Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of San Raphael Hotel 4 stars

Largo do Arouche,150, Sao Paulo, CEP 01219903, Brazil

#240 of 516 hotels in Sao Paulo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1592 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noises are really laughter because the windows don’t have panels. The receptionist don’t has the interest to recommend any places near to the hotel. The room was really cold and don’t has many blankets to support it. Great breakfast...

    Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one speaks English except a single person over the telephone. Room is not awesome, but sufficient.

    Location. They can sometimes exchange dollars at the reception but you have to negotiate the rate. Good breakfast. Great balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Old Style Hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff only spoke portugeese or spanish

    The location of the hotel is great. When I arrived there was a fiesta de la culture going on and a stage had been erected directly beside the hotel which was a nice experience to watch it from the balcony. The hotel has its charms with a wooden elevator. Its old but the value is incredible. The buffet restaurant downstairs had quite good and cheap food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building and furniture, not any feature in room like teamaker,.. When we stayed temrature at night was 8 and there was no heating system, blankets were old and thin

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a warm welcome for the staff, the WIFI was pretty good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location not super safe in SP

    Had a warm welcome for the staff, the WIFI was pretty good, the room was super clean and with a lot of light, and the beds super comfy. Breakfast time super convenient (started at 6)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    Very difficult to find someone speaks english.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find someone speaks english.. Very noisy outside and the AC was very noisy in the middle of the night the AC stopped working by it self.. I didnt like the area surrounding as its not area for families.. mostly it was area or cars repair..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Excellent room with friendly staff to make your stay great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sincerely, there's no negative thing to tell.

    Excellent room, with a much space and comfort. The staff was very friendly and ready to help. We even met the manager, who was a great person. Definitely San Raphael is an excellent hotel whenever you need to go to São Paulo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    6.7
    Ridiculous charges, cockroaches, terrible free wifi, but front Desk is extremely helpful and friendl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous Charges for guests Staff sleeping in the lobby cockroaches My cousin came to pick me up to go out last Saturday, this was around 11:30PM the front desk told me visitors are prohibited even if is a family member and the hotel wants to charged me 80 reais for the "visit" I'm not talking about a over night stay, if I will have a guest to stay over night I think is fair to charge but the hotel want charged me 80 reais just for the visit for 10 minutes. They said this is a policy and he showed me a paper. But I never got this paper before my booking and This paper don't have the price of the visit so the front desk can change any number can be 80 can be 200. I have been in hotels all over the world and I never saw a hotel charging this amount of money just to "visit" and he was my family member not a prostitute. I understand the location has tons of prostitution around. But was clear he was not a prostitute he was a family member who went to the hotel to pick me up to go out. While this happen a notice 2 staff members sleeping in the couch of the lobby. I have to change my room 4 times because the pictures in the booking don't represent the reality of the hotel so after 4 tries they gave a room of the pictures after change the room 4 times. While I was trying to change the rooms I notice that the bathroom has a cockroaches community I have the videos of that

    Jose the front desk guy is extreme friendly and helpful! I was very happy with his help! He did everything to make my stay great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, weak Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very important negative side was almost non-existent Wifi: in 21st century you must have perfect wifi in every corner of your hotel.

    Staff was very friendly, they let us check in early and tried to fix the Wifi problem.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Personally we would stay there again, some travelers might not agree, but it worked for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in general mainly were unable to speak English, but somehow we could find help from the upper management in most instances.

    We were both satisfied with the service. The staff went out of their way to help us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Explore new places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service made the difference, very friendly people ready and happy to make our stay comfortable. From the doorman, receptionist, dining staff. It was a memorable time and we were happy to visit Sao Paulo.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.3
    the hotel is close to republice metro station (red line) it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is close to republice metro station (red line) it means its easy to arrive airport. staff know english, breakfast is open buffet and great. we stayed 15th floor and with great view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff, crappy WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crappy WiFi. Advice: ask the reception to put your IP-address in their system. Worked better for me. Please note that your IP-address changes after you disconnect.

    Great location downtown. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    Location of the hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor insulation from the noise and from the cold (bathroom window doesn't close properly).

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Clean and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is bad Old hotel

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    The nearby store
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    The nearby store

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.8
    It was horrible, rooms are old, dirty with outdated furniture
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was horrible, rooms are old, dirty with outdated furniture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.8
    The staff were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel

    The staff were wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Internet has some problem .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Internet has some problem ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Bom custo beneficio e localizacao central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place for the amount they charge. Nice and spacious room, air conditioning and nice bathroom. Great central location. Nice employees.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    the loction is good, the breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet of hotel was poor, and hotel was old.

    the loction is good, the breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    The hotel and staffs were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and staffs were great. My only issue was with the carnival celebration in the street that went on till morning hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Spacious, classy rooms, extra large beds and a great...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious, classy rooms, extra large beds and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    We had a good time in Sao Paulo, but we might choose a different location next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location has seen better days. Have to be careful where and when to walk.

    Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Location closer to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets, place was not clean and the drainage system was not working properly Room was not cleaned properly

    Location closer to town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    2.9
    Dont stay here. Totally ober rated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, it is not a 4 star hotel. You should change it. It is a lucky 2.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    the gym has a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the old furniture needs some fix/ replacement

    the gym has a nice view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Sao Paulo is the best city.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chech in was at 12 pm but they allowed us 15:40pm. They said all rooms occupied. That was very bad.

    center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    nice stay, good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no ironer, difficult to heat up the room

    nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    We loved the service and the attention

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Very clean and in the center of sao paulo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and in the center of sao paulo

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Size of the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.2
    Poor appearence
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast and wifi and Lift

    Poor appearence

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    very old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very old hotel. the gym is very poor same as the breakfast. for sure not a 4 star hotel!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.1
    Recomendo o Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv e internet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice Hotel (San Raphael)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking service: organization.

    Breakfast and room comfort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.4
    Blocked pipe in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blocked pipe in the bathroom. Aircon wasn't working

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and helpful and hot breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dangerous to walk around that area at night. I had to pay for every time I would connect to the wifi and it was really slow working only in the bathroom

    Staff was very friendly and helpful and hot breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    8.3
    The room and bathroom are huge and amazing night view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was trying to change me additional fee for our friend visiting us for 1,5 or so hours. In the evenings the area of the hotel gets a bit scary with the amount of homeless and drug addicts. One needs to be aware of the area they visit.

    The room and bathroom are huge and amazing night view from the top floor over parts of SP. Walking distance to the market area and centre. Some of the front desk staff was very helpful and let us for a late check out. The hotel is also in 10mins walking distance to the bus service to the international airport GRU.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    7.9
    A well-managed, welcoming hotel that offers good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located in the old city centre of Sao Paulo, which is a little unsafe, especially after dark.

    A well-managed, welcoming hotel that offers good value for money in central Sao Paulo. Good for a budget traveller; a subway station and several cheapish restaurants are close by.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    elevador sempre disponível e rápido
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    satellite TV prone to interference (no signal) during thunderstorms. I expected optic fibre cabling

    elevador sempre disponível e rápido breakfast variado e saudável

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.1
    I like location in downtown Sao Paulo, I like the style and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I would have come here 30 years ago I would feel like president. Today I didnt feel the same although the hotel looks the same:( Hotel needs some renovations for sure although that they try to hide age of the hotel. But what I really dislike is that you need to pay for the internet extra:(

    I like location in downtown Sao Paulo, I like the style and marble on the floor... and spacious rooms....Also sleeping was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice clean room, nice shower with got hot water pressure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street noises, people hanging out,in the park and around the corner bar from the hotel. Undesirables I would say, you have to be cautious in the neighborhood.

    Nice clean room, nice shower with got hot water pressure.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.3
    The breakfast was very good and the staff very efficient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The free wifi is only available in the lobby and sometimes didn't work. The prices to have wifi in the room were insane. The hotel is located in very dodgy area.

    The breakfast was very good and the staff very efficient and polite

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    7.1
    Room was Nice And clean and shower was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No internet at all. I paid two different services and had manager come to room. No connection. Then I got a call from outside internet contractor who informed me that my phone and laptop had not registered with the service. I gave up. The whole affair was very inconvenient.

    Room was Nice And clean and shower was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    6.7
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Area

    View

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    7.1
    a reforma
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ambiente escuro do café

    a reforma

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    7.5
    housekeeping must defrost fridges
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    housekeeping must defrost fridges

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Reception desk stuff was so helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Reception desk stuff was so helpful. Breakfast was very delicious.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    5.0
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Non free,WiFi. Expansive parking.

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.1
    Central location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room furniture looked a bit old, free Wifi is only working in the lobby

    Central location, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    8.8
    The quiet ambient
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There is not I didn't I like

    The quiet ambient

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    10
    We liked the clean hotel, location and also the lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked the clean hotel, location and also the lovely breakfasts. Very nice staff too!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    10
    We had a great time staying at San Raphael Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a great time staying at San Raphael Hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice location.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.5
    Location, bed, perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wifi.

    Location, bed, perfect. Nothing to worry about the neighborhood!

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse San Raphael Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil