Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho 4 stars

Rua Fonte Do Boi 215, Rio Vermelho, Salvador, CEP 41940360, Brazil

#31 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1089 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff but not upto European standards of a Mercure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony, window opened only a little, not a great restaurant....Caesar salad was 80% lettuce with a few token croutons, strange cheese and tough chicken.

    Great location, very friendly staff... Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel , very good value money also location and confort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    channels are very poor with a few channels working good!! No good wifi at the pool.

    Nice Hotel , very good value money also location and confort. We spend 8 lovley days with and excelent beakfast!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are not really fluffy and comfortable. Probably need replacement

    Breakfast was really good. The lady at the omelette stand was really lovely and welcoming. Reception staff were really helpful as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel in a prime location. But need tech support during the night and wee hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning failed on my last night and with temps in the high 70s and high humidity, I sweated and tossed and turned all night. The room turned clammy. The lobby staff explained in the morning that there had been a brief power outage at 11 p.m., and that the AC system needed to be rebooted. But no technician was called in to do it! So, the entire hotel sweated until 8 a.m. when the techs showed up to start their day. Not having techs on call or staffed during the wee hours is absolutely ridiculous. Management needs to change this.

    Bed was okay, stunning view of the Atlantic Ocean and pool area, great shower, fabulous outdoor pool with wet bar, pretty lobby, friendly staff. Nice cable TV, though some channels had poor reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, great place to rest when you are landing or preparing to travel back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music at the swimming pool is a disaster! And the sauna wasn t working.

    The staff is amazing here, very professional especially for Brasil, this is very rare! The room is awesome especially if you get a sea view, best sea view ever! It is very quiet also, which is pure luxury in Salvador. Breakfast is awesome and you can have your breakfast on the terrace. The swimming pool area is also very nice. The area Rio Vermelho is also very good during the day and at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.8
    A splendid location in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The music in the pool area was extremely loud and the Wifi connection was unstable. It would be nice to be offered hot water for tea in special pots without the taste of coffee.

    A splendid location in a nice area. Especially the small beach next to the hotel was great in addition to the beautiful pool area. Friendly staff but during breakfast they were a little bit slow.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows can't be opened and air conditioning can't be switched off.

    Very good breakfast, great confort, location, swimming pool facing the sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location in Salvador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Better cleaning of the swimming pool tiles. Several broken chairs in the pool area.

    Friendly staff. The location is splendid, by the sea, near Rio Vermelho's bars and acaraje stands. One can go about on foot, in all safety. The nearby beach is polluted, but the hotel has a small swimming pool. Good breakfast with fresh fruit and regional specialties. The quality of bread and pastries can definitely be improved.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    3.8
    A rip off
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago with my husband and 2 very young children and while my kids were taking a shower the whole glass door shattered to tiny smithereens and they were covered in blood and gashes. They organised some paramedics to come who took 2 hours to remove the glass from me and my kids feet and legs.. the hotel management did not appologize or show much care. Instead they wondered if I had shut the door really hard - we didnt even touch the door! I looked into this further and found damage to the glass around the edges of the frame. Plus the frame was loose and 2 bolts were missing..I pointed this out to the paramedics and they agreed with me - then we pointed this out to the management - after 4 hours of deliberation they offered half price from the night i stayed there plus a mumbled apology and a fake smile! This time I arrived very late into Salvador and decided to stay at the Mercure, as my work the following morning was near by. The staff were unfriendly. The room basic and dirty. The steam room stank! and was filthy and the breakfast was tasteless. I stayed the following night in IBIS for half the price of Mecure and the room is exactly the same just a little smaller and the staff far friendlier. If you have a lot of cash spare that you need to get rid of - I recommend staying there. Otherwise choose anywhere else in Salvador.

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet connection

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    The staff is excellent, the breakfast buffet is outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is excellent, the breakfast buffet is outstanding and the pool is the most amazing I’ve ever been!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    breakfast dosent taste good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast dosent taste good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent, staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, no iron in the room

    Location was excellent, staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time in our travels we got charged extra for a child(4years old) bed

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Tapioca available in several flavors.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel, which needs a modernization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and old rooms

    Friendly and helpful staff Breakfast Swimming Pool Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.8
    Hummmm
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was super old, not comfortable and kind of disgusting

    Staff was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that my could not come with me to see it.

    The staff is so nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    The best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection

    Staff and pool

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    O staff foi sempre atencioso.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    O staff foi sempre atencioso. Destaco a Elisa do front desk que nos ajudou com o checkin e horário de checkout.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.0
    Rooms must be renovated and cosy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast, very disappointed.

    The landscape view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is not very friendly. My room had a funny smell. For the price I wish the room was updated.

    Stunning view from my room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    5.0
    - Did not have the rooms actually confirmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Did not have the rooms actually confirmed. - One hour and 10 mins to check-in and 50 minutes to check-out; sheer incompetence and barely elementary English or French. - Denied that "breakfast" was included in the booking made through Booking.com, and obtained our full payment - just to get out of that dump.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    5.4
    The pool was really great overlooking the ocean and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were out dated and not very clean, they needed a lot of work and no balcony. Our view was also a parking lot and when you booked 4 rooms you would think they would have given us something better. The staff also failed to tell us about Carnival events when we asked for things to do and instead told us that there is nothing to do until the Friday at night. This was not true and therefore missed out on a number of events.

    The pool was really great overlooking the ocean and the breakfast was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    9.2
    Many of the staff spoke excellent English, they were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel ran out of adapters (during carnival), Salvador has a different PowerPoint to moat their Brazilian locations.

    Many of the staff spoke excellent English, they were very attentive and gave us great recommendations. They were also happy to let us practice our Portuguese with them.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.3
    + Superb view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - The room service food is horrible! (pasta, soup, pizza were all surprisingly bad). If we weren't so tired, we should have simply walked outside and got good pasteis.

    + Superb view of the ocean. Great infinity swimming pool overlooking the sea. + Stairs down to a semi-private beach. + Good dining options within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    Great for a stop-over when heading the airport the next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is expensive, but why bother when there is a fab coconut shack nearby! There is a lot of work going on in the praca at Rio Vermelho. Nothing open at the moment but it'll be fab when it's all complete and the bars and restaurants re-open

    Great for a stop-over when heading the airport the next night. The pool and pool area is great. Bedrooms are spacious, modern and clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's not a charming place. It's just functional.

    The hotel is just fine. The pictures at Booking don't lie. It's clean, easy, modern and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    Room was big and spacious with modern facilities and bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was big and spacious with modern facilities and bed was very comfy. Room was cleaned daily without asking. Staff were friendly and reception spoke English. Buffet breakfast was adequate and had a nice view. Pool was spectacular and relaxing with an amazing view. Access from hotel to two beaches in front which were very nice and not too busy. Excellent position, close to lots of restaurants and short distance to city centre.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast is great, especially the lady making tapiocas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Taxi is needed for transportation to any other location in Salvador. The beach close-by is ok, but not great.

    Breakfast is great, especially the lady making tapiocas. The pool area is also quite nice, serving cocktails, etc. Rooms are spacious and clean. The area has lots of very nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    5.8
    Great location, comfortable bedroom
    • Solo traveller

    The use of elevators is virtually mandatory, stairs are difficult to use, narrow, not clean, lead to internal facilities of the hotel. A scary situation in case of fire. Also the restaurant food and service are not good enough for the price you pay.

    Great location, comfortable bedroom

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Swimming pool big enough to do 20 strokes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    payment for early check-in in the amount of 1/2 of the daily rate starting at 8 am, and the breakfast is not intended, even if the daily rate includes 2 breakfasts. Not enough towels in the room, but it was probably an error.

    Swimming pool big enough to do 20 strokes. Wi-Fi connection strong enough. Good selection for breakfast. Nice view to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location and near restaurants and short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff need to cheer up and be more welcoming. The omelette lady and front desk were fine but the rest had attitudes, especially if you can't speak Portuguese. It's worth teaching the laundry lady the English word for laundry, especially if she's gonna knock so early and then have the nerve to laugh at me when I said I didn't understand.whatever happened to saying good morning when you see a guest? As a solo traveller I was disappointed with the staff's standoffish and almost hostile attitude. Would it kill you to smile? Damn ... Also given I was staying for 5 nights it would have been nice to have a room with a view and not of the car park.

    Good location and near restaurants and short walk to the beach. Pool area was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    6.3
    Excellent WiFi, even for video streaming!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Overall, we can't rate this place as a 4-star hotel! You cannot expect to have nice views in the rooms! Although we were in the highest floor, we could not enjoy the ocean view as the windows were dirty, and they cannot be opened more than 10 cm. Unfortunately, it seems to be common in Brazil! Average breakfast with limited and fixed variety. Although it was clean, our room decoration did not look like the pictures. It was soulless and lacked color. Every element in the room (curtains, bedding, etc.) was pure white!

    Excellent WiFi, even for video streaming! Spacious room with good facilities. Not every staff member speaks English, but those who did were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a safe street with a number of restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.3
    Vallets pretend they're fetching your car, but never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vallets pretend they're fetching your car, but never come back with it unless you go after it yourself. Very upseting. I'm never staying at this hotel again

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    8.8
    location, pool, brackfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the things that I needed from the reception I needed to call a few times to get. There was just one towel, the TV didn't work- just after 2-3 calls they came to help us

    location, pool, brackfast

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Hotel looked like it had been updated relatively recently...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room I was assigned was musty with a mouldy smell and only way to subdue it was to run the air conditioning

    Hotel looked like it had been updated relatively recently and decor was reasonably modern and sleek in the main areas. Rooms were modern neat and generally clean. Breakfasts were great!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.6
    The manager named Nelson, he is awesome and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The manager named Nelson, he is awesome and very accommodating!! There were some mishaps on our stay, and Nelson's customer service, professionalism, and courtesy were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    8.3
    We stay here every year for 1 week, normally it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was double-charged on my bank card for the total hotel nights!!! They still have not refunded my money!!!

    We stay here every year for 1 week, normally it's awesome, clean, a great place to stay - but not this year!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    8.3
    Breakfasts were excellent with good range of food available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfasts were excellent with good range of food available for different tastes. Local restaurants in road leading to hotel served excellent food, especially vegetarian one for buffet lunches.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    8.3
    Río Vermelho is a nice and safe neighborhood plenty of bars...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Río Vermelho is a nice and safe neighborhood plenty of bars and restaurants. The hotel provides a lot of facilities (swiming pool, gym, sauna, etc.)

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    7.5
    the breakfast, location, safe, clean with restaurants nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could have done with a cot bed for my son.

    the breakfast, location, safe, clean with restaurants nearby and ten minute taxi ride to tourist sites. Great infinity pool, and striking view from the gym, with a quiet beach too.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    5.8
    If you plan to use the pool, plan to wake up early to claim...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    If you plan to use the pool, plan to wake up early to claim a lounger and an umbrella--there just aren't nearly enough, even when the hotel isn't full. What a stressful drag! This diminished our experience so much, we found a different hotel for the second leg of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Shower was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast with a bealtiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast with a bealtiful view. Pool with a bealtiful view.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.9
    a very helpful receptionist and an excellent breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool bar looks unkempt and rude service

    a very helpful receptionist and an excellent breakfast and breakfast team.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.3
    Café da manhã e área de lazer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Demora no check-in e valor do estacionamento!

    Café da manhã e área de lazer

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.8
    Room, pool, views, always a taxi outside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't really anything that I didn't like.

    Room, pool, views, always a taxi outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    5.8
    No one spoke English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one spoke English

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    8.3
    Good view and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Explanation of parking space for car should be stated. You can easily request for car park next to the hotel.

    Good view and quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.2
    The pool and bar area were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool and bar area were amazing. Breakfast was really good

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.9
    The customer Service was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The customer Service was. Excellent

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    9.6
    todo o staff é muito atencioso.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    todo o staff é muito atencioso. A Fabiana, que atende no bar da piscina é nota 10.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Vista belíssima
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Demora no check-in e no check-out

    Vista belíssima

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    6.3
    beatyfull view and good pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast is not included and it is not close to any beach

    beatyfull view and good pool

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Clean and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Nice pool, clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Nice pool, clean and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    8.8
    Excellent service by all the staff, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old air conditioner system

    Excellent service by all the staff, good breakfast, comfortable and clean room, great view and position.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil