Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa Teresa Hotel RJ - MGallery By Sofitel 5 stars

Rua Almirante Alexandrino, 660, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20241-260, Brazil

#179 of 451 hotels in Rio de Janeiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was stunning. Our room was delightful with excellent bedding, a wonderful shower and robes and L’occitane toiletries and a nespresso machine. The restaurant was not only beautiful, but our breakfast was the best in Brazil by far and the staff unbeatable. Highest marks for Alex, Davi and the rest of the restaurant and front desk staff. Utterly charming boutique hotel. Can’t wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paradise... a very nice location with an amazing pool for a perfect honey moon or quiet stay in Rio. Very nice breakfast and team !!! Front desk staff very helpful and kind.. We had a very pleasant stay and are looking forward to come back...!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location and the property The breakfast was wonderful and delicious My only comment is that at night it was a bit dangerous in the neiborhood But we had a wonderful time and I would definitely come back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before it was managed by Sofitel , this hotel was a Relais & Chateau. You can definitly feel that in the decor, very tastefull. Their restaurant is amazing. Highly recommend having a romantic diner there (expensive though). Great location in santa theresa, best way to visit the neibourhood. wish we stayed one more day. Shower products are L'occitane ;)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The steam room/sauna is gone, there used to be one. The staff did not understand the booking.com rate and tried to charge me an extra 10% at the reception desk when I checked in. The room was noisy with water running through pipes being heard a lot of the time. The room had no storage at all, suitcases were left in the middle of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much kids around the pool and sometimes getting very loud when you desire to relax

    The place is wonderful the pool is very classy and relaxing with a beautiful Jasmin tree The Santa Teresa hotel is perfection

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about this property

    I just love everything about this place ,,, the bar , the breakfast , the pool , the room everything is absolutly perfect The only problem sometimes too much kids allowed and this private piece of paradise become too noisy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't comfortable, the room had almost no light and was uncomfortable. The windows were not closing properly and the amenities weren't good. The customer service was not good and the price/cost of room isn't adequate for the quality of the Hotel and service. Very expensive overall.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - some parts could have a refresh after 2008 opening

    - super nice designed place - the views from pool and room - located inmpretty sta Theresa - service - what anise team!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I never expected such a great service and such a delicious breakfast ! It was just perfect ! The swimming pool is a great place to relax. The terrace has a splendid view on Rio and the cocktails are excellent ! The place beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I haven't stayed in other Rio hotels so maybe this is normal but it seemed a bit pricey, very expensive drinks etc.

    It was a really nice location in Santa Teresa with a nice little pool, great decoration. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Magnificent. Every detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent- especial thanks to Alrondo at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic. Location amazing Staff outstanding - particular mention to Lloyd who could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning terrace / pool / garden area, welcoming staff, great breakfast, overall very nice vibe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was huge, the pool was great, the staff were amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of money for what you receive

    Pool staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym facilities would be the cherry on the cake :-)

    Beautiful hotel with amazing pool area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heaven on earth The staff is so kind. Hotel beautiful. Breakfast amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite near the favela, had some problems with Uber drivers cancelling our trips once they saw where the destination was

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is too far from the beaches and the cleaning is not the best for a luxury hotel.

    The pool, the staff and the comfort

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    distance to beach

    Room, and Swimming pool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no breakfast buffet, frequently only cold or no water, late night front desk not available for over an hour in bad area not able to enter hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect bed, perfect shower, perfect pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was expensive, however there are options of cafes within 2 minutes walk so really not a problem.

    Loved the pool area with the pool bar, stunning views, the staff were very friendly and helpful, satellite TV with English options. Great location for restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having stayed at several hotels belonging to this chain I regret to say this one does not meet the standards normally expected. The cost when all the hidden chages are added to the bill such as service charge tourist tax government tax and breakfast cost nearly doubled the sum originally quoted for the room. Breakfast regardless of what is eaten is £15 per person expensive for toast. The restaurant had to be booked regardless of your status as a hotel guest. If you failed to book you were not guaranteed a table. Q .

    The hotel is located in a safe area and in easy walking distance of restaurants and bars. It has good views of the city from the pool area.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were given a room (37) which wasnot the one we were told which was close to the road and a bit noisy. Staff at times were a bit too relaxed! However looks like from what we were told that hotel has been bought and new management brought in to sort things out but at the end of the day positives outweighed negatives

    Location of hotel out of the hussle and bussle of Rio was good and the relaxed and romantic atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall service provided before arriving and while there was underwhelming. We were not made aware in advance that there would be a wedding ceremony happening in the gardens right outside our room . Our reservation was made three months in advance. The entire staff should be trained to attend to guests that expect service normally delivered at hotels that belong to this category. We were treated as if we should be thankful to be staying at the hotel, and not the other way around. The pool area needs a major re-do. It is a lovely property located in a charming neighborhood, some paying attention from the management team and renovation to the pool area, would quickly make this hotel match expectations.

    Room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The restaurant located in the property was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful experience!

    This is a beautiful, luxurious property with a very accommodating staff committed to ensuring guests have a wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They only serve Panna and San Pellegrino water bottles of 250ml each and their price is very high: R$15. During Rio's summertime when you commonly get sunny 40ºC, I wish the hotel had less expensive options to stay hydrated.

    I've been to Rio de Janeiro several times, but always stayed in the Copa-Ipanema-Leblon area. Staying in Santa Teresa provides the visitor with a completely different view of the city; a much more historical and cozy sense of the city and the people. The hotel contributed a lot to create this lovely atmosphere by providing an intimate feel like staying at a friend's house. A friend you are very fond of.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a great facility but clearly overpriced.

    Great staff, very friendly and helpful. They help us to get tickets to Christ statue and they were very organized for new years eve Copacabana beach transportation, we would have really hard time without them because this was our first time in Rio

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I don't think I have seen one person of the staff smile or laugh our entire 7 day stay. I did not feel special or particularily welcome. in the breakfastroom or the bar, there was no sign of recognition even after a few days, no anticipation of what we might like, We found this a real disappointment, as most people in Rio are always so friendly and interested. not in this hotel. If is was not a Relais Chateau, I think their prices would be halved. Tecnical issues with doorkeys repeatedly not working were quickly resolved by staff breaking windows, and opening from the inside. Appeared to be not the first time this had happened. Staff at the door/doormen do not speak any english, which was frustrating at times. Spa was closed for 2 hours one evening as there was a massage. Seriously, so you lock down the entire spa? Not even an apology. Follow-on appointment for our own massage was not met (it was not confirmed, and so did not take place the next day).Nobody asked about this afterwards, as if they were happy we did not bring it up again.

    it is know as 'bohemian'', and it is. excellent re-use of materials. The area Sta Teresa is not too far from the beaches, but it can take time to get a taxi. Luckily Taxi rides are cheap. the pool is small, but does the trick. Excellent (large) bed (suite 17). Excellent cocktails in the otherwise (too) dark bar at night. The hotel is perched up on the hill, making it an interesting taxi ride to get there. The view from the Teresa restaurant/ breakfastroom is fine, but certainly not spectacular.nice to have the option to eat in the airconditioned bit and the non-airconditioned area.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area facilities were in a poor state, chairs and covers were battered and dirty and an uncomfortable design, ( very low and unsupported) staff were somewhat disorganised. We could not have dinner in the restaurant as they were fully booked- even though we arrived at 7pm when they opened, (and they were empty) and no one informed us that this would be a problem and we were not offered any alternative, and the restaurant manager did not seem at all concerned. The reception staff were disorganised and we did not feel warmly greeted. Noise is an issue between the rooms so if you are a light sleeper this is a problem. This is definitely not a 5 star hotel and should not be part of the relais chateau group, it does not compare, and we have stayed in a few. Breakfast was ok but not great- they ran out of croissants. Should have paid more attention to trip advisor comments. The area is still being developed and is still very run down. Not safe to walk at night- so when the hotel restaurant is full and you don't know in advance it leaves you with little choice!

    Good sized bed and room. Good shower.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food and spa were very good but not great and location is cool but not super central.

    Pool, nature, breakfast, bar dos descasados, beautiful room and overall style (design, music and ambiance).

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Couple

    Breakfast not included..

    Very cozy atmosphere at this design hotel. Great food and service.. The pool area makes you want to stay there the whole day... The historical neighborhood has a different environment from the rest of the city and tough is really well located. Staff was very friendly and flexible for any extraordinary demands.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to have the bar on the terrace open at night (it closes at 7 pm)

    The terrace with an amazing view in Rio, the swimming pool and the garden. The room was spacious and well designed.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive when you factor in breakfast (because there's nowhere else, really!) and dinner if you eat in, and the hotel's insistence on getting you taxis. MUCH cheaper to go outside and get them or even walk down to the main town. Local restaurants are better and much cheaper.

    Liked the location and ambiance and overall relaxed feel. Very cool and high quality place to stay. Santa Teresa is the best place to stay in Rio and the ST Hotel is really the only place.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one channel in English on the TV (out of many available) - and that was BBC news.

    Hotel was situated in a great area - and the standard of decoration was good.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning in some rooms needs improvement

    Thoughtful African/Brazilian design Luxury surroundings and spa Amazing views Christ Redeemer, SugarLoaf and City Location, privacy, bar and food

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in BoHo Santa Teresa. So much more fun than beachside. Good restaurants and bars nearby. Wonderful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Rooms nicely understated if a bit small. Recommended.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tasteful decor, the beautiful garden the interesting location all contributed to the special ambience of a very memorable stay. This is a very special place.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    May be the water of the pool did not look like clean enough.

    It is a magnificent old building in the historical part of Rio. Very nice and well equipped. The breakfast was very rich and for our wish they have orginesed for us a city tour.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some of the staff had an over-familiar approach

    The location, in tropical gardens, on a hill in "old" Rio was very quiet, with a great view. Not in walking distance of anything, though, and of course, not on a beach

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not even for the price but for the place the breakfast is way too basic.

    Overall fantastic experience. Beautiful views, gorgeous room, extremely clean. The perfect place to spend special moments. Will definitely visit again.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The internet was really slow too often. Also, strange that at these daily room rate prices, locally bottled drinking water is not provided in the room each day, since they don't recommend drinking the tap water. They provide imported water the first night of arrival but charge approx. USD $7 for each bottle you request after that.

    Stayed here, not near the beaches, because it was near meetings I had to attend in a nearby neighborhood. Glad I did because this hotel is a gem; I've stayed in luxury and boutique hotels all around the world and this hotel, particularly the common areas, is one of the best in design and uniqueness. And the Santa Teresa neighborhood is a wonderful find...old colonial-era and 19th century charm, with many wonderful local cafes and lovely restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -pool was closed for maintenance and we weren't warned about it in advance when booking the hotel. View from the pool is nice as your look over the area from the hill, but view from the restaurant is equally nice -area is nice, but still a bit far from Ipanema

    -beautiful design of the place, particularly the main hall/reception area of the building with statues, wood, stone, leather -helpful staff, though depends on the person. -beatiful view from the restaurant, particularly with open windows at some tables -very good selection of food at breakfast, variety of tropical fruit, as well as cheese selection, parma, bakery -spacious room

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff took completely forgot to deliver my suit to my room as I finished my check in. Took some time to send us our luggage.

    The pool, the view and the food by the pool.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    RS70 for a just fair breakfast is way too much! Pool area is getting a bit dated...

    large, romantic room with beautiful view, lovely restaurant with wonderful food

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location, Santa Teresa is historic and charming. We checked out the beach hotels and they couldn't compare. Also...excellent food and caiparinhas!

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no complains.

    everyhing is just special. the place, the rooms, the king size bed, the open bathroom, the pool, the plants, the staff, the style, the art and on top the best room service food you can imagine! the breakfast is very delicious too ... plus the restaurant at night is very good as well. we loved the architecture of the hotel .. good style! to stay at this hotel is lifestyle in a special way. we did not see a lot from the area Santa Teresa as we just loved to stay inside the hotel area because of its beauty.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bed comfort is not optimal, there is room for improvments to reach usual standards of Relais Châteaux : hot water for the shower, noise isolation for the Windows, cleanliness of the pool, and real attentionate service ( uneven , depending on staff ) Overall, quite expensive for the real value.

    Location in the heart of Santa Teresa, beautiful décoration, very nice pool

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC in hall way, very low in bedrooms. Overprice for location.

    , rooms are spacious, pool very nice To spend day. Recommend staying or a day maybe 2 days max.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a hotel of this standard I expect the pool bar staff to come by once in a while to check if we need anything rather than having to go to the bar ourselves to order. This may sound like I'm being a princess but when you pay the amount of service we had to pay when we checked out you will understand. Also the outlook from the windows in our beautiful room might have been better.

    The very stylish design of the hotel, the pool area, restaurant and room - very, very nice. Our room was huge with the biggest, most comfortable bed. The restaurant was beautiful, overlooking Rio, attentive staff, very good food. The doorman who greeted us from our car was particularly friendly... A nice welcome as we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is eager to help, but not always efficient. There's usually a bottleneck in the reception, not because there is alot of traffic, but because the two staff a) always deal with the last problem/request/question to arise and b) because in many cases both of them deal with the same issue instead of splitting the work. Breakfast is very basic and on top, while the breakfast ends at 10.30, the "welcoming" girl in the entrance is looking at you as if she has no clue why you are entering, if you happen to make the mistake of arriving just a few minutes before the breakfast ends. On New Years Eve, the pool bar ran out of champagne at ~ 12.15, and the main bar was just closing. Really?

    If you are not obsessed with the sea view, the location is great, right in the middle of a bohemian neighborhood, but high enough to secure a good view of Rio, especially from the pool area. The hotel, is small and cozy, and its a good option if you are not a fan of big-sized, conventional hotels. The SPA is also very good.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa and massages could be better, especially for that prices.

    Rooms were amazing. Really big, shower good and bed was nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room over a wedding party

    Restaurant - dinner and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Better access to supplies of drinking water would have been a bonus

    Beautiful position and elegant surroundings. Lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water but they handled it well we showered in another room!!

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smoking in Lap Pool Area/ Bar area.

    I enjoyed the Spa experience at Santa Teresa Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit expensive R$80 per person

    great service, be sure to be there for a sunset swim

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    I like architecture, staff and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The relaxed atmosphere and stylish ambience

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did I mention it rained ;0)

    Everything-there was always something to do despite the rain and the views are amazing

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best hotel I've ever been to!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We don't speak Portuguese and most cab drivers could not find the hotel

    Charming property with beautiful views.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    probably that the TV it´s too small

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in an amazing room

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old character hotel

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil