Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel 3 stars

Ladeira do Carmo 17, Santo Antonio, Salvador, CEP 40301-410, Brazil

#38 of 162 hotels in Salvador

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absurd noise outside every night, no matter if weekend or not.

    Excellent location near the centre of Pelourinho. We could park on the street just in front every day..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the lighting in the room for reading could have been little better.

    Loved the location right in the Historic district, the high ceilings of room, the original art in room and through hotel - and mostly the owner Francesca she terrific personality and so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only worked intermittently. The road the hotel is on can be very noisy throughout the night.

    Good location in Salvador’s historic old town. Near to some nice restaurants and interesting architecture. Breakfast served in the room is a nice touch & staff were helpful - the owner spoke English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is NOT a Hotel Boutique - but a Pousada as many around in the historic center of Salvador

    Not too much noise in the street at night - Wi-Fi works correctly sometimes - Bottle of water in the fridge only 3R$ - Hot terrace in the basement for breakfast -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very nice and comfortable place in the historic center of Salvador. It is close to Pelourinho and Santo Antonio. The rooms are super spacious, breakfast is very good and the staff is really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very nice and comfortable place in the historic center of Salvador. It is close to Pelourinho and Santo Antonio. The rooms are super spacious, breakfast is very good and the staff is really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish there was the option of having lunch and dinner in the hotel especially since I have mobility problems.

    We loved the location and the friendly, warm and very helpful staff and the owner of the hotel. Since I have mobility issues they organized my breakfast in the room which was downstairs and took care of us in every way possible; this includes our tours and travels within the city. The breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room. One night due to neighbors TV turned on during all night. One other night due to unknown machine noise. Staff was Nice though to switch us to another room. General noisy hotel..

    Great location, big room (a bit old furnished but charming)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nichts

    The owner Francesca is very friendly & helpful. The breakfast served in the room was very good. We loved the room & the location. We will come back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelt a little, both in stairs and room, which was very off putting and rooms although pleasantly large were very dated.

    Friendly staff, good location and very good breakfast. So was good value for price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the shower too cold- I guess the don't usually need hot showers there though as Salvador has a tropical climate.

    The room was amazing, such a wonderful space to escape to!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Don't expect a fancy place! Very noisy. I could hear very loudly someone walking in the room of the upper floor besides that the neighbors put a very loud local music almost every night. There could be a microwave oven in the room. The breakfast could be better.

    This hotel is actually a four stories old house (Pelourinho style). It is located in the heart of major touristic attractions of the city such as Pelourinho, Lacerda elevator and Mercado Modelo. Value for money. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy, beds and bed clothing really old. Breakfast is very, very basic. We usually try to eat really healthy, and there weren't many options for us. The photos on the Internet look way much better than the real situation of this place. We didn't feel safe in Pelourinho after sunset, too many drugs, alcohol and really dirty.

    Staff was helpful in many ways. Location was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special to improve

    The staff was very helpful and always with kind attention. For example, when we were there, there was no water in the bathroom but the staff found quickly a solution. This hotel is well situated, the main spots could be done by foot. the breakfast was good and with good quantities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed sheet was old

    The breakfast was fantastic ! All home made, great fresh juices One day my daddy mention that he loves something to eat next morning was special made for him, delivery to his table That made him feel special

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First receptionist spoke English, but non of the others during the weekend spoke even a word. Room nr.1 and rest of the rooms that are facing the street are very noisy. It was the noisiest room during our 3,5 months travel in Latin America. There are no possibilities to sleep without earplugs because there are many restaurants that have live bands. The receptionist sold us a wrong type of transport to Morro de Sao Paulo. We wanted a boat transfer, but she sold us a boat - bus - boat trip.

    Big room and big bed. AC and fan was nice to have.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful English speaking person at front desk. All staff very helpful.Room very clean. Great breakfast, and wifi. Great location in historical area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All staff members were impeccable; their genuine sense of hospitality was a palpable plus for the entire duration of our stay. The architecture, location and atmosphere of the pousada were a delight.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is well located and the staff is great! They provide good recommendations and arrange early brekfast. A nice place to stay in salvador historic center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room faced the street and was very noisy until the wee hours of the morning on Friday and Saturday nights.

    Helpful staff, good breakfast, spacious room, right in historic center of Salvador, pretty decor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect and the place is so nice and huge room!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, but that's acceptable for an old charming building.

    Location, staff, room is huge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very much appreciated!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personable owner! Very helpful and good tips!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor costumer service, dirty and dusty rooms. Noisy and with too many narrowed steps to rooms, causing you to bang your head or shoulders

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a little better facilitaded

    Spacious room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice and safe!Close to everything!Friendly stuff!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location in the historical part of the city. Very cozy, nice atmosphere! Easy to find and walk around the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Beautiful house in the heart of pelô, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of professionalism, everything is (badly) improvised (electrical and sanitay fixtures, windows, ventilator, wifi, stairs. Not very clean and expensive for what it offers.

    Location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi didn't work in the room. And the room looked onto the street which was VERY noisy ! (The neighbor had music on very loud all afternoon)

    Good location and beautiful big room with private kitchen and big windows. Shower and bed were great !! The hotel is very nicely decorated and well located.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The high speed internet get disconnected from time to time

    The staff treated me as an old friend visiting Salvador. I've spent some time having friendly conversation at the reception and I was given extremely useful tips during my staying. The location was great. From the room on the top floor facing the street and steps outside, it is possible to take really good snaps.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We both got bitten by flees (pretty sure it was not bed bugs) while we slept.

    The breakfast was great and much better than at the more expensive hotel we stayed at. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The AC blows the little chandelier in the room make a jingling noise all night long. Very noisy outside too.

    Good location Spacious room Nice decor and character

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The climb up the stairs at the end of the day was challenging!

    Staff went out of their way to help in a number of difficulties we had, took our laundry and had it done for us as well as did everything with a great attitude.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only issue we had was the wifi was not working in our room (3rd floor) for most of our stay, which wasn't their fault

    Good hotel just a short walk down from the Largo do Pelourinho. Friendly staff (though limited English if this is an issue) and nice big spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's a lot of stairs in this property, so cannot recommend this to people with difficulties walking/climbing stairs.

    Super friendly staff. Good and basic Brazilian breakfast. Located only a two minute walk from centre of Pelourinho.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only member of staff that speaks English works Monday to Friday. You can't flush your toilet paper, you have to put it in a bin. I found the biggest spider of my life in my room one night. There's a window into the room from the hallway which let loads of light in. No privacy from the street without closing all the shutters. Breakfast was rubbish.

    Location is close to town, making me think it was a safe neighbourhood, but I was blissfully unaware at how unsafe it was.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food was good but not all options available. It was ackward no shrimps and fish available as they are very typical dishes. Needed to go to second beach to eat it.

    Facilities are not new but in good condition and cleanness was good. Beach is amazing!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As it's in the middle of a lively city, it can be noisy at night (also some AC engine was making noise from time to time). Wifi was unstable

    Perfect location. Friendly staff. Big room with a view on a church

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was cold and due to the season/weather and possibly the age of the building, the room was damp at times.

    Great location and beautiful building/room. Friendly and helpful staff as well as an excellent breakfast each morning. Also free wifi!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dodgy neighborhood at night

    Clean, friendly, very nice historic house with lots of character. our room was huge with lots of natural light. great breakfast with lots of choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is very far from being a 'boutique hotel': choosing this name only misleads customers! The exact location of the hotel - within the broader Pelourinho - is at the edge of where the area becomes dangerous (according to locals who warned us not to go further), and therefore not pleasant: to properly get the idea, the entrance to the hotel is gated for security day and night! In spite of the security issues, our windows couldn't be locked (ie, could be opened just by pushing) and just outside the windows was an abandoned/squatted balcony which provided direct and immediate access to the room itself (!!!) The 'safe' provided in the room was a joke: a sort of home-made metal box closed with a tiny padlock: we couldn't leave our valuables in it. The main door to the room had a damaged lock: if you didn't lock the door, a finger was enough to unlock and open the door. The breakfast, an almost non existent buffet, was the poorest we experienced on the whole trip to Brazil.

    The Italian girl working at the reception was nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs up to the 2nd floor very steep and dangerous. No-one to help you with suitcases. Breakfast not served in room had to go to -1. Considering advertised 24 hour reception had to wait 30 mins constantly ringing bell at 18.30 to get in.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom flush

    Location, service, renovated

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit old

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The original Salvador style

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was grumpy and didn't really seem to enjoy their job

    The building was super charming and exciting

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Regina, the owner, is an excellent host, she makes you feel at home!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - If you want a quite room, ask one at the back.

    - Excellent location - Large room for the four of us - Charming, historic pousada

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location. Room for 4 with high ceilings. Historical look and feel. Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was good - near to everything in the old town. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very poor Very noisy

    Very good location

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Couple

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is well located and the breakfast is super!!!!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was so-so.

    Charming, historic property. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi fi didn't work all the time

    Service and courtesy from all the employees

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, free wifi, large room

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I booked their best room, and it is worth every real!

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's meant to be a 3 star hotel but it's more like a hostel.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Studio do Carmo Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties:

gogbrazil