially liked the jacuzzi in the room.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    The view of the city was amazing is totally affordable if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like the staff to tells us at the beginning of our visit that in order to get our room clean, we have to announce the reception that we were leaving and left them the room key. We didn't know that and there once we didn't get our room clean.

    The view of the city was amazing is totally affordable if you are looking for a romantic and private hotel. Is situated in Santa Teresa and it's a great place in Rio, the have nice restaurants around the neighborhood and some coffee places and artesian places. The staff was very nice and helpful, the oriented us about things to do, places to visit, etc. Is a nice little restaurant, the breakfast are enough for a continental breakfast with special fruits of Rio.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    Gorgeous views, beautiful room, fantastic location to sit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gorgeous views, beautiful room, fantastic location to sit back and relax before going to explore Rio. Be prepared to use a taxi to get to and from the hotel, its not walking distance to center or beaches.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is beautiful, small and boutique but beautifully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no lunch or dinner which was challenging with a small child (not easy to get out for dinner as Santa Teresa is a bit far from anywhere else). I strongly recommend this hotel but maybe not to people with small kids. Not what it is designed for

    The hotel is beautiful, small and boutique but beautifully decorated and with stunning views. The staff were lovely, especially Wellington, who was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    As others said prior to my trip, this hotel has a breath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hot tub & shower hot/cold knobs require some trial and error, as they aren't marked hot/cold or colored blue/red. I don't like to waste, and that's exactly what happened with a lot of water.

    As others said prior to my trip, this hotel has a breath taking view!!!! It is secluded, away from the hustle and bustle on Copacabana & Ipanema. Very quiet and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    The staff was the most helpful staff I have ever encountered!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms had some minor issues that require attention but nothing insane. Again, if you are looking for luxury and to be pampered go somewhere else. If you are a modest traveler you'll be fine. After all, you didn't come to Rio to stay in the room did you?

    The staff was the most helpful staff I have ever encountered! Ever! All of our questions were answered and then some! Super knowledgable and overall awesome staff. If you want to be pampered and act like a king or queen go stay at the Sofitel or Palace. If you want the real Rio and are looking for some adventure with a view stay at 180. Get over yourself! Some of the reviews I have read are ridic.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    10
    Views and friendliness of the staff working
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some area's/rooms are in need of a fresh up..litle maintenance breakfast startsnfrom 08:00 am....it would be better and more nice to have breakfast directly after sunrise....

    Views and friendliness of the staff working

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.3
    Views, terrace and superb breakfast on the balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is further from Santa Teresa than we expected. Need to take a taxi but this is a small price to pay for the exceptional views!

    Views, terrace and superb breakfast on the balcony overlooking Rio. Fantastic location for some quiet time out!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.9
    Great views and furnishings in the master suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only stayed 1 night and couldn't get hot water on the evening, so couldn't use the hot tub as it was freezing. They resolved the situation in the morning but it was too late for us to use the facilities.

    Great views and furnishings in the master suite

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Stuff was more than helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stuff was more than helpful and nice. Room was always clean. Rooms are big with a very nice and comfortable terace. Stunning views and calm neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    4.2
    La vista desde la terraza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Falta agua caliente Hay cucarachas La mala atencion del unico personal nocturno La mala informacion sobre los horarios de la cocina por la noche

    La vista desde la terraza La pileta

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.8
    The views and breakfast were amazing and worth staying here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi would cut in and out - not a stable connection. The shower either ran extremely hot or cold and was quite a shock to the system. Also, the location is a bit out of the way, so be prepared to pay for cabs (view is worth it though!).

    The views and breakfast were amazing and worth staying here for! The staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful pool overlooking Sugar Loaf and Christ the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast is basic- but does the job.

    Beautiful pool overlooking Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer, gorgeous spacious room with super comfortable bed and own spa bath - wow!! Amazing staff and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.2
    The staff, the view, and the value for money are simply an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one small suggestion: umbrellas around the swimming pool would be nice.

    The staff, the view, and the value for money are simply an unbeatable. We were absolutely wowed by our three nights at the hotel.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil