Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royalty Barra Hotel 4 stars

Avenida Pepe, 690, Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 22620170, Brazil

#282 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1429 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    3.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.2
    No worth the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was im a bad mood, she did not made her job to find me a room 1 hour earlier than the check-in time. The restaurant was really poor, no quality and very expensive, also the staff was really dumb. In this days paid wifi it’s an absurd, that’s the main reason for me not returning to this hotel.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    3.3
    Hotel was old, cleaniness was a issue and staff was rude.
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude and the hotel guest policy is unheard of for any hotel standard. When a guest rents a room, those accommodations becomes that guest home for the duration of thier stay! I understand security policy, but when a guest escorts guest to his room it is not for a hotel to dictate guest that are allowed in that guest room which is functioning as thier living space at that moment. We had a issue with friends not being allowed to enter our room while we were getting dressed to go out for the evening! In any hotel, but more so a supposed to be luxury hotel, these types of restrictions are unacceptable! I am being refused the ability to entertain guest I personally know in a space I rented for a duration of time! These guest were not sharing the accommodation but rather meeting us at the hotel to proceed out for the night. Bad experience! Never will I or anyone I know stay at this hotel again.

    The balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, Helpful and Efficient Staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast variety with more choice of warm items and organization could have been better; Despite the fact that Tv was tiny, the cable TV was not pleasant to operate... we would need to go channel by channel since a feature like channels guide was not available.

    Friendly, Helpful and Efficient Staff; Amazing view from the balcony of our corner room; Beach service, towel/chair/umbrella, nice and pleasant; Location is very handy for with great selection of restaurants, grocery, drug store, all within a short and safe walk;

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant sleep to the sound of the ocean waves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a scam to have to pay for hotel wifi.

    Large, comfy bed with clean, white sheets. Slept with terrace doors open to the sound of the ocean, which is right across the street. Pool was also nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working. First I tried to call the staff, but there wasn’t the number of the reception in the room, so I have to go there to talk personally with the staff, and they informed me to wait until the 7 am of the other day until the maintenance guy arrive. Also, I asked for water and they didn’t have still water. Furthermore, the breakfast wasn’t good. Bad experience at this place.

    Location only.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    The housekeeping and room service needs overhauling.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The housekeeping and room service needs overhauling. If you are English speaking then you will have tough time in communication. The breakfast is average.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    The location on Barra Beach is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay but not great. The spa pool was not heated or clean. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, and no free bottles of water or drinking water.

    The location on Barra Beach is amazing. The view from the room was fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location for Barra, by the beach and restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was crowded but I think it was because of the Rock in Rio Festival.

    Great location for Barra, by the beach and restaurants, great good room for Rio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Clean, Beautiful view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, it could have varieties and not different types of the same food, kitchen staff seemed very confused and it took too long to refill everything. Jacuzzi doesn't get warm at all which made me feel very sad cause I really wanted to relax in the jacuzzi on this trip. I was later charged R$18 for travel guide tax which doesn't make any sense and nobody told me before. And nowadays charging wifi is ridiculous.

    Location is the best in Barra, near restaurants,malls and in front of Barra beach, room very clean, beautiful view and it has an awesome Balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet not inuded free in the room as most hotels usually have, this is unfortunate.

    Really enjoyed the location and view of the ocean from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the fact that the internet in the apartment was paid for. The card of the door lock demagnetizes very easily, every time I had to return to reception to reframe it. The fact that they do not accept pets. Well, I'd like to stay with my family, but we have a york shire dog.

    Location. Price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.4
    great location but needs a better management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not managed in a proper way, there is not enough food for all the guests. We were arriving at 9.30-9.45 am and many foods were over without replacement.in a 4 star hotel paying the price it cost there should be food until the breakfast closes.

    The bed was very confortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    7.9
    Well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a bit too hard for my taste.

    It is very good location, close to sea and close to a street with many bars and restaurants and other services. Probably one of the best locations in Barra.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Little variety of fruits at breakfast and no pão de queijo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little variety of fruits at breakfast and no pão de queijo!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff wasnt pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasnt pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    2.9
    worst ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    total disaster

    T

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Do custo do estacionamento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do custo do estacionamento

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanest

    Just the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    10
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very nice

    Very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Primo spot for a primo city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason the shower was scalding hot all the time.

    The location and convenience to all amenities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    That was good but food is bad..
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is l very poor , I think Brazil have a lot options. They didn't have many options

    Hotel is good but beach is bad..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.0
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast can be improved.

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    O LOCAL É EXCELENTE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    O LOCAL É EXCELENTE

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.2
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great hotel, perfect location, beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for wifi in your room

    The balcony and the view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    5.8
    Good location diretly to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff do not understand or speak English, exept for the recption they can. The Hotel needs an update everything is old and worn out.

    Good location diretly to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.6
    I like the fact that is close to restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that it was raining. But that is nature.there's nothing not to like.thanks again. I enjoyed my stayed there.

    I like the fact that is close to restaurants and shops. I enjoyed it. Thanks.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    5.0
    Location was pretty good, close to a variety of shops, beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Air conditioning was not working in my original room. - Staff was rude while telling me that I booked for one person rather than two. - Staff said that checking in at 1pm (rather than the regular 3pm) required payment of an extra full night, which is totally ridiculous.

    Location was pretty good, close to a variety of shops, beach, restaurants, market.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    4.2
    balcony facing the ocean.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We booked a "Master Suite", but were given a standard room. Apparently, this was deliberately done. We pointed out this mistake, and then were asked to wait half hour to change the room, because we were told that there is only one suit available, and not yet cleaned. We then moved in this suite. However, this room was not cleaned . We found dirt and dead cockroach in the room. We then had to drop this room. The hotel promised to provide us give us a suit next day. However, the next day, the hotel refused to give us the suit because we refused to accept the dirty suite the previous evening!

    balcony facing the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    Spacious rooms with beautiful vies on the sea front.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unappealing breakfast, unfriendly receptionist, WiFi not so good whilst you have to pay for it, altogether does not give a welcome feel.

    Spacious rooms with beautiful vies on the sea front.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.1
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa was not working correctly when I visited (Sep. 6 - Sep. 7). Internet was 30R/day. Breakfast was very basic.

    Location was great. This was a very laid back beach compared to Copacabana which I enjoyed at the tail end of my 10-day stay in Brazil.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    This was a great option for families with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The customer service was very mixed. There were a few people that were extremely helpful and friendly but a few people working the front desk that were not helpful. I do not speak Portuguese and do not expect everyone should speak English but there was no effort to try and help me. They just ignored me until someone else came along.

    This was a great option for families with young children.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    5.4
    The location was super, On the beach front with a main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel needs a good breath of fresh air, as things just seem tired. The pool area is a great space, but it needs cleaned up and all the old fittings requiring replaced. I ceretainly wouldn't put my child into the dirty children's pool! My room was a master suite, but it was fitted out with just the basics and the balcony was not clean. I didn't like paying for the internet either. A little breath of Fresh Air applied to this hotel would certainly bring it up ot the expectation it gives you from the advertising.

    The location was super, On the beach front with a main street full of shops and places to eat running beside the hotel too. 2 minutes round the corner from Hotel is a great Mexican restaurant. The staff were helpful, polite and even spoke english.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.2
    I liked this hotel except it was too far out of rio and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi is an additional charge

    I liked this hotel except it was too far out of rio and transport is limited. I also didn't like that you have to pay extra for wifi Apart from this it is a beautiful hotel located opposite the beach. I paid for a rock view and was upgraded to an ocean view which was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.5
    - beach opposite the street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - swimming pool and jacuzzi - breakfast - elevator - very expensive taxies (not oryginal) ordered by personel - long distance to the center

    - beach opposite the street - restaurants/bars 5 minutes from the hotel - 180/200 cm bed - views from the window

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.5
    perfect location close to the beach and restaurants,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    you have to travel long time for the city center, personel ordered 'taxi' that wasn't real taxi and I had to pay a lot, everyday the same breakfasts, poor swimming pool and jacuzi

    perfect location close to the beach and restaurants, comfortable bed, nice view from the window

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    5.4
    Some staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and service was slow at times.

    Some staff

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything ok

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.3
    The view, linen and staff was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were not basic support like Iron , adapter etc. moreover their breakfast was also not York mark

    The view, linen and staff was ok

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    6.3
    big room with nice view
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    no hot water kettle and no free wifi

    big room with nice view

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    3.3
    Very little
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was bad, lifts were very slow, it's very dated

    Very little

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    I like ocean view of my room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room does not have coffee stand and no water bottle

    I like ocean view of my room.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    4.6
    a good location just opposite the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the internet connection MUST be paid

    a good location just opposite the beach

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    5.8
    Staff - front desk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff - front desk

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    The view from the room was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The balcony was not clean when I got to my room.

    The view from the room was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast paid wifi is a rip

    location

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    Great location and a grand looking interior structure and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Elevators old and slow. Some updates needed.

    Great location and a grand looking interior structure and decor.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    neighbourhood to the beach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    neighbourhood to the beach

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    6.7
    Great ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You have to pay in advance and pay WiFi which is not at all usual in most hotels, so royalty is abusing a bit from customers

    Great ocean view

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Great view to the sea, excellent bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view to the sea, excellent bad. Staff very kind and orientated to the client.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No power outlet

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    The balcony is spacious, and has a beatiful view of Pepe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The elevator was broken

    The balcony is spacious, and has a beatiful view of Pepe beach

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    7.5
    Amazing sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi on payment 30 real a day

    Amazing sea view

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    7.5
    Nice restaurants within 2 blocks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to pay for Wifi. Unheard of in this day and age.

    Nice restaurants within 2 blocks.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    7.5
    We liked the location for being in front of the beach, ocean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The problem with the input of a beach in bathing suit.

    We liked the location for being in front of the beach, ocean view was awesome.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Royalty Barra Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil