Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Brazil hotel reviews
  3. Minas Gerais hotel reviews
  4. Belo Horizonte hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel São Bento

Reviews of Hotel São Bento This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua dos Guaranis, 438, Belo Horizonte City Centre, Belo Horizonte, CEP 30120040, Brazil

#19 of 133 hotels in Belo Horizonte

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 923 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    10
    Hotel Sao Bento was the perfect place in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    I loved Hotel Sao Bento. It was a very clean, comfortable hotel with a lot of character--the perfect place for my first visit to BH. The breakfast buffet was awesome--cakes, pan de quiejo, fruits, cheese, yogurt, and all kinds of juice and coffee. The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. If I come back to BH, I am definitely staying at this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel for the price you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel for the price you pay. Excellent Breakfast, friendly staff, 15 minutes easy walk to the main bus terminal. The area is dodgy at night but that was expected

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    6.3
    Very clean, decent size, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was on ground floor. Very warm inside and the fan was quite loud, and the top window wouldn’t open (needs fixing). Couldn’t sleep so I eventually during the night opened the bottom window. On ground floor always a concern little critters might crawl in. Also the “supreme double” turned out to be just two single mattresses pushed together.

    Very clean, decent size, good location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only real drawback is that there are few evening dining options near to the hotel - although there are some basic places around the bus station.

    Hotel Sao Bento is a good place to stay in Belo Horizonte. One of its principal attractions is that it is near to the bus station (you will likely want to take day trips to Inhotim, Ouro Preto and Congonhas, for example, so being close to the bus station is a must), however, it is not too close (the area around the bus station is a little unsavoury). I had a basic double room. This room had a fan, rather than air conditioning (only more expensive rooms have air conditioning). I thought that the lack of air conditioning might be a problem but the fan proved entirely adequate. The buffet breakfast provided by the hotel was above average. The room had a small fridge - which proved useful on occasion. Most of the hotel staff don’t speak much English (although, fortunately, there was an English-speaking staff member to assist with my check-in), but they are very willing to help when they understand what you want.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.8
    Elegant, nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had no headboard. The door keys are very basic.

    Elegant, nice. Well organized, fast check in and check out process. Good breakfast. Perfect bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.1
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy. Even though I had the last room in the corridor, I could hear everything in the other rooms. I had to use earplugs in order to be able to sleep.

    Friendly and helpfull staff, good and early breakfast, convenient location near the rodoviaria

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    surprisingly good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    1. When I checked in, the registration was already filled out correctly with a beautiful hand writing. I just simply needed to sign on this form...tired travelers are happy! 2. Close to the bus terminal, good for my 3 time trips to MG different towns...how convenient! 3. A Japanese TV "NHK" is available...no homesick! 4. Always good free coffee is in the lobby...gostoso! 5. Good breakfast selection with variety kinds of fruits in a sunny room...start bom dia! 6. Staff let me leave my big suit case with good care even after check out for next 2 days during my trip...exceptionally kind! 7. A lot more good things...o'timo! Overall, this hotel is not fashinable nor modern, however, very well run by professional, efficient, and polite staff with responsibility and sincerity. Muito obrigada por tudo!! Gostei muito do seu hotel!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasantly surprised by quality of hotel and staff. Close to bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The thing that horrifies me about many Brasilian hotels is the "suicicide" shower heads with the 250v wires clearly visible at the top. Turn on more water and the supply gets colder.. Lorenzetti lives!! These days there is no excuse for not having separate hot/cold water lines. Water supply at the bathroom sink was very weak. Noise level not acceptable in the corridors at night and once was coming from a staff area behind reception, several males gossipping loudly.

    Hotel seems well run and very clean,is better than it looks from the street.. close to bus station but those with bags will need the US5 cab ride. Streets around filled with the usual mix of Brasilians but never seemed risky.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent low-budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area is a little downmarket.

    The staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is good quality and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    I stayed for one night and this accommodation had everything that I needed. The staff are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and helpful staff. They will do everything to help you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    The friendly personal and the excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bad lighting of the room and the slow internet.

    The friendly personal and the excellent location.Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!! Thanks!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, easy going and arranging Clean room Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Do estacionamento é longe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do estacionamento é longe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    Nice room, clean and calm, the staff was really friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice room, clean and calm, the staff was really friendly and helpful and the hotel is located very close to the bus station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2016

    8.8
    I have stayed at the hotel several times travellling to and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Some rooms are very small and do not have an outside window.

    I have stayed at the hotel several times travellling to and fro different places in Minas Gerais. It´s a simple, well kept place very close to the rodoviaria, perfect if you are travelling on a budget. Good breakfast. Not everyone of the receptionists speaks English, but all staff are very nice eager to help.

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No negative points (misunderstanding with my payment which I only found out when I was already back home, but I received an answer to my email with a solution within a few hours). Much appreciated !! Perhaps 1 minor negative point : I made 2 bookings (3 nights) and a few days later for 1 night. The last booking (1 night) had the same day-price of the first booking (of 3 night), but unfortunately there was no frigobar in the room (and the whether outside was extremely hot). But for the rest : no negative comment to give, since there is no reason to :-)

    Very friendly staff. Although their English was limited , they nevertheless tried to make themselves understandable in a mix of English/Portuguese. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty (lots of fresh fruit, plenty of choice of pastries, breads, ...) Personnel in the breakfast area was extremely friendly (nice start of the day !). WiFi worked perfectly. The room was very tidy, and was cleaned daily ( also shower and bathroom). Nice location of the hotel, in the middle of the city center.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    9.2
    The staff is really polite and does help you solve your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although I didn't have any trouble, the location is a bit dangerous (like all places in the city center), specially during the night. You can easily mitigate this by asking for a cab if you need to get there in the night.

    The staff is really polite and does help you solve your problems. I had some doubts which I sent them by email and I received a precise answer in less than a day. The quality of the answer really surprised me. The breakfast is amazing. The room is really clean and cozy, although small (which, for me, isn't really a problem). It is located in the center of Belo Horizonte, really close to the bus station and all the buses you can take to reach almost every place you want to go in the city.

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and very accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Facilities were reasonsbly clean, but there was hair left in the bathroom. Breakfast was good but could do with some hot food. Room was small but that is reflected on the price.

    Friendly and very accomodating staff. I asked for a quiet room and they gave me one with acoustic insulation at no extra charge. Even in the middle of the busy city centre, the room was quiet.

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    7.5
    Localização central, próximo à Rodoviária e ao Mercado...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Localização central, próximo à Rodoviária e ao Mercado Central. Quarto simples, mas limpo e confortável. Equipe solícita. Ótima relação custo-benefício. Hotel superior aos padrões normais do centrão.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2015

    6.3
    O café da m,manha foi o que mais me agradou, o pessoal...
    • Solo traveler

    Não gostei muito da cama, a internet muito lenta e de difícil conexão, TV com canais muito limitados.

    O café da m,manha foi o que mais me agradou, o pessoal também foi bem gentil e atencioso e a localização é boa, perto de pontos turísticos.

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2015

    8.3
    Location near the bus station - 3 blocks ~7minutes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    neighborhood is as expected.

    Location near the bus station - 3 blocks ~7minutes. Excellent service, good wifi, good breakfast. considering the location the neighborhood is ok, we walked to the shopping mall that is about 15 minutes away

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    8.8
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff next to rodoviaria central good breakfast clean

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2016

    7.5
    A 10 minute walk from the bus station, handy to catch an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A 10 minute walk from the bus station, handy to catch an early morning bus. Close to the Central Market and the park.

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2015

    7.1
    Acomodation size
    • Couple

    Lack of attention from room service displaying toilet paper (last day) Noise from guests

    Acomodation size Environmental clear Breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    8.3
    Excellent staff and really nice cost effectiveness
    • Couple

    It's a little far 2 blocks from the bus terminal, the reason I was staying there that night.

    Excellent staff and really nice cost effectiveness

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    8.3
    Price/quality extremely good, clean, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neighbourhood in the night not so great. Take a taxi.

    Price/quality extremely good, clean, good breakfast, helpfull staff, close to bus station

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2015

    10
    Al good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing to blame!

    Al good! Very short way to the bus terminal (Rodoviária).

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2015

    8.3
    Price was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    A bit hard to find initially. Nothing else bad.

    Price was good. Staff was nice. Location was convenient.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil