Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rio Othon Palace 5 stars

Avenida Atlântica, 3264, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22070-001, Brazil

#254 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3735 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    It looked good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    5star hotel and hot water in shower was almost none. Phone for room service in this fancy looking room did not work

    It looked good. Staff in lobby were good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Expensive
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t really pay attention to details. Breakfast and Room Service are very expensive for the quality they purpose.

    The staff was helpful when needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    For sure the most beautiful view over Copacabana.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The isolation is a bit old and I could hear a tiny little bit the traffic through the windows. Yet it was not loud and I would still go to the othon before anything else

    For sure the most beautiful view over Copacabana. The othon palace is the highest building and the rooms are optimized for the best view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Breakfast, lunch, beach service, concierge service for trips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variation of food main corse is covering only 4 days for lunch in flor 10

    Breakfast, lunch, beach service, concierge service for trips recommendation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is really luxurious and nice, situation awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checkin took 1 hour... I had to ask for stamps and it took also too much time. In general staff nice but really not efficient.

    Hotel is really luxurious and nice, situation awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air conditioning at the breakfast buffet was gratiuitously too cold.

    Othon is a Brazilian owned hotel unlike the other large hotels in Copacabana such as the Hilton, the Marriott or the Pestana. As a guest you do sense that the staff is more at ease to perform their job; that they do not feel the tension created by having a foreign corporate culture imposing its will on them. The Brazilians have a vigorous culture that does not like to be frustrated in its expression.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the second time I come, both times I'd booked a room with a queen bed and both times they gave me a room with two single beds that they then has to put together. It's far from the same. Check out experience is terrible.

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe time to wait the elevator sometimes to long

    Everything. Location view from my room nice room nice bed nice breakfast It was not my first time in this hotel It’s always a pleasure to return there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has character but is in need of updates particularly in the lobby as the furniture is worn out and soiled.

    Excellent location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the elevators are slow and the system is confusing. it take a while to get use to it. customer service... esp the front desk is slow.

    overall it is in a nice area. convenient to eatery and supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Views amazing but disappointed with hotel. Too expensive for quality of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony doors didn’t seal so wind blowing through. No hot water from sinks in bathroom. No stoppers in sinks. Shower control knob fell off in my hand. Water only tepid not hot in shower. Extremely expensive for low level of maintenance. Pool small. Very few sun chairs. Lifts very inefficient. Long waits to go up or down. Long queues in reception and at concierge. Food not great.

    Views amazing from hotel room at front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Amazing location for family and couples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The men on the beach who say they work for the hotel!! Don’t be fooled by them, get your own beds and towels from hotel and don’t buy food or drink. The bars will bring you your food out that’s lovely and cheap, buy your drink from the men with trays shouting for you to buy. They are half the price to these other men and they are far better. We got food one day off these men expensive and terrible!! Use the little beach bar.

    Amazing location for family and couples!! We had children with us and they loved it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    The view from the room was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is way to small!! Too many guests and only a few tables and chairs. The furniture in the room is a little bit old, should be renovated. Shower not clean, a lot of mold in it

    The view from the room was really nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    We had a great experience in the hotel, great staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (The only thing i didn't like was to find black long hairs on the toilet floor )

    We had a great experience in the hotel, great staff very kind and helpful. Excellent bed super comfortable!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Not a 5 Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Super Luxury Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was average, definitely not 5 stars as was stated. There were lots of kids and tour groups which was annoying but should have their own check in. I couldn't check out of my room because the front desk was always full and I couldn't wait any longer. The facility was under construction which was also very annoying. We got to breakfast 10 minutes before it ended and they cleaned everything up while we were eating then charged extra for water. We stayed in an executive floor suite and it was nice, but again, not 5 stars. The bathroom was no comfortable but adequate. There was a wait for everything!

    The gym was the best hotel gym I have seen in Rio! Other than that the hotel is average. Saturday night pool party was fun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Room was spacious with a fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of stay, parking was unavailable.

    Room was spacious with a fantastic view. Copacabana beach was right across from the hotel. There is a restaurant and pool on the 30th floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The computer system at reception is extremely slow, you need a lot of patience. The pool could be a lot cleaner. And the elevators are very slow and full. At the beach, ask for prices before you agree to buy drinks otherwise you will get overpriced.

    Wonderful hotel with very friendly staff, great breakfast, super views and fantastic location. Wanderson at the reception helped us when we were checking in to get two connecting rooms, which was great being a family with kids. They provide free towels and chairs to go to the beach. Would definitely stay there again. Just around the corner you can rent bikes from a guy from new york, cheaper than those from the hotel. Metro is very close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Feels from a comfort level like a european 3* hotel. The location, breakfast & staff are very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms feels a bit outdated but didn't bother us. The english of the staff is too limited; this was hindering on several occasions.

    very good value for money. Good & large (2 meter I believe) matrass. Clean room. Great location. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Copacabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the elevators need urgent repair specially when opening in the 12floor. You have to use brute force to open the doors that get stuck.

    Rooms are spacious and clean. Great pillows. Breakfast although it had great reviews, was OK. Not everybody is keen on scramble eggs, I prefer them fried. Staff was very helpful at all time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor variety of breakfast, and it ends just a little early for vacation people.

    Great location. Breakfast, pool, cleaning staff, all good! Hotel well organized for clients going to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    What a pleasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location is excellent - the beach was across the road and there were restaurants all over. Housekeeping went above and beyond and we could call at any time for additional blankets, robes etc. Would recommend at any time. Breakfast was amazing, had a lot of variety and options available

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money they cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dirty. The cleaning staff seem not to care about their job at all. We arrived at the hotel at 5 am and the only thing we were dreaming of is to get some sleep. But what a disgusting surprise was waiting on us in our bed! The pillows were absolutely dirty with many stains on the pillowcases! Moreover, the pillowcases were torn. I had to call the reception and ask to change the pillowcases! And this is the last thing you would like to do upon the arrival at your hotel after a long night flight. - The breakfast was NOT a 5 star breakfast at all! The assortment at the breakfast was poor: no vegetables, but lots of bread instead. But what’s absolutely unbearable is that all food was not delicious. The omelette was too dry, the cheese and ham – super cheep, not tasty. The coffee was bad as well.

    The one and only advantage of this hotel is its location – in the middle of the Copacabana beach. Also the view from the room was nice - right to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    The View in the luxury Sea front viwe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts serves only cheaper hotdogs sausage. Not bacon. Bad breakfast. The all hotel is old and outdated. Staff was great.

    The View in the luxury Sea front viwe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    great location, gym wasn't available it was disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we book the hotel specifically because of the gym and the hotel did not have the gym available , however it said it was available before we arrived . very disappointing.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    The location right at the Copacabana is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite dated. Having a room towards the seafront is great for the view, however also very noisy, as the windows can’t be really shut. The elevators and some of the people at the reception can be quite slow.

    The location right at the Copacabana is great. There is a towel service at the side entrance, so you can leave your belongings in the room and go to the beach just with the towel (which is important as nothing is safe at the beach, even if you sit on it).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Good situation in the middle/end of Copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the hotel is generally old and dated (decoration and equipment) : a lamp beside the bed did not work, the door on the balcony did not completely close so I could really hear all the sound from outside, including a party the hotel throws from the rooftop every night (quite loud).

    Good situation in the middle/end of Copacabana beach. I benefited from a room with a sea view, and the view did not disappoint. The equipments of the hotel are quite good (swimming pool on the roof with a terrific view, private sundecks on the beach in front). Nice treat when I checked-in : a free drink, and they offer a late check-out option, which is quite good if you want to change after a day out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym still being built

    All staff were very welcoming and helpful. We loved talking with Marcelo at breakfast table.He is very kind and helped us a lot. Wanderson at the reception was amazing as Mr Guerra as well. We will definitely be back next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Outdated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Hotel cab driver tried cheat me by attempting to charge me R$700 for a trip to the central bus station. Normal fare in a public taxi is only R$50! 2. Reception staff was unfriendly and slow to provide service. 3. The room and hotel in general is tired and needs a remodeling job. 4. Of the 5 hotels on the tour yours was the poorest with highest price.

    View, breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Next time will choose IPanema beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On booking.com picture the swimming pool looks like a big one with lots of space for sun beds . It is a very small swimming pool, no so many sun beds, so no privacy at all. Hotel does not look like 5 stars. It is rather between 3-4 stars Bathroom needs to be renovated and refreshed. Does not look like 5*. Constantly blocked cards to the rooms. Smell of dust and humidity in the rooms.

    Location is great exactly in front of copacabana beach. Nice and helpful personnel. Reasonable price. Tasty breakfast however every day the same menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Superb location, with wonderful views of the city, great access for local dining & beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not appreciate finding out that the bar/pool area at the top of the hotel was closed to us as guests during our 3-day stay. We were with a wedding/family group of 20 & had planned to meet up there one evening out of our 3 in the hotel - bummer!

    The breakfast was wonderfully varied, fruit was all ripe, and the croissants good & with many choices. The staff were super helpful at the reception desk, and very patient with a lot of confusion going on!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    I love the location and views!
    • Couple
    • Super Luxury Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My check in were at the business Lounge on the 27th floor, and I was expecting a warm welcome. But the hotel host at the front desk were unfriendly and treated me with distrust after I had an issue with my card, generally took the stance that I was up to no good and then she realized that it was the way she was doing the transaction and did no apologize. She did not offer me any water and anything to drink either.

    I love the location and views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Location is convenient, just in front of the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not offer early check-in for an additional fee, but offered a room at a higher rate, which made the stay more expensive.

    Location is convenient, just in front of the beach. Breakfast was good and with many options including fresh fruit. The room was spacious and illuminated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.3
    Not worth to stay there!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very old not very clean and the rate does not relate to the price that was declared on booking.com The taxes abd service charges were added on so that we ended up with almost double of the initially offered price. Really a rip off!

    The view from the Hotel roem

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice location in Copacabana with some perks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After informing that early check ins would be charged an extra night we decided to return at 3pm. The check in then took over 1h due to long line of guests checking in at the same time. Be aware of a €500 security fee at arrival and if you're not paying in local currency they will charge you at their own rate.

    Nice rooftop pool with great view. Good food and drinks. Free beach chairs towels and parasol. Great location: Ocean front. Restaurants. Shopping. Money exchange.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Early and late check out possible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service is kind but not effective, you have to ask for everything basic. The room was not very clean. There is no plug close to bed.

    Early and late check out possible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    great location on copacobana beach with above average rooms and a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast, no custom eggs and scrambled eggs always cold. also salt but no black pepper ? thats not just the hotel thats entire brazil though. valet takes a good 15 minutes to get your car back pinacolade on the beach is 3x the price from the person standing right next to them selling the exact same drink. rooftop party not free for hotel guests? weird.

    great location best selling point is really the location great view. parasols and beachtowels and beachchairs all staff was friendly, except for during check out like the shower, big showerhead, good waterpressure, actual hot water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Should not be advertised as a 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is not a 5* compared to some of the other hotels in Rio, The floor (stayed on12th) smelt of smoke/stale. The room esp headboard of bed smelt. the room looked old. It just a big hotel catering for the mass tourists due to the location. You have collect you own beach chairs from hotel and walk across a busy road with kids - is this really 5* .

    the location of the of beach was great and front of hotel looked posh until you walk in. You will constantly get someone trying to sell you something on the beach, staff do nothing to prevent this. The view from top floor pool and breakfast was nice. The breakfast was not great, nothing looked inviting & found lipstick on glasses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The location was very great.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The efficiency of check-in and check out was very bad, it took me more than half an hour to check-in and another half an hour to check out.

    The location was very great. The price is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They sent my friend and me to two rooms who weren’t ready yet. We had to go back to the reception twice, leading us to a delay that caused us trouble. We both got late to a very important event, my friend’s birthday (the one who was staying with me there). It was her birthday and a big let-down for her.

    Great location! Staff was ready to find quick solutions to the problems we had. But again...it was a nightmare!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved that hotel was just across from the Beach, got a room with a nice vice, I really recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish the Beach chairs and towels you be available at a Tent at the beach instead of trying to cross Atlantic Avenue which is very hard and dangerous to cross, carrying the chairs. It would be nice to implement a simple thing like this!

    Breakfast was very good even though the restaurant room very tight, too much tables, not necessarily that room is small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    - very close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal was very unfriendly, they were railing about us thinking we wouldn‘t understand them. The first time where we entered to room a cable sort of „exploded“ and the room was full of smoke but no one at the reception cared. We stayed 5 days at the hotel and 4 out of 5 days we had to call the reception to get out room cleaned!! 4 out of 5! You could hear every single noise that the neighbours made and our toilet did not flush. Besides the beautiful view, beach service and perfect location it was it horrible experience. The reception unable to cope with the little bit of work they had and we had 2 lifts for 30 floors because the other ones weren‘t working most of the time. Wouldn‘t recommed it at all.

    - very close to the beach - beautiful view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    I really enjoyed my stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Super Luxury Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no gym on the premises and the nearby gym was still expensive with a discount. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, so while pleasant, they were not always as helpful or responsive as I would have liked.

    The room was clean, spacious, and as-pictured, and the bed was very comfortable. The tiny balcony overlooking the beach (with doors that opened) was a nice addition. The breakfast (eggs, fresh fruit, breads, etc.) was good and, of course, the location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location and reasonable price. But hotel is old and crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place seemed to me like an old and outdated 5 star hotel from the 70's or 80's. It`s clearly in need of several renovations. Check-in was extremely crowded because of the small number of staff members at front desk. Breakfast was so crowded it looked like a fish market.

    Location of the hotel is great, right at beachfront in Copacabana. 15 minutes walking distance to the "Forte of Copacabana".

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location in a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacing of tables at breakfast were too close. Variety of cooked food limited. Queue for breakfast was long on one day, but manager took charge and ensured the queue was dealt with quickly.

    Fantastic views from the front rooms. Very comfortable beds, great space in the rooms. Easy to walk to restaurants. Hotel has deck chairs & brollies for the beach. Roof area good but small. Good transfer service to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location but there are a dozen other beach front hotels nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Front Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our suite was a large rather empty space which lacked comfort or ambiance.

    Once it was established we were in the Executive rooms a private check in took place and access to the roof top restaurant for breakfast was included. You do not get these perks in a standard room. Great view from our beach front floor to ceiling windows!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    If I wanted a hotel on the beach in Rio again I'd come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The quality of food in the Skylab restaurant was mixed. Not great value for what they charge. I recommend requesting a room on the highest floor available - the beach and promenade is pretty noisy right through into the night.

    Great location direct on Copacabana beach. We has a room on the 28th floor with superb views back towards Leme and Sugar Loaf. The Skylab restaurant also has panoramic views towards Ipanema

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Classified as a 5 star hotel, it is no more than 3 star. Go elsewhere is my advice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room servicing awful. Set up for beach re sun loungers, parasols ,towels etc was dreadful. Check in staff unhelpful and exceedingly slow. Lifts very slow and very hot.

    Position excellent. Room comfortable with great views. Breakfast in business lounge excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.0
    Location is good, the rest could be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff tried to cheat and offered the room with view on the next building instead of ocean view. Becasue good ocean view is only from the top floors, but staff initially gave the key from the room on the 6th floor, which is dark with almost zero ocean view. The breakfast is not varied, choice of meat is very poor, dishes from fish absences. Air conditioner is poorly adjustable. Bathroom equipment is old. There is no beach beds, belonging to the hotel, only few amount of seats. In spite of high price for the room, hotel even don't provide the welcome bottle of water.

    Location is good, the rest could be much better. The ration price/quality is out of expectations. The pictures of the room on the Booking.com site and reality are different.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    very impressed with this hotel, our stay was so pleasant and comfortable. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    Staff were incredible. We got upgraded and they were so so helpful with everything we asked at the reception. Will definately recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Very nice locality, perfectly on the beach, we appreciated...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like a small incident regarding cleaning of our room. In the morning we put on our door the label "do not disturb". In the afternoon we received a call from reception if we really dont wish our room to be cleaned and we confirmed so. Then at 9:30 pm a cleaning lady came to clean our room.. As we were sleepy and didnt answer her probable first attempt to ring or knock, she just opened the door.. Which is quite unusual at almost 10pm. Othervise everything was fine and we can recommend this hotel

    Very nice locality, perfectly on the beach, we appreciated also a nice breakfest with a big varuety of food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.3
    Staff was not helpful at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not helpful at all. The taxi company we were directed to by the hotel staff were without a taxi meter and were excessively overcharging. We were sold a superior sea view room but we did not get this room when we arrived the hotel. They are too greedy and are dishonest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice view and the service is not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff too businesslike (didn't have an A4 envelope); later check-out had to be paid (230 Real). One day they omitted to clean the room. WiFi coming and going. No tissue paper in the rooms...

    View was nice. On the second occasion, when I came back from Paraty,I got also the king size bed I wanted

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Being at Coacabana Beach is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just slightly better wifi.

    Being at Coacabana Beach is great. Wifi went out I few times. I think because of heavy storm one night. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    Will never recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 stars? C´mon! No way. It’s 3+ as per developed world standards. We have seen lots of truly 5-stars hotels. Outdated long not renovated facilities. Service is at respective level. First day we checked in we had to call to replace dirty beddings. No remote control for the TV. No balcony in the room. Windows did not shut tight. Only reception staff speak English. We paid Usd 500 a night for the 3-beds room. Gee. What a loss!!! Breakfast is a buffet with pretty standard selection of food. Nothing special as expected for the hotel of such rave and the price paid. Pool is small and always overcrowded. Restaurant was running out of wine. Beach umbrellas are always occupied as they are not enough. All in all complete disappointment.

    Location only

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Elevators are god awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevators are god awful. Literally the worst elevators EVER. Expect to be waiting 5-10 minutes every time you want to take the elevators from your floor to any other floor. I'm not exaggerating, they are TERRIBLE. Especially close to breakfast time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    It was RIO Baby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very nice but it was also a traditional South American breakfast which is not what we eat in North America, the United States. We're used to waffles, pancakes and eggs etc. they have sandwiches, but they do have excellent fruit options!

    The big thing was that I paid extra for a room with a view, and they did not disappoint. It was a great view from my room's balcony and from the roof top.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location when you're in Rio for NYE and Carnival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING. This hotel is ancient and in desperate need of a revamp, it's a 2 star at best. Elevator just about works - (add 15 minutes to get to street level). Rooms are musty. We booked a luxury room, not 1 thing luxurious about it. After complaining, we were given a suite at a nominal rate. Breakfast on 3rd floor is basic. Rooftop is tiny and cramped. All in all there is zero ambience at this "palace".

    Breakfast on the 30th floor is the only decent thing at this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Definitely not worth that money we paid for , it’s really really hight price for this hotel ( we paid $R7549 plus taxes Defiantly not 5 star hotel, quality and service like a 2 star hotel anywhere else in the world. Hotel is very old and need proper refurbishment. Bed and room the room are very basic, simple and small ( we booked luxury room with see view), beds are old with very uncomfortable mattress and pillow, very basic furniture , the room and shower wall cracked in many places. The lobby: Looks like a hostel not a even 2 star hotel, always packed with 100 luggage and some people fell asleep on the sofas at the lobby like a hostel or but station . WiFi: WiFi sucks, can’t watch a video on you tube Breakfast: The most basic breakfast ever I seen, almost find nothing to eat, you get better breakfast in 2 star hotels. for breakfast we had to go out to cafe in copacabana and this was an extra cost for all our stay. Swimming pool; It’s a real joke , very very Small the same size of my pool at the garden of my house. There are about only 15 sun beds as the area and pool is very small. Checking out: Caos and nightmare as there are many people checking in or checking out. I asked reception a day before checking out that my flight is at night, can I stay longer till 07pm? He said it’s fine and changed my room key and gave me new one. Next day when I wake up I seen a letter under my door saying that I have to pay R$230 if I want to date till 07pm. I went to reception and told me that yesterday a guy at reception ungraded my room till 07pm without any charge why I have to pay now 230, they said sorry it was a mistake you have to pay 230. There was another customer the same as me at reception, they told me u can stay longer in ur room without telling him about the cost and now with me at reception and had to pay. I am sure They have done this trick to many customers and trick them this way to rip them off in a nice way .

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Good location recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa or gym...but it's Rio

    View, rooftop pool and bar. Friendly every day, decent breakfast included, awesome coffee, decent lobby bar$$$ but walking distance to all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice location. Average quality. Problems with water in room. Unjustifiably expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Family Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was of average quality and decor. Not worth the high price. The first day we were there, sometime during the night, the water to the room stopped!!! We could not wash, shower, or even go to the bathroom since the toilet could not flush. I called down to reception and they said they would send someone in a few minutes. About one hour later no one had come. I went down to reception and again described the problem. The clerk said he will send someone to resolve the problem and in the meantime gave me a room key card for a room on a different floor where we could go to wash up only. A few hours later we had water in our room. However, the following day a similar problem appeared - the toilet did not have water to flush. Again went to talk to reception (that is the best way to get things done at this hotel, not by phone) and they said they will send someone soon. We went out and when we returned a few hours later, the toilet was working. The room was advertised as having a balcony. If you consider a space about 20 centimeters a balcony, then yes. It was more like a floor-to-ceiling window with sliding glass doors. The elevators seemed to take forever sometimes to stop on the 9-th floor where we were. In one case, the two of us, along with about 10 other people on the floor waited so long for an elevator, that we all just gave up and started down using the stairs. We were there for the New Years holiday. You could book a table at 2 of the hotel restaurants for the New Year celebration. The top floor restaurant was booked solid prior to our arrival. The one available option was the 3-rd floor cafe, so we booked that. I was shocked at the expense for a table for 2 - it was around US$1,600. This was for the period from 8:00 PM on 31 December to 2:00 AM 01 January. While I understand things will be more expensive for major holidays, this was beyond reasonable. All-in-all, I would say this is a very, very expensive hotel without having the quality to match.

    The location is great, right across from Copacabana beach. Staff were polite, but not always helpful by phone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    4.6
    Avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a really old hotel, with noisy and slow elevators. Our "superior sea view" room was old fashion with a furniture in really bad condition. It was impossible to get a stable temperature in the shower. The breakfast restaurant was so small that the people need to wait in front of the elevators for a seat, so we choose to have breakfast outside the hotel.

    The only good thing about this hotel is its Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am allergic to allergic feather pillows and had to make several requests for a foam pillow - even sleeping the first night without a pillow. Only after complaining to the manager, did I receive another pillow, but with a dirty pillowcase. I had to take a clean pillowcase from one of the other pillows in the room. This is extremely poor for a 5-star hotel! There was also no complimentary drinking water available in the room - again very disappointing.

    Room was spacious and clean. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Rio is great , lots to see. beach great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed over new years. the dinners inside the hotel was more than double than normal or other restaurants. the lifts are too old for the number of floors and people

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    I didn’t like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staffs were terrible. They seemed to be forcing themselves to work. The hot water from the shower has stopped running twice. They cleaned up after I called the front desk.

    Some staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was really good as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.3
    Ripoff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a poor 3 stars and they sell as 5 stars, dirty, old rooms badly maintain I really don't understand how they go on? With fake reviews!

    Ripoff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Value for money stay in Rio’s Copacabana neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted access for security purposes means you will have difficulties inviting friends to the top floor for a view of the beach. Not impossible, just difficult

    Value for money stay in Rio’s Copacabana neighbourhood. While rooms are fitted with all the basic necessities they are not luxurious but it must be considered that this is essentially a beach hotel. Security is great with restricted access to the hotel. View from the top floor is spectacular. Breakfast is reasonable and included in the room rate for most cases. Crossing the street gets you on to the beach (convenient).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    4.6
    The breakfest was nice, but you had to wait 20 minutes in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was dirty and too hot. The furnitures in the superior room was not that nice.

    The breakfest was nice, but you had to wait 20 minutes in line just to get a table... Too many people, too small restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location for sightseeing and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive laundry service , small rooftop pool with not enough sun beds, tried 4 days to get a sunbed, never any available.

    Confortable beds, right across the road from the beach. Good location for sightseeing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    The hotel needs a deep cleaning and renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For having a superior room... very disappointing! Isolation in the room is bad. Windows do not properly close so, the room is very noisy with the music from the beach. Breakfast is generous but quality is very poor. People at the reception was not very friendly and/or helpful.

    The view from the swimming pool and proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    This is a great 4 star option in Copacabana beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To manage expectations, the pool area is very small and busy. The only times I managed to get a bed was after 4pm when the area was covered in shade! There is also no gym or spa facilities if these are important to you. There is a couple of restaurants and a lobby as extra spaces besides from your room.

    This is a great 4 star option in Copacabana beach. It is right opposite the beach and shops/restaurants. It is also just 400 metres from the metro and plenty of access to buses and taxis. The room was very clean and comfortable, spacious and with lovely views of the beach. The hotel offers great facilities, services and the concierge was excellent with ideas on what to see and do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.0
    3 star at best
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was substandard, and needs to be seriously looked at. The rooms and bathrooms were dated, bed was uncomfortable. This is nowhere near a European 5 star hotel. If you can get an excellent rate then the location and the pool make up for a lot but it's touch and go. Also be aware that the estimated price will be increased more than the approximation due to the hotel's own exchange rate.

    Some staff were really good, the porters, my room cleaner and the concierge working at the weekend (the concierge during the week was grumpy and unhelpful). Location was great for Copacabana. The pool was lovely but a bit small.. people were struggling to find a sun bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    2.5
    AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been moved 4 times during 3 days and still got 2 single beds connected. I have booked queen size bed, but still hotel was not able to secure that. I have been moved to have queen size bed 4 times, but each time I have discovered, that it is actually 2 beds connected. Travelers, make sure you are securing this before you rooms is booked. Hotel is outdated, rooms are outdated and it should not call itself 5 starts hotel. Far away form that! And staff is super unhelpful.

    View

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Incredible beds and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star hotel especially the pool area could be much cleaner/more taken care of. As almost all hotels at the Copacabana it is worn down a bit and more in the style of the 60/70ties. But the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast on the 30th floor was very good, the one on the third floor was like a Kantine, good food but horrible atmosphere

    Incredible beds and view. Staff very friendly. We got a very good last minute rate but for the full price it’s overrated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location midway on Copacabana Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Sea View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location midway on Copacabana Beach. Easy walk to other local beaches (Leme, Ipanema, Leblon). We booked side sea view but were upgraded for free to a front sea view room which also included views of sugarloaf. The express tour offered in their welcome pack was really good and covered a lot more than we were expecting. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Sea View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was FILTHY. They sent someone to check the room after I complained but the person only vacuumed. I asked they replaced the bed sheets and she answered ‘I’ll see’. One the the towels was so old and it was ripped off. I stayed 4 days and even had complained twice about the room, no one offered me the option to change room.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rio Othon Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil